This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu
Siwandu

Reviews of Siwandu

Wildlife sightings and reviews

78 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Siwandu and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Siwandu.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

15% success

Wild dog

50% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

93% success

Spotted Hyena

71% success

Eland

67% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 78
Duration
Arrival date
M & C
London

"Siwandu review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2019
"Beautiful lakeside location, Great service.

The area was very green in December, and there had been much rain the previous week. This made hunting for wildlife more of a challenge - but we still saw plenty, including wild dogs. The water trip was excellent, and also lunch relaxing on the pontoon.

A new dam is being built in the Selous - far from the lodge, but the new access road has made the area more accessible. I am worried that the dam will also affect water levels and wildlife over the next few years." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs JP
London

"Super Siwandu"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2019
"Selous was a great contrast to our few days in Ruaha. The rains had come early and it was very green and lush. Siwandu is beautifully situated on a lake and offers evening boat safaris and pontoon lunches (lunch on a boat) which provide a different perspective from land safari drives. The tents are large, comfortable, and well equipped. Mau did an excellent job of caring for our room and clothes washing. Our lake view was slightly restricted (room name Moja), numbers 3 to 6 on the south side have a more open view. All the food was excellent and we were superbly looked after by Alphonse. Evening meals start with a communal drink around the camp fire followed by dining alone on tables dotted around the banda. It is an open camp and regularly visited by elephants, giraffes and hippo. Maasai warriors escort you around after dark in case of any close animal encounters - we felt safe at all times.Our guide Christopher was knowledgeable, attentive and patiently answered all our questions. We asked to see wild dogs and he had tracked them down within an hour. We also had an excellent lion sighting finding them camped for the day in a little thatched open hut. One downside is the lack of mobile coverage in the camp and wifi only available in the reception area. It was also quite humid whilst we were there and we incurred a number of mosi bites. But overall a great safari experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr I
Abergavenny

"Fab safari at Siwandu"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2019
"It was lovely to return to Siwandu and it was made more special by our request for our previous guide being granted.

Some improvements had been made to the camp in the four years that have passed since our last visit.

We had heavy rains towards the end of our visit and they coped well maintaining our safari programme. Also despite the airstrip being closed due to flooding, suitable arrangements were made for our onward flight." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr D.
Maldon

"Siwandu review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2019
"The location of Siwandu by the lakeside with views from the terrace was excellent. There was easy access to boats at the lakeside. The camp also provided lunchtime boat trips with lunch served on board whilst enjoying the wildlife.

Every member of staff contributed to the excellent service. It seems there was nothing that was too much trouble. The food was creative and good quality.
Our guide during the four days of our trip was Christopher. He was knowledgeable and took the time to give context and background information about habitat etc. We were fortunate to have Christopher as our guide throughout our stay.

A unique experience for us was discovering many species of birds at a feeding frenzy of catfish after rainfall.

Siwandu is a bird spotters paradise." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Mrs S
france

"Delightful Siwandu"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2019
"An oasis of calm, Siwandu has impeccable standards, and our second visit lived up to all our expectations. The staff are friendly but discreet, and very efficient. The tents and facilities within are of a very high quality, spotless and comfortable with amazing views down to the lake. The food is fabulous, every meal a joy, portion sizes perfect. And lovely to have a lunch out on the lake again. It’s great that Siwandu is now all inclusive, but I was slightly disappointed that there was no longer a little shot of liqueur offered on return from the evening game drive!

Activities were excellent, with a combination of drives, boat on the lake and walks. Would like to see different levels of walking tour offered though, as we all found the walk too sedate, despite being incredibly interesting. But we had excellent sitings every day.

The only slight negative, which is totally beyond the reach of Siwandu to fix, is waking up to the sound of trucks rumbling down the newly widened road on their way to the dam construction site. We hope this doesn’t have a negative impact on Siwandu and the reserve as a whole in the coming years." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

Mr J
Basingstoke

"A warm welcome"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2019
"Accommodation: The best safari style accommodation I've seen in 4 trips. Very well designed and equipped "tents" and with that all important view to the middle distance down to the lake.

Food and drink: The food was less fancy than some places of this type, but was very suitable to the weather and the activity level of the trip. In some ways, actually, this type of food is ideal being relatively simple, but is less spectacular than elsewhere. Overall, we preferred the food here to Ikuka. The wine however was a weakness and not of a good standard. Just a question of getting better advice I think, because the wines at Ikuka were absolutely fine.

Staff generally: Very willing and helpful although less refined than some places. Emil, the camp manager, is highly attentive and the room butler was exceptional. The atmosphere here is more of a camp with connections to its local community rather than the "colonial outpost" vibe of some places.

Guiding: Our young guide Amos was extremely knowledgeable and competent (although not as experienced as Geofrey at Ikuka who was exceptional)

Vehicles and game drives: A weakness - the vehicle was older and the roads in the Selous were considerably worse than other areas I've been to.

Game viewing: Very good for giraffe as well as hippo and other water dependent wildlife because of the lake. We were fortunate to see buffalo and lion relatively near by as we understand this is not typically the case and the long drive to get a sighting could be quite bad (as we discovered with a drive out to see some Wild Dogs). Also only two sightings of a single elephant here. This is all relative of course, and I'm nitpicking as one of our game drives in particular was absolutely stunning. Also a very interesting and entertaining walking safari with Allen, the head guide." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Family G
Newbury

"Fantastic safari"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"Staff were fantastic. Lovely people, couldn’t do more for you. Everything went extremely smoothly.

Premises all clean, tents/ rooms had lovely decor. Safari also good, with fun guides. Walking safari a bit tame, and felt a little staged.

We all enjoyed the delicious food, and the stories around the bush tv, as they called the camp fire.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mrs L.
London

"Excellent stay at Siwandu"

3 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"Fantastic location, extremely comfortable tents, great food and outstanding service from the staff at the camp - management team, guides (thank you Allan!), all the other staff and the chefs." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs D
Worcs

"Great hospitality"

4 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2019
"The hospitality and the set up at the camp was great. It was really good that we had separate tables at mealtimes because we do not like forced 'getting to know people'. However, the camp did try to force us to get to know other people which was a bit irritating.

The wildlife was not brilliant here. Everything else - the service, the camp, the food etc was great. However, I am not sure we would recommend it because there were long drives without seeing anything." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Devon

"Wonderful lakeside camp"

4 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2019
"A lovely welcoming camp. Helen was so helpful and accommodated our wishes even when we changed our minds.
We loved the views at lunchtime, sitting around the fire before dinner, eating out under the stars and chatting with our fellow guests in the bar afterwards.

A lovely, cool, spacious tent but not overly keen on the arrangement whereby the flaps tied back afforded a view of the toilet but we did like the outside shower.

Heard interesting and sometimes scary animal noises in the night!
Great boat trips on the lake (including a surprise lunch on the boat)" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 78
97%
78 reviews of Siwandu by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
68
9
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Selous Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Selous Impala Camp

Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp is a comfortable, excellent-value camp with colourful tented rooms raised on platforms, good guiding and tasty food.


96% (279 reviews)
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Camp

Lake Manze Camp is a rustic, lakeside bushcamp in the Selous Game Reserve that offers a great experience and doesn’t cost the earth.


93% (211 reviews)
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

Beho Beho is one of the best camps we work with in Africa, with gracious hosts, fantastic food and most importantly, excellent guiding.


100% (165 reviews)
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

The stylishly put together Sand Rivers has an outstanding reputation, with a wonderful location on the Rufiji River and great guides.


96% (68 reviews)
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Treehouse is a satellite tree platform for just one couple, managed by Beho Beho and ideal as a one-night honeymoon retreat


97% (34 reviews)
Selous Impala fly-camp

Impala fly-camping

While you're staying at Impala Camp in the Selous Game Reserve, you can enjoy a few nights' fly-camping in the heart of the bush.


92% (32 reviews)
Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp

Rufiji River Camp has a lovely location right on the edge of the Rufiji River and while not luxurious, it is one of the lowest-cost camps in the park.


87% (14 reviews)
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camp

Sand Rivers fly-camping safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


98% (13 reviews)
Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous

Roho ya Selous is a smart tented camp on the west side of lake Nzerakera, close to the park’s best wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (5 reviews)
Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Beho Beho Bailey's Banda

Bailey's Banda at Beho Beho is a luxurious safari lodge in the Selous which can be booked exclusively for you and your party.


100% (4 reviews)
Sand Rivers walking mobile

Sand Rivers walking

Sand Rivers walking mobile safaris in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve operate out of Sand Rivers Camp, on the Rufiji River.


100% (3 reviews)
Kiba Point

Kiba Point

Kiba Point is the private sister camp of Sand Rivers, available on an exclusive basis, with its own private drivers and staff.


100% (2 reviews)
Rufiji River fly-camping

Rufiji River fly-camp

Fly-camping trips can be organised from Rufiji River Camp in Tanzania's Selous Game Reserve


90% (2 reviews)
Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain Lodge

Sable Mountain is a simple safari lodge just outside Selous's northern boundary, and perfect if you're travelling on a tighter budget.


No reviews yet
The Retreat

The Retreat

The Retreat offers a holistic approach to a safari, combining wildlife and nature with spiritual health, healing and spa treatments.


No reviews yet
Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge

Mivumo River Lodge is Serena's main lodge in the Selous. Although comfortable, the windows and air-conditioning dispel any wilderness feel.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa