This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar
Serena Hotel Dar

Reviews of Serena Hotel Dar

Wildlife sightings and reviews

44 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Serena Hotel Dar and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 44
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"A night at Serena Hotel Dar"

1 night Arrived 2 Mar 2019
"Welcome at reception was good. The first room we were shown was unacceptable due to the smell of cigarettes. At our request we were shown a nicer clean smelling room and given free happy hour. Good result! We swam in the pool to cool down but the water was too warm to be refreshing!

We were unable to finish our breakfast as the driver arrived very early at 6.15, too early, to collect us for our 8.30 flight.The flight was delayed by an hour which was unfortunate." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr D
Devon

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 6 Jul 2018
"This is not applicable to the UK group so I cannot comment from first hand experience; only the member of the party travelling from New Zealand stayed there.

She reported that the hotel room was comfortable and there was a pleasant area outside to sit and relax in after a long journey." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr F
Cheltenham

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 15 Dec 2016
"This hotel was fine for its purpose.

Fairly near to the airport; OK room and food perfectly acceptable. One night is surely enough!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Ms D
Ireland

"Short night at Serena Hotel Dar"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2016
"Comfortable rooms in this rather large hotel - spent too little time there to give a full review!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Kilburn

"Comfortable night in Serena Hotel Dar"

1 night Arrived 29 Apr 2016
"Traffic is bad so took an hour to reach but a comfortable oasis on arrival.

Staff were very supportive about our lost ( fortunately only delayed ) baggage." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Serena Hotel Dar review"

1 night Arrived 31 Dec 2015
"Told us to put luggage for storage (whilst on safari) outside our room at 6.30 pm, it was still outside our room at 5.30 am next day.

We put out a card for breakfast in our room by 10.30 pm and at 5.20 am next day when we were getting up to have our breakfast the card was still hanging on the door." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs T
Staffs

"One night in Dar es Salaam"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"Comfortable room for a one-night stopover.

Staff very friendly with good service.

Only had about 12 hours at the hotel so difficult to comment on much more" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Miss P & Mr C
Weeton

"Good overnight stay at the Dar Serena"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"We stayed at the Dar Serena hotel not the Royal Palm.

We had a very large and comfortable room, more than adequate for an overnight stay.

We opted for breakfast in our room due to an early pick-up of 6.30am. Room service is not charged for breakfasts ordered before 6am." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"A very short stay"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2014
"We arrived late at night after long flights from the US via Amsterdam and were happy to have a lovely hotel room waiting for us.

The room certainly met our expectations, and after a quick shower we fell asleep without dining. We enjoyed the included breakfast buffet and left the hotel by 7:30 a.m. so had no time to utilize its facilities. We wished that there had been a comparable hotel nearer the airport, but apparently this is the best option even for a short stay." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Nikos
Greece

"Royal Palm Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 44
77%
44 reviews of Serena Hotel Dar by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
8
24
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


83% (181 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (52 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


79% (21 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


84% (11 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Das, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


78% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa