This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar

Reviews of Serena Hotel Dar

Wildlife sightings and reviews

77 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serena Hotel Dar and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 77
Duration
Arrival date
Jerry
Kerry

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 15 May 2024
"We were only there overnight, arriving at 7.30pm and leaving at 5.30am the next morning.

Staff were friendly on arrival and checkout, the room was big and nice and the food at dinner was very good." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Chris
Germany

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jan 2024
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
The VD family
London

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2023
"Very short stay as we arrived after midnight to depart the next day at 06am.

The drive from the airport is more than 30 mins away with plenty of road works and shame there isn't anything closer like in Nairobi.

Hotel lobby is beautiful, rooms are your typical international hotel rooms and the bathroom was a bit dated. Good wifi. Overall good as clean and quiet.

The check-in was a bit of a nightmare as so bureaucratic and slow with plenty of paper work to do before getting your room keys." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Dr & Mrs P
York

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2023
"Fine for a very short overnight stay after a late arrival at the airport, though the drive from the airport to the hotel weas a bit of a nightmare as there were extensive roadworks and the road was flooded!" See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
K and B
Oregon

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2023
"This was our second visit to Serena Dar. Once again it was a welcoming spot after two long flights.
The desk staff were friendly & professional, the room quiet & clean (nothing fancy) and the sweet housekeeper gave me 3 bottles of water when I asked for more water for our room. People always ready to help.
The amazing fresh fruit, tropical juices & tasty buffet items were wonderful.
We totally enjoyed an outdoor African Night buffet with live music which coincided with our visit. The patio was packed with local business groups and (later) couples. Very nice to be part of the Dar scene.
The chef delighted in filling our plates!
Airport pick-up and return were smooth." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R
Leicester

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2023
"I was only staying overnight at the Serena Hotel in Dar; my room was perfectly adequate and typically international in style.

Reception was helpful in getting me a taxi. Room service was promptly delivered." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr P & Ms W
Herts

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 19 Oct 2023
"Only stayed a couple of hours before early morning flight.

Rooms clean and comfortable." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs I
UK

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2023
"Final day visit. Hotel adequate for our overnight stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Service:
Good
Mr & Mrs I
UK

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2023
"Nice Hotel, bit dated but fine for our overnight stays." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs N
London

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2023
"Good choice for a 1 night stay at the beginning of the holiday.

Would stay again." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 77
81%
77 reviews of Serena Hotel Dar by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
19
43
13
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


82% (179 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (54 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


82% (30 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


80% (17 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Dar, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


80% (10 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton Dar es Salaam

Four Points by Sheraton Dar es Salaam

A typical Four Points by Sheraton hotel, this city hotel provides comfort and style in central Dar es Salaam, offering the perks and familiarity of the Marriott brand.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa