This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge

Reviews of Chumbe Island Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chumbe Island Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S.
Edegem

"Chumbe Island Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"Truly extraordinary, eco-friendly place." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs L
Herts

"Chumbe Island - 3 nights"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"We were unprepared for the wade onto and off the ferry on the outward journey. You might warn people to wear shoes and trousers that can get wet,.

We loved Chumbe island, a great place to relax in between safari's. A very small coral island with good beaches, swimming from beaches, good staff, food and interesting flora/fauna.

My wife chose Chumbe to have a regulatory tummy upset - just the place for such a problem. The manager (Vera) was so concerned about this and was really attentive and helped Fran through the day. Vera is really a lovely person.

I was not over happy with the bathroom of the cabin. Much too small and it all became a bit 'mucky' too easily. The earth toilet began to smell during the 2nd day. The bed/seating area was fine but the camp really needs to do something about that facility if it is too encourage people to stay longer than 1 night.

Whether or not the camp does want people to do more than a day/1 night stay, I am not sure. Reading back over the literature about the island, it all appears to be geared to this short stay. A pity, as the coconut crabs are nocturnal and the beaches are worth a few days at least." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 5n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Peter P
USA

"Chumbe Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2018
"Most unusual accomodations.

Bed was comfortable. Bathroom facilities were adequate.

Overall if was a fun experience. Marvelled at the construction of the room/tent. The floor could have been a little more even." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Couple
London

"Amazing castaway experience"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2018
"We loved this place, so relaxing and the lodges were one of a kind! Back to basics and sleeping looking at the stars and looking for coconut crabs in the dark!

We loved the snorkelling and the beach and found it so nice to get away from it all read a book and adventure round the island! The food was amazing and we wish we were there for a week!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss A
Harrogate

"Chumbe Island Lodge Review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Jan 2018
"There is a fixed programme which depends on the tides.
There was only one snorkelling trip per day and that was fixed and from a boat. I wanted to be able to wander into the water but this was not possible. Very disappointed.
The beach has strong rip tides so swimming is not recommended. I wish I had known this before I went.
My "hut" was lovely but only cold water in the shower. At least two of us were told "sorry - your hut only"..so not true! Refreshing during the day but very chilly in the morning!
Boat transfer. You need to advise people that you WILL get soaked during wading to and from the boat. Depending on your height and the wind / swells, up to and including knickers!!
There was no tidal walk at all whilst I was there. No idea why!
Forest walk was OK but underwhelming and could have been done in much less time.
Staff were lovely and the food was fabulous." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Edina

"Chumbe Island Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2017
"Beautiful location, great bungalows (we had bungalow 6&7,with our own beach!)... The boatride in was a bit rough , but once we were there very much worth it...

Good food, one night the tables were set on the beach and lit with many candles, a beautiful sight... Excellent snorkeling. Service was a bit slow, getting drinks sometimes took up to half an hour, and we had to hang around for over an hour on our last evening to find out the schedule for the next day,

Special mention for Vera, the manager, very charming, friendly and hospitable." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"Peaceful Chumbe Island"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"Chumbe is a real escape from the mainland of Zanzibar. With only 7 cleverly designed, eco-friendly bungalows, it is quiet, beautiful and well-run - a real Indian Ocean paradise, with a difference.

Snorkelling on the coral reef was great, walking tours were interesting, particularly seeing the giant coconut crabs and fruit bats. Great beach, wonderful and varied food, friendly and professional service.

We really enjoyed our 2-night break here." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
M & L
Vancouver, BC

"Great eco-lodge on coral island"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2016
"Unique eco-lodge providing 7 well-designed eco-friendly cabins. Each is designed to catch the island breezes for natural cooling, so even though it was really hot during the day, the sitting and sleeping areas were delightfully cool. The food was great and the staff very friendly.

Good snorkelling too. It was quite windy and rough when we went out, so we made use of the available life jackets which helped. We also went on a night walk to see the amazingly large coconut crabs. Great place to spend at least 2 nights." See all these reviews: 15n in Rwanda; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr D
Surrey

"Great snorkeling at Chumbe Island"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2015
"An interesting "eco" lodge with staff lovely, just like the Tanzanians on the mainland.

Bungalow 6 had a beautiful view of the sea, and coral. Good food and service again. The guides Matata and Chaga were excellent and very helpful with equipment for snorkeling and also had good knowledge about the island flora and fauna.

Great variety of fish and coral types when snorkeling.

Did not want to leave." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Canada

"Best food and wine on our whole 3 week trip!"

2 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2015
"All of the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The tree house accommodation was decorated in an aesthetic that fit in well with the eco-nature theme of the whole place. That said, I'm not keen on very luke-warm water showers first thing in the morning and the beds were a bit firm. Two nights was enough.

The snorkeling really was excellent and the reason we went there and stayed two nights. It was the most coral that I've seen, although I haven't been to Australia.

The food and wine really was very good! The first course was served at the table, but all the hot foods were on a buffet and there was lots of selection. They could improve on the chairs at the dining tables - they all sloped forwards. It's a little thing but it interfered with our enjoyment of meals." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 47
98%
47 reviews of Chumbe Island Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in South-west Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

Unguja is a small, stylish lodge in southern Zanzibar standing on a quiet beach, with some of the most spacious rooms we have seen on Zanzibar.


92% (79 reviews)
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge is stylishly put together, with spacious, luxurious rooms, comfortable communal areas and a fantastic infinity pool.


87% (37 reviews)
The Residence Zanzibar

The Residence

The Residence is a very large resort hotel in south-west Zanzibar. Each villa has its own 8-metre lap pool.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa