This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms H from Maida Vale

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

5

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Another wonderful trip to Africa

Kenya between 25 Oct 2020 and 4 Nov 2020

Trip rating: Excellent
"Africa - and in this case - Kenya is open and in need of international tourists.

A bit more planning is necessary, and you will need to have a Covid test but the minute you land at JKIA your heart will soar.

Just go. You won’t regret it."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points by Sheraton

"Very convenient location"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2020
"In these new Covid times, hotel and staff very welcoming, clean.

Recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

"Simply wonderful "

8 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2020
"After over 40 trips to Africa this camp goes into my top 5 places to stay.

Travel in the time of Covid is possible - with a little more planning and paperwork but rich rewards are waiting.

If you are considering a trip to Kenya don’t miss this gem."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Nov 2015 trip

Kenya between 19 Nov 2015 and 23 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Great trip."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2015
"Aero Club was a great recommendation and although I arrived there very late (11ish) they didn’t fuss, showed me to my room and didn’t have me hanging around doing lots of paperwork to check in.

I didn’t have breakfast the next morning, just coffee, but they were helpful and had pre-organised a driver to take me to the Safarilink departure "terminal" and it was reassuring to know that I didn’t have to worry about Nairobi traffic to get to my internal flight (every other person, guest etc I spoke to over the 3 days and overheard at various airports mentioned how bad the traffic is, how people miss flights because of it)"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

"Encounter Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Nov 2015
"Encounter Mara was a great camp; some Asilia touches are starting to be developed but my sense is that they are not changing too much because they don’t need to

Staff, the tents, the f&b were all superb and the vehicles they use are proper landcruisers with open sides. My only gripe is that the landcruiser hadn’t had the windscreen removed or like a landrover was one that could fold down so you had to look out through glass at the front

The Naboisho conservancy is very different to the main reserve and although more bushy I had some great wildlife sightings – leopard, lion, cheetah and hyena cubs all featured together with lots of birds and other more “usual” mammals

We did a half day to the main reserve which was perfectly doable and even at this non-peak time of year (November) we saw a big zebra crossing at the main crossing point – without all the cars!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2014 trip

Tanzania between 19 Aug 2014 and 26 Aug 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another excellent trip to Kwihala and hopefully I will be able to return next year"

Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2014
"Just as good as ever - a fantastic camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2013 trip

Tanzania between 7 Aug 2013 and 15 Aug 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fantastic"

Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Southern Sun one night review"

1 night Arrived 8 Aug 2013
"All fine, and wasn't bumped from this hotel as I was last year which was a relief..."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2013
"My third trip here and even better than before.

Fabulous guiding resulting in wonderful sightings. This must be the best place to see lion in Africa."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

AMHarris trip to Tanzania

Tanzania between 3 Sep 2011 and 14 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Good
"Overall half was very satisfactory and I am grateful to Liz for recommending Kwihala, when I had originally been looking at Mwagusi. I have no hesitation in recommending this lovely camp and will be returning there myself next year! Sand Rivers was my choice because friends had stayed there previously but I would have liked a bit more of the "flavour" of the camp in my discussions with Liz as in hindsight I would have preferred to go elsewhere, plus 5 nights there was too long.

I would also have appreciated a very clear "you must get a visa" as opposed to a recommendation to get one - other African airports issue visas on arrival with no trouble and I had thought Dar es Salaam would be the same - how wrong I was. Suggest you beef up your guidance on this point even more!!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2011
"Little gem of a camp and a great recommendation. Fantastic guide Pietro - one of the best guides I have ever had in 30+ visits to Africa. In 3 full days had 3 cheetah sightings (including hunting), 3 leopard sightings, and too many lion sightings to remember including one day with 5 separate sightings and a 19 strong pride with 6 clubs. The guides treated the animals with respect and as a result the animals were very relaxed around vehicles.

The camp was beautiful and well set out with great staff. Mealtimes were relaxed and flexible to accommodate longer morning drives and evening meal taken under the stars. Only minor criticism was that food was less varied than at similar camps and could have benefited from more salads / fresh fruit etc.

Overall a lovely camp and one that I have no hesitation in recommending highly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"A high end luxury camp which for levels of service and accommodation (I stayed in a suite which was fabulous) can not be faulted. However I go to Africa for the wildlife and I'm afraid I found this disappointing. I don't know whether this was typical of this time of year (mid Sept) and where the camp was sited but I ended up agreeing with the guide that our drives should be centred on the lakes and we would birdwatch. (He supplied me with a bird book for my length of stay which was very welcome and I added about 10 new birds to my rather long list of birds I have already seen.)

However mammal sightings were relatively rare and the animals were considerably more skittish than at other places I have been (I am a seasoned safari goer).

The river trip to Stieglers Gorge was also eventful as the water level was dropping considerably and we hit a hippo - I decided to stay on dry land after that!

The camp managers Chloe and Mark were lovely and made me feel very welcome. However unlike other camps the guides do not sit for mealtimes and the bonhomie around the bar in the evening felt rather like "us and them". I stayed for 5 nights (1 night fly-camping) and overall this felt like 2 nights too many here."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Sand Rivers fly-camping

Sand Rivers fly-camping

"Sand Rivers fly-camping review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"A fabulous experience, and the poshest fly-camping I have done. Beautiful location on the edge of Lake Tagalala, fantastic facilities including separate loo and shower and a 3 course meal.

All visitors should do this!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"Sand Rivers Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2011
"See previously"
Good
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

"Sea Cliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2011
"Didn't get to the hotel until quite late due to the infamous rush hour Dar es Salaam traffic (1 and a half hours in traffic jams) so barely saw it.

The room rate purchased included breakfast which was not served until 630 and I left the hotel at 545 - I'm not sure that this therefore makes much sense!

Would like to comment that Kearsley Safaris who took me to and from the airport were very good."
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team