This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms D from Ireland

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

6

Countries visited

6

Lodges stayed in

39

Excursions taken

1

Botswana & Zambia August/September 2019

Zambia and 2 other countries between 17 Aug 2019 and 7 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you Megan (Expert Africa) for arranging this fantastic trip, taking into accounts my preferences and for suggesting the right camps based on my previous reviews.

Everything was organised to perfection.

A great combination of places to stay for varied wildlife experiences."

Arranged By Megan Green


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"One night at City Lodge OR Tambo"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2019
"Convenient location within walking distance of Airport Terminal.

Friendly staff, Comfortable bed.

Food rather ordinary."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Dinaka

Dinaka

"Very enjoyable stay at Dinaka"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2019
"Dinaka is a beautiful camp, with very well appointed rooms and a spacious bathroom, as well as an outside shower. The staff is professional and enthusiastic.

Some of the night game drives were a bit "quiet" but I had some truly amazing sightings to make up for it. I was guided by Slim, a passionate, persistent and successful Tracker who really made the whole experience memorable (Off road driving is possible in this 200km2 private reserve).

The hide and the underground bunker located by permanent waterholes give excellent viewings and photographic opportunities."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Great Safari at Shinde Camp"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2019
"The camp is in a lovely setting by the lagoon. It has a lot of similarities with Dinaka (both are owned by Ker & Downey). The staff is very attentionate and always happy to share a dance and a song..

The game drives with my eternally smiley guide Simon were great - he was incredibly patient when we decided to "follow" a cheetah for a few hours... to witness a kill.

I also went fishing on 2 occasions and the chef kindly prepared the breams that night to share at dinner with the other guests. During the boat and mokoro excursions, I was very lucky to have 5 sightings of the elusive sitatungas! Overall, a lovely camp with varied activities and great sightings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Excellent wildlife at Lebala Camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2019
"Good camp, no "frills". Spacious rooms.

The sightings on the game drives were excellent, with a big pride of 19 lions (very close), cheetahs, wild dogs, roan and sable antelopes, great birdlife and much more. The spotter worked very well with the guide."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

Waterberry Zambezi Lodge

"Lovely stay at Waterberry Zambezi Lodge"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"A wonderful lodge, comfortable, peaceful and with lovely staff.

I was only there for one night but had very pleasant sunset and sunrise boat cruises. The food was excellent. And I was lucky to see 6 rhinos crossing the main road in front of the vehicle during the transfer to the airport."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Excellent Safari at Old Mondoro "

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2019
"It was my second time returning to this camp and thoroughly enjoyed my stay this time again.

The setting is delightful, right on the Lower Zambezi river and surrounded by beautiful trees. Even with the addition of a 5th tent, the camp remains "bijou", the team is wonderful. Wildlife is plentiful (in the camp and nearby). The leopard sightings were absolutely outstanding.

Already looking forward to returning next year."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Marvellous Chongwe River Camp"

4 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2019
"Still my favourite camp after 6 visits because of its superb location, the range of activities offered and the wonderful welcoming and friendly team.

The guides (Hugo and George) went out their way to be flexible and ensure I had another perfect stay at Chongwe. Once again, I really enjoyed fishing (Tiger Fish, Vundu and Bream).

I had great sightings of a half collared kingfisher while canoeing, and for the first time I saw Klipspringers and a Leopard Turtoise while on a game drive. Will be back next year!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Cassia suite at Chongwe River Camp"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"Sunrise at Cassia suite is spectacular and magical!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Namibia and Zambia August to September 18

Namibia and 1 other country between 18 Aug 2018 and 6 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thank you Megan - Expert Africa - for your great recommendations based on my preferences. As usual, Expert Africa provides a very professional service in preparing your trip and gives detailed information on all aspects. As a result, I had another amazing holiday, where all went smoothly, allowing me to make the most of it!

In Namibia, I found Sossusvlei and Damaraland stunningly beautiful and photogenic. Ongava/Etosha proved rich in wildlife and the highlight for me was definitely the tracking of Rhinos on foot.

I was delighted to finish my trip in Lower Zambezi, Zambia for the excellent wildlife sightings at Old Mondoro .. I returned to Chongwe River Camp for the 5th time and enjoyed every minute of my stay.. The location by the river is stunning, the team is incredibly welcoming and their attention to details made my last week perfect! I cant wait to return!"

Arranged By Megan Green


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2018
"Welcoming staff. Quiet, Clean and Confortable rooms. Nice food."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"2 nights at Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2018
"Excellent location. Busy lodge. Very photogenic area (Sossusvlei and Deadvlei). Pleasant guiding by Castro. For me the highlight was the ballooning!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Very enjoyable stay at Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"On arrival, I was greeted by a lovely welcoming team determined and genuine to make your stay enjoyable. The atmosphere around the camp is very good. The guide (Elias) was professional and with very pleasant manners. Even though my stay was short, I felt we did a lot with a desert breakfast, great sightings of the desert adapted elephants, a full day drive with a visit to Twyfelfontein, and a Boma dinner in a gorgeous setting to round up the day. On my last morning, I walked the Sheppard's trail. Some of the roads are bumpy, but the surrounding landscape is truly beautiful!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ballooning in the Namib Desert

Ballooning in the Namib Desert

"Ballooning: Highlight of Namib Desert "

22 Aug 2018 • Morning excursion

Wonderful experience! Stunning views and expert piloting by Denis!
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"Excellent guiding by Michael, he made every effort to ensure the game drives were most enjoyable and interesting.
I paticularly liked tracking the white Rhinos on foot. The sightings everyday were plentiful.

The waterhole in front of the camp is entertaining all day (and even at night with Rhinos coming to drink).

Ongava Reserve has a lot to offer but the camp itself in my opinion could improve on their level of attention to details. I would have much preferred a verbal "knock knock" than a phone call for wake up. I found the management service level and attitude rather impersonal."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Galton House

Galton House

"Back to Galton house for a short night"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"See above"
Good
Old Mondoro Bushcamp

Old Mondoro Bushcamp

"Excellent stay at Old Mondoro Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2018
"Absolutely loved this small camp (with 4 perfectly appointed tents ) and a fantastic welcoming team. Juliet, the guides and all the staff make you feel "at home" straight away. I was guided by James who never failed to be humorous.. The sightings were exceptional (on 2 game drives we saw 6 leopards and 2 aardvarks). Also had an informative bush walk in the morning, and on the next game drive, we saw lions chasing a leopard. I will definitely return and make sure to book early as I understand availability is already limited"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"5th time at Chongwe RC, and I will return!! "

5 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"Chongwe River camp... My 5th time and it never disappoints! Such an incredible professional and welcoming team in a perfect location! Lots of wildlife to admire in the camp itself, and just down the Chongwe river a big flock of carmine bee eaters nesting on the bank: stunning! This time, I spent most of my time fishing, and caught Tiger fish and Vundu (up to 46lbs!) on every outing - thanks to the expert guiding by George! I simply love this camp, the utter friendly atmosphere is contagious: Happy guests all around! Great food too. Cassia suite's views at sunrise can't be beaten.. Would also highly recommend the canoeing which is utterly relaxing. I will be back next year! Thank you Chris, Flossie and all the team"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tsika Island Camp

Tsika Island Camp

"Tsika Island Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"During my stay at Chongwe, I spent one night at Tsika Island - Just 40 minutes by boat from the camp. This intimate camp "forces" you to switch off from the rest of the world! It is a very special place.. The accommodation is slightly rustic but very comfortable and by the time you have tasted the excellent food prepared especially for you by the local chef and enjoyed conversations without interruptions with the only other guest (that was my case!), you can enjoy a privileged private island sleep! It is a wonderful place to disconnect."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Zimbabwe and Zambia, August / September 2017

Zimbabwe and 1 other country between 25 Aug 2017 and 9 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic trip organised by Freddie Sutton. I am delighted Freddie suggested Zimbabwe as it turned out to be an excellent destination. As always, Freddie listens to your preferences and carefully recommends the best places to suit your tastes. I had a fantastic time in Mana Pools, with privileged experiences as a solo traveller and the only guest at Little Vundu. The sightings in Hwange were plentiful with very good guiding. And keeping the best until the end of my trip, I truly enjoyed every minute of my stay in Chongwe River Camp, Lower Zambezi, Zambia. The level of knowledge and efficiency of Expert Africa's team makes every trip they organise a wonderful holiday."

Little Vundu

Little Vundu

"Great experience at Little Vundu"

5 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2017
"The location of the camp by the river is really good, with lots of elephants visiting day and night. It is comfortable with no "frills", expect a real bush experience. I truly enjoyed the guiding by Alex, who is full of energy, passionate, always happy to please and with a tremendous personality. For the day activities, there is no plan as such, which is a good plan. We walked a lot and had the best possible sightings of wild dogs on several occasions and much more."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

"Somalisa, simply superb! "

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2017
"Superb camp! There is nothing rustic about it in my view! Amazing attention to details, and the loveliest and most welcoming staff. My guide David was a brilliant spotter and very knowledgeable. We had excellent sightings on the game drives, including Cecil's pride, cheetahs, African wild cats, many types of antelopes and a multitude of birds (including a pelican seen for the first time around Ngweshla). I would have been very happy to stay longer!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Hide

The Hide

"The Hide: Excellent Camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"Very professionally run camp. The underground hide, at the end of a 25m tunnel from the breakfast table, gives a great perspective of the wildlife gathering around the waterhole. Excellent guiding by the owner Ian. We had great sightings of wild dogs, lions and much more. Fantastic place to see a very healthy population of elephants. Should have stayed longer to get the opportunity to stay at the tree house. An excuse to go back!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Pleasant stay at Illala Lodge"

1 night Arrived 3 Sep 2017
"It is a rather large hotel but the staff is welcoming, the rooms comfortable and the food very good. I truly enjoyed the relaxing birdwatching / breakfast cruise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Best stay ever at Chongwe River Camp "

5 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"This was my 4th time going back to Chongwe River Camp and had my best stay ever (even though I didn't think it was possible to improve on previous trips!). The entire team is still as welcoming and professional as ever. The vibe is palpable in this beautiful setting by the river, with great wildlife in and around the camp. I was extremely pleased to see the addition of a hide this year, from which I saw a porcupine & hyena "face off" at night! The range of activities is fabulous (game drives, walking, canoeing, boat cruise and fishing) and they are now also offering the option of a fly camp (I was the first guest to experience their new "suspended" tents, and absolutely loved the experience). Top class guiding by George who shares his passion of the bush, constantly making you aware of sightings, scents and sounds. The fishing (one of my favourite activities) was brilliant with a good few very decent size tiger fish and a 32lb vundu. Another memorable stay and certainly not the last one!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Wonderful trip to Tanzania and Zambia

Tanzania and 1 other country between 30 Jun 2016 and 16 Jul 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful trip! It was interesting to combine Tanzania and Zambia for the variety of wildlife sightings and changes in landscapes.

Many thanks to Claire Scott (EA) for organising it all, and especially for recommending Kigelia in Ruaha, it is an amazing place! Glad I visited Selous before Ruaha as it only got better! Chongwe River Camp in Lower Zambezi still remains my favourite camp. The team from Tours Africa in Lusaka airport also deserves a mention for being so helpful at arrivals and during transfers.

This trip was a fantastic experience from start to finish!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Not sure you could raise standards any higher!

Third time I have used EA and have never been disappointed. Already looking forward to booking my next trip with your team in the future."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

"Short night at Serena Hotel Dar"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"Comfortable rooms in this rather large hotel - spent too little time there to give a full review!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand River Camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2016
"A very nice camp in a good location overlooking the Rufji river. Spacious and comfortable suite, excellent food, attentive manager (Eric) & overall friendly staff. Activities are varied (but there are no night game drives).

Previous guests had great sightings of wild dogs, but the game drives turned out to be rather quiet while I was there. Sadly, the effects of poaching in the area can certainly be felt (rare sightings of skittish elephants..). You cannot fault the camp itself, but I found the proximity of a hunting lodge and the evidences of poaching in the area somehow upsetting."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camping

"Excellent experience: Sand rivers Fly-camping"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2016
"The highlight of my trip to Selous!

Excellent experience, extremely well organised."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2016
"As previous [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Kigelia Camp

Kigelia Camp

"Fantastic 4 nights at Kigelia"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2016
"Loved the authentic wilderness feel of the camp, very well organised, excellent service.

Remarkable guiding by Manager Joel: He has outstanding knowledge of fauna, flora, culture and history and a lovely way of delivering facts. He went out of his way to please and made my trip memorable.. The sightings were brilliant during day and night games drives, and while walking. The landscape is beautiful with plenty of Baobabs.

Really had a fantastic time & could have stayed longer!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Short night at Latitude 15"

1 night Arrived 10 Jul 2016
"Beautifully designed hotel, very comfortable.

I would use it again when returning to Lusaka"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Marvellous stay at Chongwe River Camp!"

5 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2016
"I was delighted to return to this very special camp: I had high expectations from previous stays and must say I really enjoyed it again - it never disappoints!
The location at the confluence of the Chongwe and Zambezi rivers is truly amazing with fantastic wildlife sightings even from the camp itself. The entire staff is the most welcoming, friendly & professional team you can meet.

During my stay, I went on day and night game drives, fishing, canoeing, boat cruising and walking. All activities are excellent and the general atmosphere is just tremendous: Chongwe River Camp simply achieve the perfect balance of a relaxed bush camp with high standards.

The wild dogs happened to be right behind the camp the morning I went fishing..... As I missed them, I will just have to return again!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Memorable trip to Zambia

Zambia between 16 Aug 2015 and 3 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was with great excitement that I was returning to Zambia (this time from the 17th of August to the 4th of September 2015) and the whole trip was once again a truly fantastic experience. Travelling solo is not a problem and you are made welcome everywhere.

A big Thank you to Freddie Sutton who arranged my itinerary: From our first contact, he was extremely pleasant, helpful & efficient and able to answer promptly (and in detail) any query I had.

On this trip, I visited Kafue for the first time and would recommend Busanga Bush camp as a starting point when travelling to Zambia. I was really looking forward to returning to South Luangwa and Lower Zambezi. By choice, I revisited Chongwe River Camp. The alternative camps suggested by Freddie were an excellent combination.

I was hoping to see Sables and Wild Dogs on this trip, which did not happen, but had plenty of other amazing sightings . The fishing in Lower Zambezi was fantastic, and once again I learnt some more fascinating wildlife facts from the knowledgeable Guides in various camps.

A special thank you also to "Tours Africa": Dave and his friendly team are punctual and efficient. They were also of great help liaising with other people to successfully retrieve and forward my lost luggage. Dave went out of his way to source an alternative camera for me why my own stopped working at the beginning of my trip... Fantastic service

Expert Africa's level of service is beyond expectations with excellent personal touch from start to finish.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I couldn't honestly think of anything Expert Africa could do better!"

Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

"Beautiful Busanga Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2015
"A wonderful place to start a holiday in Zambia & disconnect from everything: it is truly beautiful and peaceful.

The standards of the rooms are excellent with the extremely comfortable beds! Food is delicious. Immaculate attention to details & excellent coffee brought to your room every morning. The Staff is lovely: Ondyne was most helpful in liaising with other people to successfully retrieve my lost luggage from Lusaka. Pyben is ideal in his role.

The game drive routes may seem a bit repetitive but we had excellent lions sightings (including an adorable cub) and a picture perfect leopard "hanging" in a tree! The hot air balloon trip was amazing with Erik, a very skilled and entertaining pilot ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

"Kaingu Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2015
"The lodge is set in a charming location, overlooking a beautiful river, with comfortable tents.

Lynda, Gil and Julia were extremely helpful and did everything possible to assist when my camera stopped working :-(

Fishing with Major was fun (lots of silver bullets and different types of perch). Our guide "John D." was experienced and knowledgeable, but the game drives unfortunately were very quiet. We were possibly just unlucky during our 2 night stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Warmest welcome at Nsolo Bushcamp"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2015
"Warmest welcome ever from Colo and her team, constantly willing to surprise & please you. They all make you feel "at home".

Overall a very enjoyable, comfortable and relaxed bushcamp, It feels secluded, which I liked.

Interesting walks with very knowledgeable guides (Friday and Dr. Phil).

Would love to return and arrange a "sleep out" the next time!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Delightful stay at Mchenja Bushcamp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2015
"Gorgeous setting in an ebony forest overlooking the river. The rooms are particularly well designed & food is excellent.

The hostess Tasha was charming and guide "Uncle John" was especially entertaining.

The sightings were truly spectacular: 2 leopards came down from a tree and "posed" for us right beside the vehicle, we saw a big male lion with his baby hippo kill, elephants crossing the river right in front of the tent, excellent bird life etc etc... The morning I left, lions were sleeping IN the camp! I could have stayed longer!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"My favourite.. Chongwe River Camp!"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2015
"I could not wait to get back to Chongwe after staying there 2 years ago and once again was not disappointed. It remains my favourite camp with the perfect balance between gorgeous location, great comfort & service, extreme friendliness of the entire team, fantastic activities, and superb wildlife - even in the camp itself.

Fishing is brilliant (I was very pleased with a 19bs tiger fish, my best so far!). The river cruises are a lovely way to relax after some intense fishing! Canoeing is most enjoyable. On the morning game drives, I was hoping to see Wild Dogs as sightings are frequent beside the camp, but didn't this time. However, we spotted Samango monkeys, which was also exciting.

A very special thank you to CJ, Yvonne, Sam, George and the rest of the team for another memorable stay & brilliant time! I will definitely return again"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp

"Anabezi Luxury Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2015
"A luxurious camp with very large tents, your own decking & plunge pool. Personally, I am not too sure that the design with glass sliding doors in the rooms "fits" with the bush? The food is excellent with a choice of starters / mains / desserts for your evening meals. I got the opportunity to visit their sister camp Amanzi, which has very well appointed tents on decking, also overlooking the river.

Overall, Viewing wildlife around Anabezi from the decking was enjoyable. Fishing with Gift was really great (the last day of my stay, I caught a 18.5lbs tiger fish on my first cast!). The area is rich in wildlife and sightings plentiful (3 different leopards on the first game drive) and I was also very pleased to see an aardvark!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Fabulous experience!

Zambia between 14 Aug 2013 and 28 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"A marvellous trip with Priceless memories.."

Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali, Perfect start to my trip in Zambia"

2 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2013
"Beautiful spacious accommodation with extremely comfortable beds!

Great wildlife sightings from the 1st evening drive (including 1 leopard with his kill in a tree, Big male lion, elephants, giraffes, a Sharpe's Grysbok etc etc...!). Brilliant wildlife activity around the camp during siesta time.. right in front of the rooms along the river or around the waterhole close to the dining room.

Professional & knowledgeable staff. I also enjoyed the walks.

Loved the gentle drumming in the mornings.. great food and overall, excellent attention to details"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tena Tena

Tena Tena

"Tena Tena review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2013
"Very pleasant camp.

Considerate and professional staff.

Enjoyed both the walks and drives. Excellent wildlife sightings - including honey badgers!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu, my favourite RPS camp"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2013
"The location is superb - there is so much happening right at the camp in terms of wildlife! I loved the hide, which gives you brilliant photo opportunities. But was also happy just to sit there with binoculars!

All the guides are pro, respectful of the environment and good fun at the same time. The sightings were magical and exciting.. Wish I had extra time there!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Absolutely Brilliant Camp!"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2013
"Stunning location at the confluence of the Zambezi and Chongwe river, with amazing wildlife IN and around the camp.. Excellent accommodation, food and atmosphere.

The fact that I was travelling solo didn't seem to make any difference as regards the level of quality service, flexibility, professionalism showed by all the guides. I particularly enjoyed fishing with Sam and then with George. The canoeing and evening game drive were also delightful

I loved Chongwe River Camp the minute I set foot in the place! Flossie is most welcoming and top marks to all the staff for making it such a wonderful stay! I will Definitely return!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Islands of Siankaba

Islands of Siankaba

"Islands of Siankaba review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"Beautiful lodge, nice staff

As regards the spa, Bessie is Very good and gives excellent treatments and massages.

Would not call their food "Superb Cuisine", it's rather "hit an miss", with some good dishes and some not so good.

While staying there, you are quite far away from all the activities offered. Personally, it felt all too "quiet" after 10 days in the bush and it probably would have been better for me to visit the islands of Siankaba at the start of a trip rather than the end."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team