This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kholle House
Kholle House
Kholle House

Reviews of Kholle House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

18 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kholle House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 18
Duration
Arrival date
Miss A
Harrogate

"Kholle House Review"

1 night Arrived 17 Jan 2018
"Nowhere in the trip notes does it advise me that Kholle House does not take credit cards and all items must be paid for in cash. Whilst this was not a problem it was a surprise.

Expert Africa had NOT advised Kholle House that I am Coeliac and required a gluten free diet (despite having said so in my trip notes). This came as a major surprise to them and caused many problems as they had no conception of the requirements and constraints..

They were kind enough to let me leave my main case with them whilst I was away in Chumbe Island for 2 nights. However, when I got back the manager was on her day off and asleep and not to be disturbed. So when I got back around 1030 (the room was not ready for at least another hour which did not help) I did not get my case until 1700. Whilst they did apologise very nicely that was not the point and I was stunned that I could not get my case for 6 hours.

My main day for relaxation was a Sunday. it started well then I found that the management had let 6 local kids in to enjoy the pool. This was a disaster for me - everything got soaked! I retreated to the lovely roof lounge but it most certainly was not what I had envisaged!

Lovely hotel and friendly staff but I will not stay there again.

Did not wander into Stone Town as the hotel is tucked away and I would have got lost! All the little alleys are very confusing and rather intimidating. No maps etc available." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
The H family
Fulham

"Kholle House review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"Charming small hotel, very characterful and furnished beautifully. Helpful and accommodating staff.

The small swimming pool was very welcome after exploring Stone Town and it was lovely sitting up in the roof top area as the sun went down." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Surrey

"A wonderful architectural building"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2015
"We had two nights at Kholle House, and the accommodation was excellent. Beautiful rooms with interesting brick built bath, and enviable water pressure. Nicely air conditioned rooms, interesting mattress and beautifully made beds daily. Very close to the mosque, so be prepared for 4 o'clock awakenings.

Nicely located on the edge of Stone Town, but an easy walk into the central hubbub. Turn left or right out of the House and wander aimlessly amongst the narrow streets, greeted by very friendly locals, young or old.

We were there for the last day of Ramadan, and also for the start of Eid which was great to witness.

Unfortunately the staff at Kholle House were indifferent bordering on rude and unfriendly. The only place where my Swahili was ignored and possibly ridiculed. It seemed an effort for them to serve us breakfast, and their attitude was generally apathetic. We asked for refreshments on arrival and this was awkwardly and begrudgingly delivered to our room.

I know it was Ramadan, but if you are running a guest house and accommodating non-muslims, Western beliefs should still be respected, especially when the guest is paying.

Architecturally the building has been beautifully restored. The swimming pool was an added bonus, and beautifully clear and well managed. The 360 degree views of Stone town from the roof top area were stunning and it is just a shame that we didn't feel able to relax and enjoy our stay as the staffs' religious views were overwhelmingly made clear, and we didn't seem welcome." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R
Northampton

"Kohl House review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jul 2015
"Stylish hotel - good decor and nice food. Good service.

A little on the rustic side perhaps, but very authentic (with welcome addition of AC!)" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"Overnight in Stone Town"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2015
"The Kholle House was very functional for our needs and the rooms were definitely fitting with the local culture. We had only a short time to spend in Stone Town, arriving in the early afternoon and departing for the airport at 3:30 am. The hotel staff was very accommodating with our early departure, even providing a light breakfast.

I arranged a guided city tour through the hotel concierge. Good thing, or we would have been completely lost. As it was, we were just overwhelmed. The sights, sound and smells of the local market. The weight of the historic slave market. The narrow, winding streets, some only as wide as a sidewalk. The call to prayer booming from the loud speakers atop the many mosques. The heat and humidity. The beckoning of shop keepers. The chaos.

I am grateful for the experience, but I am glad it was only one day. I was eager to return to the tranquility of the bush." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zanzibar; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
C Plowdog
Sydney

"The triumph of style over substance"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2014
"Looked good, beautiful building but it didn't really work." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs CD
London

"Stone Town hotel"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"The hotel was friendly and quirky because of its history. We were only in Stone Town for one night so this suited us fine.

Good location near the sea front and a short walk to the main attractions." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
MS R & Mr D
Bristol

"Kholle House city centre"

4 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2014
"Kholle House was a perfect location for us - towards the edge of the old town, rather than in the midst of the warren of streets/alleyways, meant that w could always find it without getting stressed out, even late at night. The swimming pool also provided welcome relief from the heat and meant we could relax even during the urban part of our holiday.

Our room (number 24) was at the top of the building which gave us access to cooler breezes, and easy access to both roof terraces. The last set of steps up to the third floor were particularly steep and I think guests should be warned of that in advance (witnessed an older couple really struggling to climb the stairs).

Our main disappointment was that even though we had booked their honeymoon package the fact that we were on our honeymoon was never once mentioned nor acknowledged. Having said that, the staff were helpful when we needed to find a pharmacy. Overall I would say staff were 'helpful' rather than 'attentive'." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms C
Vista

"Quaint Kholle House"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2014
"This was a small, cozy hotel located right in Stone Town which is a converted old residence of a sultan's daughter. I loved the old touches such as the old tiles.

Thank god they had a/c in our room as the weather was quite hot and humid in February. Zanzibar provides an interesting history of the influence of various European countries over time and the sad look at it's role in the slave trade. Shopping can be fun at the little shops but the narrow streets are stiflingly hot.

I would go to Memories of Zanzibar and Zanzibar Gallery on Kenyatta Road for a nice selection and good prices. Drinks at sunset at the Serena was magnificent with the Dhows in the foreground. You'll impress your friends with amazing photos of that scene!" See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Miss L
Bedford

"Good stay at Kholle House"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2013
"We stayed at Kholle House for one night (bed & breakfast) which completed our holiday to Tanzania. We did this so that we could spend some time in Stonetown. Although we were not overly impressed with Stonetown itself, we feel happy to have experienced a stay here and Kholle House was centrally situated for this.

The room accomodated all our needs, however we did not have the "best" nights sleep. We were kept awake by loud music coming from a local italian restaurant until 2.30am. Although understandable and unavoidable, we were also awoken by sounds from a cockerel and the local mosque.

For our final day, we had arranged 2 trips out & around Stonetown. As check out was at 10.30am, the hotel did kindly keep our bags locked away and also let us use a room to freshen up before leaving for the airport later that day." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 18
81%
18 reviews of Kholle House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
7
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa