This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Dhow Palace Hotel

Reviews of Dhow Palace Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Dhow Palace Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Ms I
Oakland

"Lovely place in a great Stone Town location"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2017
"Dhow Palace is a beautiful old building with a ton of character in a good spot for walking around in Stone Town. The staff were polite and helpful, and proactively helped us make our trip run more smoothly (e.g., calling Fisherman Tours to find out when we'd be picked up on our last day, extending our stay by half a day so we could rest up before we travelled, booking a sunset dhow trip for us).

We only ate breakfast there, which was fine but unexceptional. The rooftop is beautiful and a great, low key place to watch the sun go down.

The bed was not very comfortable, and it would have been nice to have bathrobes in the room to wear down to the pool." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mrs D
Cheltenham

"Dhow Palace Hotel"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"Beautiful hotel with friendly staff. Dinner was a slight disappointment as the grilled fish was overcooked but the salad accompanying it was fresh and tasty.

One of the staff was supposed to give me a call at midnight as I was getting an early morning flight, but he forgot or was himself asleep. Fortunately I had an alarm clock and woke up anyway." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms M
Canada

"Dhow Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jun 2016
"I cannot comment as I was moved hotels at the last moment because apparently the Dhow Palace was under renovation (which they must have known way in advance).

The other hotel was nice but the view was all construction which was not very nice." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Mrs C
Windlesham

"Quaint & Quirky"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2015
"An old hotel, with lots of atmosphere. It's location is ideal for seeing Stone Town, very near the Post Office and some good shops and cafés.

We were lucky to get an upgrade to a much larger room, which was great. Not much storage space, but fine for a 2-night stay. Loved the mosaic bath, Zanzibar chest, fridge and 3 balconies !

Rather hot at night, despite fan and air-con.

The pool is great after a dusty day sightseeing.

Breakfast buffet good." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D
Surrey

"Return to Dhow Palace"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2015
"See previous comments. [Ed: see below!]

Staff again very helpful" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr D
Surrey

"Fine stay at Dhow Palace Hotel"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2015
"A hotel with a Colonial feel about it and located conveniently in the older part of Stone Town. The staff were very helpful and the facilities good.

Unfortunately there was not enough time to use the swimming pool. The food was good. The hotel is muslim therefore teetotal." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms K & Mr B
USA

"Treated like Royalty at Dhow Palace"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2014
"We felt like we were in a very special and exotic place. The hotel had lots of character and charm.

We loved the zanzibari bed and the Persian bath. The rooftop terrace was a delight for sunset viewing We had the terrace all to ourselves. We also enjoyed having the balcony overlooking the pool and the breakfast provided was more than adequate." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Neterlands

"Dhow Palace Hotel Review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2014
"Superb location in the middle of the old city, very old restored merchant's house dating from the 16th century with wonderful views from roof terrace.

Might not suite guests looking for a very modern set up i.e. no lift etc , but for us it was perfect and just what we liked. The staff were very helpful and friendly." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Rochester

"Interesting hotel centrally located"

2 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2013
"A good quality hotel in the centre of Stone Town in a pedestrianised area.

It ought to be made clearer in the brochure that it is a no alcohol hotel, although there were plenty of hotels and bars nearby." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Miss P
London

"Great Location"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2013
"Great location for sight seeing and reastaurants. Not the most amazing hotel but good value for the price. I ran out of hot water in the morning. The beds are super comfortable.

Having stayed here before, I think I prefer the rooms in the old part of the building (we were in the new bit)." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 38
79%
38 reviews of Dhow Palace Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
23
7
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa