This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs DP from NW London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Our Safari

Namibia and 1 other country between 13 Oct 2008 and 25 Oct 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another great time in Africa, it always fascinates and enthralls us. No problems with any of our arrangements inspite of a fairly convoluted itinerary. If anyone has discovered an effective way of dealing with tetse flies we would appreciate their advice.They were quite a problem on the Lower Zambezi this year!

Apart from the flies our only other grumble was having to pay £75 visa charge each for a 6 hour stay in Zambia while en-route to Namibia,and then being charged again when we returned 5 days later.



No, the service and trip lived up to our expectations."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Cascade Island Lodge

Cascade Island Lodge

"Ntwala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2008
"It was luxury at Ntwala and it was a new experience for us not having stayed there before. The staff were very helpful and friendly and our young guide Martin was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaza Safari Lodge

Kaza Safari Lodge

"Impalila Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2008
"We have stayed at Impalila on several previous occasions but not since 2004. We had a personal reason for going there this year and the staff at Impalila could not have done more to help us with our project.

David caught the two largest tiger fish of his life which impressed a group on a fly fishing trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

6 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2008
"This was our third visit to Chongwe. It is the most delightful place. We love the fact that the camp is open and the elephants wander freely through it.

Our guides George and Richman and all the staff treated us royally. For our last three nights we were upgraded and accommodated in the Cassia suite which was delightful. Our thanks to Edward and Given who looked after us there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Zambia 2007

Zambia between 29 Oct 2007 and 10 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had our problems on this holiday, we lost a day due to confusion over our flight home and the lack of walking opportunities was a disappointment.The tetses and the bug in the ear also did not help. However the trip was immensely interesting and ultimately very enjoyable. We are pretty experienced travellers in Africa and not easily phased but I am not sure some clients might not have found some of our issues a little daunting. An interesting observation by a fellow traveller at Chongwe that his stay there had made his trip was a view we strongly supported."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Lufupa Tented Camp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"LUFUPA LODGE"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2007
"Excellent staff, in particular guide Robert.

We experienced major problems with tetse flies with both ladies being bitten very badly every day.The tents were not sufficiently secure against insects because of poorly fitted mesh,nor were there mosquito nets.This resulted in an insect getting into my left ear on our final night. After a very uncomfortable night with the fly buzzing in the ear for over 6 hours, my friend who has medical experience succeeded in drowning it with cooking oil. At the camp during our visit the management team of Wilderness Safaries were in residence and Keith Vincent commented on the lack of nets. He had left however by the time the fly incident took place.

Inspite of this problem,and some shortages of supply, perhaps related to the fact we were the last guests of the season, we did enjoy Lufupa especially the river. Incidetally I had the fly removed at the Throat Nose and Ear Hospital on my return to London,"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

"busanga bush camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2007
"Again very good staff and a very interesting location. We were lucky to be sharing the camp with 4 charming Germans and greatly enjoyed their company. There could however have been a problem if they had not been equally flexible as there was only one vehicle and guide for the 8 of us.

Tetse flies were also a big problem here forcing the game drives to keep away from the areas adjacent to the tree line. Supplies were also an issue here with no insect repellent available. The lions and cheetahs were the stars here and we enjoyed our stay, We were impressed by the standard of the cooking onthe basic facilities."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp"

5 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2007
"This was our second visit to Chongwe and it was even better this time.The management staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great holiday.

Our suite was superb and our dedicated butler made sure we were always well served. The birds animals and fishing all exceeded expectations. We will surely visit again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team