This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr A & Mrs L from Norfolk

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

30

Excursions taken

3

A Memorable Trip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 9 Sep 2017 and 29 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"What made this trip so special was its diverse nature.

Our itinerary was a balance between adventure (self-drive in Botswana and the Caprivi Strip); land- and water-based game and bird viewing; history and culture. All of this using accommodation ranging from the rustic to the luxurious. We always felt comfortable, even in Zimbabwe which was really the wild card.

We would have no hesitation in returning there (though not driving) or recommending it to others. It is a country with great tourism potential which one day will be allowed to flourish."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Royal Tree Lodge

Royal Tree Lodge

"Ideal to Start or Finish"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2017
"Friendly,efficient and helpful. We stayed here for the first night of our trip and it is ideal for that. About 15km from Maun along a sandy road. Sets the 'mood' for the holiday better than I suspect a town centre hotel would.

We arranged for our hire car to be delivered to the lodge the following morning to begin our self-drive. It didn't happen and made for a stressful first day. We were taken in the lodge vehicle into town to go through the endless paperwork and collect the vehicle from the office. There were so many forms and photocopies required that I don't believe it is realistic to have the car delivered and have to do all that at the lodge. We were over 2 hours late leaving for the long drive to Nxamaseri. The advice from Julius, the very helpful manager, was to be met by the lodge vehicle and be taken to the hire car office. They will wait and you can follow them to the lodge. This way you can have confidence you will find the lodge and have seen the route when you leave the following morning at a time you will be in control of."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nxamaseri Lodge

Nxamaseri Lodge

"We loved it"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"Once there (see below) we really enjoyed Nxamaseri. As we don't fish this was a birding destination for us, as well as part of a water/land balance for our itinerary as a whole.

You can only reach it by boat and there are no other lodges in the immediate area, which makes it wonderfully tranquil. Our guide Adam was excellent and we saw so many new birds (to us) during our private boat and mokoro excursions. Tian, one of the owners, was extremely helpful.

The accommodation is simple and we are definitely not ones to 'rough it' but this was rustic in the best sense and we loved it. There is only a low wall at the front of the 'room' so it is open to the air unless you want to roll down a canvas cover. It was wonderful to wake up at dawn looking through the trees at the rising sun. It's the fresh air appeal of camping but in comfort!

With regard to the journey there from Maun, I have a few thoughts for Expert Africa based on our experience.
The A35, which is the road used for most of the journey to Nxamaseri, is indescribably awful. The size and sheer number of potholes, which join together to make avoidance impossible, makes this a challenge even for confident drivers. When you have been made late and feel you need to tackle it at 100kms per hour, it's even less fun. I suggest that EA should make clients aware of this when planning the itinerary so that they can decide whether they are happy to take it on. The separate sheet of details and directions supplied by EA contains a phone number not recognised by Tian at the lodge and caused confusion."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nambwa Tented Lodge

Nambwa Tented Lodge

"Lovely Accommodation"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"This is a modern lodge with lovely rooms accessed via raised walkways enabling the elephants to walk underneath.

Having crossed the border (without difficulty) into Namibia's Caprivi Strip from Botswana at Mehombo, it was an easy drive along a good road to the entrance of the Bwabwata National Park. Our guide was waiting and having left our car securely, we were taken via a game drive to Nambwa.

It is true that game density is not as high as some other national parks but we did see two of the antelope on our wish list - the Lechwe and Tsessebe - plus one drive when we came across elephant as far as the eye could see. There are also water safaris which are enjoyable. Birding was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

"One of the Best"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"We entered back into Botswana from the Caprivi Strip at Ngoma, once again without difficulty. One tip however is that as Botswana is particularly keen not to let foot and mouth disease into the country, there are regulations that EVERY pair of shoes you have must be dipped in a disinfectant bath on entry. Have them easily accessible and it will avoid having to unpack your luggage to find them.

We found this spectacularly located lodge very much to our taste. High quality, friendly, informal and very efficiently run by Judy, who we understand was the relief manager - a lovely lady! As with all the places we stayed, Ngoma catered for our preference for an individual table for meals outside without any problem at all and this was appreciated.

It is outside the Chobe National Park but there is a gate within 15 minutes drive. We were there at the peak of the dry season and so the reality was that all roads lead to the river's edge as the animals all congregate there for grazing and water. Makes for good sightings of mixed game.We particularly enjoyed the all-day safari. Drive for an hour to Kasane and board the lodge's boat for a couple of hours game viewing on the Chobe river. Then travel through the park - stopping for a picnic lunch - during the afternoon back to the lodge. Recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

"Disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"There are three Princess houseboats in addition to the Zambezi Queen. We travelled on a Princess with 5 cabins. This was the only accommodation on the trip which we would not return to. It markets itself as a luxury experience and it is not. We felt it was very much oversold. It was a somewhat tired vessel and cabin 4 next to the generator needs some serious tlc. We understood that every cabin had its own small boat to enable guests to choose what they might want to do. It was obvious on arrival that the staff wanted to treat all the guests as a 'group' doing activities together in a larger boat. After some pressure we managed to get a boat but there certainly was not a boat for each cabin. We enjoyed the excursions on the larger boat when we did them.

One other aspect to point out is that as Namibian registered vessels they have to follow that country's bank of the river. Most of the game is on the Botswana bank and that side of the large island which appears in the dry season."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"Absolutely Wonderful"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2017
"This is a truly special hotel. The biggest regret of the trip was that I had only asked for 1 night here. Having seen the Falls before I thought that was all we needed but this hotel is a destination in its own right!

We stayed here in 1970 and this was a sentimental return as part of a wedding anniversary. In those days it was a 3 star hotel and now it is 5 star+. They have kept all of the original colonial features (built 1904) and added the facilities expected in the 21st century. Corridors are filled with period photographs and posters, which we loved exploring

We had a room in the stable wing which was lovely. If I can find a half decent reason to return, we will."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"It's all about the Game"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2017
"We had absolutely excellent game and bird viewing at Camp Hwange. Our guide, Washington, was one of the best we've had over several safari trips. A local man, he has come up through the ranks and is absolutely passionate about what he does. Ideally for us he was a mine of information about birds and keen on photography. Not yet 'Zim Pro' but he soon will be and we would always ask for him if we were to re-visit.

We were very appreciative that they set up a table on the small 'patio' in front of our room each evening and served our dinner there. Those doing the serving were delightful.

A few constructive comments - the 'back of house' was not as strong as the front. Our time of departure from the Victoria Falls Hotel was never confirmed and we spent too much of our all-too-short stay there running around during the evening and early morning trying to get the phone answered to find out. Comparing the housekeeping and laundry service with other equally remote camps, it left a lot to be desired. They have a known problem with dormice seeking food during the night. If we had been advised we could have avoided a luggage bag and a flight bag having holes eaten through them and the contents shredded."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Norma Jeane's

"Expectations Exceeded"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2017
"We stayed here only because it was in the vicinity of Great Zimbabwe. Our expectations were not very high but in fact we enjoyed our stay and it was a very comfortable, traditional, hotel. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the gardens and views across Lake Kyle were beautiful.

Only 10 minutes from the entrance to Great Zimbabwe."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Amalinda Lodge

Amalinda Lodge

"A Unique and Comfortable Base"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2017
"Amalinda's unique selling point is how the whole lodge has been set into the landscape. The 'whaleback' boulders of the Matopos have been incorporated into the rooms and public areas. Note that this does mean a lot of steps everywhere, particularly to reach the bar and dining room. Our room was simply enormous with a high thatched roof and two double beds. The bathroom was bigger than most hotel rooms!

Having been guided around Great Zimbabwe by Paul Hubbard, a local historian of note, he was also our guide here for our exploration of the Matopos. I have a great interest in Cecil Rhodes, the founder of Rhodesia, and it was an ambition realised to have Paul take us through the area to sites and buildings associated with him. His knowledge is truly impressive. The highlight was to visit Rhodes' grave at 'View of the World' at sunset and watch the close of the day with a G&T. Amalinda was an excellent base for these activities and the full day we spent exploring Bulawayo.

The Matopos offers spectacular scenery, cave paintings and rhino tracking."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

A Second Visit to Namibia

Namibia between 16 Oct 2013 and 12 Nov 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a comprehensive trip of almost a month, travelling in an anti-clockwise 'circle' ranging from Etosha in the north to Luderitz in the south.

We love this laid-back, spectacular country and the freedom that self-driving gives. It has to be one of the safest countries there is and we always felt completely comfortable. Apply normal common sense and visitors of any age can enjoy a wonderful adventure. In tourist terms everything is small scale and personal, even the most famous attractions attract very few people. Hugely enjoyable."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Comfortable and Convenient"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"This was our second stay here after a gap of three years. It is an ideal place to begin or end your tour of this stunning country.

Very easy to find in Klein Windhoek, one of best areas of this very small capital city. Most guests stay only one night but this time we stayed for two as we wanted to do a tour of the city (not really much to see in all honesty - the highlight was a visit to the township of Katatura and it's market with a guide). Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff are efficient and friendly. Breakfast is adequate. Secure parking. Only a couple of minutes drive to the famous Joe's Beerhouse restaurant. Free wi-fi in the public area. This guesthouse has a lot going for it and is recommended."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Not the Traditional Safari"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2013
"This is not the traditional 'big 5' safari experience. As the home of the AfriCat Foundation it is firmly focused on cheetah and leopard. This should be seen as complementary to safari elsewhere (it is easy to combine with the excellent Etosha National Park) or for those particularly interested in these beautiful big cats.

We had a View Room at the Main Camp which was spacious, well equipped and comfortable. Free wi-fi in the public area. The tariff includes two activities each day - primarily to look for either cheetah (more or less guaranteed) or leopard (much more difficult). Both wear radio collars to assist location for research purposes. We found that the cheetah safari was the most satisfying as you are taken through a bigger area of the park and we saw a very impressive range of animals. In fact during this activity we were very lucky and found a superb un-collared leopard that we were able to see from very close range and get great pictures. We also walked 100 yards or so into the bush with a guide and tracker to see a mother cheetah and her cub. Cheetah don't see people as prey so that makes it possible to do this in relative safety.

Food was adequate if a little hit and miss. As long as you are clear how the Okonjima experience will fit into your overall plan/time available, it is highly recommended. In order to enjoy the activities to the full, I would strongly suggest you stay for two nights."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"One of the Best"

3 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2013
"Conveniently situated for the Namutoni Gate on the eastern side of Etosha National Park, we stayed at Mushara Lodge for three nights. This is a professional operation with high standards.

Our room was large, very attractive, stylish and well equipped with lovely comfortable beds. Free wi-fi in the public areas. The tariff works on a half-board basis as most people staying there are self-driving and spend the day in the National Park. However they also offer guided safaris into the park at extra cost if you don't want to drive yourself. There is a good pool and very nice public areas. Accommodation units are detached and well spaced for privacy.

Food was good. We stayed in 13 different lodges during our month-long trip and this was one of the very best. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

"Convenient"

1 night Arrived 23 Oct 2013
"Only half an hour from Etosha's Andersson Gate, this is a well-established, family run guest farm appealing to those looking for a personal accommodation experience. Rooms are rustic but fully equipped and very clean with nice bed and bathroom linens.

We were welcomed and hosted by Rachel, which added a lot to our overall enjoyment. Food was simple home-cooked. Guided safaris into Etosha are offered if you don't want to drive yourself. My only constructive suggestion would be that the combination of having to name a time for breakfast the day before, and having no in-room facilities for making a morning cup of tea/coffee is an uneasy one. If you get your waking-time estimate wrong it can seem an awfully long time to breakfast without a drink.

However this won't matter to many and the friendly hospitality and convenient location will make it a very good stopover choice."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Location, Location, Location"

3 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2013
"It's all about location! Unless you have a 4x4 (and some experience) you leave your car in a secure parking area and you and your luggage are transported 1.5km to the top of the mountain, where the lodge sits on the rim with stupendous views of the Klip River Valley below.

Accommodation is in stone and thatch chalets. All are detached with the exception of numbers 3 and 4 which are attached to each other. As we stayed for 3 nights (rather than the 1 or 2 which seems typical) we were annoyed to be allocated number 3 which was small, and although we have been married for an awfully long time, we would have preferred a door on the toilet! We were let down by Expert Africa on this occasion as they could and should have been aware enough to have requested one of the detached units (ask for number 13 or 14 which are new).

There is a pool which gives the term 'infinity' a whole new meaning, perched on the edge of the terrace before the sheer drop into the valley. I wouldn't think the lodge was suitable for young children at all. Staff were uniformly friendly and eager to please and the food at dinner was very good (and in the context of the location, excellent). Note that water is heated by solar panels and so in the colder months showers are best taken in the afternoon/evening.

There is 24 hour electricity but no sockets to re-charge batteries, though you can take them to a central point for that to be done. There are no room keys and so it is not possible to lock it at any time. There is a room safe with a returnable deposit for the key. Room cleaning was not as impressive as the restaurant service. Those with walking difficulties may find the rocky nature of the site and paths to rooms a bit of a challenge.

Activities are, frankly, expensive based on what we saw elsewhere. Elephant and rhino tracking are key attractions, though looking for the rhino may be considered arduous for mature guests. There is also a visit to a village of the Himba people and walks. Overall we had mixed feelings but the magnificent location probably conquers all and for that unique experience it is worth considering, probably for 2 nights."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

"Exceeded Expectations"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2013
"Something of an oasis in this dusty little town. We got a warm welcome and were the only guests the night we stayed in one of the thatch-roofed rooms. It was large, clean and simple with en-suite shower, fridge and air-con.

White Lady is actually quite a big set-up with camping as well as B&B and is attractively laid out. Breakfast is taken in an outdoor thatched 'lapa' complete with full kitchen. The food was very good, a buffet plus eggs, bacon etc., far exceeding expectations. No real reason to visit Uis other than as a stopover to break a longer journey or to see the nearby Brandenberg 'White Lady' rock paintings. White Lady does the job it is designed to do very well."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A Good Choice"

3 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2013
"Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very conveniently situated just a few minutes walk from the main street of the attractive town of Swakopmund. Friendly and efficient staff ensure Central runs like clockwork. Smart and clean, there is a guest lounge with comfortable furniture and complimentary sherry in the evening. Free wi-fi in the public areas. Breakfast is excellent.

There is a complimentary drinks station on the first floor landing but this is not ideal as you are conscious of making a noise which could wake other guests when making an early morning coffee. We had room 6, which though small had our required twin beds and bath/shower, and was fully equipped. The bath was a welcome luxury in what can be the very cool micro-climate of Swakopmund. This is a comfortable base and a good choice."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Excellent"

29 Oct 2013 • All-day excursion

This is a tour with everything - scenery, wildlife, thrills and education. Our excellent guide, Ernst, provided a perfectly balanced day in one of the unique coastal dune areas of the world. Very good lunch. Highly recommended.
Excellent
Desert tour

Desert tour

"Fascinating"

30 Oct 2013 • All-day excursion

After the excellent Sandwich Harbour tour the day before, we went with the same guide, Ernst, on this lower-key but equally fascinating half-day tour.

Ernst's passion for the flora of the desert conveyed itself to us and he was extraordinarily knowledgeable. Seeing thousand-year old welwitschia plants was a highlight.
Excellent
Rostock Ritz

Rostock Ritz

"Space, Scenery and Peace"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2013
"Most often used as a one night stopover, this lodge with the wonderful name is worthy of two nights if you don't want to charge from place to place. They offer a couple of excursions but the stunning space, scenery and total peace is its own reward. They have a series of self-guided walks of differing lengths and difficulty within the 12,000 hectare property, which is shared with non-dangerous plains game.

Accommodation is in solid igloo-shaped rooms, all with terraces enjoying spectacular views of the surrounding plains, dunes and mountains. Most are semi-detached though we had a suite, number 19, which was detached and very spacious with every facility. I believe the tariff is only available on a bed and breakfast basis with the restaurant operating as a la carte for lunch and dinner. Breakfast was a good buffet with eggs cooked to order. The dinner choices we made were disappointing. We enjoyed our stay at the (Namibian) Ritz."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"An Excellent Choice"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2013
"This is a really lovely lodge run under the personal and attentive care of the owners. Beautifully situated in the desert, about 7km from the road. Very convenient for Sossusvlei and the dunes.

The accommodation is in individual chalets which are excellent, with indoor and outdoor bathrooms. Towels, which let down so many otherwise good places, are first-class. Public rooms are very stylish and, along with everything else at Hoodia, beautifully kept. Food is good without being outstanding and nicely presented. Dinner begins according to 'African time' where the rule of thumb is that it is 7pm whenever it is served, even if that is 7.30!

We stayed at 13 places during our month-long trip and this was one of the very best. An excellent choice and recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"A Unique Opportunity"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2013
"Most guest farms in Namibia are wholly involved in tourism but Dabis is very much a working farm with tourists as a sideline. They only take one group of guests at a time and that 'group' might be one person or twenty-four. This ensures very personal attention.

The absolute highlight is the two-hour farm tour offered by owner Jorg who shares his obvious passion for farming in tune with nature and explains how it is possible to succeed even in the face of the aridity of this harsh and beautiful land. Accommodation is simple and clean though we did struggle without even a fan in the room (day temperatures were approaching 40 degrees and the night was still hot) and somehow the flying insects got through the mesh on the windows.

Food was simple country cooking. Free wi-fi is an unexpected bonus in such a remote location. The unique opportunity to meet and learn from working Namibians such as Jorg and Michelle is the Dabis trump card and the reason to visit."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Nest Hotel

Nest Hotel

"Surprisingly Good"

2 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2013
"On the face of it a standard, local 4 star hotel but while we can't put our finger on why, it exceeded expectations and was very comfortable.

We specifically asked in advance for a room on the top floor with full sea view and balcony and I'm sure that added to our enjoyment. Waking up to the sound of the waves was very pleasant after days in the desert and the view splendid. Breakfast was very good and dinner at the a la carte Penguin restaurant was probably as good as anything in town.

The manager was notable in being visible at each mealtime and taking the trouble to speak to everyone - always a good sign. Free wi-fi. Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sperrgebiet tour

Sperrgebiet tour

"Wonderful"

7 Nov 2013 • All-day excursion

This tour is a photographer's dream. Using a 4x4 mini-bus you can be assured of a small-group experience (there were 5 of us) into a previously forbidden area south of Luderitz. I believe I'm right in saying that only one group is allowed in each day - we certainly saw nobody else, making the desolation and loneliness of the workers in these wind-blasted diamond fields all too easy to imagine.

We were able to stop 'on demand' which was very often as the abandoned workings and settlements were ridiculously photogenic. The Bongenfels Arch was worth seeing and the setting of the desert against the blue Atlantic was beautiful.
Excellent
Image alt

Alte Kalkofen Lodge

"So Imaginative"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2013
"If ever a place could be described as a hidden gem, it is this lodge. Built in recent years, accommodation is in lovely light bungalows with views over the dry riverbed and bush.

Everywhere you look is imaginative, quirky and fun. It has great taste and style originating from charming owners Frikkie and Hilde. They have a genius for taking old items they have found or collected and turning them into objet d'art or working items. Food was excellent and equal to the best we had in a month in Namibia.

It has a waterhole to provide 'bush television' while you enjoy a sundowner on the terrace and eat dinner. Free wi-fi in the public areas. Only an hour from Keetmanshoop and 1km off the tarred B4, I have no hesitation in recommending Alte Kalkofen to those who appreciate a country location done with real style."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Convenient"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2013
"A lodge without a definite character or personality. Our room 'Nyala' was huge with three elements joined together. One contained the sitting room (with an open fire for cold nights), one with the bedroom and one with the bathroom. It had the essential air-con in the bedroom (it was 40 degrees when we were there), fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. No complaints about that at all.

We originally had no hot water but that was fixed promptly when reported. Food was average. Good free wi-fi in the public area. As mentioned, we were there in very hot weather so as it was too hot to walk and there is nowhere of note in the vicinity to drive to, the early morning or sundowner drive is really all there is to do.

My advice would be to arrive in the early afternoon, enjoy the complimentary tea and cake, and then go on the sundowner drive. Stay one night at the beginning or end of your trip as it's only 2 hours from Windhoek (but 3 from the airport)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Absolutely Memorable

Namibia between 10 Nov 2010 and 29 Nov 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia exceeded all expectations. We keep coming back to words like 'spectacular' and 'epic' in an attempt to describe the landscapes and feeling of space.

We always felt comfortable, people are friendly and it must be the safest country in Africa. Driving is an absolute pleasure.

Accommodation and overall general standards are high. When you think how remote many of the locations were, the logistics of the lodge operations in providing those standards is very impressive.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I can think of nothing I'm afraid. We have been very impressed and will certainly consider you and other companies in your group for future holidays."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"An Ideal First or Last Night Stop"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"Situated on the side of Windhoek closest to the airport, the location is ideal.

The guesthouse has a very pleasing, modern design with good rooms, all at ground floor level and is in a quiet neighbourhood. There is an honesty system for any drinks you take from the fridge in the restaurant and complimentary tea and coffee at all times. There is secure parking and it is very easy to find after long flights when maybe you are not at your best. Breakfast is a combination of light buffet and someone to cook eggs etc in the open kitchen.

All in all we can't think of how it could have done it's job of a clean, quiet and comfortable first night stop any better."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Absolutely Memorable"

3 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2010
"We spent 3 nights at the Dune Lodge at the beginning of our trip. The location and landscape is on an epic scale and in retrospect the accommodation was our favourite overall (and that was a very difficult decision based on the quality we enjoyed throughout).

The rooms are individual widely-spaced 'cabins'. Ours had 2 bedrooms, masses of space and was at the end of a line set in the sand starting at the public rooms. The walls are canvas which can be rolled up to create the nearest thing you'll get to sleeping outside while keeping a roof over your head - it was magic to feel the breeze while lying in bed and waking to a view of the sun rising over the desert. Highly recommended.

Management, service and guide excellent. The only aspects we thought could be improved is to (a) create a boardwalk through the sand to the public rooms from the cabin as it does get tiresome trudging through it several times a day and (b) offer a choice of main course at dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A Mixed Experience"

3 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2010
"The accommodation was very good but there was something missing here. It lacked personality and felt a bit soulless in the public areas. The staff seemed to need more training and motivation from hands-on management.

The scenery is spectacular and it's worth the fairly high cost to join their tour to Sossusvlei as they have a private gate which saves over an hour travelling compared to using your own vehicle. It would also be easy to miss Dead Vlei (far more impressive than the more famous Sossusvlei) without a guide.

Food was only average - we were there on a Sunday night with only a few other guests and the normal buffet was changed to a set meal which was by far the worst meal of the whole trip. Chef's night off?

Quad bikes are great fun and we were looked after from a safety point of view and didn't feel we had to go any faster than we wanted to."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Beach Lodge

Beach Lodge

"A Good Choice"

2 nights Arrived 17 Nov 2010
"Completely different from the lodges we used elsewhere, this was a resort hotel. Situated right on the beach in a very imaginatively designed building, it is an easy 5km drive from the attractive town.

The standard rooms are large, very clean and have a balcony or terrace as well as a simple kitchen. It's not 5 star but doesn't claim to be and if you were being really picky you might say that the room had a few bumps and scrapes which could be touched up but overall we found it to be an excellent choice and have no complaints at all.

The really big surprise was 'The Wreck', the hotel's very stylish restaurant which was very good and way above our expectations. It was noticeable that most of the diners were either local or staying elsewhere. It was full each night and pre-booking is a good idea."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Really, Really Good"

3 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2010
"Set high overlooking stunning Damaraland scenery, Mowani was a great favourite. We had a deluxe room rather than a view tent and it was extremely good apart from the poorest shower of the trip. It was impossible to get a consistent temperature and the water hit you like needles..

Because of it's close proximity to the public areas we feared noise but it's not that sort of place and there was never the slightest problem. Views from the room deck, restaurant and particularly the sundowner spot (very memorable) are spectacular.

Service and food excellent. Drives to see the desert adapted elephants and Twyfelfontein rock engravings recommended. Twyfelfontein would be very easy to do yourself as it's close-by and there are guides available."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Close Encounters!"

3 nights Arrived 22 Nov 2010
"This is a real 'Out of Africa' experience. The lodge is unfenced and there is a serious safety briefing on arrival to tell you you have to be escorted to your room after dark and to stay there until daylight. Sounded a bit OTT until we were woken at 3am by the deep rumbling of lions 'calling' outside our room. They were so close that they set off the light outside the door and you could feel the deep vibration through the floor! We took the briefing more seriously after that.

Accommodation excellent with a favourite outdoor shower with a view into the bush and the waterhole. Food and service were patchy (as we found at Kulala, our other Wilderness Safaris operated lodge - though Ongava was the better of the two).

If you are driving yourself we feel it is best to go into Etosha on an independent basis rather than pay for the lodge's trip, you are situated right at the park gate and if you get a map and check the waterholes (in the dry season) and drive slowly your chances of seeing game are good. Another thought is that if the rains have started and the animals no longer need the waterholes there is no need to get up before dawn. We saw all our major animals - lion; rhino; cheetah - in the middle of the morning after a civilised breakfast!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Fantastic Food"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2010
"This was without doubt the best food and service of the whole trip. The staff hit just that right note between friendliness and professionalism, the management here were obviously top rate.

The chef came to the table at lunch and dinner to personally run through the menu, give you choices and make sure you were happy with each course - and the food was fantastic.

We had a package including activities. The drive on the private reserve was fine but very low key. The main drive takes you into Etosha when what you see is a matter of luck as always - the number of game (rather than the number of species) certainly seemed higher on the eastern side of Etosha than the west.

On the day we left they were closing for refurbishment work and the staff having a holiday but there was never the least suspicion that standards would be allowed to slip right to the moment we left. Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Relaxing"

2 nights Arrived 27 Nov 2010
"This was our last stop at the end of a three week trip and we used it to relax prior to the journey home. Different from the lodges we had stayed at in the sense that Erongo has tents set up under permanent thatched covers (same principle as a car port) with a rear entrance into a built bathroom with shower. It's all a matter of choice but 2 nights was enough for us in accommodation as simple as this though there are absolutely no complaints and it was very clean.

Service was friendly (though the lady who meets you and looks after luggage could do with a few more days at the charm school) and Brian the manager was always around to make sure you were happy. The food was OK and there was always a choice for main course at dinner. Activities are low key and we did nothing except a self-guided walk on the property."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team