This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Eight Reedbuck Hotel
Eight Reedbuck Hotel
Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel


15°24’52.0"S 28°21’6.1"E

Reviews of Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Eight Reedbuck Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Eight Reedbuck Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"This is a OK Hotel for a one night stop over" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr H
Isle of Man

"Ideal for an overnight stop in Lusaka"

1 night Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"The hotel was fine and the room good. The service was a bit haphazard and there was no-one about first thing in the morning when we left.

Breakfast had been delivered to our room the night before and was adequate but not exceptional. Many guests leave early for flights and the hotel needs to do more to provide proper breakfast service for early departures." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms Z
NJ

"Eight Reedbuck Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jun 2014
"All was good here. When my luggage did not arrive, the hotel kindly laundered my clothes gratis.

Would heartily recommend this hotel." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Anglesey

"Eight Reedbuck Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2013
"Quite a change after the bush heat and very welcome! Quiet when we were there and staff very helpful.

Perfect chance to relax at the end of a brilliant holiday. Never got beyond the hotel gates before our flight pick-up but didn't need to!
Recommended." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Lewes

"Quiet and comfortable hotel"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2013
"Small in scale, this is preferable to the large (more central) hotels we have used before. Stylish and comfortable bedrooms and public rooms.

No road name at the end of the road so you need to know it is just off Sable Road. Shower not working due to low Lusaka water pressure when we were there, but the bath was fine." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof V & Mr T
Oxford

"Splendid hotel"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"Really enjoyed staying here on our last night! Excellent steak in the restaurant. But we did not spend long here - got there about 8 pm and left again at 6 the next morning. The staff were lovely and helped with check-in.

I'd be very happy to stay here again." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
E Sussex

"Eight Reedbuck Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2013
"A pleasant hotel which, at first glance, seems really smart but could, possibly, do with a bit of smartening up. It is comfortable and the one course dinner we ordered was freshly cooked, delicious and far too large!

We were only there for about 11 hours so could not do justice, but it is very acceptable." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs F
Newbury

"A very short stay - very nice room, disappoin"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2013
"This was always just going to be a very short stay, the room was very good but the evening meal we had was disappointing.

The continental breakfast was served in our room because of our early departure and was fine." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
The H Family
Germany

"Nice place to stay before starting the safari"

1 night Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"We stayed at Eight Reedbuck Hotel for just one night to relax after our flight from Germany to Lusaka. It was a nice and quiet place - perfect for just relaxing! All people were very friendly and helpful.

The only thing we have to criticize is the restaurant of the hotel: My wife and me were the only guests beeing there for dinner but the whole staff seemed to be overstrained. Each of us ordered a starter and a main course and two of these 4 orders were not availiable. I changed my order to the recommended main course but the meat was tough and almost uneatable. After telling this to the (very friendly) waitress she just answered that next time it would be better.
But except of this experience we enjoyed our stay at this hotel." See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Ms K & Ms R
Florida

"Welcoming and comfortable"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2013
"We were at Eight Reedbuck Hotel for less than twelve hours, arriving after dark and leaving in the early light. We felt as if we missed much of what it had to offer--the lovely garden with a roaring fireplace looked inviting, but we were too bushed to do more than have a quick dinner and go to bed. Even our short stay gave us a feeling of a place that was lovingly and tastefully designed and warmly hospitable. We were welcomed on arrival by Vincent and Alex, who proved to be the chef and the waiter. The first room we were shown had only one bed. Although we had paid for a standard room with two beds, with no fuss and no extra charge, we were quickly ushered to a two bedroom suite which was perfect.

We ordered tomato garlic soup and an Eight Reedbuck salad for appetizers, both of which were so large and so good that we could barely make a dent in our main courses. Note: Skip the bream with chips, as the former was cooked too long and the latter not long enough. Otherwise, it was a lovely meal.

The owner was not on duty but made a point of meeting us and apologizing for the odor of paint, which wasn't a problem at all and easily excused in the interest of progress.

Eight Reedbuck is 30 minutes from Lusaka Airport, but it appears that no hotels are closer. It was a perfectly pleasant stopover for us and we wish we could have seen it in the daylight." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 38
84%
38 reviews of Eight Reedbuck Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
13
19
6
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Lusaka area

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp, situated 14 kilometres from Lusaka's international airport is ideal for a night's stopover at the end of your trip.


79% (120 reviews)
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Lusaka's Taj Pamodzi Hotel is a typical large hotel, which may be useful as a stop-over for the beginning or end of a safari in Zambia.


78% (82 reviews)
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

Latitude 15 is a small but comfortable, boutique hotel in Lusaka's suburbs, with a modern, Africa-chic style.


93% (58 reviews)
Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu Hotel

Radisson Blu is a modern hotel with friendly staff, spacious rooms and good facilities just 20 minutes’ drive from Lusaka Airport.


83% (38 reviews)
Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi Lodge

Lilayi is a boutique lodge on the outskirts of Luaska, located on its own game farm in a lovely rural setting.


92% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa