This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole
Pole Pole

Reviews of Pole Pole

Wildlife sightings and reviews

97 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Pole Pole and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 97
Duration
Arrival date
M & C
London

"Pole Pole review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2019
"Loved Pole Pole - well run, good links with the dive centre, responsive to our needs. Would happily return.

The manager, Julie, has imbued the hotel and staff with her natural warmth, making this a great environment to stay in.

The Chole tour was excellent.

It did rain for long periods while we were there (December), which was disappointing, but enough sunshine to make it worth the visit." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"A place to Chill"

6 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2019
"Julie the manager certainly knows how to treat guests, between her and her staff nothing is too much trouble.

Room number 7 our accommodation was private, spacious and very colonial and we enjoyed our time here.

Julie arrange most evenings a different location for us to dine such as the library overlooking the beach or the beach itself, very ambient." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
T & S
North Carolina

"Pole Pole - A Perfect End to Safari"

4 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2019
"What a great way to wrap up after 15 days in four safari camps. Flying from the bush to Mafia Island and winding down in the comfortable, laid back and delightful atmosphere of Pole Pole resort was a blessing. You could do nothing, something or fill your days with island activities. - snorkeling, scuba, sail, cruise, explore, lie around the pool, or get expertly performed massages rejuvenating body and spirit.

Julie, the relatively new hostess/manager, already had local contacts in the community and a perfect working relationship with Mafia Island Diving who make it easy to schedule your water activities by coming each evening to the bar and meeting with all the guests individually, explaining tidal influences on timing as well as coordinating how to fit in the most experiences during your visit. Julie knew what was going on in every square foot of Pole Pole and her pleasant demeanor made everything run smoothly. She frequently gave us special "treats" simply because she is a generous, nice person.

Food was delicious and you chose your menu ahead of time. Spirits were fairly priced and the service was very good. The cottages were lovely with outside day beds and in our case we had a 2nd bedroom. The bed in the main room was strewn with flowers when we arrived and overlooked the jungle and ocean. Tea or coffee and biscuits arrived on the patio each morning at whatever time you requested. (So did a crow that wanted his share and managed to break numerous glasses and crockery making us look like the clumsiest couple in the world.)

We met people from around the world staying there and we truly did not want to go back to the states, but when we had to Pole Pole packed us lunches so we could eat them on the plane and arranged to get us to the airport with no stress or worry." See all these reviews: 18n in Tanzania; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr and Mrs G
Bucks

"Blissful, living up to its name"

5 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"One long stretch of relaxation, beautiful beach and bungalows, amazing tides, all staff very caring and kind.

Snorkelling was fabulous, as was the trip to Chole island, extremely interesting to see how people live and hear about their daily routines.

Pole Pole was blissfully quiet as a surrounding, food very good with interesting choices and some local foods on offer. Wireless access only in reception area, which made it very relaxing." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 5n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Worcs

"So relaxing!"

4 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2019
"This was a lovely place. The staff were very friendly, but also did not intrude.

It was so relaxing - we spent lots of time on our balcony just gazing at the sea and doing not a lot. We also went snorkeling and saw lots of amazing underwater life.

Strongly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
Highgate

"Wonderfully relaxing and laid back hotel"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"Great staff

Fabulous rooms and wonderful pool

Great location and food

Loved the excursions

Very peaceful and relaxing" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Geoff
Sunbury

"Great choice for last stop"

5 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2019
"Pole Pole was not as laid back as I expected but that was in part because it was nearly empty.

On my five nights there I was the only guest on two and one of 3-5 on others. The staff were great , Paula and Mleica in particular. The free excursions were good, sunset cruise in a dhow and a trip to Chole Island also by dhow

I also made 5 scuba dives with the adjacent dive centre Mafia Diving out on the reefs . All were excellent on pristine coral with much to see. Transport again by outboard and sail in a dhow

If I hadn’t done the diving I think I would have been disappointed by the Pole Pole beach and large tides which render the beach submerged for much of the day

My hut was great No5, clean, good fan and excellent bathroom and also near the pool and massage areas which I used. I would return but probably choose a busier time for as a solo traveller company and atmosphere in the evening is importent" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs P.
Cumbria

"Peaceful Retreat"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2018
"Pole Pole is a very relaxing, peaceful place to stay. They have a spa and massage room, which was very good too.

The rooms are built from wood and palm leaves and blend into the scenery, so it is almost hidden . A real hideaway. I loved the sundowner trip on the old wooden Dhow....very special to see the sunset from a boat. The staff were very helpful too. If I had to make a very small complaint.....my lodge seemed to have a family of resident squirrels which I could hear running around in the roof all night. Actually, it was quite sweet to see them, but they were very noisy at night.

A lovely place to stay right by the sea." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs J
Herts

"Fantastic resort"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2018
"Pole Pole is a beautiful hotel. The bungalows are clean and comfortable with a verandah that overlooks the sea. We loved the swimming pool and the bar area. The food was of an extremely high standard. The staff were charming, helpful and very friendly. The Swedish massage, Emerald Cruise and snorkelling trips were excellent.

Species seen.
Zebra fish, Parrot fish, Unicorn fish, Angel fish and various other fish and jellyfish during the snorkelling.

Birds included Black Kites, African Paradise Flycatchers, Southern Flycatchers, Pied Kingfisher and African Fish Eagle." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S.
Albuquerque

"Pole Pole review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"We enjoyed our time here. Fortunately we were in bungalow with a permanent foundation ( I think #6), I am not sure we would have been happy with the thatched ones as it appeared they did not have proper windows and natural light. The beach was small and not conducive to swimming as it was basically a reclaimed mangrove area." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 97
94%
97 reviews of Pole Pole by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
71
24
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Mafia Island

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini Lodge

Chole Mjini is one of Tanzania's most environmentally aware lodges. With tree-houses, superb diving and a fantastic location on the rural island of Chole, this is ideal if you want to get back to nature.


94% (28 reviews)
Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi Lodge

Kinasi is a small, personal beach lodge on Mafia Island that has the features of a larger hotel, including a large pool and spa.


82% (11 reviews)
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

Situated just west of Kilondoni, the main town on Mafia, Butiama Beach is a simple beach lodge with friendly managers and a laid back vibe.


94% (10 reviews)
Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole

Shamba Kilole is a charming Italian-owned eco-lodge on the coast of Mafia Island, with simple rooms and friendly owner-managers.


No reviews yet
Thanda Island

Thanda Island

Thanda Island is a high-end private island destination that caters to just one group of travellers at a time.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa