This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs P from Wembley

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

A great honeymoon

Tanzania between 6 Oct 2011 and 23 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"good: everything! thoroughly spoilt! EA organisation was spot on, lots of bubbly, v luxurious

not so good: n/a

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

v impressed with how our requirements were satisfied ie udzungwe, walking and boating safaris, diving."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Stanley's Kopje

Stanley's Kopje

"Stanley's Kopje review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"The camp and staff were very good - good service, good quality tent, good location. Our guide (Euston) was superb - very knowledgable with extremely sharp eyes. The only slight negative was the food. While it was good quality and very tasty, it was a simple buffet and wasn't as high quality or as well presented as other places.
We were made to feel very welcome and were the only people on most of the game drives.

Our trip to Udzungwe mountains was really interesting. A long bus journey, but interesting to see the scenery on the drive. Some staff came with us on the bus in order to stock up on lodge food and drinks, so we had a short stop in the local town to do this. This was fine for us, and all added to the nature of the trip, but I can imagine some people would be a bit put out."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2011
"The food was amazing - well cooked and presented and served by our personal waiter. My wife is lactose intolerant and although the manager was told about this (by both Expert Africa and us) the message didn't make it through to the kitchen. Several times she was served food she could not eat and it had to go back. But to their credit they always knocked up a superb lactose-free alternative in double-quick time!

Our chalet was right next to the river and gave us a great view of elephants passing by. On our last night we went fly-camping which was a real experience. We had 5 private staff to cater to our every need including heating water for showers and cooking us a three-course meal in our small 'restaurant' by the edge of a lake. The other activities like boat and walking safaris were good, the key interest being that we didn't have to sit in a car for hours each day.

All in all Selous was an incredibly luxurious experience which was only slightly let down by the impression that our days were organised to fit in with the camp schedule rather than what we had planned to do. For example when asked what we wanted to do one evening we opted for a walking safari but were steered towards a game drive as one had already been arranged for another couple.

The other staff were absolutely superb - waiter, guide, tent boy and fly-camping staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Selous Impala fly-camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Oct 2011
"The location of the fly-camp was amazing - right in the bush next to the lake. Couldn't have been better! The staff were all brilliant and really looked after us. We were amazed to find that we had 5 staff there, just for us! The whole experience was superb and I'd thoroughly recommend it to any other of your customers.

On the (slight) down side, we were told (by you? and by the Selous managers when we arrived) that we would be able to do a walking safari when we were at the fly-camp (or maybe walk to the camp, or from). This sadly wasn't possible, although we could potter up and down the shore of the lake near the camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2011
"as before. [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole review"

7 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Pole Pole was an amazing place, and just the thing for our last week on holiday. After a busy week on safari it was the perfect antidote and helped to send us back home fully relaxed.

We particularly liked:
- The massage (Robyn the manager gave us both free massages as it was our honeymoon)
- The staff were really friendly and approachable
- Our room was of a really high standard
- The food was really well prepared, fresh, and had lots of really nice fish!
- The diving (and dive guide Tiego) were excellent.

Although it was brilliant, on the whole, there are a couple of things that could be improved. The room service was slightly random: sometimes it came late, sometimes it didn't arrive (morning coffee, for example). We weren't too fussed by this, and just took it as part of the 'relaxed' approach.

Most of the diving was done within the Mafia bay. We were lucky to get a couple of dives outside the bay which were absolutely stunning. It would be nice if guests going there specifically to dive could get a little bit more information here - will it be possible to go out of the bay, are the tides OK, etc."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

The New Africa

"The New Africa"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2011
"We only stayed one night at this hotel but I'm glad we did. The location is superb, being right in the centre of town. They gave us a free bottle of champagne as we were on honeymoon, which was very nice, but also the chef cooked us a special meal which he made up just for us. They also wrote congratulations on our dessert plate in chocolate sauce. Little touches which made a real difference to the stay.

On the down side, the rooms are starting to look slightly tired. Not a massive problem, we found it on par with a travel lodge for example, but a refurb would make the whole place totally top-notch."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team