This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs C from Lancashire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

14

Excursions taken

0

My May 2009 trip

Namibia between 29 May 2009 and 18 Jun 2009

Trip rating: Good
"Overall a rewarding experience, we only saw one solitary male lion in etosha although we heard the roars each night (my wife was convinced
that these were actually recordings played for our benefit)!!

The directions for Frans Indongo on your map were not correct, the D2804 is really a 4wd road. the correct route would be to carry on the
B1 road to the D2433, the lodge manager confirmed this. Not a compaint just a point of interest."

Feedback response

We are sorry that our suggested routing to Frans Indongo proved to be less than perfect for these travellers. When we last drove along that road it was fine for 2WD vehicles. It has obviously deteriorated since then so we will make sure to only use it if our travellers have a 4WD vehicle. This is why we find travellers feedback so helpful to us!

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2009
"Excellent location, the Dune Chalets were superb with panoramic views. The meercats were uncooperative (Photographically speaking)
we did not see any Bat-eared foxes."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Amani Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"The best organised of all the Lodges"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2009
"The Big Cat Experience was excellent, it was so well planned far superior to Okonjima."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Super new VIEW ROOMS"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2009
"The new View Rooms are superb and a big improvement on the room we stayed in last year.
The food is good, staff are excellent. My big complaint would be the game drives, very disappointing and the Wild Dogs were in a very small
enclosure of which I am sure Expert Africa would not approve of."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Enigma Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2009
"A sense of humour is essential if you are to stay at Hobatere Lodge. Elctrical Power is only available between 1700 and 2200 hours, the rooms
were probably designed by Basil Fawlty or Mr.Bean. A huge branch of a tree is positioned on the bed head at the exact position to render one
unconscious should one sit up quickly.
The Tree House looks as though it was constucted by a troop of baboons, during our stay a couple who had booked the "Tree House"
refused point blank to stay there.
A coach party arrived on our last day, and this did not improve matters.

The highlight of Hobatere was the waterhole, superb photo opportunities, Elephant, Oryx, Kudu, Hartmann,s Mountain Zebra and many more,
super."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2009
"This was my third visit to Okaukuejo, the position of the waterhole Chalets is superb and the waterhole itself is just the best.
One complaint, this year our first visit to the restaurant was also our last the food was uneatable we tried the snack bar which was just as bad.
The cooking in both cases was to blame not the ingredients, I did complain to the management when leaving."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Terrible
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2009
"Excellent camp, good food and friendly staff. Perfection would be achieved if the waterhole could be exchanged with Okaukuejo's."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2009
"Good camp for a short stay, excellent staff very helpful, owners not."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2009
"This was our second stay at Frans Indongo, a large German coach party arrived at the same time as ourselves and seemed to take over the place."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Self Drive Photo Safari

Namibia between 11 Jun 2008 and 25 Jun 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"My wife and I enjoyed the trip immensely, the photography was beyond my expecations, Leopard, Cheetah, Lions, Hyena, Rhino, all very rewarding.

Thanks Expert Africa."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

O/A

"Wildlife Photo Safari self drive"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jun 2008
"This was my second year travelling with Expert Africa to Namibia, all arrangements were excellent and beyond our expectations. The only problem was Air Namibia yet again. I made special arrangements through Expert Africa for extra weight in my hand luggage for photographic equipment, when I arrived at Gatwick check in they denied all knowledge of the special allowance. This is the second time in two years I have had this problem and consequently I would not fly with this Airline again. I would add that the hand luggage was not even weighed at the check in on the return from Windhoek."
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Main Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2008
"My favourite camp, the staff at this camp are simply the best, very friendly and extremely helpful.

The special photography trip to see Wahoo was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2008
"The Meru-style tents had been renewed days before we arrived which was a nice surprise.

We saw a pride of eight lions, and four black Rhinos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2008
"The waterhole at this camp must be the best in Africa, and the proximity to the Waterhole Chalet was superb.

We saw 48 elephants drinking at one time, and later the same day 3 black rhinos and 3 white rhinos together."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Restcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2008
"The chalet at Halali was double the size of the waterhole chalet at Okaukuejo and very relaxing. The waterhole at Halali was, not surprisingly a little disapointing after Okaukuejo.

The best waterhole outside the camp was probably Rietfontein."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2008
"We loved the style and impeccable condition of this camp, and only wished we had arranged to stay longer.

The food and the chalet were the highest quality of the whole trip. Finding the white rhino on the drive was a bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team