This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

75% success

Wild dog

11% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

83% success

Wildebeest

83% success

Striped Hyena

22% success

Pangolin

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Terrific camp, great game viewing."

4 nights Arrived 23 Feb 2020
"This camp, like its sister camp, Mara, gets a large number of returning guests, which speaks volumes for its managers, Darren and Emma and their staff. While we were there, all the guests had been there previously, many on more than one occasion.

As with the Mara camp, the accommodation was excellent, although due to the large insect population we were unable to open up the front of the tent as we had done in the past. That's not the camps fault, just the time of the year. The weather for our stay was lovely, quite hot most of the time, however we did experience a sudden and torrential downpour one evening which made getting from the tent to the dining area interesting. Apparently over 50mm fell in 1 hour according to Darren.

This made for some interesting and challenging driving for our guide Charles the following day, we never got stuck despite the conditions.

The food was excellent, always a number of options at lunch accompanied with different breads baked by Darren.. Dinner was also excellent and watched over with a careful eye by Kennedy.

Game viewing was terrific, with some excellent predator sightings including leopards, Tito and cub plus a pregnant Fig.

It's hard to find fault with any aspect of the camp, even the bucket showers!!.

Can't wait to go back!!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Muz
Colchester

"a Roll Royce experience"

3 nights Arrived 21 Feb 2020
"the best overall game viewing experience we have ever had by far.

great game, excellent guides - we had two different ones, a wonderful bush cam experience. The hosts were very attentive and professional. Excellent food.

We'd like to go again." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya; 9n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Bush Camp - excellent as ever"

3 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2020
"As always, the welcome from Darren and Emma was fantastic, and the wildlife viewing was phenomenal." See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

10 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr V
Texas

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2020
"This was our second visit to Kicheche Bush, and we enjoyed it every bit as much as our first time two years ago.

This is an intimate camp that emphasizes game thrives and time in the bush. The tents are airy and spacious, with en suite restrooms and bucket showers. Of all the Kicheche camps, this one seems to attract more hardcore safari enthusiasts, many of them repeat visitors staying 8 or more nights (which is fine with us). The guiding here is superlative.

At our request, we had Patrick again, and he did not disappoint. He is a master at positioning the vehicle for the best photographic opportunities. Olare-Motorogi Conservancy continues to be a hotbed of leopard activity. We saw 6 individual leopards in 4 days, some on multiple occasions. Other highlights included a cheetah kill and a large pride of lions with playful cubs." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

9 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M.
Montreal

"KIcheche Bush Camp"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2020
"My experience at Bush Camp was excellent! This was my second stay at this camp and both times I was very impressed. The facilities are excellent and the variety of the wildlife and scenery is second to none. All of the game drives were very good, including several Leopard sightings.

The roads and paths were muddy in some places due to earlier rains which made driving a bit difficult at times." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sandra
Ottawa

"Kicheche Bush Camp Review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The Hs
Edmonton

"Busy Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2019
"We had such a great time at Bush Camp!

The tents are fantastic and we all enjoy the rustic showers!

Our guides were Patrick and James and we had such fun with them both! They are very knowledgeable and personable -- and it was fun to be with James so soon after his return from London where he receive international accolades for his skills as a guide! All of the staff were wonderful!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

J
California

"Perfect location with delightful staff"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"This camp could hardly be any better. It is situated in prime animal viewing area and is very well laid out. The staff provides an amazing amount of comfort, delicious food and fantastic guiding.

This camp exceeded my expectations in every way. The animal viewing was beyond my imagination. Not only were there several early morning sightings of hyena's feeding , but also large lion prides feeding. and crossing the plains on their way back home.

Spent most of one day following the famous 5 cheetah boys. Just amazing! Lots of animals to see and not crowded, at all. Be sure to visit the Maa Trust which supports the local community with various projects including beautiful beadwork by local women." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms S.
Emeryville

"Wow"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2019
"Amazing wildlife experiences. Fun following the 5 cheetah boys several times throughout a day. Our guide had good knowledge of where the animals would be - enjoyed the little trip off the conservancy to the river - saw hippos and crocs -

Didn't love the trip to the Massai Village - I think learning about historical and present day Massai people is a good thing, but i didn't think this visit was a good way to do it. Maybe a talk by a Massai cultural professor at our camp might have been a way.

Really enjoyed our camp managers." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Tony
Bangkok

"Superb camp with uniquely genuine hosts"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"Kicheche Bush has a reputation in the industry for being the camp of choice for photographers and filmmakers, and attracts a large number of repeat visitors, some visiting up to three or four times a year - we can see why, and we are sure we will visit again. Wildlife viewing is superb - that goes without saying in the Olare Motorogi conservancy - and guiding is industry leading (with guides able to provided valuable photography tips to amateurs like ourselves, as well as being expert spotters and possessing encyclopaedic knowledge of the ecosystem) - but it was the hosts, Darren and Emma, that we really felt set this camp apart. Having managed the camp for nine years, they were much more than managers - they felt more like proprietors, uniquely invested in the success of the camp and utterly committed to ensuring each and every guest felt equally welcome, comfortable, and had the best possible experience. We've stayed at a number of top end safari camps over the years, but the hosting here was by far the most warm and genuine of all.

The guests come from a wide range of backgrounds - some seasoned safari goers, others first timers in Africa, some retirees, others honeymooners, some professional photographers, others armed with nothing more than a cellphone - but all are made to feel equally important and at home in camp. It takes real skill to welcome guests day after day with equal enthusiasm, and to facilitate the interaction of such a diverse group of guests so that strangers at camp feel like members of the same family - but Darren and Emma were masters of this art, and it created a wonderful atmosphere in the camp.

Tents were really spacious, comfortable and beautifully appointed, and the shower was, hands down, the best safari shower we've ever experienced. In fact, I would almost go as far as to say it was the best shower we have ever experienced, safari or not! Do not be put off by bucket showers - the only difference between these and normal showers is that you have to order them rather than water always being there, and the water lasts only six minutes at a time. But on the plus side you always have good water pressure and the water is always piping hot. The shower has to be believed to be seen - a sunken panelled wooden affair that feels more like a spa than a safari tent, and is about ten times the size of any of the other safari showers we have experienced.

Food was also exceptional, the highlight being the selection of cheeses, Kenyan made, but rivaling anything we've had from France.

And if in the oasis we ever needed reminding how close we were to the real bush we only needed to look in the tree outside the tent, where the remains of a gazelle's leg was still hanging, having been stashed there by a leopard resident in the area the previous week!

Vehicles are extremely well equipped, open top and sides, but still with some shade from the strong daytime sun, and complete with multiple power outlets and USB sockets - uniquely designed with the needs of the photographer in mind. Guiding was top notch, and management were briefed in advance of our previous safari experiences and interests and so were able to tailor our experience appropriately. We had reserved a private vehicle, but we noted that among those that did not, every effort was made to pair up groups with similar interests and experience levels, so that everyone was able to get the most out of their stay.

The only minor 'downside' was that the camp do not offer night drives, and we were always back in camp shortly after sunset. The reason given was wanting to limit disruption to wildlife and to their nocturnal hunting activities - this is admirable, but we noted that other camps in the conservancy do still offer limited night drives, and so one would question how much impact this restraint really has. We are not talking about full on night drives here, but wonder whether the camp might consider offering slightly extended evening game drives, perhaps staying out for an hour or so after sundown, enjoying a slow return to camp with a red-lamp to spot nocturnal species without disturbing predators. We were, however, able to take a night drive at their sister camp Kicheche Valley in Naboisho conservancy, and so this was no problem for us in the end." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 38
99%
38 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa