This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Southern Sun Dar
Southern Sun Dar
Southern Sun Dar

Reviews of Southern Sun

Wildlife sightings and reviews

179 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Southern Sun and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 179
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
California

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2020
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs P
Barcelona

"A good place for a quick stopover."

1 night Arrived 21 Feb 2020
"Clean and decent. A good place for a quick stopover" See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
M & C
London

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 19 Dec 2019
"Effective overnight hotel in Dar. Good food, pleasant bar and friendly staff." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs H
Bristol

"Good Choice For An Overnight Stop"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2019
"The hotel rooms were clean and well decorated and had everything we wanted for an overnight stay.

We ate dinner on the terrace overlooking the pool which was good. We had an early breakfast the following morning which had plenty of choice.

All in all a good choice for an overnight stay when coming or going to the airport." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
J&B
Wirral

"Ideal for a 1 night Stopover"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2019
"It took us about 45 minutes to travel to/from airport to the Southern Sun.

We arrived around 16.30 and left at 06.30 the following morning, during which time we enjoyed dinner in the restaurant, followed by a good nights sleep in the comfortable rooms. Breakfast - which is served buffet style starts from 04.00.

Highly recommend this hotel for a short stopover in Dar." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Scotland

"Good Overnight Stay"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"After a long and tiring journey this was a quiet and peaceful hotel to recharge our batteries.
The room was comfortable with everything you could need. There is a pleasant terrace in gardens with a swimming pool though we did not use it. We had an excellent evening meal and an early breakfast which was also excellent. All staff were pleasant and helpful.

We did attempt a stroll in the surrounding area in the early evening but there was not much to see. However there are botanical gardens next to the hotel which would be worth a visit if time allowed.

The taxi journey from and to the airport gives a glimpse of local life. A good hotel for an overnight stop but if there is a hotel nearer the airport I would be inclined to choose it." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr I
Abergavenny

"One night stay at Southern Sun"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"Suitable place for a stopover." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Ms R.
San Giuliano T.

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"We spent only a few hours and were very tired when we got there, but we can say that the room was comfortable and clean, the breakfast good and the people friendly." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
J and C
Clayton

"Nice Hotel Before Safari"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Hotel has character for a business type hotel.

Great for pre or post safari stay. Clean, quiet room. Helpful staff and nice breakfast." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs J
Taunton

"Southern Sun Dar review"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2019
"Had a local rather than corporate feel." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 179
82%
179 reviews of Southern Sun by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
54
95
28
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (52 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


78% (46 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


79% (21 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


84% (11 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Das, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


78% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa