This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr L from Maryland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

1

My May 2014 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 22 May 2014 and 7 Jun 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was fabulous.

We were too tired in Cape Town to fully appreciate and enjoy it. Then having to get to a 6am flight to Windhoek, really kept us from getting fully adjusted. I did not appreciate the distances we had to cover in Namibia and the slow going (with no place for rest stops) on the gravel roads. We loved everything we saw in Namibia, and I have no regrets. I just wish we had more opportunity for catching our breath or down time!

Botswana is special - everything is easy. Wilderness Safaris do an amazing job, down to helping us check our luggage as we were departing from Maun. All their staff are charming and helpful. I am ready to go again - next time, other Wilderness lodges!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Abbey Manor

"Abbey Manor review"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2014
"The manager, Judy, was lovely and enthusiastic.

Everything about the place was lovely, but it is a bit out of the way from the central part of the city."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2014
"We had a lovely stay - it is in a beautiful setting, and we had great room with a fabulous view."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 May 2014
"The place was great, and our guide to Sossusvlie, Jonathan, was the best of the entire trip.

The drive to and from the area was exhausting (roads are difficult - and it took most of one day to get there from Bagatelle and one day to get to Swakop). Not much one can do, but we were not prepared for how tiring it could be on those drives - with no place to take a break."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2014
"the guesthouse was charming in an excellent location in the town.

Unfortunately, we did not have any time to explore the town, getting in late from Sossusvlei, spending all day on our trip to Sandwich Harbor, and then having to leave early enough to get to Okonjima."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"See prior comments"

29 May 2014 • All-day excursion

Please see prior emails to Maruska
Poor
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 May 2014
"We had an amazing stay. We had an enormous, gorgeous room with a fabulous vista - we even saw the rare aardwolf from our porch. Staff were exceptionally nice and accommodating.

Paul was not feeling well one morning, and missed the game drive, so they let us go out the next morning. Walking on ground level with the cheetahs was a never to be forgotten experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jun 2014
"It was a bit difficult to locate. The wifi did not work (which was problematic mostly because Paul's father was in the hospital and we were trying to stay in touch).

It was a bit difficult to get out for our very early flight (e.g. the front door had a large bar across it which I had to remove, but no one had warned me about it) and all the lights were off on the stairwells. They did pack us a bag of snacks as we missed breakfast."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Savuti Camp

Savuti Camp

"Savuti Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2014
"The staff were lovely. Our guide and the other couple in our Land Rover did not get along. The husband was difficult and demanding, and we had different priorities. I wanted to see as much wildlife as possible, especially large cats. When we had the opportunity to see leopards, he was complaining that we were "driving around too much," and we never made it to the leopard sighting.

I think our guide did not know how to handle this person, which I totally appreciate. Paul and I did tell the managers about the guest's behavior, complaining not only that he was annoying us, but that he was being rude and disrespectful to the guide. It does bring to the fore the problem of being "paired up" with strangers who can positively, or negatively, impact one's visit."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Chitabe Lediba review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2014
"We loved this camp. It was great, all the staff was great, we had a lovely couple from Germany who were with us for three days. We all had a terrific time.

Amazing game drives - lions, leopard cubs, and cheetah successful hunt. It can't get any better than this."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Excellent

breath taking trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 8 Jun 2011 and 18 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a trip of a lifetime, and it was even better than I imagined it would be. The arrangements worked perfectly and we can't wait to go back!!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:
The advice was very helpful and the trip was fabulous. It would have helped to be reminded that it gets cold throughout the evening and night, so we could have used more warm clothing not just in the AM but for the evening and sleeping!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

City Lodge OR Tambo

"fair hotel"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2011
"Rooms are small; staff was not especially helpful"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
DumaTau Camp

DumaTau Camp

"Lovely camp at Duma Tau"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"Our guide, Ron, was terrific. It was VERY cold both nights - food was OK, a lot but not terrific"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kwetsani Camp

Kwetsani Camp

"MOST FABULOUS PLACE WE STAYED"

3 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2011
"EVERYTHING was terrific - from managers to cook to guide. Fabulous location."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Also a lovely camp"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2011
"After Kwetsani, was difficult to follow. Room was even nicer - but low boardwalks and view not as terrific as Kwetsani.

Our guide was fabulous, but most of other staff not as engaging."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
The River Club

The River Club

"Location and view spectacular"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2011
"The location and rooms were fabulous. Excellent way to end a trip"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team