This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

60 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 32 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

94% success

Cheetah

84% success

Wild dog

4% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Hippo

97% success

Wildebeest

94% success

Eland

79% success

Striped Hyena

10% success

Pangolin

4% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 60
Duration
Arrival date
Mr. & Mrs. C
USA

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 8 Jan 2023
"We loved this camp. Loved the location and the rustic feel of it.

The food was amazing and the staff was incredible. We met one of the owners and his family and they were so sweet.

This is a camp that I would love to go back too." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms H.
London

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2022
"Bush camp was great lively setting and great staff" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms G.
Canada

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2022
"The accommodations and shower are gorgeous. The nicest of the trip" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms B.
Canada

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2022
"A wonderful introduction to the safari experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"I was surprised at how different the terrain was from Kicheche Mara, given that they are relatively close together. There was lots of predator activity and we could pretty much choose which type we wanted to see on any given drive (usually multiple types). There were fewer vehicles around sightings in this conservancy compared to that of Mara North and again, were well-behaved. The guides are acutely aware of positioning the vehicle in terms of photography. Virtually every game drive was epic. There was so much action, we had no time to look at our photos, or do anything else for that matter.

More firsts here - our first serval, lioness moving small cubs to a new den, cheetah kill, leopard jumping up a tree (multiple times) and a jackal cub.

The nicest tented camp that we have ever stayed in. As the camp only has 6 tents, it was a more intimate experience where communal dining works well. The camp was well organised, with the exception of the wake up calls one day, which seemed to have been mixed up for everyone, leaving us in a huge rush.

The only issue we had was with our pairing with two other guests into "their" vehicle. The atmosphere was odd and the camp managers seemed to know that it would be an issue, so after the morning drive the following day, the other couple were moved into a different vehicle. Our guide relaxed and became much more personable after this.

We will definitely return, like most of their guests." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr & Mrs BP
Surrey

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2022
"It's hard to know where to begin.
Kicheche Bush is indeed a lovely camp. It is no surprise it has such a high number of return visits.

We were very fortunate to find a cheetah family eating by the side of the road on our way from the airport - obviously a good omen!

We received a very warm welcome from managers Daniela and Dido, they were both visible throughout our stay ready to help and answer questions at any time.

Just 6 comfortable tents in a beautiful location equipped with everything we could need.
They are placed a good distance from each other and positioned to maximise privacy.

We had lunch out under the acacias and dinner in the covered dining room (after drinks by the fire of course) We were given the choice of eating communally or having a separate table.
We opted to eat with our fellow guests and enjoyed entertaining, convivial meal times.

The food was excellent. I'm always amazed how the chefs perform such miracles in a bush kitchen but this was exceptional. Fresh ingredients, tasty but light.
As a vegetarian I was catered for brilliantly with some of the tastiest vegetarian food I have ever had.

Our guide Joseph was excellent, very friendly and well informed. We had lovely game drives with my favourite treat - breakfast in the bush!
Around the camp (and sometimes in the camp) we saw a lot of game.
The conservancy has several cheetah groups, (which is reassuring), lion and leopard as well as elephant, buffalo and many herds of herbivores.

My husband told Joseph he was a keen bird watcher. He certainly knew his birds and helped Mike spot and identify several 'new' sightings.

Altogether a fantastic experience - great game viewing but also relaxing.
There is no pressure to 'do everything' if you would rather just enjoy being in a perfect African setting." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr R.
Oldham

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2022
"Excellent, although location not as good as others, and the layout of the tents promoted a sense of exclusivity, at the expense of intimacy.
However, the communal dining table was a good aspect." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs C.
Bromley

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2022
"We had a great time at the very comfortable Kicheche Bush Camp, with wonderful game drives, sightings, great hosts, and friendly guests. The camp is geared towards photographers, which was exactly what we wanted. The food was delicious, with large portions. I had delicious gluten free options. We were unfortunately unwell during our stay at the camp (only missed one drive), however, we felt that the staff did everything they could to look after us and we were soon back on our feet again." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2022
"This camp, like its sister camp, Mara, gets a large number of returning guests, which speaks volumes for the manner in which Kicheche run and manage their camps.. While we were there, many of the guests had been there previously, many on more than one occasion.

As with the Mara camp, the accommodation was excellent, very comfortable tents and now with solar powered showers. The bucket showers have gone!! The camp also now has wifi access in all the tents as well as the reception/dining area. Minor point but perhaps the tents could benefit from additional power points. There were only two and both of these were in use. There were USB sockets but no additional 3-pin sockets. Both Mara and Valley have 4 way adaptors provided, something Bush might want to consider.

Unfortunately the rather unseasonable weather which we experienced at Mara followed us to Bush and while the mornings were warm and dry, although cloudy, the afternoons were punctuated by thunder and some rather heavy rain. Sundowners in the jeep in the pouring rain were not what we expected!

This made for some interesting and challenging driving for our guide Nelson although we never got stuck despite the conditions. Nelson was a terrific guide, very knowledgeable and expert at positioning the jeep for the best way to view the animals.

Thorbun and Coco as camp hosts were very pleasant, approachable and happy to help in any way. The food as always was excellent and varied. Nice to see that the Pizza oven has been retained.

Game viewing was terrific, lots of cheetah complete with young, and some excellent sightings of lions and leopards, including the famous Fig who regrettably is no longer with us.

It's hard to find fault with any aspect of the camp, it has to rank as one of our favourite in the Mara." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
London

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2022
"Please see previous review. [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 60
100%
60 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
59
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


99% (56 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (42 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (38 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


98% (36 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (13 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (11 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (11 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


94% (7 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


97% (6 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


93% (6 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (6 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa