This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp
Selous Impala Camp

Reviews of Impala Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

275 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Impala Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

9% success

Wild dog

60% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

92% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Elephant

91% success

Spotted Hyena

91% success

Eland

64% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 221-230 of 275
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Norway

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Feb 2009
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs G & Mr R
Suffolk

"Fabulous time at Selous Impala camp"

7 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2009
"I cannot stress enough how fantastic Impala camp is. Everything from the tented rooms to the food to the activities to the location and the staff was really wonderful. We have so many great memories from our trip that I cannot mention them all, but here's a few. Seeing african wild dogs, being moved on by an elephant whilst trying to catch fish in the river in the camp, being on game drives and not seeing any other vehicles for hours making it feel a much more private experience, enjoying breakfast next to beautiful lakes with hippos, crocs and numerous birds around, the list could just go on and on.

The food was lovely and well presented. Our waiter, Obani was very nice, friendly and attentive. We loved the fact that the camp is small and made you feel totally relaxed. The intimate numbers made it easy to chat with other guests about the days experiences whilst enjoying a refreshing drink.

Organising the following day's itinery with Chloe was great as it made you feel that you are in charge of you days rather than doing what everyone else is doing. Having more options (game drives, boat trips, guided walks or fishing) than other safaris we have done was wonderful. Ezra (our guide) was great and Raja really knows how to drive a 4x4. Going off road was new to us as we have always had to stick to the tracks in previous safaris and made the game drives extra special. We stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed not having to travel to other lodges. Although some people think that 4 days is enough in 1 place we feel that there is so much to see and experience there is no chance of getting bored. If we had stayed any less time we would have regretted it." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L of
Oxford

"Selous Impala Camp Review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2009
"Impala was outstanding. Not only were Chloe and her team good company, they provided great guiding and wonderful food. (We marvelled at how Mohammed,the chef, provided such innovative dishes in such a remote location.) Breakfasts were a treat , and was provided at all hours without a hint of a problem.

Our tent was very comfortable and provided everything we needed - including a very welcome fan! And the westerly view from its deck across the bend in the river was lovely. For us, the water safaris were again the high point but we did have great game drives and a lovely early morning walk.

And we became such good friends with one of the Maasai escorts that our final departure at the airstrip was rather emotional !" See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Wimbledon

"Selous Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2008
"This camp was managed very well by Chloe and her staff who were all friendly and attentive.

The afternoon boat trips were fantastic and Hassan's knowledge of birds was first class. We were able to get very close to Malachite Kingfishers and Bee-eaters. The large flocks of Egrets and Open-billed Storks in the evening light was a wonderful sight to see.

Game viewing by vehicle was a bit more difficult as everywhere was very green and animals more difficult to find and see. However, the large flocks of Carmine Bee-eaters were fantastic flying around the vehicle. We saw a large pride of Lions and a Leopard.

I would like to return in September to see how different it is in the dry season." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Norfolk

"What a view in the Selous"

3 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2008
"Great staff anxious to make us feel welcome. The handmade welcome note and Amarula was a lovely touch. Mara, then Chloe arranged things we wished to do like walking safaris in addition to game drives and boat safaris. The guides went out of their way looking for painted wild dogs and lions.

The detailed knowledge of the guides about the eco systems was very thorough and they were happy to share this with us. One guide with such a good knowledge base and generosity of spirit took us out around the camp and talked in great detail about the plants, animals and birds - we were thrilled by this reaching out to us as visitors.

Thank heavens for the pool as the temperature got up to 38 most afternoons. The heat was on the edge of what we could manage, but we began to acclimatise. We had a good mix of walking, boating and game drives with most spectacular birds.

Most of the food was excellent and the bush meals great fun and hugely enjoyable - my only slight criticism is that all the breads were dense and very heavy, sitting in my stomach like lead weights. Maybe the climate is too hot for yeast?

WE felt this was a good camp for a honeymoon due to the wonderful atmosphere and facilities, but going at a cooler time of year would be more enjoyable.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Selous Impala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2008
"Very friendly welcoming staff and very comfortable tents. The staff were very happy to accomodate anything we wanted to do. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful although their english was not always easy to understand. Manager and her assistant were very good.

The food was usually good, although occasionally dishes were a bit too ambitious and were not quite right. Sitting at your own table would not suit everyone, particularly someone travelling alone. I would have preferred communal eating. The breakfasts in the bush were excellent.

It was very hot when we were there, so the small pool was very welcome. I liked the fact that you kept the same waiter and guides for the entire stay as it enabled you to build a good rapport." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Middlesex

"Fabulous Safari at Selous Impala Camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2008
"We thought the camp delightful and appreciated having the same guide and driver throughout our stay. We liked going out early in the morning 6.30 and having bush breakfast, but found the first time we did this we didn't get back till almost 1p.m. and found this too tiring so we mentioned this to our hostess and next time returned at 11.30 which was much better. The majority of the time we were the only two passengers in the land rover and consequently were able to ask lots of questions.

Paul was really pleased they gave him a meat alternative when fish was served at lunch time. I liked the barbeque when all the guests and some of the guides sat down together. I mentioned this to our hostess (apologise I can't remember her name) and she said some guests liked being alone especially if they were on honeymoon or were there for a special occasion. I said it was our wedding anniversary and the next evening we were treated to a romantic candle lit dinner complete with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine.

All the staff, without exception, were kind, friendly and helpful and made the whole experience delightful.

Our only negative comment would be that it might have been nice to have a few more loungers round the pool." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr N
Denmark

"Selous Impala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2008
"The service was excellent and so was the the efforts to fulfill my wishes. I was very impressed by the guide (Makomba) and driver (Aridi) who were at my disposal during my stay. I got a lot of good informations about the wild life while we were on game drives.

I had preferred dining in groups at larger tables in stead of sitting at individual tables at lunch and dinner but it didn't spoil my impression of an excellent camp." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Worcester

"Great safari at Impala Camp"

5 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2008
"We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Impala, and have no complaints. Our guide, Ezra, was excellent and really 'made' our stay; he was knowledgable, interesting and amusing, and went out of his way to find out what we would like to see. He seemed to have binocular vision, and together with his driver Roger (?) made a great team. Abdullah, Hassan nd Gerard were also very good at driving the boat safaris. It was good to have the variety of walking, boat and car.

The accommodation was excellent, and the staff were very helpful. The little luxeries like early morning tea, eucalyptus flannels after a long day, juice befroe the afternoon safari, and always being welcomed back by Chloe and Mara were really appreciated.

Our only comments (not complaints!) were connected with food. the food was excellent - the only problem was that there was too much! Lunches could have been lighter, and it would have been friendlier if all the guests could have eaten at a long table more often. However, bush breakfasts were something never to be forgotten; coming round a promentory after 2 hours walking, and seeing breakfast laid out on a table by the lake was very momorable." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Edinburgh

"Selous - The River Makes the Difference"

4 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2008
"We loved the river safaris which were so relaxing after the Land Rovers - great views of wildlife from the boat, especially elephants.

Food was delicious - special mention for the home made marmalade!" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 221-230 of 275
96%
275 reviews of Impala Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
235
31
9
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (67 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa