This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge

Reviews of Unguja Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Unguja Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Mr &Mrs W
Bamford

"Unguja Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2020
"Spacious villas with private West facing cliff top seating area. Quiet. Not quite as characterful as Pongwe however Cracking sunsets, loved watching the local village dhows sail off for nightly fishing, kids loved boat trip to snorkel and see sand spit island.
2 nights here we felt was enough. Ideally would have spent time here first and finished holiday at Pongwe" See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs E.
Bristol

"Unguja Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2019
"We loved this lodge, and it was the perfect way to start our holiday - our house was HUGE - with all of us having a room to ourselves - which made our three children very happy - the fact that our villa was so private, with views directly out to sea, we had our own private little piece of garden and our own seat at the end of the path with views to watch the sunset and the dhows was just paradise ! The pool was beautiful as well. We really enjoyed the food - the chef Elizabeth has a real talent and her cooking is extraordinarily good - we loved our dinners - it was great to have half board option, and because the breakfasts and dinners were so good, it was excellent value for money. Amour and the rest of the staff were very helpful and exceptionally polite. Overall this was a fantastic recommendation by Lyndsey.

We were a little disappointed with the snorkling and diving facilities. We had hoped that the children would complete their PADI referral course here - but I was rather put off by the calibre of diving equipment and lost my confidence in it - in particular because we went on a snorkelling trip for which we used the lodges masks and snorkels, but my son's snorkel was faulty and they did not have a spare - which meant he had to do without ( the lodge did not refund his fee sadly which would have been a nice gesture) The dive instructor also did not show up as planned in the morning of the second day - and all in all, I lost all confidence in them, and decided to postpone our diving until we got to Mafia which was a little disappointing.

We did a fantastic village tour with Mr Rashid, which we enjoyed very much. Two of us did the dolphin trip, and felt that Martien was helpful and responsible about the ecotourism and welfare of the dolphins themselves - for this reason we did not mind not seeing the dolphins, although my daughter would have loved that . we did see a humpback whale in the distance." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr S.
Edegem

"Unguja Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2019
"Great place. Friendly staff." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Traveller
Teddington

"Unguja Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"We had a fantastic stay at Unguja Lodge.

It's a lovely location, perfect for families and all the staff were so friendly and welcoming. The accommodation is comfortable (though the girls were a little anxious about sleeping up in the rafters!).

The food was great – plenty of choice and really fresh and tasty.

We enjoyed the activities – a fascinating guided tour of the neighbouring village and a 'Robinson Crusoe' trip out to a sandbank with a snorkelling stop and an incredible seafood bbq in the middle of the Indian Ocean! We were entertained by the monkeys too.

All in all the perfect start to our holiday." See all these reviews: 12n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mike & Janette
UK

"Could have been good...with better weather "

5 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2018
"Unfortunately we had lots of wind and rough seas which prevented any diving throughout the trip. I’m not sure if this was a case of bad luck as we’ve checked the weather since we’ve been back and it looks to be similar over the last few weeks. As we went there for the diving this was a major disappointment.

The rooms are spectacular and lovely. We had booked two cottages, one for our children and had specified twin beds. Unfortunately they only had double beds. We managed but not ideal. There is a very rough and basic wooden framed “bedroom” which has been built on the roof of the main bedroom. This was not suitable for habitation.

Restaurant good, staff very nice" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Ms J
Wales

"Unguja Lodge review"

12 nights Arrived 10 Jun 2018
"Unlike most travellers who visit Zanzibar for a few days following a safari, I stayed at Unguja Lodge on my own for a couple of weeks of complete rest and relaxation - this was exactly what I found. The Roundhouses were private, quiet & spacious.

The local staff were (as most Africans) efficient, considerate & interesting. They could teach Europeans a lot about customer care !" See all these reviews: 12n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Second visit for us"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2017
"We first stayed here 2 years ago and returned because we thought it was like paradise! Sadly not so any longer. On a very positive note though the food has improved 100%.

We arrived by taxi and waited for somebody to meet us and escort us in. Sadly we were half way down to reception when this happened.

The lodge is looking very tired and in need of some money being spent on it. The pool which was once so inviting, looks dirty but it is actually the liner that needs a coat of paint to bring it back. Our room needed some walls refreshed as there was what we think bat excretement down the walls, also the covers of the directors chairs on the patio needed washing or even replacing. In the main lodge all the chair cushions and scatter cushions needed washing, along with the place mats on the dining tables. It would not take much to bring it back up to scratch in line with the top rates paid for this accommodation.

On a positive note though they have employed chef Elizabeth who is certainly a big asset to the lodge. The breakfasts were certainly more impressive and the main meals were flavoursome. Her peppered crab claws were delicious.

We understand from Martin, the Manager that the lodge is no longer in the sole ownership of the couple who built it, they now only have minimal shares in the property, maybe this reflects the slide downhill?

All the above said, we still enjoyed our stay, it is a beautifully situated lodge with a huge warm bath right on its doorstep just reached by a few steps. It is certainly a place to unwind. Would we return? Probably not!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Traveller1003
UK

"Excellent stay"

5 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2017
"Excellent with Marten being an excellent host and was very quick to assist with a minor difficulty.

The chalets were interesting with stunning views of the sea. The food was excellent.

The monkeys meant that you had to be a little more vigilant and this could be distracting for some guests perhaps.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful." See all these reviews: 13n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Goole

"Unguja Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2017
"We had a great time - relaxing and reading and swimming. Just what we needed after our Safari. Dealing with the 'naughty monkeys' added entertainment. An experience with views to die for made it a memorable time." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Bristol

"Unguja Lodge. S.W Zanzibar coast"

5 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2016
"Wonderful lodge accommodation and fine dining.
They gave us a truly memorable New Year's Eve party!
Excellent access to the airport and Jozani forest minimizing transfer times.
Wonderful Sunset Dhow sail and excursion by dhow to sand bar for lunch via snorkeling site.
The only downside is that the fringing reef is so degraded by over fishing that the diving was disappointing. Not their fault, just how it is." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 77
92%
77 reviews of Unguja Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
56
14
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in South-west Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

Situated on the tiny Chumbe Island, this lodge is an award-winning example of eco-tourism, with excellent snorkelling.


98% (47 reviews)
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge is stylishly put together, with spacious, luxurious rooms, comfortable communal areas and a fantastic infinity pool.


87% (37 reviews)
The Residence Zanzibar

The Residence

The Residence is a very large resort hotel in south-west Zanzibar. Each villa has its own 8-metre lap pool.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa