This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & Ms O from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

45

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2016 trip

Kenya and 1 other country between 12 Jan 2016 and 27 Jan 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great Trip as stated above.
The interesting one is the comparison between Saruni and Elephant.
We gather most people spend 3 days in Samburu and then move on to the Mara.
Somewhere we find a little busy while Samburu remains relatively quiet.
Most game drives centre around the river on your doorstep at Elephant a good hours drive from Saruni
but for us Saruni had the best location but only just!
These two camps compliment each other perfectly, the big bonus because Saruni is in a concession area it affords night drives something you cannot do at Elephant.
This opens up a whole new amazing nocturnal experience and for me filming a pair of stunning Aardwolf for the second year running was special.
So there you go the choice is yours! Some say the wildlife is better in the Mara and of course there is an element of luck
But we saw Lion everyday inc a mating,Leopards every day,Cheetah and the 5 unique animals that live there (google it!)
Sadly missed the Wild Dogs but only by a few days! And we love this park!

Cheers"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"Eka Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jan 2016
"Great location for overnighting in Nairobi. Perfect for moving on to a Safari.
Very welcoming and felt very safe lovely helpful staff.
We arrived around 11pm wondered if we could get some food "the restaurant and bar is open 24 hours sir"
So went to our room very clean everything you possibly want inc tea & coffee etc
Went down to the restaurant around midnight had prawns rapped in bacon - delicious for the princely sum of £4!
Overall a well run lovely Hotel.
Did not use any facilities but swimming pool looked inviting."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu

"Saruni Samburu review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jan 2016
"Second visit,went last year says it all, thankfully nothing has changed.
We had the same guide Lapion who we have bonded with and is one excellent guide and tracker have a good laugh with him, also lucky enough to have a vehicle completely to ourselves.
Saruni remains in our view one of the best locations in Kenya with stunning views and very friendly wildlife love the resident genet cat who joins you for dinner should you wish to take it in your room!
Nothing is too much trouble here overall a wonderful experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Bedroom

Elephant Bedroom

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2016
"Well very different from Saruni placed in the heart of Samburu right on the rivers edge,beautiful setting have never experienced a tented camp that you have a private plunge pool to yourself !
Food here is exceptional and yes if you are into elephants they abound all around the camp to the hilarious point when you grab your lunch and run to safety! (always safe guards everywhere)
Slight minus point no power at night so it can get a little warm but you always have the plunge pool !
Guides good cannot fault anything about this camp very well run."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

"Jafferji House review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jan 2016
"Well this in one quirky place ! ideally located right in the middle of Stone town
We had the Mercury suite (I think due to Expert Africa's influence)
This is one bustling town of many cultures and it is great to go walkabouts and get lost which is easy to do! (felt safe at all times) locals are after a $ but are ok.
The reason I wanted to go to stone town was to see Freddies birth place (Not a Queen nut but he had an influence musically as I was growing up) For us not particularly into culture and lots to do for those that are i.e. slave trade,spice trade etc just not our bag!
Forget Freddies birth place called Mercury house its just a tourist shop with no plaque or anything! Quite disappointing if fact our suite at jafferji was about as good as it gets!
The hotel as such, cannot really fault good place to stay to explore stone town."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Kilindi

Kilindi

"Kilindi review"

5 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2016
"Well Wow, did not realise this place was designed and built for Benny of ABBA as a private residence for him and his entourage!
requested to do a trip advisor by Kilindi so posted as below:

Well I have had the privilidge over the years of staying in some of Africa's finest lodges and camps. This one does not let you down, a stunning location!

You arrive to be greeted by Peter the manager who then introduces you to your own private butler in our case wonderful John. You are then shown around and taken to your private Pavillion complete with waterfall and 2 plunge pools (not every one is the same) we are keeping ours a secret ! The service from all was amazing what ever you want is never a problem.

The surrounding habitat is full of wildlife, chameleon,monkeys,monitor lizards and stunning greater Bush Babies (if you can get a photo you are better than me! they are quick!!)
Food was good but not particularly our bag a little spicy but what do you expect in a spice island! Having said that anything you wish they will cook for you without an issue it is a personal preference.

To sum up major wow factor loved the place vowed to go back one day just need to save up!! Not everyones cup of tea but if you like isolation, away from it all and you can stay here if you wish and see nobody except your butler and cleaning staff (lovely) as all meals can be served in your room Plus a little wildlife then this is the place for you! Its the place for us! Martin & Loz"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Loz and Martin on Hols

Kenya between 8 Feb 2015 and 23 Feb 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip came back refreshed, the private conservancy stuff is well worth doing it may cost a little more but you have the pleasure of watching great wildlife without anyone else around still busy in the mara with loads of trucks/combis but not such an issue in Samburu which I think is my favourite park in Kenya.
Compared with the prices in Botswana and Zambia given the wildlife we saw Kenya is a Safari Bargain!
Please GO!

Cheers to all at Expert Africa and thank you once again for pointing us in the right direction!
Will be back for some more punishment in the near future!

Martin & Loz"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu

"Superb Experience"

3 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2015
"This Lodge is something very special, very special indeed!
The Location is stunning and the vista from your room or indeed from your bed is something to behold.
Food is excellent and Loz, being a vegetarian food can be an issue (see next camp comments) but no worries here!
The hosts James and crew were a delight.
We were offered in room dining every night and took up the option 2 nights out of 3, candle lit and wonderfully romantic nothing too much trouble stunning sky and during dinner both nights a friendly Genet joined us! plus a load of bats!

Our guide Lapieon and Manuel his tracker both Masai warriors where superb we had them and our own truck throughout! And if i can give you an example on one game drive they spotted some fresh Leopard tracks so cleverly drove in a circle spotted tracks coming out the other side so a bigger circle was made - no tracks coming out so gradually they shortened the circle this took about one and a half hours in the end Lapieon says the Leopard is in that bush!! and sure enough one big male Leopard was photographed and videoed amazing! I might add did the same the next day but the Leopard won!
We saw Lion, cheetah, Leopard every day.

There is however a slight issue but not to us in that it is a hour game drive to the river where most of the game can be found so you do travel 2 hours in and out not ideal for some! if an issue stay at elephant lodge highly recommended by our guides and Expert Africa!! Having said that being in a conservancy you are afforded night drives (not allowed in the park) and here I got to see a rare one and got video only seen once before in Zimbabwe some 25 years ago a beautiful Aardwolf special for me!
The Pangolins however (seen one once about 25 years ago) still elude me!

To cap the whole Saruni experience on our checkout day we were on our way to breakfast came out of our room (no camera sadly) and a Leopard walked past loz and myself 10 feet away on the path to the main area completely ignored us, had his sights on some Dik Dik further down on the rocks! WOW!

IMPORTANT FOR THOSE WHO KNOW SAMBURU THE WASHED AWAY BRIDGE AT BUFFALO SPRINGS IS NOW REPAIRED (as we arrived) finally after 2 years!

Just to sign off we saw all the unique 5 Samburu creatures : BEISA ORYX,SOMALI OSTRICH,GREVYS ZEBRA,GERENUK (love them when they stand on hind legs) and the most beautiful Giraffes in the world the RETICULATED.

Will definitely be going back but maybe in the rainy season (to get a different perspective ) because a lot of the animals move away from the river and up into the conservancy at that time. Start saving the pennies i guess!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

"Good Time"

4 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2015
"This camp is very different to Saruni being a proper tented camp with a big Eco theme.

So it is solar everything and lovely bucket showers etc. The camp managers Colin and Chala were a delight as was our excellent guide Andrew.

One thing in particular we liked is being invited behind the scenes for a tour of how the camp is run, you have no idea how much work goes on just to live day to day! At peak times they employ 36 staff for just 12 tents!
The location is good with Zebra etc munching away right outside your tent and indeed a very pregnant Cheetah! but being quite low down on the plain views are not stunning.(Re Cheetah see their Facebook page)

There were a few minor niggles the Vegetarian food for Loz was not good (They have since been in contact and are getting in outside advice, so they are on the case) Other silly things we would ask for some beers to be sent to our tent no problem just no bottle opener like wise a bottle of wine and no corkscrew! Bless em!

But lets no forget what we are there for, the wildlife and it was very good. Overall would recommend."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Hemingways Watamu

Hemingways Watamu

"Hemingways review"

7 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2015
"Oh dear, this is very sad Hemingways has long been one of my favourite hotels anywhere and this I think was my 7th visit over the years since it opened in 1988. The travesty of Kenya's coastal tourism is very apparent what with the governments travel advice against part of Mombasa, Lamu and other parts coupled with most if not all charter flights being withdrawn from the UK with mass cancellations from the Americans because of Ebola (the fact that if you live on the eastern seaboard of America you are closer to Ebola than you are in Kenya they do not see it that way!)

AT ALL TIMES DURING OUR TRIP WE FELT VERY SAFE NO PROBLEMS AT ALL.

Back to Hemingways: The newer Left wing of the hotel where I usually stay is completely closed down due to lack of business. Miranda one of the managers (known her for years) tells us things are not good with a hotel of guessing 70+ rooms and at times less than 25 guests she also said they are doing better than most! As a consequence standards are slipping probably due to minimal staff and the hotel is looking tired and in desperate need of refurbishing as nothing has been done since she opened (This is happening this year so lets hope!)

The staff are keeping their chins up and are a delight nothing being too much trouble and always jovial and fun!

This is our experiance with no holes barred!

On arrival (evening,dark) taken to our ground floor room not my favourite choice but popular with the elderly (whom there are many) fortunately the door would not open so I went back to reception and got a room on the second floor we stayed there that night in the morning we complained to Miranda the room was dirty (blood on the shower screen and poo on the toilet roll holder not good!) We were immediately moved to probably the best room in the hotel on the 3rd floor with lovely views across the bay and the room was immaculate we were more than happy. Did no more complaining as loved the room however for the first 4 days the shower just dribbled cold water let it run for 15 mins and it got tepid so ok on the 5th day someone occupied the room next to us and all of a sudden we had hot water still at a dribble but hot it was! very hot only problem no cold! even with the hot off still scorching through the cold tap! We managed and had to smile.

The food was good but not as good as it used to be but no complaints.

So there you have it! if you are reading this and have booked or thinking of booking I still implore you to go you will have a wonderful time just do not expect a 5 star hotel (by todays standards) more like 3 but at 5 star prices. It still remains one of the if not the best location of any hotel on the Kenyan coast the staff are lovely and you ultimately will have a good time We did! Plus you have the option of some of the best Game fishing in the world (not cheap!)"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Zambia Sept 2014

Zambia between 8 Sep 2014 and 21 Sep 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Well this was a trip of superlatives but there is a problem and they are aware of it, something I discussed over dinner with Grant Cummings the owner of Chiawa and Old Mondoro who was on a quick visit and a charming man. He is on the case!

The park has 6 Lodges but further down the river there are over 20 lodges all using the same park some travelling 90+ Kms to get through the gate as a result when on game drives you see lots of vehicles and 10 vehicles round a leopard at the price you are paying is not on! Gladly our guides agreed and as I have been lucky enough to have seen it all before we moved off and left the crowds to it.

So I would not return to Chongwe or Chiawa for that single reason although the Camps are superb.

So that leaves Old Mondoro further up the river the crowds do not get there, it is not as luxurious as the other two camps but you never see another vehicle apart from the other that belongs to the camp and that only happens when you have a good sighting and they radio each other so fine and great talking point over diner that night. Ryan and Pam who run the camp are a delight.

Its beauty is also in its intimacy only 4 tents and for me the best wildlife of all the 3 camps. Would I go back YES just have to save up! For anybody reading this and fancy it go for a week and book up soon they already have reservations for 2017! Loved it"

Arranged By Megan Green


Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"Pioneer Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"Nice place to stay if in Lusaka only 30mins from the airport and easy to get a taxi if needed.

Very clean, friendly staff and good food. Drinks reasonably priced.

No activities on site apart from a bit of bird watching not an issue as generally used as a stopover. Having said that the owner Paul would organise anything you would like to do even down to an escorted safari in little known areas but you would have to e-mail him first."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"Top notch bush camp everything you could possibly want is available. Your wish is their command. Possibly one of the finest bush camps in Zambia.

Also the best place to see leopard (realise wildlife sigthings can be unpredictable) but we saw them on virtually every game drive.

Just for good measure we saw an Aardvark others saw 4 in one night!

Pangolins are around but you would have to be very lucky we were not!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Chongwe River Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2014
"Another superb camp very well run,good staff etc

See overall trip comments"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Chiawa Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2014
"The most luxurious of all the places we stayed further upmarket compared to sister camp Old Mondoro
Run exactly the same
Very nice indeed
See whole trip comments"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Old Mondoro Bushcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2014
"As before because we stayed at this camp twice"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Simply Amazing Trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 24 Feb 2014 and 15 Mar 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent - faultless."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Friendly Springbok"

1 night Arrived 25 Feb 2014
"Welcoming staff, nice accommodation.

Would recommend the game drive. Sadly cheetahs only kept as a tourist attraction but they are well looked after.

Look out for the friendly springbok around the lodges. There is also an oryx which likes to say hello but he was off on his wanders."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Fighting red hartebeest"

1 night Arrived 26 Feb 2014
"Great location for wildlife viewing - saw red hartebeest fighting, mongoose, wildcats and all the usual antelopes.

Functional and comfortable accommodation but looking a little tired."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"Rainbow in the wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 27 Feb 2014
"Whistling rats sing to you on the way in up the bumpy 4 x 4 track.

Excellent location for viewing wildlife - even got to see a brown hyena.
Basic but lovely accommodation, more than adequate - great viewing platform.

Loved our little mouse in the tented lodge!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

"Electrifying"

1 night Arrived 1 Mar 2014
"Watch out for the electric fence at the entrance!

All san parks accommodation need a revamp - this place was looking tired - but still comfortable.

Very busy camp but fine, only stayed there to get access to Bitterpan."
Good
Location
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

"Scared Lions"

1 night Arrived 2 Mar 2014
"Nicest san parks accommodation and location. Lovely room but didn't really like the shared kitchen - no saucepans left for us!

Two black maned lions strolled across the pan in the morning, amazing!

Lovely fire pit in the middle of the accommodation for some evening socialising."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Functional Stopover"

1 night Arrived 3 Mar 2014
"This accommodation is a good stop over mid way through your journey. Waiting staff and chefs were very helpful in accommodating our needs.

Pool was green, wouldn't recommend a dip!

Room was nice."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Pandoras Box"

1 night Arrived 4 Mar 2014
"Stunning place, like no where else in the world. A must have stop off if you are travelling in Southern Namibia.

Lovely staff, great breakfast, love the toilets - make sure you open Pandoras box!!!

Pool is gorgeous and accommodation is lovely!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Room with a view"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2014
"Amazing accommodation - eagles nest is a must. Pure seclusion and amazing views.
It has changed but it still one of Africas finest escapes!

Look out for the wild horses - they are beautiful.

Friendly staff and a lovely vista."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"Oasis in the desert"

2 nights Arrived 7 Mar 2014
"Great base for exploring the dunes. Food at desert lodge was outstanding - went out of their way for vegetarians.

Superb location and the pool and bar are simply beautiful.

Were not told that utensils were at reception though so missed our morning coffees!!!

Decided to go hot air ballooning over the dunes - would highly recommend - this is a must - beautiful sights and lovely champagne breakfast!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Beethovens Symphony"

2 nights Arrived 9 Mar 2014
"Sam's a great caring host. Less eccentric than we remember - loves his classical music! No longer has the St Bernards have been replaced by one very large Bernese dog!

Lovely gardens! Definitely the place to stay in Swakopmund.

Ate out at the Tug, on the pier - fantastic restaurant, superb food.

Went sand boarding too - highly recommended for all ages as long as you have good underpants - reached up to 72kmh."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Lovely Setting"

1 night Arrived 11 Mar 2014
"Excellent setting, beautiful accommodation.

Loz and Mart knew the hosts from previous encounters - they used to run a lodge in Zamibia.

Not a lot going on, wouldn't recommend the game drive - didn't see anything!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Unique experience"

3 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2014
"Loved catching up with Bruno - it was a total delight. He still remains to me one of the best guides in Africa. Sadly it poured down with rain for 2 days but it did not in any way dampen the experience - we thought it was great.

No, we did not see a pangolin and for 95% plus travellers there is no chance, however Chris, as you already know, be very selective about the clients that you send there.

We loved it and have promised to go back. We love Bruno and his knowledge and experience of life in the bush. Could you please forward us the details of the Pangolin Trust as we want to get involved and Pete is going to work on a game for the website to promote the plight of Percy the Pangolin."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Brilliant adventure

Malawi and 1 other country between 9 Oct 2011 and 28 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Bostin trip!
Thank you so much Chris and Claire. Realise you did us a big favour.
If you in the future you need some guinea pigs we are more than happy to accommodate at the right price!
smilin
Prob go Madagascar Feb (got own excellent ground agent there and if you want to expand can help!). Check out Grace tours.
Cheers
Me and Loz"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Kalamu Lagoon Camp, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Kalamu Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2011
"Probably best food on trip.

Only downside poor game viewing and bloody red covers on spotlight for night drives, understand their ethics but impossible to photograph, video or see properly.

Other lodges/guides cope fine with white light (you just do not shine in animals eyes)."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Zebra Plains, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Zebra Plains review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"Superb but and it's a big but! Garth brilliant as long as you can guarantee that he will be there because without simply would not be the same, don't get us wrong other guides more than capable but not in the same league. And as Garth often does private guiding he's not always there.

Need to make sure he is there when you wish to go."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"Bit of a snotty lot bit too old boy network for our liking but Harriot (camp host) was great.

Wildlife best on trip.

Other major downside Mosquito city got bitten to death! zzzzzz"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Africa House, Malawi (this camp has since closed)

"Africa House review"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2011
"Lovely lovely hotel.

The concept and artifacts amazing well theamed.

loved it"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Thawale Camp

"Thawale and Mkulumadzi Camps"

2 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2011
"Ok going to be a long one!
Arrived at Thawale after along drive please note whatever distances/time you are advised be it google local people etc forget it took us a good eight hours from Africa House check point charlie and village speed restrictions (well needed) also had to make a detour for fuel (more later)

Met by the lovely Albert to be told "ah travel Africa honeymoon suite" (Thanks Claire nice one)
Amazing location simply the best shitter i've had the pleasure to use (shame about the resident frog)
Loved our self drive in Majete wealth of wildlife amazing sightings of Sable and Nyala, Leopards being introduced upon our arrival.

Dinner at night met the minister of wildlife lovely guy told him what a smashing job he is doing.
We think this park has massive potential and Mr Pope has been very cute in opening Mkulumadzi the place is simply stunning."
Excellent
Mkulumadzi Lodge

Mkulumadzi Lodge

"Only the food lets them down."

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2011
"After two night's at lovely Thawale moved on to Mkulumadzi beautiful place Mark the host excellent, total luxury slight downside the food was pretty naff. Cannot understand why these upmarket lodges go out of there way to supply super posh nosh that basically is crap.

When in Africa after a hot day, with early starts etc you just want a hearty meal not unedible nouveau cuisine. Crispy lasange wings or what!
For that reason much preferred Thawale."
Good
Makokola Retreat

Makokola Retreat

"The Makokola Retreat review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2011
"The room needed a good clean inch of dust is not good. Food was good as long as your waiter understood you when you ask for butter the tomato sauce arrived! But the place was lovely the best bit for us was walking down the empty beach and visiting the local village catching up with the chief a lady (surprised).

Swimming in fresh water lake Malawai was surreal."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good

only for chris and tracy

South Africa and 1 other country between 9 Jul 2008 and 30 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Hate questionnaires and my t is overcooked!
always glad to help"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2008
"OK PLACE NOTHING SPECIAL NICE LOCATION"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Kalahari Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 11 Jul 2008
"BLOODY COLD!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

Twee Rivieren Rest Camp

"Twee Rivieren Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jul 2008
"TOO COMMERSIALISED FOR ME BUT USEFUL STOP OFF POINT"
Average
Location
Average
Rooms
Average
Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

Urikaruus Wilderness Camp

"Urikaruus Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2008
"NICE PLACE, GOOD LOCATION FOR MATA-TWIN RIVERS GAME DRIVES SUPPOSEDLY THE BEST IN THE PARK (NOT MY EXPERIANCE)"
Good
Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp

"Kielie Krankie Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2008
"Nice location not a lot going on!"
Good
Location
Good
Rooms
Good
Nossob Rest Camp

Nossob Rest Camp

"Nossob Rest Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jul 2008
"Bloody awful place too crowded lots of kids enough said!
Night hide good available on net nossob webcam!"
Average
Location
Average
Rooms
Average
Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

Grootkolk Wilderness Camp

"Grootkolk Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"without doubt the very best camp in the park by miles!

access to polentswa,l angklass, bendinkt, kwang waterholes in my view the best! mata mata twin rivers have more sightings but fives times the traffic no wonder

Saw Lion,leopard,cheetah and a cheeky african wild cat who came to our door every evening magic!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Gharagab Wilderness Camp

Gharagab Wilderness Camp

"Gharagab Wilderness Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2008
"Nice camp didnt get on with guide! (strange lad) and beware on exit route 4x4 only Its a bastard! toughest trail encountered unless you have a bit of 4x4 experiance gve this one a miss! if you have the lata you will definately enjoy!"
Average
Location
Good
Rooms
Good
Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

Bitterpan Wilderness Camp

"Bitterpan Wilderness Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"Nice place not a lot going on!"
Good
Location
Good
Rooms
Good
Kalahari Tented Camp

Kalahari Tented Camp

"Kalahari Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"as before"
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2008
"stayed at canyon lodge instead but called in for a beer enchanting"
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2008
"Quite one of the most amazing places i have ever had the pleasure! amazing"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2008
"wierd! soss lodge heaving this place empty and beautifu,l great!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team