This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom
Elephant Bedroom

Reviews of Elephant Bedroom

Wildlife sightings and reviews

26 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Elephant Bedroom and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 10 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Elephant Bedroom.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

67% success

Wild dog

0% success

Elephant

100% success

Gerenuk

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

44% success

Hippo

22% success

Striped Hyena

13% success

Aardvark

0% success

Buffalo

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 26
Duration
Arrival date
Ms U.
Toronto

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2022
"Our first stop on our safari! The location, accommodation and food were first class. Loved every minute. The plunge pool was well used, especially since the generator was off during the heat of the day.

The game drives were fantastic. Our driver/guide was experienced, and determined to find animals. We had exceptional sightings of elephants, giraffes, and also cheetahs including two feasting on a recently killed gerenuk, and on another day - a mom and her cubs.

One small detail which would be an improvement. Since everyone is carrying phones and devices, it would be helpful to remind all patrons and staff to turn off their audible notification signals at all times. Nothing ruins nature more than a ping from a cell phone notification. Many high end restaurants and clubs have this policy, and I'd recommend the same at all the camps." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Oryx

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2022
"Looked after very well. Tents excellent, clean and comfortable.

Our guide Solomon, who we had not had before, was first class. He was very empathetic to our group's needs.

Location first class." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Elephant Bedroom review"

4 nights Arrived 21 Nov 2021
"Great game viewing including multiple leopards and tiny cheetah cubs. Guide James was wonderful as well. The only downside was during mid day the heat was unbearable particularly in the room, electricity was limited to certain hours so even the fan wasn't much help." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs E
Northumber

"Very good."

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2020
"Our guide / driver, Anthony, was excellent. We have had him before and he is very knowledgeable and empathetic with clients.

The woman serving us throughout, in the restaurant, was Jennifer. We have had her before and she is quite excellent with clients. Efficient and personable.

We felt that the camp itself, under new management, was not quite up to previous visits. For example tents were not wholly cleaned (eg under beds). There wasn't a clear chain of command apparent to us and we had very little interaction with those in charge." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

The lechwes
Lowestoft

"Elephant Bedroom review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2020
"Great location and guide. I think that the rooms could kept cleaner. Lots of dirt and dust under the bed. Food and service by Jennifer were very good." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms M.
London

"Great location"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2020
"The camp is in a lovely spot - it was really nice to be by a river, a new experience for us. Our tent was good, the balcony with small plunge pool was a real asset, and it was amazing to have an elephant walking up and down in front of us!

The staff were in no way unpleasant but had relatively poor communication skills. Our allocated waiter, for example, said almost nothing other than introduce himself and our guide, whilst perfectly pleasant and polite, also said very little to us. He pointed out animals but only spoke otherwise in answer to direct questions, and then fairly briefly. He never asked us what we wanted to see, told us where he was heading nor asked us whether we were ready to move on from a particular site.

The food was plentiful, ridiculously, but mediocre. Surely no-one needs a three course lunch at 1pm having had breakfast at 9.30 and then a four course evening meal. We felt that quality was sacrificed to quantity. It may seem petty to comment on it but we found the way of serving the food childish and faintly ridiculous: any hot dish was brought under under a silver dome and the waiters made a big show of removing with a flourish making us count down from 3. It was just about ok the first time but after that became simply annoying!

The wildlife was disappointing, apart from the elephants which were great. There’s just didn’t seem to be that much there even and we really had to search for it, driving for long periods of time without seeing anything much..on our first afternoon, we began to wonder if there was any at all! Having not been to Samburu before, it’s difficult to judge whether this is typical of the area but it does seem that the unprecedented levels of rain had something to do with it. We were told that many animals had crossed the river to Buffalo Springs but, contrary to what usually happens, we were unable to follow because the bridge had been damaged in the flood. So, we saw only one Grevy stallion, the large female herd having decamped, the same couple of giraffe several times, some gerenuk, oryx, impala and gazelles, but no cheetah and two male lions only; we were, however, lucky enough on our last drive to see a leopard." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

9 sightings

Gerenuk

5 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Derbyshire

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2019
"The location of Elephant Bedroom camp by the river is lovely. The tent was very well-equipped and comfortable, and it was very nice to have the plunge pool.

But the food was a bit disappointing. Breakfast was fine, but the 3 course lunches and dinners were very similar and it would have been preferable to have had a much simpler meal in the middle of the day.

Julius, our driver/guide was good and very knowledgeable, and we had an interesting visit to the local Samburu village." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Gerenuk

2 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr N.
Dorking

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"A stunning place. We had fantastic sightings of leopard, cheetah and saw a successful lion kill thanks to the skills of Lekeda (James). We appreciated that the game drive vehicles were not filled to capacity.

The camp is rather more luxurious than we would normally choose, but was a welcome extravagance after a trip to Northern Kenya. The camp is run by Joseph and his team with seemingly effortless efficiency. The staff were conscientious and diligent and looked after us well.

The rooms are very spacious, clean, and beautifully presented and the plunge pool a welcome treat. Given the conditions of being in the bush, the food was generally excellent.

A point to note: The monkeys are experienced sneak thieves and not easily discouraged. Be on your guard and be VERY assertive." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr W
Altrincham

"Elephant Bedroom review"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2018
"One of the best camps we have ever stayed in.

Saw more then we expected - including a pride of lions killing warthogs." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

9 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mrs J
Milton Keynes

"Wow"

4 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2018
"Wow, what a place.

What a welcome we had with loads of elephants in the camp (apologies to the staff on our welcome as we were engrossed in watching them)

Can't fault anything here, safari excellent, staff excellent, food excellent.

Safari guide Julius was phenomenal." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Gerenuk

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

7 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 26
93%
26 reviews of Elephant Bedroom by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
9
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Samburu National Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu

Saruni Samburu is a top-quality boutique lodge, with one of the most breathtaking locations in Kenya overlooking its own private conservancy.


95% (20 reviews)
Sasaab

Sasaab

Stylish and luxurious Sasaab has nine rooms with stunning views across the Ewaso Nyiro River to the plains beyond.


100% (3 reviews)
Joy's Camp

Joys Camp

Joy's Camp is a remote, luxury bush camp located in Shaba National Reserve in northern Kenya.


100% (1 review)
Larsens Tented Camp

Larsens Tented Camp

Larsen’s Tented Camp is a relaxed and welcoming camp, with 20 sturdy tented rooms, a good pool and a very engaging team of staff.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa