This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Tsika Island Camp
Tsika Island Camp
Tsika Island Camp
Tsika Island Camp
Tsika Island Camp

Reviews of Tsika Island Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tsika Island Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Tsika Island Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Buffalo

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P.
Chilterns

"Tsika Island Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2018
"A brilliant experience, with wonderful noises at night.

The canoeing back down the Zambezi was wonderful." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia; 6n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Tsika Island Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"During my stay at Chongwe, I spent one night at Tsika Island - Just 40 minutes by boat from the camp. This intimate camp "forces" you to switch off from the rest of the world! It is a very special place.. The accommodation is slightly rustic but very comfortable and by the time you have tasted the excellent food prepared especially for you by the local chef and enjoyed conversations without interruptions with the only other guest (that was my case!), you can enjoy a privileged private island sleep! It is a wonderful place to disconnect. " See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Maryland

"Tsika Island Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"We went to Tsika primarily to canoe back to Chongwe the next day, but unfortunately there was too much wind for safe canoeing on the Zambezi. However, we had a wonderful sighting of elephants playing in the river and a very interesting walk through the nearby village.

Tsika is a very small and basic camp, but our bungalow was comfortable and the food was superb.

We were accompanied on the trip by 2 guides, a boatman, and a chef, and there were 3 staff members stationed at Tsika, for a staff:guest ratio of 7:2, so we were very well taken care of." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs G
Bristol

"Tsika Island Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2013
"This was the highlight of our trip to Lower Zambezi. It felt like a mini expedition setting off to the island for the night. The island is beautiful and the accommodation the perfect balance between rustic charm and comfort.

We took the time to visit the local village and school, which was fascinating and put our whole trip into perspective. Spending the following day canoeing back to Kasaka was great fun and gave us some great wildlife sightings along the river.

We were surprised to find that not many people were aware of this being an option from Kasaka but would thoroughly recommend it." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs W
Derbyshire

"Tsika Island Camp review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2012
"The boat trip to get there was interesting and fun

The elephants wandering around the camp

Canoeing back to base was exhilourating dodging hippos
" See all these reviews: 16n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms W
Berkley, CA

"Tsika Island Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"Very secluded lovely location on the Island in the Zambezi river. It was wonderful at this peaceful secluded camp.

We enjoyed the visit to the village which was educational for us. Seeing an actual subsistence farming village and listening to our guide describe the challenges of life with elephants as the primary pest opened our eyes to the problems of life in other cultures.

The canoe trip back to Chongwe was provided an active way to see the sites." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Sweden

"Relaxed and peaceful setting at the riverside"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2011
"Long river trip to Tsika Island, rather windy, beautiful scenery. Tsika island is perfect for a day or two of complete relaxation (apart from the 45 elephants in the camp the morning we arrived), between different activities.
We went up to Chiawa culture village as well as the village itself. Went to the school and the orphanage and had the opportunity to talk to some of the representatives of the village.

Once again deeply impressed by the work performed by the teachers and head master at the village school. As we have understood the schools lack recourses and yet they are able to make "miracles".

Relaxing evening, with sundowner, a nice dinner in candle light and early to bed. And as always hippos walking around the house during the night, only this time the elephants were there as well.

We did the 35 km canoeing back to Chongwe the following day. Partly bumpy due to strong wind, unusual for this time of the year. The logistics around the canoeing was very good. After we had done two thirds of the distance it was time for warm and very good lunch, and some discussions on the various tracks on the beach. Further down during the canoeing we had elephants coming down to drink. We had hippos and crocs also during our entire trip. When we were almost at the the camp Caroline waved welcoming to us from the top of the riverbank

The guides were very good, knew what they were doing." See all these reviews: 18n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
97%
7 reviews of Tsika Island Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lower Zambezi National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

A blend of the stylish and traditional in a most picturesque site in the Zambezi Valley, Chongwe River Camp offers an excellent safari experience and real value for money.


96% (116 reviews)
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

For an intimate safari in the Lower Zambezi, with superb guiding, Old Mondoro is up there with the best.


99% (103 reviews)
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

One of Zambia's top safari camps, Chiawa is family owned and run, offering superb service and a flexible approach from a location well inside the Lower Zambezi National Park.


98% (73 reviews)
Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree Camp

Sausage Tree is a high-quality safari camp of unique design offering excellent personal service deep inside Zambia's Lower Zambezi National Park.


97% (33 reviews)
Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush Camp

Potato Bush is located right in the heart of the Lower Zambezi National Park, with privately guided activities taking you on game drives, walks, boat trips and canoeing.


98% (11 reviews)
Amanzi

Amanzi

Opened in 2015, Amanzi is an intimate and rustic yet luxury camp in a very quiet area of the Lower Zambezi, with plenty of wildlife and good birding.


96% (10 reviews)
Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House

Chongwe River House is a stylish four-bedroom house designed for the exclusive use of families and small groups, affording the ultimate in flexibility on safari.


100% (8 reviews)
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp offers a high degree of understated luxury in a very lovely, quiet part of the Lower Zambezi with outstanding wildlife.


100% (8 reviews)
Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge

Kasaka River Lodge is a relatively simple, family-friendly camp. It's outside the Lower Zambezi National Park and, with a recent change of ownership for the better, it offers a great-value safari destination.


93% (6 reviews)
Kutali Camp

Kutali Camp

Kutali Fly-Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located on Kulefu Island.


100% (3 reviews)
Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp

Chula Island Camp offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of Zambia’s Lower Zambezi National Park, in this simple fly-camp located in a natal mahogany grove on a small island on the Zambezi River.


No reviews yet
Tafara Springs Bushcamp

Tafara Springs

Tarafa Springs offers the opportunity to experience the wilderness of the Lower Zambezi National Park, in this rustic bushcamp located next to the main Zambezi escarpment.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa