This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Jafferji House

Reviews of Jafferji House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

19 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Jafferji House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 19
Duration
Arrival date
CC.
Porto Alegre

"Jafferji House review"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2019
"This is our feedback about Jaffreji House
Good aspects:
The location is pretty good, in the heart of Stone Town. The room was superb, clean. We reccomend this hotel for sure.

Bad aspects:
The breakfast took more than 40 minutes to be served, so we lost it (we had a flight in the morning)." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Family G
Newbury

"Jafferji House review"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2019
"Position is good in heart of stone town, Traditional accommodation which was also good.

Breakfast average to poor." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms P.
Minneapolis

"Jafferji House review"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2018
"This was a huge mistake - it was not the magical place depicted in the literature. The manager was unfriendly, the room was stuffy to the point of suffocating, and the days seemed interminable waiting to leave - completely opposite of our lovely and wondrous days in the bush, which flew by.

We decided to spend as much time as possible out of our room, so we made our own itinerary - visit to a spice plantation, prison island, walk around the area, visit local coffee shops." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Average
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Terrible
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
SueD
UK

"Quirky and enjoyable"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2017
"I liked the quirky decor at Jafferji House and the staff were delightful. It felt very 'African' - big TV in the room but nothing to watch on it; two washbasins but one of then poured water onto the floor rather than into the drain; shower where hot water never got hot. None of this was a problem, just made me smile and as an Africa addict made me feel quite at home! The room was big and very comfortable.

Breakfast in the restaurant was fine; dinner wasn't wonderful and I found better places to eat in town.

I had a look in other hotels used by Expert Africa and Jafferji was definitely my preferred choice, particularly for the location, decor and atmosphere." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M & Ms O
UK

"Jafferji House review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2016
"Well this in one quirky place ! ideally located right in the middle of Stone town
We had the Mercury suite (I think due to Expert Africa's influence)
This is one bustling town of many cultures and it is great to go walkabouts and get lost which is easy to do! (felt safe at all times) locals are after a $ but are ok.
The reason I wanted to go to stone town was to see Freddies birth place (Not a Queen nut but he had an influence musically as I was growing up) For us not particularly into culture and lots to do for those that are i.e. slave trade,spice trade etc just not our bag!
Forget Freddies birth place called Mercury house its just a tourist shop with no plaque or anything! Quite disappointing if fact our suite at jafferji was about as good as it gets!
The hotel as such, cannot really fault good place to stay to explore stone town." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
J & M Family
UK

"Beautiful hotel in fascinating old house"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2015
"Beautiful hotel - a real oasis in bustling Stone Town.

Gorgeous decor in rich colours. A really atmospheric building. Easy walking distance to sea front and Darajani market. Went early morning to fish market to see catches being landed from dhows. Had sunset cruise trip in hotel's own dhow. We came for a wedding anniversary and the hotel unexpectedly upgraded us to a suite, ( with open air double shower!), presented us with a heart shaped brownie cake- and treated us to a 20 min massage each at the lovely Amani rooftop spa.

Staff super friendly and helpful.

Dinner in rooftop restaurant was very good - new chef from South Africa. Extra unexpected mini courses and a good merlot. Huge portions!

Wifi variable" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms S
New Orleans

"Great rooms, good service"

2 nights Arrived 9 Nov 2014
"I had the Stanley Suite and it was lovely for one person. I think the bed might be small if there were two people. The room, like all the rooms, has a great individual flavor and was fun to explore and a nice place to return to at night. The breakfast here left a lot to be desired, unfortunately. I did not eat any other meal here, so I cannot speak to their quality.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and even let me keep the room for a very late checkout, free of charge, when I explained that my flight wasn't until 6pm that night. It is also located in a very central area, perfect for exploring the shops and restaurants of Stone Town." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mrs V & Mr H
Greece

"Myserious and Eastern in heart of Stone Town"

1 night Arrived 22 Jan 2014
"We only stayed here for one night but were pleased with location and the staff. We were upgraded to superior room on arrival.

Rooms are very dark and have a strange smell in bathrooms, but very atmospheric. You are right in the thick of the back streets, and it can feel slightly alien and unnerving after safety of the Lodge experience. Recommend getting a guide and staying for more than one night if you want to truly experience what this place has to offer.

Visiting Livingstones (the old British Consulate) for sundown and watching locals somersault on beach to backdrop of the sunset was spectacular." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs AR
UK

"Jafferji House review"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2013
"Very tasteful traditional style hotel in the best central location." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs AR
UK

"Jafferji House"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2013
"Very tasteful traditional style hotel in the best central location." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 19
81%
19 reviews of Jafferji House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
7
2
1
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa