This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge
Chumbe Island Lodge

Reviews of Chumbe Island Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

47 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Chumbe Island Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-47 of 47
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Valmer

"Successful Eco-Tourism"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2008
"This is an eco-tourism project that really seems to work. Protection of the coral reef, research and education are part of every day on Chumbe, and at the same time they are providing a wonderful holiday destination. Being able to snorkel with a turtle is a magical experience! We loved every minute of it.

The staff at the lodge were very friendly and helpful, and made sure everyone was looked after.

As far as the "rooms" were concerned, we especially appreciated having a solar torch, reading lamp and fan - these things can make the difference between being comfortable or not! Things got a bit interesting when we had a day of heavy rain, and it was a little difficult to stop our clothes from getting damp, but that was not a serious problem.

We would love to go back there one day." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
N London

"A fantastic unique experience"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2008
"Chunbe islands was one of the highlights of our trip. It was a real experience which started with wading out from the beach to the boat. The staff were all friendly and knowledgable and couldn't do enough for you. It was a real bonus having the same guide the whole time we were there. We enjoyed all the activities but the snorkelling was fabulous. One of our family is a poor swimmer and every effort was made to enable him to participate in and enjoy this activity.

It was an idyllic place with a beatiful beach which we shared with only 8 pther people. We found it interesting and satisfying to stay in an eco-friendly resort and the huts were really comfortable and fun and interesting to stay in. The central banda was a fabulous place with all sorts of places to relax outside and in and at night it was magically all lit with candles. The food was superb and meal times were a real treat.

An extraordinary unique experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Bee-eater
UK

"Unique Chumbe Island"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2008
"Chumbe Lodge is definitely somewhere to experience. We are very glad we had the opportunity to stay on the island for three nights (enough). Even the compost toilet was okay for the few nights we were there. We stayed in Banda 2 which was set very slightly inland and didn't get much of a breeze when sleeping. If we were to go back we would ask for 6 or 7 as they are right on the water's edge.

Apart from the eco concept, the most outstanding thing about Chumbe Lodge is the people who are running it. Everything was done with care and attention from the quality of the food to the information and activities. Everything was very clean although some of the beach bed cushions had seen better days and looked somewhat stained.

We really enjoyed the day time activities of the forest and intertidal walks and the snorkeling.

As with the safari lodges there was a set time for all meals with a limited choice of meat / fish or a vegetarian option. The quality of the food was very high although you have to get to your table on time. We were late one evening and found that they had run out of the main dish, unfortunately one group hadn't heard of portion control and managed to eat most of the food between them. It would have been nice if rather than having individual tables for two, the seating arrangements were more communal so that you could chat about the day and find out more about fellow guests, however can understand that not everyone would want this. After 5 nights at our previous resort we were in need of something more to do in the evening rather than just have dinner.

Overall a fantastic concept and a great holiday experience. We have lots of lovely memories including swimming with a turtle.
" See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr Baobab
Wimborne

"Chumbe Island review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2007
"An amazingly beatiful and peaceful island run by local people in a sustainable fashion. The food, service and accomodation were excellent. With only 6 guest houses it feels very exclusive but also very cosy.

I would recommend this to anyone. If it wasn't for the distance I would make it a regular visit." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The Purple Rollers
UK

"Chumbe Island experience"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"Chumbe Island is different! Lovely setting, wonderful people, and overall a great pleasure. We learnt a great deal.

We discovered afterwards that we could have left baggage at the office Mbweni Ruins Beach Hotel. Had we known, we could easily have organised our bags to take enough for our stay, and this would have helped a great deal with transport to the island.

You mention the need to wade to the boat or shore. We hit a particularly low tide, so found ourselves very wet, thigh high in water, and walking for 300 yards or so through mud and coral. It can't be done in flimsy flip flops, or bare feet!

We truly enjoyed the visit." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Red-eyed Dove
London

"Chumbe Island review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"one of the best places we stayed at overall.

Facilities were better than we had been expecting (the compost toilet was fine), very friendly staff, brilliant excursions/activities (snorkelling, intertidal walk, forest walk) and educational. The bandas are cool and very easy to live in.

Food was fantastic and we were well catered for as vegtarians

Birthday cake and complimentary wine made us feel very special and we want to go back." See all these reviews: 13n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr H
Dublin

"Eco-tourism"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"A experience with a difference. The accommodation was 'Robinson Crusoe' style - but perfectly suitable for the location.

Food was fabulous, and staff were extremely helpful, informative, and pleasant to deal with you. The views from the various vantage points, incl. the dining area, were fantastic.

The snorkling was great and the coral reef was spectacular in colour, vibrancy and fish life.

Three nights would be the maximum time to stay, because its a virgin forest island with very llimited walking access. In fact, the walking tours could be extended." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-47 of 47
98%
47 reviews of Chumbe Island Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
5
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in South-west Zanzibar

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Unguja Lodge

Unguja Lodge

Unguja is a small, stylish lodge in southern Zanzibar standing on a quiet beach, with some of the most spacious rooms we have seen on Zanzibar.


92% (79 reviews)
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge is stylishly put together, with spacious, luxurious rooms, comfortable communal areas and a fantastic infinity pool.


87% (37 reviews)
The Residence Zanzibar

The Residence

The Residence is a very large resort hotel in south-west Zanzibar. Each villa has its own 8-metre lap pool.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa