This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs R from Norfolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

FANTASTIC

Namibia and 1 other country between 2 Aug 2008 and 24 Aug 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic, amazing.

Nearly all UK travellers we met had arranged their trips via Expert Africa - what more needs to be said? We've travelled with you 3 times now and we wouldn't even contemplate looking elsewhere."

Vineyard Hotel

Vineyard Hotel

"Luxury in the Vineyard"

6 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2008
"No good staying here unless you have a car, but driving around is easy. Gardens very peaceful and spotting giant tortoises is good fun. We used the bar mostly for evening meals - very good value and a wide choice. The main restaurant was perhaps a little formal and expensive for every day use. I loved the bedtime stories left on the pillow! A very original touch. The hotel has an interesting history and you should spend time looking at the photos and reading the book provided in the rooms.
Only criticism is that, although internet connection was available for laptops in the rooms, holidaymakers don't usually carry these and their only option was the business centre, where charges were some 3 times that of internet cafes."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mountain View Guest House

Mountain View Guest House

"One night stand in Springbok"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2008
"A very short stay here, but very welcoming and we had all that we needed."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Quivertree Forest

"Cheetahs at Quivertree"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2008
"It was quite a surprise to discover that we arrived at cheetah feeding time (especailly as we were still on SA time!) This was very interesting and I loved the opportunity to stroke a cheetah! (I do have some reservations about whether it is the cheetahs or the tourists who benefit from them being kept like this).

We had rung the previous day to ask for dinner, which was provided happily and in good style, although we were the only guests. Likewise for breakfast, where we were rather left to get on with it!

We actually had a whole 'bungalow' of 3 bedrooms, sitting area and kitchen, but this was all in need of some renovation and very basic. Clean and tidy though. In view of this, we felt it was rather expensive to also be charged the daily visitors rate for the Quivertree Forest and Giants Playground."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"Paradise"

3 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2008
"A very biased view as we know we were treated royally as our daughter spent some months of her Gap Year here.
Rob and Marianne continue to be welcoming, informative hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is fantastic - hot, fresh bread 3 times a day! - and the chat around the dining table between visitors of all nationalities could put the United Nations to shame!

"Lidsten to the silence" is their slogan and I have to say that it is deafening! A beautiful, beautiful place to unwind."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Did it rain?"

3 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2008
"Sam was a wonderful host and was quick to help in any way. Particular thanks for sorting out a hire car exchange for us while we were out for the day. The constant availability of tea/coffee and internet on the mezzanine floor was much appreciated. Einstein's library was also much appreciated. It was good to see how Sam's hotel is constantly upgrading, with new ideas and development. We were pleased to find secure carparking behind the gates."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Elephants and rhino"

5 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2008
"This has been much revamped since our visit in 2001. Our roundel was beautifully furnished and equipped and spotlessly cleaned each day. The restaurant service was efficient despite the numbers of people it copes with. We only had one evening meal there but the game was the best of the entire trip. They still need to sort out how to keep the icecream frozen though! The shop was much better stocked and had most goods most of the time. We took an night game drive which was a thoroughly enjoyable experience, even if no big cats showed up!

The only problem is the length of time it can take to get anything done in the office. They seem to need to produce masses of paperwork for the same thing and there is just not enough staff at the peak times of checking in and out. The few staff work very hard to deal with 6 things at once!

2 corrections to information we were given in UK. Firstly, park entrance fees are not included in accommdation costs and must be paid on arrival. Secondly, the check of your room upon departure is done by radio and is speedy in our experience. Don't be tempted to hand over your passport/driving licence as a deposit on the room - we saw several people hurrying off and forgetting these and another person whose licence had been lost in the office!

Take your own teabags - and Englishman with no breakfast tea is not worth knowing!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

"Final stop"

1 night Arrived 22 Aug 2008
"We have fond memories of this place as an emergency sanctuary after our first visit to Namibia. (when we arrived 36hours late due to a damged plane) We were not disappointed. The rooms are luxurious, well-equipped and surrounded by lush gardens. The hosts are welcoming and attentive. It is a shame this was only an overnighter before flying home. This is our top place to stay in Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team