This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from E Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

9

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

69

Excursions taken

0

Xmas beach Holiday

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 8 Dec 2019 and 29 Dec 2019

Trip rating: Good
"Kono Kono let the whole trip down

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None I can think of"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kono Kono Beach Villas

Kono Kono Beach Villas

"Disappointing"

4 nights Arrived 8 Dec 2019
"We found on arrival the request for a particular room had been ignored with the excuse it had been pre allocated, bearing in mind we had booked the accommodation nearly a year before, no one had taken the trouble to advise us at the time of booking that our request could not be met. Had we known we could have chosen an alternative hotel.

We do not feel the 5 star status adhered to this hotel is worthy, for instance the plunge pool never worked, the toilet smelt of urine, the private garden was overgrown and the mosquito nets looked as if they had not been washed for a couple of seasons.

We visited about 4 years previously and it is evident that the standard has slipped by a big margin, then it was a Wow! hotel hence our return but this time we were very disappointed. Would we return certainly not."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Image alt

Ocean Paradise

"Good to be back"

3 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2019
"We have visited this hotel a number of times and on our return this time it was obvious that the standard was still very high in fact it was noticeable that many little things were just that bit better. For us it was a good choice.

The manager has his eye on everything from the cleanliness of the glasses to the weeds in the gardens he does not miss a thing.

The staff always make the effort to please and be friendly."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"A place to Chill"

6 nights Arrived 15 Dec 2019
"Julie the manager certainly knows how to treat guests, between her and her staff nothing is too much trouble.

Room number 7 our accommodation was private, spacious and very colonial and we enjoyed our time here.

Julie arrange most evenings a different location for us to dine such as the library overlooking the beach or the beach itself, very ambient."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Ocean Paradise

"See previous"

6 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2019
"See previous"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Serena Inn

Serena Inn

"Nice but well worn"

2 nights Arrived 27 Dec 2019
"Needs some TLC in places"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

My Sep 2018 trip

Namibia between 23 Sep 2018 and 16 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip went well with few problems"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Convenient location for overnight stay"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Enjoyed the stay, well worth a visit"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"All our game activities were self drive in Etosha, the location of Mushara was very close to the Etosha entry gate"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Facilities
Average
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma The Fort review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"Onguma reserve has a photographic hide which can be visited by guests and for those interested in quality photography the hide can provide some excellent opportunities very close, well worth a visit or two. Many good sightings at the hide of species not listed below.

No visits were made into Etosha from here."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2018
"I am afraid that the quality of food at Okaukuajo is somewhat disappointing and has gone downhill from the last time we visited. The choice has be greatly reduced, the presentation uninspiring and quality poor and at the price now being charged for a meal certainly does not represent value for money. There is no alternative choice so it's just grin and bear it but you won't starve.

The waterhole at Okaukuejo is always it's most outstanding feature and always worth a visit"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2018
"Food same as Okaukuejo"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Hobatere Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"The staff at Hobatere were friendly and welcoming making the stay more enjoyable.

We saw few animals travelling in and out of the Hobatere reserve so the sightings listed below represent our self drive in the western sector of Etosha"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Old Traders Lodge

"Old Traders Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"We felt that the staff and general operation at Old Traders Lodge was very professional and we enjoyed our stay there, the
waterhole was quite productive whilst guests enjoyed their evening meal."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2018
"The owner looks after his guests well and tries hard to please."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

KAFUE NP NOT QUITE WHAT WE EXPECTED

Zambia between 7 Sep 2017 and 23 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"All of our accommodation we stayed in was excellent and we had an extremely enjoyable trip. Kafue NP however was disappointing to us. Firstly the majority of animals are extremely skittish and just run off as soon as they see a vehicle. There is a very distinct lack of a variety of animals that we have seen on other safaris and certainly not the place to go if you want to see lots of 'big game'. This said this though, in Busanga we were very taken with the large herds of Sable and Roan antelope who were very happy to just graze whilst you took photos. In all of our trips we have never seen that quantity of Sable and Roan.

Anyone contemplating visiting Kafue I certainly would advise light aircraft from Lusaka as the journey is almost 5 hours by vehicle, 3hrs on tarmac road on 2hrs on bumpy safari park road!

Tsetse Fly were also a big problem within the park but less so in the area surrounding Musekese Camp."

Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Comfortable Overnight Stay"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2017
"We used Latitude 15 purely as a catch up on sleep after an overnight flight so that we were fresh to start our safari itineray the next morning.

The hotel was a business hotel, the rooms were comfortable and the restaurant evening meal which was not included in the price was very good.

The breakfast was basic buffet and cooked breakfast was on offer to order."
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Service
Good
Image alt

Mukambi Safari Lodge

"Nice Lodge, pleasing staff and good room"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2017
"Our stay here was in permanent tented accommodation with a decking complete with bath that overlooked the river. The tent was large with comfortable twin beds and a generous mosquito net that covered both beds.

The lodge had a bar with plenty of comfortable seating arrangements, separate dining area and swimming pool. There was no choice for meals and these were served to you. The waiters were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Fig Tree Camp

"Sister Camp to Mukambi with a big difference"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2017
"A very small camp with only 6 tents elevated about 15ft above the ground. The tents were comfortable but not over spacious with en-suite bathroom. We soon discovered that the tents actually sway giving the feeling of being on a boat.

I must admit that it is the first tent my wife has had to take travel pills. It would not take too much construction to fix this problem, the owners may not even be aware there is a problem.

The food was good and their shortbread biscuits were extremely moreish."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Fantastic Friendly Camp"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Extremely good camp and the knowledge of the owners/guides was probably the best we have ever experienced in all of our travels.

The staff are friendly and will do anything to make your stay memorable. The food was superb and plentiful.

The accommodation was very spacious and looked out onto an area where there were always animals grazing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

"Basic but very acceptable bush camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"Very small 4 tents bush camp. This camp is owned and run by the same guys that own Musekese camp.

The tents were small meru style tents with en-suite bathroom and flush toilet.

Food was good and plentiful with meals being taken together on one large table."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"PLEASE SEE PREVIOUS FEEDBACK [Ed: See below]"
Excellent

Zanzibar, Selous and Ruaha National Park

Tanzania and 1 other country between 1 Feb 2017 and 1 Mar 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We started our one month trip in Zanzibar which is an ideal base to leave your main luggage before flying off on safari. Selous was our first stop.

Selous is in our opinion a very pretty park and in the right season you can choose between river or land Safaris. Our return trip this time showed the park and game to be in desperate need of rain. We encountered many hippo carcasses where the hippos had come out to graze and just did not have the strength to return to the little water that was about, it was easier to just lie down and die. All the animals were extremely thin and we have never encountered so many hippos trying to graze during the day.

Sadly we left Selous with the memory of so many painfully thin animals and dying hippos! However Selous will be remembered not just for this but it's flaming red lilies, leadwood trees in full bloom smelling so fragrant in the morning and night and lastly the amount of Bee Eaters that swooped in and around the vehicle catching insects disturbed by the vehicle.

Next stop was Ruaha where in the past we have seen 57 lions in one day! Not to be this time, there is a definite shortage of lions. The few we saw were very thin, even the poor cubs looked under nourished. Both of us were not only shocked but definitely sad at the distinct lack of animals in Ruaha compared with our 2 previous trips.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Completely satisfied with the service given and received."

Image alt

Ocean Paradise

"Just love this hotel"

5 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2017
"This was I think our 5th return to this hotel. We opt for a detached seafront room which is well sited, very clean and comfortable.

The staff are friendly and it is very evident that management are very hands on, you are greeted each evening as you go into the restaurant by Bernard the hotel manager and Eli the Guest Relations Manager. Eli also walks around the restaurant during the service chatting to guests. We were on half board, the breakfast and evening meal is buffet service and we feel the Chef and his team do a fantastic job with a wide variety of good food. Each evening there is a theme night to the buffet, ocean, Indian, Italian, and Swahili. All were really good 5* cussine.

If wanted there is a dive centre on site which also offer kite surfing. Swimming in the sea can only be done at high tide as when it is low tide it turns into many rock pools with an abundance of sea urchins! Yes, there are 'beach boys' who try to sell you trips and ladies selling surrongs, but we did not find this a problem. The hotel also offer a village walk, reef walk and other daily entertainment if wanted.

Having also stayed at other good quality hotels in Zanzibar, Ocean Paradise remains favourite, so of course we would return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"What an improvement since last visit"

2 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2017
"Since our last visit, (not sure how many years ago) they have certainly spent some money on the camp. All the tents are new and luxuriously fitted out. The swimming pool has been relocated and the dining area also moved back away from the edge of the river.

Nick and Crystal manage a well run camp. The staff are friendly and we must at this point mention Simone our Masai guide who escorted us everywhere in camp, what a friendly, very likeable guy who always met us with a smile as wide as the Rufiji river! Simone, we hope all your dreams and wishes materialise.

The food was superb and we understand that both Nick and Crystal like to take a hand in this. Dennis met us at the airstrip and remained our guide for the two nights spent here, he was an extremely experienced and knowledgeable guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lovely friendly camp"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2017
"We are only rating this as good simply because it is a very tired camp that desperately needs some money invested in it. Sadly the tents are extremely well worn and need replacing.

All that said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The resident managers were on a well earned holiday and it was being managed by Malcolm, who in the nicest possible way was a well liked crazy Italian and we had some extremely entertaining conversations during the evening meal.

All meals are taken together on one table and the food was served to you. Although the food was edible it was uninspiring compared to other camps. Each evening Malcolm asked what we wanted to do the following day and you ordered early morning wake up call with coffee brought to your tent, however on 2 mornings this was forgotten."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Poor
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Quality camp"

5 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2017
"On arrival, we were met at the air strip by Tony who was also our guide for the next 5 days. We took to Tony straight away and certainly liked his style. Just away from the airstrip he stopped the vehicle and chatted to us about what we wanted to get out of our stay in Kwihala Camp and Ruaha NP - nice touch Tony!

Next surprise was arriving in camp.....we were greeted by the Manager Tam and her team with huge smiles waving like mad, nice touch too Tam.

Kwihala Camp in every aspect is 5* all the way. Having already stayed in a Asilia camp before, they have to be some of the best trained friendly staff we have encountered in many years of safari holidays. It is like being welcomed into a family and treated special for your stay.

A special mention here has to go out to Tony, our guide. It was so evident that he was a very knowledgeable and experienced guide. He worked hard to find some good sightings for us and with his knowledge and all our patience one evening we sat watching 3 lionesses on the other side of the river. Tony was sure they were going to cross to our side of the river, which they eventually did, we then followed them for a while, all the time Tony kept saying I think they are going to find their cubs. Two of them then began very quietly calling for their cubs.....we then watched as 4 cubs appeared and began their greetings. What a magic moment and all with just our vehicle watching on."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Ocean Paradise

"Ocean Paradise"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2017
"[Ed: see review below for this couple's first stay here on this trip]"
Excellent
Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Second visit for us"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2017
"We first stayed here 2 years ago and returned because we thought it was like paradise! Sadly not so any longer. On a very positive note though the food has improved 100%.

We arrived by taxi and waited for somebody to meet us and escort us in. Sadly we were half way down to reception when this happened.

The lodge is looking very tired and in need of some money being spent on it. The pool which was once so inviting, looks dirty but it is actually the liner that needs a coat of paint to bring it back. Our room needed some walls refreshed as there was what we think bat excretement down the walls, also the covers of the directors chairs on the patio needed washing or even replacing. In the main lodge all the chair cushions and scatter cushions needed washing, along with the place mats on the dining tables. It would not take much to bring it back up to scratch in line with the top rates paid for this accommodation.

On a positive note though they have employed chef Elizabeth who is certainly a big asset to the lodge. The breakfasts were certainly more impressive and the main meals were flavoursome. Her peppered crab claws were delicious.

We understand from Martin, the Manager that the lodge is no longer in the sole ownership of the couple who built it, they now only have minimal shares in the property, maybe this reflects the slide downhill?

All the above said, we still enjoyed our stay, it is a beautifully situated lodge with a huge warm bath right on its doorstep just reached by a few steps. It is certainly a place to unwind. Would we return? Probably not!"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Kono Kono Beach Villas

Kono Kono Beach Villas

"Impressive hotel"

6 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2017
"Certainly gives a wow feeling with the view from the restaurant/bar area! The inviting infinity pool, white icing sugar beach and turquoise blue sea make a very good first impression.

We stayed in a garden room (no 9) and that too was very impressive. Spotlessly clean and very spacious with a huge walk in shower. Outside all rooms have their own small plunge pools which were kept very clean.

The beach......this is private with a good number of thatched sun umbrellas but it lacks enough sun beds to go under them all! This resulted in sunbeds being grabbed and towels put on at 7.30 in the morning, then the beds not being used all day which is unfair. Also on the beach there is a volleyball court and free loan of snorkel gear, paddle boards and canoes.

The staff are friendly, some being a bit too overpowering. The general manager is in house everyday and certainly keeping an eye on everything.

There is only one thing that lets this 5* accommodation down and that is the food, breakfasts were okay but the evening meal was not so good. Having stayed there for six nights we found some of the food a bit repetitive and a bit more variety especially with the supporting food that complements each meal would be recommended, i.e. every night there was the same type of pasta, the salad bar never varied and the same Swahili dishes were offered each night which few people seem to choose. Bearing in mind the standard of this hotel the food offering did not match the 5* tag."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Return to Namibia and Etosha

Namibia between 20 Sep 2016 and 19 Oct 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our second trip to Namibia and Etosha, this time we included the Caprivi Strip. We arrived in Windhoek and awaiting in arrivals was a representative from Wilderness Safaris who took control of our luggage and escorted us to their private lounge. He then proceeded to help us purchase that all important SIM card and sort our car hire. Once done he collected our luggage and took us over to collect our car hire. Thank you Wilderness Safaris. We were soon on our way to our first overnight stop in Windhoek. Next morning our journey was to Swakopmund, then onto the skeleton coast and the Cape Cross seal colony where we spent a whole afternoon photographing these small creatures.

Early next day we set off for Damaraland, then into Etosha NP. Having left temperatures of the mid 50 degree we were soon enduring the 40 degree heat of Etosha, it was extremely dusty giving us pictures of what the UK is like having had a severe overnight frost, everything looked magical. Animal sightings did not disappoint us. When we sat at Heathrow we discussed what it would be good to see and we though a good sighting of a Rhino would be good. We ended up and had 20 good sightings in Etosha, we were even lucky enough to witness courtship and almost mating of two at Okaukuejo Camp waterhole. Lions however avoided us on this trip. Elephants were in abundance, with lots of babies and juveniles which gave us lots of amusement.

The Caprivi Strip was a little disappointing with a clear lack of wildlife but we were told that due to it being so dry the animals had gone deep into the bush. Although disappointing did it spoil the last days of our holiday? Not at all, we were in Africa and at anytime any animal could come into view, that's what it is all about and this will always bring us back.

Thank you Expert Africa for all your help in planning this trip and making it another memorable holiday. We will be back!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just keep on doing what you are doing. Always such a friendly, knowledgeable and helpful team of experts.

We will keep on recommending you."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Warm welcome at Haus Sonneneck"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"We stayed here for one night before starting our Namibia trip and then returned for one night at the end prior to departing the next day for the UK.

The accommodation was clean and beds comfortable. Sadly right outside our accommodation which backed onto our garden building work was in progress which started early in the morning and finished late at night. The owner did explain to us that she had complained on numerous occasions regarding this but sadly came up against a brick wall. However if you had a different room I don't think this would effect you.

Breakfast was good, you do have to go out into town for your evening meal which was safe and no problem."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Second stay at Central Guest House"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"We were checked in by a miserable lady and allocated room had double bed when we requested twin beds.

I asked if they had a twin room which they did and it was no problem for them to change rooms for us. Breakfast was good. It is a good choice for a one night stay, centrally located for walk into Swakopmund. One suggestion you do need to book reservation in restaurant for evening meal once you get there.

I think from when we last stayed perhaps the accommodation has changed hands as the lady that checked us in and out was just miserable!"
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"Cold stay at Cape Cross Lodge"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"Arrived here in warm sunshine although a bit blowy! Check in was quick and reception staff were polite and happy and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Our room was bright and clean although the bathroom could really do with a revamp. We sat on our balcony with glass of wine and watched the sun go down over the sea, within 10 minutes of this happening the temperature must have dropped 30 degrees, it was cold so on went our long trousers and fleeces.

Dinner was good although all the guest sat shivering despite the fact there was a log fire which sadly gave out no heat whatsoever. The Manager did her rounds of the tables during dinner which was a nice touch and we joked with her that we needed a hot water bottle, low and behold when we returned to our room there was a hot water bottle on the bed, what a nice touch. They really could have done with heating which would have made it such a better experience.

Breakfast was okay, although it would have been good for there to have been a bit more selection out, but think we were last to breakfast and fruit/cakes etc had not been replaced."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

"Brandberg Restcamp (White Lady Lodge)"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"We stayed here about 5 years ago and boy has it changed. Firstly we were not put in the accommodation we reserved and paid for (I have only just found this out via their website). We should have had a Stone Chalet but actually were put in basic accommodation which I can only describe as backpackers accommodation! Although there were fans in the rooms these did not work. The mosquito nets did not cover the beds fully, the outside table and chairs were dirty and one chair was broken?

There appeared to be 2 white SA ladies, one man and a younger man ?son who we assumed were management. If this was the case they did not introduce themselves or even have any interaction with guests which we found rude.

On our visit both swimming pools were empty and in the process of being cleaned so we could not use even if we wanted to.

The food was just above acceptable. This experience was certainly not the same as 5 years ago."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Average
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Camp is just a great place"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2016
"What a fantastic place, but then guess the price reflects this. The staff are well trained, although not in your face. Our room was probably in the best position out of them all and we had our own private sundowner every night, our only visitors being the rock hyrax and a little mouse that shared the room with us, but then we were in the middle of Africa and it was no problem.

We stayed 2 nights, the first day we just chose to enjoy the surroundings and the second day we opted for the early morning nature drive, the mission to find the desert elephants, which we did and was well worth the somewhat chilly air experienced in the open Safari vehicle wrapped in blankets. Next stop our driver/guide took us into Damaraland for a coffee stop. This was such a breathtaking experience and you would never know this landscape existed from the road. Coffee and biscuits over with we returned to the lodge happy travellers.

The food was well above African cussine, although they do serve quite a lot of game which we always opted for something else. Whilst there my wife discovered a new drink......there welcome drink with a shot of vodka, topped up with ice, cool and refreshing and very moreish!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp worst of the bunch!"

3 nights Arrived 26 Sep 2016
"We last stayed here 2 weeks after it opened which was about 5 years ago, such a great camp then we opted to return on this trip. What a big mistake!

Bearing in mind we booked this accommodation a year in advance and specifically requested an eastern facing room. When we checked in we were allocated a western facing room, we questioned this with the person checking us in who immediately blamed a central booking system and started to argue with us about the mistake. Eventually we were given a room on the eastern side, but her whole could not care less attitude put a bad taste in our mouths. I could write a book an our experience here but will keep it brief.

The camp is understaffed and unmotivated. It is quite clear there is lack of management and NWPs need to sit up and take notice.

ROOMS: Tired and need a good deep clean.

Food: Disgusting. Every meal was cold and quite honestly inedible, although for some reason the soup was warm and good. The amount of waste food at each dinner was huge and with starving people in the country unacceptable. Surely with what was being returned to the kitchen, when does the chef realise that there is a problem?

Staff: Understaffed, demotivated , miserable, do not communicate, rude, argumentative and just could not care less.

When we stayed there they were overbooked and one couple had to sleep in the guides room, plus on the same night guests had to take their meals in the bar area as there were no spaces in the dining rooms.

The whole camp is just a chaotic mess!"
Terrible
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Terrible
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Accommodation good at Okaukuejo Camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"Accommodation is clean, beds comfortable, and our room was very near to the excellent waterhole.

Food was awful, exactly the same menu served as Dolomite. Soup and starters slow to be refilled. Tough meat, slimey veg, runny mashed potato, rice just above cold and probably a health hazard. Puddings were never refilled. In fact by this stage we just ate soup and roll and only paid for this."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Good
Food
Terrible
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp No better"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2016
"Room was desperately in need of revamp and update. We did have a BBQ outside our room but there was no grill to use even if we had wanted. Beds were comfortable.

Food exactly as Dolomite and Okaukuejo camp.

Waterhole never had any animals visit whilst we were there."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Rooms
Terrible
Food
Terrible
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutomi Camp slightly better"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2016
"Can report that the staff here were happy, appeared to work as a team and certainly went out of their way to help you in the restaurant.

Room: these have been revamped since our last visit. Our room was large, clean and the beds comfy.

Food: This was somewhat better than the rest, starters were refilled quickly and although it was the same menu, i.e. mixed veg, mashed potatoes, rice, they were of far better quality than the other NWL camps in Etosha.

Waterhole: small with few animals."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Hakusembe River Lodge

Hakusembe River Lodge

"Hakusembe Lodge nice setting"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2016
"Accommodation was good, again beds comfy.

Service was good and staff polite and happy.

Food was good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2016
"Well worn tented accommodation. The owner and manager were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They offer an honesty bar where you help yourself and then record it in a book ready to pay on leaving. We went on a game drive across the river which was led by Ely who looked after us really well and was extremely knowledgeable of the Caprivi Strip.

Evening meal was on a shared table with other guests which is a good way to get to know other travellers. The food was extremely wholesome and tasty."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Lianshulu Lodge

Lianshulu Lodge

"Lianshulu Lodge"

4 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"This was a favourite of ours.

The owner Annetta, is such a lovely caring lady who just wants her guest to enjoy the experience. Nothing is too much trouble and she is around all the time.

The accommodation is amongst the wildlife so you have to be escorted back to your room every night. Our last night we were awoken to a large bull elephant right outside our window munching on the vegetation. He then proceeded to move around to our decking and we could have touched him he was that close. We sat and watched him for 10 minutes until he was then warned away by the guards with there flashlights. Magic moment!

The food was very good and Annetta even lends a hand by serving to the guests. We spent 4 relaxing days here and enjoyed every moment."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2016
"Followed instructions to phone for a pick up as you can only access Lodge with a 4x4 vehicle. All went to plan. On arriving at the camp it just looked like a blot on the landscape, reminded us of a prisioner of war camp. Put that aside and get inside the lodge and we were pleasantly surprised. Because they have had no rain for a very long time the lodge overlooks a dry river bed and the area around is visited by elephants, baboons and warthogs. In fact whilst we were there we actually had elephants in camp one morning.

Our tent overlooked a waterhole which was regularly visited by warthogs and one night elephants. The tents are modern and the beds comfy. On our decking we had two comfortable chairs and a table which was good.

The Italian owner Simone and his wife are always in attendance and make sure you are well looked after and want for nothing. Simone joins guest on a communal table for dinner. The food is very good.

Simone has a 6 month old sausage dog called Charlie who gave us enormous entertainment during the day keeping the baboons their side of the riverbed.

Whilst we were there we went on an early morning game drive and river cruise. The game drive was unproductive purely because the animals have gone deep into the park, but the river cruise was enjoyable, we saw elephants and hippos enjoying the river."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Nunda River Lodge

Nunda River Lodge

"Munda River Lodge right on the river"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"Our accommodation was a thatched chalet overlooking the Kavango river. The room was tired and in need of a freshen up.

The restaurant and bar are sited really well also overlooking the river.

The food was good and the service if anything a little too quick which shortened the evening."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Seidarap Guest House

"Seidarap Guest House a convenient stop"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2016
"This was our last stop en route back to Windhoek. This is a family run guesthouse and the owners are friendly and keen to make your stay pleasant.

Our room was large and comfortable, the only thing that we recommend is air con which would have made the night cooler and given us a good sleep. We did sleep with all the windows open and the most nets down which actually stop the air flow.

We had quite expected to go into town for evening meal but the owner puts on a BBQ in the evening which you are invited to attend. The food was good and very reasonably priced. Breakfast is just continental but good."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Haus Sonneneck review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2016
"Same as first night, see previous review. [Ed: see below]"
Excellent

My Feb 2015 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 11 Feb 2015 and 6 Mar 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was yet another excellent safari/holiday created by Expert Africa, each one just gets better than the one before.

We arranged a private guide and vehicle for these travellers, they commented:

Sadiq was an excellent and professional guide, he established what our expectations were and tried throughout the trip to accommodate our wishes. He is obviously an experienced guide of many years and knew the locations we visited well. He was also knowledgeable about the needs of a photographer and manoeuvred the vehicle to obtain the best photographic positions.

We could not have wished for a better guide - Thank you Sadiq

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I cannot think of anything"

Image alt

Lemala Manyara

"Lemala Manyara review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2015
"The staff were very welcoming and friendly who attended to every need, the only downside to this camp is that the accommodation was a little worn and tired."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Ubuntu Camp

Ubuntu Camp

"Ubuntu Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2015
"This was by far the best camp we visited, the whole team at the camp were professional, friendly and we were made to feel part of a big family. In future if booking another safari Asilia camps would always be our first choice, we could not make a higher recommendation.

They also make a good birthday cake - thanks Anna !"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kati Kati Camp

Kati Kati Camp

"Kati Kati Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2015
"As this was te next camp after Ubuntu I'm afraid the experience felt disappointing, the staff lacked friendliness and we felt a little unwelcomed, this was more like a "Ship them in and ship then out hotel" rather than a bush camp. The food was uninspiring.

I suspect being as the camp was run by a larger organisation the personal touch was missing. Having said that the accommodation was clean and tidy."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

Kirurumu Manyara Lodge

"Kirurumu Manyara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 20 Feb 2015
"This camp was a one night stop over and difficult to give a true opinion."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Image alt

Ocean Paradise

"Ocean Paradise review"

6 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2015
"This was our third visit to this beach resort, we were a little apprehensive as sometimes returning to an old haunt can be a little disappointing and rooms sometimes become a little tired. To our pleasant surprise the whole experience had moved up a notch and every aspect was better then before (it was good then).

It appeared most things had notably improved such as the accommodation, food, and even the grounds were even better than previous, the staff were always friendly and made the effort to talk."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

"Unguja Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2015
"This lodge could be paradise, very difficult to draw a picture but just imagine what you think paradise could be like and it will fit that image. !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

"Tembo Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2015
"The hotel was acceptable as stop over in Stone town, clean, comfortable and convenient."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor

My Oct 2014 trip

Zambia between 1 Oct 2014 and 16 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"We really enjoyed our trip to South Luangwa and had an excellent trip, I think it was our best safari to date (and we have had a few)."

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

Eight Reedbuck Hotel

"Eight Reedbuck Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2014
"This is a OK Hotel for a one night stop over"
Average
Location
Average
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

5 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2014
"The is an excellent safari camp, the Coppinger family run this safari lodge with great expertise, I cannot think of one thing they need to change for the better.

We had good home made food, met some very nice people, had some great experiences and by the end of our stay (5 nights) we felt like part of the family. I could highly recommend Tafika.

The guiding was pretty good also (hello Lloyd)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"Kaingo Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"Generally this camp is pretty good and we certainly enjoyed our stay there and the guiding some of the best we have experienced.

However, at the time we visit Kiango they seemed to be going through a bad phase. The food was disappointing and uninspirational and the service a little wanting, although the staff were always happy, obliging and polite.

Hopefully, they will be back on track for next season."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Facilities
Good
Mwamba Bushcamp

Mwamba Bushcamp

"Mwamba Bushcamp review"

4 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2014
"We enjoyed our stay a Mwamba, I think it was our favourite place to stay at for the trip. As at Kiango the guiding was excellent, as was the 'Last Waterhole' hide next to the camp, perhaps the best hide of the trip.

I'm afraid the food let the place down, I guess it was impacted from the problems at Kiango.

Would I come back ? a big YES"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Excellent

The Trip Overall

Namibia between 7 Oct 2011 and 27 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We have a excellent adventure through Namibia, it was our first time driving in Africa but we did not experience any problems. The trip went like clockwork and we do not have any issues at all with any part of the package assempled by the Namibian team at Expert Africa.

I have created a travelogue of our experience which can be viewed at http://www.photosnapshot.co.uk/Pages/Nam2011Log_1.aspx

When I go back to Africa I know who my first port of call will be to.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The Dolomite Camp is about 100km from the nearest petrol station at Kamanjab, if guests have travelled from Okaukuejo and are spending a few days doing their own safari in the Dolomite area it's possible they may not have sufficeint fuel to make it to Kamanjab, they should be made aware of the potential problem. I was allowed out of the gate to get some fuel without problem.

We did have a bit of a difficult journey in our Toyota Corolla between Uis and Grootberg, the reason was because of the exceptional rains they had in Namibia the previous wet season part of the road was washed away and I had to traverse the uneven river bed for part of the journey filled with big stones. Fortunately I only hit bottom a couple of times but I suspect someone with limited driving experience may have got into difficuty. I don't think a 4 wheel drive is requires but a high base car would have been more appropriate.

Hope this helps."

Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2011
"Quite suitable for a one night stop over at either end of a Namibian trip"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Central Guest House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Central Guest House review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2011
"This accommodation was clean and confortable and staff were helpful with regard to booking evening meals at restaurants in Swakopmund"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady Lodge

"Brandberg White Lady Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Oct 2011
"This lodge made a good stopping point between Swakopmund and Grootberg, I would class this as an average lodge but it was more than fine for a one night stay."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"We made a mistake not staying at this lodge for one night, it should have been at least two just to enjoy the vista.

The staff were alway pleased to help and nothing was too much trouble. Great place to stay"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"This was the best of the NWR lodges that we stayed at, everything about this new lodge and the staff is excellent, I hope they are able to keep up the enthusiasm and standard. Not the ideal place for the disabled or those with walking problems, also the west facing accommodation desparately needs some afternoon shade. If you need more detailed information about the local wildlife and the Dolomite Camp - take a look at the Namibian travelogue link, below.

If I came to Etosha again this would be my last port of call in Etosha because I would finish with the best camp and best game viewing but you will need at least two nights here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2011
"This is a very busy rest camp and perhaps some things may not be as good as they should but , the buffet service is a bit tired and can become a 'Bun Fight' when the resturant is packed.

However most things are acceptable and the waterhole is it's best feature, it must be the best and most prolific waterhole in this part of Etosha."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"The rooms are large and modern although the outside is a bit enclosed."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"Plenty of space in the chalets although they are a little well wore."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2011
"As previous comment [Ed: See below]"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Facilities
Average
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"Ss previous comment [Ed: see below]"
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average

My 2010 Tanzanian Holiday

Tanzania and 1 other country between 11 Feb 2010 and 28 Feb 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip to Tanzania went smoothly without a hitch and fully met with our expectations, thanks to the organisation from Expert Africa (They live up to their name).

I have compiled a travelogue which details the trip in full and this can be found on my website.

www.photosnapshot.co.uk.

Take a look, you may find some useful information, especially if you are planning a trip to this vicinity.

Would I travel with this company again - of course !


Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None that I can think of - Thanks again Expert Africa"

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Green Season Safari in Selous"

3 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2010
"We chose this style of camp because having experienced a number of safaris in Africa before our goal
was to be 'Close to nature' and this style of camp was as close as you could get (except mobile camping).
Generally, the more 'Up Market' a camp becomes the further away from the 'Close to nature' experience the lodge/camp becomes.
Therefore the level at which this camp is set is not for who desire fine wines and nouvelle cuisine but Lake Manze provides more simpler offerings and of course the price reflected this, however the food was good and the beds
clean and comfortable and we have no complaints in the area. The only thing I would mention was the taste of the drinking water,
it comes from the lake and I'm not too suprised it has a 'Special' flavour so I would stick to bottled water if I was you.
The staff were friendly and obliging, the guides were keen and enthusiastic and Richard kept them all in toe and was always there to see you off in the morning and also there on your return back from your venture into Selous. Excellent birthday cake made by Suleiman (thankyou).

Would I go back there ? - problably !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Green Season Safari in Ruaha"

4 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2010
"Again this camp was selected because of it's style, it is of a similar setup to Lale Manze but I would say that Mdonya Camp does have the edge on Lake Manze in terms of how it was run, this camp is more 'Polished' and the reason is Nicole who is an excellent host and camp manager.
The down side was it's distance from the main game areas, at this time of year the best viewing is around the Ruaha River
where the grass is shorter and the game more frequent. Therefore the routine for the day would be an early start on an all day safari
with breakfast and lunch in the bush which suited us fine. The other drawback is of course the abundance of Tetse flies at this time of year.
The food was a touch better than Lake Manze and Nicole made a very good host each evening and was always about early to see you off.
Would I go back ? - Yes (but at a different time of year.)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Shooting Star Lodge

Shooting Star Lodge

"Shooting Star Lodge Review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2010
"We enjoyed this small Lodge/Hotel, ideal for a rest and unwind after a busy safari, the rooms were spacious and clean and the food was very good and staff nice and friendly. Early morning coffe on the patio excellent touch.
The only negative comment I would make is that I thought the drinks were notably 'Expensive' compared with what I had paid on safari and the rest of Zanzibar.
Would I go back - Yes"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Image alt

Ocean Paradise

"Ocean Paradise"

3 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2010
"This was the second visit to Ocean Paradise and we were not dissapointed on our return, everything was to the same standard as before and fully met our expectations. This time it was not so busy, the staff were always pleasant and obliging and we were treated to the room of our choice.

Would I go back - of course"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2010
"It was OK but I would not return to this hotel."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Facilities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team