This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel

Reviews of Sea Cliff Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

9 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sea Cliff Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-9 of 9
Duration
Arrival date
Dr C
Isle of Wight

"Sea Cliff hotel - an expat luxury hotel"

2 nights Arrived 14 Nov 2014
"A perfect stopover hotel, on the Peninsula & away from the hustle of Dar and conventiently located next to a western style shopping mall.
Very much the 'business' luxury hotel (as opposed to a boutique hotel), it has all the mod cons, high standards of service and ambiance expected of a hotel of this type. The service was friendly and there was an excellent breakfast area with a vast choice of foods & goodies to choose from.
There for 2 nights, we spent whole day chilling by the superb pool with views out to the blue Indian Ocean.
Ticked all the boxes for a short in transit stay." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Surrey

"Sea Cliff - good for one night"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2012
"This is a decent hotel in a great location to stay if you need to stay for one night. However, do not venture outside - all very much run down.
Eat on the terrace and/or try some of the excellent cakes, but do not eat in the Asian Restaurant which is a disaster. The food is terrible and the service is very very slow.
Apply mosquito repellent when inside your room as there are a lot (even if they spray) and risk of malaria is worst in DAR.
Note: the shops are closing early or are not open at all - a pity as they looked nice and sadly the shop owners loose business being too lazy to keep them open for longer." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms H
Maida Vale

"Sea Cliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"Didn't get to the hotel until quite late due to the infamous rush hour Dar es Salaam traffic (1 and a half hours in traffic jams) so barely saw it.

The room rate purchased included breakfast which was not served until 630 and I left the hotel at 545 - I'm not sure that this therefore makes much sense!

Would like to comment that Kearsley Safaris who took me to and from the airport were very good." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Mrs D
France

"Sea Cliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2011
"nice rooms, very helpfull staff." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr M & Dr S
Middlesex

"Sea Cliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2010
"We only stayed here one night, after our safari.

It was nice to have a big, clean room looking out over the sea while we got back to the outside world. It is a bit of a long drive to the airport but we thought it was worth it.

The area is popular with expats from embassies and NGO's and felt quite safe to wander around with several reasonable cafes and resturants next door to the hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms C & Mr S
London

"Sea Cliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2010
"We had one evening in Dar. We arrived at about 6ish in the evening. We had had this hotel recommended to us but spent nearly 2 hours in rush hour traffic to get there.

It was the wrong recommendation for an overnight stay in Dar.

We therefore did no more them eat, sleep and shower to leave at 6am the following morning. Therefore the review is inevitably slightly skewed.

The room was lovely, although the air con is loud. The shower, whem there was any water [which had failed when we got back from dinner] was brilliant.

Front of desk staff were a little stand-offish but the waiters were very nice
.
The location was great if you were staying in Dar for a couple of days but very bad for an overnight stop before the early flight home to the UK. The grading is therefore based on what we were looking for not on what was actually a very nice part of Dar." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Harlow

"Sea Cliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 26 Oct 2010
"We were only here for a brief overnight stop and did not eat there nor use any of their facilities. The hotel was evidently of a very high standard. If we had any criticism it would be that it was too far from the airport and a bit OTT after bush camping" See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Sea Cliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2010
"Room not available on arrival but otherwise excellent.

Despite catering for travellers to the airport, breakfast service only available from 6am which is too late for UK flights" See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Con
Spain

"Great setting"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2007
"We only stayed one night and so cannot really comment too much. The room was very nice and the staff in general very pleasant. However, the bell boy who carried up our cases insisted on more of a tip which obviously we didn't like.

The setting of the hotel is excellent, pool very good and we had a nice evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant overlooking the sea." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-9 of 9
78%
9 reviews of Sea Cliff Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
2
4
3
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


83% (181 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (52 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


78% (46 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


79% (22 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


84% (11 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa