This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp

Reviews of Impala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

275 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Impala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

9% success

Wild dog

60% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Eland

64% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 211-220 of 275
Duration
Arrival date
The E family
Carlisle

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2009
"Very scenic camp on river's edge; very well equipped spacious tents raised up on platforms; excellent and knowledgeable guiding and driving; calm and atmospheric dining in large bar area" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
M family
Hampshire

"Fantastic experieince at Impala"

4 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"lovely camp with very friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff seemed genuinely interested in our experiences and what we had seen each day.

Brilliant guide (Macumba - that's what we called him anyway), and our boat safari guide Hassan. Particularly enjoyed the fly camp and walking. Saw some really interesting things because of their experience and knowledge. The boat safaris also provided good variety from the drives. The bird life, especially along the river, was superb.

We liked the open vehicles, and there was only ever the 4 of us in a land Rover/boat. Highlight for me probably watching the elephants with their babies swim across the crocodile infested Rufiji!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Maningtree

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2009
"A great balance between professionalism and warm friendly service.

The atmosphere was more one of a relaxed house party. Treated as individuals and specific needs explored and catered for with lots of 'special' surprises (e.g. sunset cocktails, hot cappucino with the wake up call)." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Leics

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"A different experience to Mdonya,more luxurious but still close to nature.The Manager,again an Italian,gave style to the the occasion which was both charming and professional.The food was 'to die for' with little 'touches' that were inspired.Private dining on one occasion and sunset champagne on the river bank at the end of a boat trip lifted the occasion to another level.Game sightings were not as good as Ruaha but this was redeemed by the boat trips." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H & Ms T
UK

"Selous Impala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2009
"The location was superb overlookingt the river and the mixture of activities was excellent - particularly the river trips which were amongst the best that we have had anywhere.

The guiding was very good and we saw plenty of wildlife, including hippo actually in the camp.

The food was really good - imaginative and interesting and of particular note was the chance to have a genuine cappuccino! The 'fly camping' was a good experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Northants.

"Impala Camp, luxury in the Selous"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2009
"If you want luxury and fantastic food this is the place to go. This camp reminded us very much of the high standard in Botswana. We were really well looked after in our stay. Great atmosphere and everyone was very friendly. You can do what ever activities you want and when you want to, nothing is too much trouble. Mohammed was our personal waiter at all our meals and Denis was our guide and driver both were very good.

Saw lots of wildlife, and had our best ever sighting of leopard.

The transfer to the air strip by boat was also a nice option." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mr G
Bangor

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2009
"Selous Impala Camp was fabulous. The riverbank setting is beautiful , and the wooden deck is airy and spacious, and a wonderful place to eat, and to just sit around reading, watching the river wildlife and relaxing. The pool is great too.

All the safaris - driving, walking (and having a bush breakfast), and boat were amazing, and the trip to the bird island with Abdullah was a real adventure, as there was barely enough water in places to get there. And seeing our first leopard was breathtaking. Ezra our guide was delightful as well as being very knowledgeable.

Mateo, the manager, was friendly and entertaining, and the atmosphere accommodated everyone - honeymooners, single travellers, and mothers and sons! Although there are separate tables for eating, this didn't feel as unsociable as I thought it might.

Delicious food, with a choice of main course for the evening meal, and excellent service. The espresso coffee, bedside reading lamps and early morning tea brought to the tent felt like real treats. The complemetary laundry service was a nice touch, and the shower gel was gorgeous!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
N Yorks

"Off roading at Impala"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2009
"A perfect 'starter' camp for our first safari. Matteo was an excellent host and his team were superb. Nothing was too much trouble and his relaxed and friendly approach made us feel 'at home' and part of the 'family' from day one.

Our guide, Mpogo was amazing. He worked so hard, wanting to show us the sights and sounds of the Selous, both by 4 x 4 and boat. His tracking skills and eyesight were legendary! He had a lifetime of knowledge of the area and answered our endless questions readily and in depth, giving us so much background information and many great photo opportunities. His patience on our fishing expedition was noteworthy! We certainly enjoyed his company and left (sadly) with a much greater understanding of this diverse environment and special memories of leopard sightings and a close encounter with at least thirty elephants. Even Mpogo took photos!

The meals and choice were excellent, with something for everyone and all dietary requests caterd for. Everyone went that extra mile (km?) to make my husbands 60th birthday a special event. A handmade card, cake and our own table in the bush, accompanied by an English and Kiswahilli rendition of Happy Birthday, made it a truly memorable occasion.

We would like to make just one suggestion. It would be nice to be given the option to sit with other 'campers', particularly at lunch and dinner. There were four of us and we did swop our experiences with others in the bar, but especially for those travelling alone or as couples, the opportunity to share a table and exchange stories, might really round of the day." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
A&M
London

"Perfect safari at Impala"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2009
"In a word: perfect! In more words: everything is organized to the single tiny detail to make you feel at ease and relaxed.

From the moment when Dennis picked us up from Mtemere to the (sad) moment when he drove us back on the last day, all the staff was incredibly helpful, reliable, friendly and professional. We did not personally meet everyone but here are a few names: Dennis who patiently drove us everywhere, constantly giving explanations and always finding whatever animal we were looking for. Mokamba who leads the walking safari and seems to know everything about the bush. Daudi who waited on us always with a smile (giving us some free Swahili lessons as well). The chef is great, we were spoiled with three excellent meals a day, bush breakfast and lunches. monica is vegetarian and she ate different dishes every day.

Matteo and Barbara are the perfect managers, always smiling and helpful; they chat with you but always make sure you have your privacy. Everyone seems to effortelessy do the extra mile for you with a smile. There are too many people and too many details to describe them all, so forgive us if we do not mention someone/something!

The camp is not described as luxurious but to us it was perfect - a beautiful tent, perfect location, en-suite hot shower, purified water. Andrea the hyppo walking around in the evening...the bush babies screaming during the night...the monkeys jumping on the roof of our tent...

The highlight of our stay were definetely the walking safari, they were just a overwhelming! We wish to go back and spend a few days in a fly camp. Another great detail is that you have the guide and driver for yourself and every day you can choose what activity you wish.

Despite the fact that it was officially low season we saw lions, a leopard, wild dogs (with puppies!), hyppos, crocs, giraffes, baboons, you name it! It maight be that we were really lucky! The landscape was still green and really beautiful. It is very difficult to describe the feelings and emotions in writing as our experience was so much better than these words!!

Asante sana to everyone. We love Impala Camp." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The K family
Berks

"Great Safari at Impala camp"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2009
"Again Chloe, the team and our guide Musa made this a wonderful experience. It was a great location where the team went out of their way to make it work for you (e.g Chloe ventured out in pouring rain to find me in my tent to get my view on going out of safari..when really she did not need to).

The difference between here and Manze is that here they were much clearer on their roles and all pulled their weight - the result being a superbly ran 'hotel' in the middle of the Selous." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 211-220 of 275
96%
275 reviews of Impala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
31
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa