This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Swahili House
Swahili House
Swahili House
Swahili House
Swahili House
Swahili House
Swahili House
Swahili House
Swahili House
Swahili House

Reviews of Swahili House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Swahili House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Ms H & Ms D
UK

"Swahili House review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2011
"Good location, nicely refurbished building with great rooftop restaurant and bar.

However, our spposedly superior room didn't have any furniture apart from a bed and bedside tables. It would have been useful to have had a wardrobe in the room or a chest of drawers for clothes and a couple of chairs.

The electricity shortcircuited twice and the first time it took them a whole day to sort it out, despite various reminders and assurances that it was going to / had been done. We saw a rat in the restaurant and although the hotel was supposed to have credit card facilities we were sent out to get cash.

Overall, the service was disappointing." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Ms L & Mr DB
Oxshott

"Swahili House review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2011
"Generally disappointed with this hotel. The room they gave us had no chairs in it as only the Sultan suites have chairs, tables, terrace and a view! Also the toilet did not work properly.

In a coffee producing country, nescafe was served at breakfast.

If I had been made aware I would have booked Emerson Spice, a lovely new hotel." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Rwanda; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Swahili house provides excellent views"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Swahili house was a good place to stay since we were not in Stone town long enough to have a tour. It provided a memorable evening on its terrace overlooking the whole town and surrounds, with the evening muezzin and sunset views.

The food was good as was the service.

Our room was small compared to ones we had been staying in, but it was adequately equipped with mosquito net and a fan inside the netting should the night be too oppressive.

Fisherman's tours arranged a good prompt pick-up in the morning" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms M
North London

"Not there yet"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"On the plus side, Swahili House is beautiful and very sympathathetically renovated and the staff are friendly and helpful. The food in the cafe and restaurant was very good, although we were disappointed that the menu didn't change daily in the restaurant - if it had we would have eaten there again. The views from the restaurant must be among the best in Stonetown.

Now the bad points. Our room was called a suite, but it was an ordinary double room. We had asked for twin beds but were given a king sized bed with a put-up bed next to it. The main bed was uncomfortable with big dips in the mattress. The mosquito nets had huge holes in them. The bathroom was a section of the room with only a half wall screening it off - so no privacy, and actually quite unpleasant.

We had no hot water for the whole of our stay and there was something wrong with the water in our room for most of it, so no cold water for long periods also. This was all such a shame, as we really wanted to like Swahili House." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Mr M & Mrs L
Cheshire

"Beautiful building in real Zanzibar"

1 night Arrived 3 Mar 2011
"Great situation, very pleasant staff, great roof bar and restaurant.........beautiful room" See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms H & Mr F
London

"Swahili House review"

1 night Arrived 27 Nov 2010
"The hotel is centrally located and set in an old Sultan house. There are quite a lot of stairs but the inside of the hotel has been refurbished to a high standard incorporating traditional decoration into a more modern setting.

We only stayed there one night but the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had dinner on the roof top terrace which which gave a fantastic view over the town.

There are many 5 star establishments around but it was enjoyable and more cost effective to stay in a slightly more simplistic/boutique place than the much more expensive colonial style hotels." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr L & Ms H
Surrey

"Exploring Stone Town from Swahili House"

2 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2010
"What a hotel! An amazing conversion of an old trading house with lots of original details.

For us long evenings spent on the roof terrace watching and listening to all the activity of the Town around us was amazing (accompanied with tasty cocktails and delicious food).

Great location to explore Stone Town from." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Worthing

"Elegant Special Swahili House"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2010
"Only here for a night but upgraded to suite as few people here. Stunning room with balcony and large bathroom. Huge very comfy bed
Staff. Receptionist was excellent and arranged for our very early start efficiently ordering friut and cakes for breakfast.

Manager was from Fumba standing in for a week had nothing to tell us about the hotel and sent us off in completely the wrong directionfor our wander thr' Stonetown. pity. The assistant manager at dinner appeared to be on his phone all night by the bar. The dinner staff were so laidback you feared they would forget what was happening. However the setting up on the roof was stunning, the drinks delicious and dinner superb. We were very happy with our choice just very aware how spoilt we had been on safari and I suppose it began to ease us back into real world. We were so relaxed by then that we found it all quite funny, maybe if we had been there longer they would have lightened up and been more friendly.Wake up was on time and very helpful and friendly." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The H family
Surrey

"Swahili House - good for a one night stay"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2010
"We spent our last night at Swahili house. The location is good, however the cars cannot get to close, so there is a short walk through busy streets. The front desk and welcome briefing was excellent and the roof top terrace fantastic. We went out into the town and got lost (of course) but a helpful local aided our return. Rooms were tall and airy, but be warned that there are a lot of stairs!

We ate at the hotel and our pre-dinner drinks service was very poor. The hotel blenders had broken and the cocktails took about 25 mins to arrive, one of these was undrinkable. The quality of the food was excellent although there were a number of items on the menu which were not available (they also had an odd mixture of old and new menus, which was confusing. We discovered that dinner was pretty expensive when we settled the bill and the promised alarm call and breakfast didn't materialise at 5:15. Luckily the call to prayer at 5am woke us. The lack of staff meant that I had to carry all the bags down two steep flights of stairs to the front of the hotel. However we made our flight in time thanks to the excellent transfer service that Expert Africa had arranged." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms M & Ms M
Argyll

"swahili house, wonderful terrace at top"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2010
"swahili house was another interesting experience. we again arrived and found we had this time a double bed and it had been pushed up to one side of the room and antoehr push up bed put in as the twin. we immediately said could we have twin beds and the manager chris (normally the chef but the manager was in europe somewhere) said no problem, the hotel is not full, so i got my own from for 2 of the 3 nights. the last night i had to spend on the extra bed, again feeling like i was in student accomodation

chris was really helpful but because he was being manager one night we ordered soup for supper (before going to the music festival) and after 45 minutes it had not arrived and we had to go to the festival without supper. soup should not take over 45 minutes

the rooftop terrace/bar/restaurant is lovely at swahili house, it has a breeze a plunge pool some sun loungers (3 of the 4 with broken slats) and very nice dining tables. the food was international, with some local dishes that were excellent. i think after 2 nights you would want a wider menu but for us it was ideal. we went to the coffee house one day, beyt al chai one lunch and the evening that dinner didn't arrive we had soemthing at the festival so all was ok

chris organised taxis to and from the festival and they all worked like clockwork. he also organised a spice tour and a city tour, both very good, although the local guides do tend to start veyr enthusiastic adn after an hour noticably get fed up of you and trail off. chris also asked on our return for our comments nad was genuinely interested and wanted us to have a great time. he also let us use his office comptuer to reconfirm our BA tickets home, he went out of hsi way to be excellent

they also turned on the generators the morning we left as we had to get up at 5, so there was electricity to see to pack etc." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
82%
10 reviews of Swahili House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
3
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa