This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom

Reviews of Elephant Bedroom

Wildlife sightings and reviews

32 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Elephant Bedroom and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Elephant Bedroom.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

79% success

Cheetah

69% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Gerenuk

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

31% success

Hippo

23% success

Striped Hyena

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 32
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Elephant Bedroom review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Jan 2023
"Excellent location.

Our guide was very good and was empathetic to our needs.

The camp staff were excellent and helped create a good ambience.

The food was very good and the accommodation excellent." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Gerenuk

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Hindhead

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"We arrived at the Samburu Kalama airstrip and were met by our guide Solomon (a native Samburu bought up close to the park) for our three night stay at Elephant Bedroom.

On the way to Elephant Bedroom we saw many animals and birds, and on arrival staff were there to welcome us with hot towels and drinks. We were given a briefing, where everything was and on safety about the camp and then shown to our tent. The monkeys which live around are so clever that just zipping up the tent is not sufficient to stop them getting in. We were supplied with a lock to put on the zips while we were both in and out of the tent!

We had a luxury tent which was vast. It had two double beds, a separate large seating and patio area (with plunge pool), all looking out onto the river. I’m sure the standard tent would have been more than adequate, but a deluxe tent was only one available when we booked. The tents are placed fairly close together strung out along the river's edge but there was extra screening put up between the tents either side of our tent. All the services to the tent whether wake up calls with hot drinks and cookies or cleaning were very good.

Our tent was the last but one from the main area but it was a short walk along a sandy path to get there. During the day you could move freely around but keeping an eye out for elephants which pass through the camp from time to time (which did happen while we were there) then at night, staff were always there to accompany you.

We went out on drives from about 6am to 9am each morning and then about 4pm to dusk each evening. The area we were in was very rich with wildlife. Our guide Solomon was fantastic. He spotted the smallest of animals and birds, recognised signs given by other animals and birds which indicated lion/leopard may be close by, and followed tracks left by animals. We had four leopard sighting and three lion sightings during our stay. Solomon spotted a leopard sitting on a rock at least 100ft above us. He heard another male leopard calling for females which he then spotted close by and which we followed for over 15 minutes before other vehicles arrived. We saw a pair of lions kill an Oryx and a pride of lions with two cubs. We saw wildlife special to Samburu such as Grevy’s Zebra, Somali Ostrich, Günther's dik-dik, Vulturine Guineafowl and Somali Bee-eater.

We had all our meals in the main area of Elephant Bedroom. Breakfast was a buffet style meal served immediately after our morning drive. The lunch was served on the beach area just in front of the river and dinner was up on the raised patio area. Lunch and dinners choices were offered and pre-selected before the mealtime. The food was of good quality and the waiting staff were excellent.

We attended a very enjoyable special sundowner with other guests where food, drinks and a singer with a guitar sang some Samburu songs.

We also made a visit to a local Samburu village to learn about how the Samburu people live which was very interesting.

In summary, we think Elephant Bedroom has the best location in Samburu, has one of the best density and range of wildlife we have come across in our seven safaris, the facilities of the camp are excellent, we were very fortunate to have Solomon as our guide, but Samburu is quite hot compared to the other places we stayed at during this trip." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

7 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Harrow

" An amazing location"

4 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2022
"Very attentive manager in Carmen and very friendly staff.

An amazing location and lovely to see animals in camp. It’s helpful to have 24 hour power and wifi in the rooms- unlike Elerai - the park itself whilst it’s stunning scenery the guides have to work hard to find wildlife, but good to see different species." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr + Ms D
Santa Cruz

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2022
"We were driven to Sambaru and the Elephant Bedroom from Laikipia. Saw a very diverse area = vast greenhouses then incredible dryness in villages near the Camp on the drive. Camp is on a river - not too much water, but enough to attract some animals.

Had a very good guide- Julius - but not a lot to see. Compared to the first two and then Mara North, this was the least attractive and had the lowest number of animal sightings.

Food and drink was good." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr R.
Oldham

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jun 2022
"Excellent riverside location, attracting wildlife between game drives, re bee-eaters, kingfishers" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Gerenuk

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Hinckley

"Very enjoyable but some negatives "

3 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2022
"The staff at the camp were very welcoming and the service was very good. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a nice outside sitting area overlooking the river, (which was actually a dry river bed). The only negative aspects of the room were the very weak shower and the safe which needed unlocking but which management failed to deal with. The, (rather poor), excuse was that they couldn't access the key from the main office because the office was shut at the weekend.

We enjoyed the breakfasts which had a good choice. Lunch and dinner were generally good. The menu was varied and interesting and portions were very generous. The mixed vegetables accompanying all the main dishes were usually the same and it would have been nice to have had some variety. Our table waiter was Josphant who did an excellent job of looking after us.

One highlight at camp was when the local tusker joined us for lunch ... we first had to move from our table and then enjoyed watching him go to sleep against a tree next to the dining veranda - he stayed about an hour.

Our driver/guide was James. We arrived on an earlier flight than expected and because the Kalama Airstrip was closed we had to land at Sasaab, which is much less convenient for accessing the camp. James was given very short notice of the change and did amazingly well to get to the airstrip to meet us off our flight. We enjoyed the time spent out with James. He had a lively personality and was interesting, knowledgeable and informative. Game viewing in Samburu is not easy at the moment because, due to the severe drought, there is a lot less wildlife about. However James worked hard and we had some very good sightings. This included 2 very good cheetah sightings when we witnessed a cheetah mum teaching her 3 cubs how to hunt. We did see quite a lot of elephants but only in small family groups, (around 6 max), rather than the large groups that we have seen on previous visits to Samburu.

Kalama Airstrip opened for our departure so we were all very pleased about that!" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms U.
Toronto

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2022
"Our first stop on our safari! The location, accommodation and food were first class. Loved every minute. The plunge pool was well used, especially since the generator was off during the heat of the day.

The game drives were fantastic. Our driver/guide was experienced, and determined to find animals. We had exceptional sightings of elephants, giraffes, and also cheetahs including two feasting on a recently killed gerenuk, and on another day - a mom and her cubs.

One small detail which would be an improvement. Since everyone is carrying phones and devices, it would be helpful to remind all patrons and staff to turn off their audible notification signals at all times. Nothing ruins nature more than a ping from a cell phone notification. Many high end restaurants and clubs have this policy, and I'd recommend the same at all the camps." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Oryx

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2022
"Looked after very well. Tents excellent, clean and comfortable.

Our guide Solomon, who we had not had before, was first class. He was very empathetic to our group's needs.

Location first class." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Elephant Bedroom review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2021
"Great game viewing including multiple leopards and tiny cheetah cubs. Guide James was wonderful as well. The only downside was during mid day the heat was unbearable particularly in the room, electricity was limited to certain hours so even the fan wasn't much help." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Very good."

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2020
"Our guide / driver, Anthony, was excellent. We have had him before and he is very knowledgeable and empathetic with clients.

The woman serving us throughout, in the restaurant, was Jennifer. We have had her before and she is quite excellent with clients. Efficient and personable.

We felt that the camp itself, under new management, was not quite up to previous visits. For example tents were not wholly cleaned (eg under beds). There wasn't a clear chain of command apparent to us and we had very little interaction with those in charge." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Showing 1-10 of 32
94%
32 reviews of Elephant Bedroom by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
22
10
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Samburu National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu is a top-quality boutique lodge, with one of the most breathtaking locations in Kenya overlooking its own private conservancy.


96% (23 reviews)
Sasaab

Sasaab

Stylish and luxurious Sasaab has nine rooms with stunning views across the Ewaso Nyiro River to the plains beyond.


100% (4 reviews)
Joy's Camp

Joys Camp

Joy's Camp is a remote, luxury bush camp located in Shaba National Reserve in northern Kenya.


100% (1 review)
Larsens Tented Camp

Larsens Tented Camp

Larsen’s Tented Camp is a relaxed and welcoming camp, with 20 sturdy tented rooms, a good pool and a very engaging team of staff.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa