This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Selous Impala fly-camp
Selous Impala fly-camp
Selous Impala fly-camp
Selous Impala fly-camp
Selous Impala fly-camp
Selous Impala fly-camp
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp


7°42’34.7"S 38°11’58.1"E

Reviews of Impala fly-camping

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Impala fly-camping and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Ms B
Seattle

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2017
"A great experience. Heartily recommend it. Only problem is the toilet away from the tents. Only an issue at night!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2013
"The fly camp experience was much enjoyed and, with the staff numbers accompanying us, explained the additional cost which, on initial booking, seemed a bit steep. The gradings must be viewed bearing in mind the type of camp.

The food was good and made better by eating in front of the camp fire in the lakeside location.

We enjoyed the foot safari here and Andrew, our guide, was excellent all through.

A good thing to have done." See all these reviews: 19n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The S family
Drayton

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2013
"Not sure that we gained much from this but it was enjoyable.
Comfortable tents
Noisy wildlife, but that's what we went for
Good food...we thought it would be cooking over an open fire, not a roast chicken with Jersey new potatoes! It was good to have our guide Gerrard join us for dinner
Good campsite
Enjoyed the morning walking safari." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr W
Richmond

"Selous Impala Fly Camp"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2013
"The only time we felt properly alone in the bush was at the fly camp. Of course there was an armed ranger nearby and several other members of staff, but sitting in the tent, looking out over the lake, we could have been completely alone. In the middle of the night all you could hear was the wild life, we lay there wondering just how close the hippos were.

The fly camp was a complete change from Selous Impala Camp. A small, basic but comfortable tent, a pit toilet and camp shower, but still the same level of attention to detail and of course great guiding.

The only down side was that our guide, rather strangely, joined us for the “romantic lakeside dinner” – making it slightly less romantic..." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr W
Essex

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Oct 2012
"The nature of the camp was not what I anticipated as my expectation was for something much more basic - possibly influenced by one of the pictures in the brochure showing a framework covered by a mosquito net and otherwise open to the elements.

The camp appeared to be permanent with a tent including a double bed and adequate external toilet and shower facilities. The dining area was covered by a gazebo and the table had a white table cloth, napkins, cutlery and glassware. Food was good considering the limited facilities. I was the only one to hear the leopard in the night but the next morning Ezra found fresh leopard tracks (in fact their were two) so I was clearly not mistaken.

It would be helpful, I think, if it were made clear to travellers that this is not the basic experience that I had expected although it was, nevertheless, thoroughly enjoyable." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs H
UK

"Selous Impala fly camp"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"A lovely experience. A friendly efficient team catered for our needs.

It was wonderful to get up at sunrise and watch the wildlife wake!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Wembley

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"The location of the fly-camp was amazing - right in the bush next to the lake. Couldn't have been better! The staff were all brilliant and really looked after us. We were amazed to find that we had 5 staff there, just for us! The whole experience was superb and I'd thoroughly recommend it to any other of your customers.

On the (slight) down side, we were told (by you? and by the Selous managers when we arrived) that we would be able to do a walking safari when we were at the fly-camp (or maybe walk to the camp, or from). This sadly wasn't possible, although we could potter up and down the shore of the lake near the camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Bedford

"Highlight of our trip"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2011
"We spent one night at the Impala fly-camp which was probably the most memorable night of our entire stay.
We arrive at the camp after dark as our truck managed to brake down just as the sun was setting.
On our arrival we were met with a cool drink and introduced to the fly-camp staff. We had a small team of people looking after us, including an armed guard an chef.
The camp was marked out with lanterns and we had a quick look around before dinner. Set close to a lake, the camp included a shower, bucket toilet and wash basin. Our tent was filled with a large foam matress and we could see the camp fire from our bed.
Dinner was again superb and a we enjoyed a few beers around the camp fire before bed. Laying in bed listening out for hyena calls and sometimes wondering just how close they were was a night I will never forget.
A definate must do if you are stayin 4 nights or longer." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Derbyshire

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"a 'fixed' fly camp but it did have the feel of being in the wild.

camp staff provide excellent service and meals and the standard of guiding was excellent with a very good rapport between guide and guest

facilities etc very good and in keeping with the feel of the camp

we would be happy to repeat the experience" See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr S & Ms H
Kent

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2011
"We felt thoroughly spoilt when we arrived to find that we had five staff to look after the two of us!
We were glad that we booked to stay for two nights because this gave us a full day there, without having to unpack and then pack up to leave the next day.
The staff looked after us wonderfully, with the chef even cooking our eggs for breakfast over the fire under a table because it was raining." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 31
92%
31 reviews of Impala fly-camping by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
11
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Siwandu

Siwandu

Siwandu is a luxurious and smoothly run camp with beautiful rooms offering great views over Lake Nzerakera.


97% (79 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa