This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs K from N London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Unforgettable. Not enough superlatives

Tanzania between 23 Sep 2010 and 9 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip went without a hitch as it did 2 years ago. We love Tanzania and it's people and it was wonderful to return. We can't wait to go back.

We travelled with Expert Africa previously and because of their efficiency, personalised service, knowlege and preparatory information as well as their competitve pricing. We returned and we were not disappointed.

There was one part of our trip that we would change and that was the trip to Lake Manyara. After Selous it felt so crowded and more like being in an open zoo than on safari. It was so disappointing and we perhaps would have been better just going to Bourganvillea Lodge for a relax and a dip in the pool that afternoon."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Still the ideal safari destination"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"After two years we returned to Tanzania and felt compelled to revisit Impala Camp as we had enjoyed it so much previously. It did not disiappoint and it is still our ideal safari destination. This is because of the isolated beautiful setting on the river, it's small size, the relaxed atmosphere, the perfect balace of camping/comfort and last but not least the warm, attentive staff.

The river settting adds such variety to the available activities, i.e boat safaris and fishing, plus wallking and all day safaris are available which we have found not to be the case in some other camps.

The food was very, very good and beautifully presented and we enjoyed being looked after by the same waiter throughout our stay. David was excellent. The Management were relaxed, chatty and helpful which set the tone of the whole camp.

Our guide Ezra is, judging from our experience of various camps, second to none and has a very good command of English. His knowlege of plants, animals and birds is extensive and he has the knack of telling stories and giving information about the small things while we are waiting to spot the big things. Hence you are never bored and always learning. He is also great fun and looked after us well at all times. He is ably assisted by Rajibu his driver and they are a great team.

We can't wait to go back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

Bougainvillea Safari Lodge

"An excellent base for the Ngorogoro Crater"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"This lodge was a little oasis off the dusty main road and a perfect base from which to visit the Ngorogoro Crater. The beautiful gardens and pool made it a wonderful place to relax at the end of the day.

The cabins were very comfortable with the only negative being that the lighting around the wardrobe area not good enough to find things easily at night.

The food was slightly different and delicious and we enjoyed the staff coming around offering us dishes from which we served ourselves. Some of the staff lacked the polish of other places we stayed but I felt the lack of smiles was often shyness."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sayari Camp

Sayari Camp

"A luxury camp in a glorious setting"

4 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"We chose Sayari to have a Serengetti experience with minimal traffic and it did not disappoint. The setting on a ridge with an almost 360degs view is spectacular and it was a real experience to wake up with part of that view every morning. The tents were more luxurious than we would normally chose but beautiful. In our tent we were very well looked after by Joseph. The pool too was lovely and made the most of the spectacular setting.

Our guide Esto was obviously experienced and very good and worked hard to give us the best experience possible.

The service was generally attentive and we enjoyed the friendliness of the staff however on our last morning breakfast was bit chaotic and haphazard which made it all a little rushed as we had to leave at a certain time.

The one negative about Sayari Camp for us is probably something they can't do anything about. The activities are limited to morning and evening game drives with walking safari as an payable extra. We have been spoilt having had the variation of Impala Camp in Selous where you had inclusive walking and have the river to add a different dimension."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Nduara Loliondo Camp, Tanzania (this camp has since closed)

"Real camping with comfort in a wild setting"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"This camp add a different dimension to a safari experience and we enjoyed the walking and the night game drives which were a real eye-opener.

The camp is very small and had a spectacular isolated setting with a wonderful view. The sunrise from our bed was an unforgettable experience. The yurts were very comfortable and the smaller connected yurt bathrooms were well equipped. The bucket showers were efficient and the composting toilets no problem at all.

I am always amazed at the food they produce in these isolated camps and here is was very good. The dining room yurt at night with the Masai decor and candlelight was a picture. The staff were attentive at all times and striving to make our stay memorable. We had a wonderful bush breakfast and will never forget our last evening when we finished our walk at the top of a huge hill with drinks by the fire watching the sunset.

The visits to a Masai village and school were very interesting and I felt well handled in that they lacked the voyeuristic tourist element. Our guide Kalifa was excellent on these visits as he was all the time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Own Arrangements

"Visit to the school of St Judes"

3 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2010
"Visit to the School of St Judes just outside Arusha. We stayed at the school as we sponsor a child there. This is a truly inspirational story of an young Austrailan woman, married to a Tanzanian, starting a schooll. The aim of this school is to give the poorest children the best education and it is all through sponsorship. I

n 2002 she started with 3 children and 1 teacher an now there are 1200 children - 2 primary schools, 2 years of a secondary school and nine boarding houses. Despite the background of these children in the Tanzanian national primary exams they were all in the top 10%.

If you want to see another side of Tanzania and a really positive one at that a visiit to the school is a must. They welcome visitors. Friday morning is the best time to do this as they have morning assembly and it is fabulous experience."
Excellent

An unforgettable holiday/adventure

Zanzibar and 1 other country between 21 Jun 2008 and 6 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was unforgettable. We felt our itinerary was perfect with just the right amount of time in each place. We were overwhelmed by the warmth and friendliness of the people wherever we went which added enormously to the enjoyment of our time in Tanzania. It is certainly a country I would like yo go back to.

We felt Claire/Expert Africa did a fantastic job sorting our holiday and preparing us for the trip. We were really impressed with how smoothly it went considering how much we moved about."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Our perfect safari experience"

4 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2008
"For our family Impala Camp was an unforgettable safari experience. The setting high on the bank of the river is perfect and the camp offered the perfect balance of comfort and wilderness outdoor living. The management of the camp was excellent and it ran smoothly at all times. Chloe we felt is doing an excellent job.

Our guide was Ezra and one of the factors that made our stay at Impala so memorable and we can't speak highly enough of him. - nothing was too much trouble and he was great fun to be with. He was supported ably by our excellent driver Rajabo. One of our most memorable experiences was the fishing - the setting was spectacular and we all had a great time. Abdullah our boat driver was particularly helpful on this occasion.

The food was superb and considering where we were quite miraculous. Mealtimes were a real treat and we enjoyed having the same waiter for every meal, Mufta, who was extremely helpful with our apalling attempts at Swahili.

We really appreciated the personalised service and the incredible attention to detail without affectation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"A beautiful wild experience in comfort"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2008
"We enjoyed so much the wildness and remoteness of Mdonya. We felt the camp well managed and the food and service good considering just where we were in the depths of the bush. The setting of the camp was very beautiful and our one regret was that we didn't have time just to relax for a day in camp as it was quite common for the game to wander through.

Our days were busy and long and our guide Giovanni was attentive and knowledgable and ensured that we got the best out of our stay in Ruaha.

One of our most memorable experiences was the walking safari with ranger Edwin along the banks of the river. We loved just sitting by the hippo pool and quietly watching.

The tents were very comfotable and and the hot solar showers very efficient. The evening drinks arround the fire and siitting together under the stars to eat were memorable experiences. Staff were ever helpful and friendly.

Just outside the camp the Tsetse Fly were a nuisance but the advice Expert Africa gave us about Avon Skin so Soft was excellent as it worked a treat when most other repellents were useless."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Fumba Beach Lodge

Fumba Beach Lodge

"Beautiful place to relax after safari"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2008
"The setting of Funba Beach lodge is beautiful as it is an isolated resort surrounded by the real Zanzibar. The pool, bar restaurent area are superbly designed and it was a glorious place to unwind and relax after safari. The beach huts were lovely and we really enjoyed the setting right onto the beach which we could access through large sliding doors. We enjoyed the nights where they set up our dinner tables on the beach.

There were just a few odd things that let the place down. A few grubby towels, a hole in one of the sheets and an ant infestation on one of the bar stools which was unexpected and unpleasant for my daughter when she sat on it in the dark.

The major negative factor for us however was the food inthe evening. It was the most disappointing of all the places we stayed which should not have been the case when you think how isolated out other destinations were. Meat was tough and one night potatoes uncooked.

The staff at all times were friendly and helpful."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Chumbe Island Lodge

Chumbe Island Lodge

"A fantastic unique experience"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2008
"Chunbe islands was one of the highlights of our trip. It was a real experience which started with wading out from the beach to the boat. The staff were all friendly and knowledgable and couldn't do enough for you. It was a real bonus having the same guide the whole time we were there. We enjoyed all the activities but the snorkelling was fabulous. One of our family is a poor swimmer and every effort was made to enable him to participate in and enjoy this activity.

It was an idyllic place with a beatiful beach which we shared with only 8 pther people. We found it interesting and satisfying to stay in an eco-friendly resort and the huts were really comfortable and fun and interesting to stay in. The central banda was a fabulous place with all sorts of places to relax outside and in and at night it was magically all lit with candles. The food was superb and meal times were a real treat.

An extraordinary unique experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

"The perfect place to stay in Zanzibar for us"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2008
"This small hotel made you feel more like you were staying in someones house. It was beautifully decorated but unpretentious. We enjoyed the big relaxing sitting room.

The staff were friendly and efficient and the location was superb for being out and about Stonetown."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team