This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Tembo Hotel
Tembo Hotel
Tembo Hotel

Reviews of Tembo Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Tembo Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Tembo Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2015
"The hotel was acceptable as stop over in Stone town, clean, comfortable and convenient." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Miss B & Mr G
Taunton

"Wouldn't stay here again"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2014
"Unfortunately this hotel failed to meet up to our expectations. Every hotel we had stayed in previously with Expert Africa had exceeded our expectations, however this one feel short.

Weren't able to stay in the main hotel, so we were transferred to an apartment block opposite the hotel. There appeared to be a lack of security here, pretty much allowing anyone to walk in and out of the block. The room was incredibly spacious but appeared to be unfinished. We were in a twin room also which was a shame.

After asking to move, the hotel transferred us to a lovely room in the main hotel without any fuss, which was great. However the general room quality needed updating." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr D
Edinburgh

"Tembo Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2013
"Room very spacious and comfortable (would have liked a view). Construction of nearby hotel ruined sleep on final night; cement mixers working all night. Hotel management did try to stop it but with no success.. Perhaps you should monitor the effect on Hotel Tembo of this new, large hotel next door.

Friendly helpful staff and an excellent swimming pool are pluses, as is the location on the seafront." See all these reviews: 4n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Miss S
UK

"Tembo Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2012
"A very poor hotel.

We had a room that was next to a very noisy generator that was on all night. Next morning I immediately asked to be moved and they seemed very un-surprised by the fact. Our second room was ok.

Stone Town is filthy and has no buildings, sights, activities or cultural interest of note to encourage anyone to visit it. I would never recommend anyone to go there and wished we had been advised to travel to the airport from Matamwe.

Being next to the sea was a slight plus. The amount of debris and litter washed up and just left on the beach was not pleasant.

" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Mr & Mrs W
Berks

"Disappointing and frustrating end to trip"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2009
"These guys really got off on the wrong foot. The 'welcome' at reception consisted only of pushing an arrival card for us to fill in, having glanced in our direction only long enough to tell where to push the card.

They then put us in a twin room (on our honeymoon). We complained and were offered a 'double', in which only a pair of children could possibly have slept comfortably, it was so small. Their solution to this was to push the beds together in the twin, leaving a 3 inch height difference between the mattresses. Besides the beds the rooms are ill furnished, with non-functional lights, holey mosquito nets, sparking plug sockets and broken fridges. Overall they didn't really seem to care very much.

We were very much not alone in complaining at the front desk, having to take our place in a queue of disgruntled guests. Avoid." See all these reviews: 3n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Terrible
Mr & Mrs C
Leics

"Tembo Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2009
"The best location in Stone Town and near to all the sights and restaurantsThe position at the waterside was superb The only shortcomong and we did know about it ,was the lack of alcohol.This somewhat limited the occasion.Evening dining was a 'no,no!'.However,there is always a bright side and we found the most excellent restaurant opposite the Serena.London standards of cuisine." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 8n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr B St Mary
UK

"Charming- should have spent more time here"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"This hotel has a very nice colonial feel and is in a great location. It is clean and very quaint - the fixtures, fittings, electrics and plubing all seem to be 50/6s vintage but they work fine (the room aircon units are modern). It is a good location to tour Stonetown which is a very interesting place that we should have spent more time exploring.

We woud not risk swimming on Stonetown beaches. They look nice enough but the water must be very polluted.

Only complaint would be that the mosquite nets were 3+ inches off the ground and we did pick up 1 or 2 bites." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs C
Brockley

"Nice swimming pool - shame about the beds"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2007
"Atmospheric hotel with huge variation in quality of rooms. Childrens room was quiet, cool and spacious. Parents room was small, hot and noisy.

The swimming pool was greatly appreciated and we loved the town beach in front of the hotel which had all the life and more which we didn't find in Pongwe.

My problem with this hotel (and possibly every hotel on Zanzibar) was a very personal one in that I found the short Zanzibarian bed complete with bed-end a bit of a trial - at 6' 5" tall I come across similar problems all the time - but Tembo holds the record for the shortest and narrowest bed so far." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Showing 1-8 of 8
63%
8 reviews of Tembo Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
0
3
3
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa