This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Beyt al Salaam

Reviews of Beyt al Salaam

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Beyt al Salaam and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs D
Stamford

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2013
"Rooms fine, good setting, food in restaurant good, service appaliing." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"Good location in historic centre"

2 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2012
"BaC has a great location in Stonetown, with everything worth seeing in walking distance.
Rooms are vast and with a local flavour.
Surprisingly quiet at night.
We ate in the restaurant which was good quality, albeit a bit pricey.

Management team helpful, offering sound advice in the face of riots outside of the historic centre.
The highlight of our visit was enjoying a sundowner on the roof terrace of Africa House, watching the sun sink below the ocean as a dhow glided serenely past ." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr D & Mrs C
Surrey

"Beyt al Chai review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2012
"Lovely characterful hotel in a good spot - short walk to shops/seafront, etc. Staff generally very helpful. We asked about a sunset dhow trip and they called a guide to come to the hotel within five minutes who immediately organised this for us, then took us out to find an ATM (which he did at the second attempt, though we met some other tourists that had tried several with no success!) He also organised a city tour for the next day and then came back and met us and walked us to the meeting point for the dhow.

Restaurant food quite good for dinner, but service poor. Breakfast very poor. Took 40 minutes to serve two bowls of cereal and two omlettes. Never got the cookies and muffins we ordered. (There was only one other guest). Breakfast tray on last morning arrived five minutes before we were picked up and was stale bread and butter and very wet fruit so we had to wait until Dar to get breakfast.

Main problem was no water on first morning. We were told it would be back in 30 minutes, then another 10 minutes, etc. We asked for bottled water to at least wash and were given one bottle between us. Didn't seem to be any contingency or understanding that this was quite a major problem. Our toilet was quite unpleasant! Water did eventually come back on but too late to shower before our city tour. Not ideal in a very hot climate." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr L
SW London

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
The A family
Suffolk

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2012
"Only had one night here so comments based on an overnight stay.
Friendly staff
Good food
Rooms upgraded and thankfully were air conditioned

Things to do better - can't really comment." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Bucks

"We were at Beyt al Chai for last night."

1 night Arrived 26 Jan 2012
"Beyt al Chai had been organised for our last night prior to early departure to Dar es Salaam Airport. The afternoon was spent exploring Stone Town." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr L
Bishopston

"Beyt al Chai review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Dec 2011
"The Beyt al Chai proved to be to be a very nice hotel close to the sea front in Stonetown. The room was comfortable and air conditioned and nicely fournished , although I thought the bed was a bit too hard. The shower only provided cold or tepid water, but this was OK as the weather was hot and humid. There is a very comfortable lounge to relax in with some interesting books about Zanzibari history and art.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly, and there were even helpful masai security men just outside!

The restaurant is first class with delicious choices, primarily of fish and sea food. The included breakfast is served here and is also very good quality. A slight downside is that there is no seperate lunch menu but this is no problem on a short stay.

Stonetown is easily covered in a stay of one or two days as it is very compact. There is some interesting architecture and it is possible to observe fishermen at work on the seafront and get a flavour of local life.

Unfortunately we were plagued by people trying to sell us everything from CDs to carvings and scarves, and taxidrivers touting for business. Also many do not take no for an answer, and will follow you. It can be difficult to remain polite under these circumstances! It was probably worse for us , as it was low season with relatively few other tourists. Also I would recommend sticking to the larger souvenir shops where prices are displayed, or at least trying them first to know what to expect to pay, otherwise you will need very good bargaining skills and great patience to get a bargain!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Cobham

"Beyt al Chai review."

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2011
"Very good location and enjoyed staying in this old tea house with its colourful furnishings and interesting old furniture and ornaments.
We were warmly welcomed and given an upgraded room overlooking the square.

We had a good evening meal in the restaurant but left too early in the morning to sample their breakfast. However, the manageress was kind enough to leave fresh fruit and provide toast for us before we left at 5.00 am !" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Birghton

"Charming Beyt al Chai"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2011
"This is a charming, authentic guesthouse in a great setting near to the seafront, the Forodhani Gardens, the old city, and The Africa House.

On arrival we were delighted to be upgraded to the Sultan room and given a cold bottle of bubbly as they knew it was our 10th wedding anniversary. This was a lovely touch.

In the evening we ate at the Beyt al Chai restaurant and enjoyed a really great seafood dinner with a nice bottle of wine. We stayed here for two nights, which was a perfect amount of time to explore Stone Town." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Miss B & Mr R
UK

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2011
"The hotel is centrally located and has character. I found the rooms a little dark, and the facilities in the bathroom were a little old. The electrics in the bathroom seemed a little unsafe - the hairdryer provided seemed to spark when plugged in . Also the shower was hard to use as was handheld and we had no hot water. Aside from that the staff were very friendly and the restaurant was good." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 44
82%
44 reviews of Beyt al Salaam by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
22
7
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa