This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 26 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

88% success

Wild dog

6% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Eland

83% success

Striped Hyena

12% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs BP
Surrey

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2022
"It's hard to know where to begin.
Kicheche Bush is indeed a lovely camp. It is no surprise it has such a high number of return visits.

We were very fortunate to find a cheetah family eating by the side of the road on our way from the airport - obviously a good omen!

We received a very warm welcome from managers Daniela and Dido, they were both visible throughout our stay ready to help and answer questions at any time.

Just 6 comfortable tents in a beautiful location equipped with everything we could need.
They are placed a good distance from each other and positioned to maximise privacy.

We had lunch out under the acacias and dinner in the covered dining room (after drinks by the fire of course) We were given the choice of eating communally or having a separate table.
We opted to eat with our fellow guests and enjoyed entertaining, convivial meal times.

The food was excellent. I'm always amazed how the chefs perform such miracles in a bush kitchen but this was exceptional. Fresh ingredients, tasty but light.
As a vegetarian I was catered for brilliantly with some of the tastiest vegetarian food I have ever had.

Our guide Joseph was excellent, very friendly and well informed. We had lovely game drives with my favourite treat - breakfast in the bush!
Around the camp (and sometimes in the camp) we saw a lot of game.
The conservancy has several cheetah groups, (which is reassuring), lion and leopard as well as elephant, buffalo and many herds of herbivores.

My husband told Joseph he was a keen bird watcher. He certainly knew his birds and helped Mike spot and identify several 'new' sightings.

Altogether a fantastic experience - great game viewing but also relaxing.
There is no pressure to 'do everything' if you would rather just enjoy being in a perfect African setting." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr R.
Oldham

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2022
"Excellent, although location not as good as others, and the layout of the tents promoted a sense of exclusivity, at the expense of intimacy.
However, the communal dining table was a good aspect." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs C.
Bromley

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Mar 2022
"We had a great time at the very comfortable Kicheche Bush Camp, with wonderful game drives, sightings, great hosts, and friendly guests. The camp is geared towards photographers, which was exactly what we wanted. The food was delicious, with large portions. I had delicious gluten free options. We were unfortunately unwell during our stay at the camp (only missed one drive), however, we felt that the staff did everything they could to look after us and we were soon back on our feet again." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Belfast

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2022
"This camp, like its sister camp, Mara, gets a large number of returning guests, which speaks volumes for the manner in which Kicheche run and manage their camps.. While we were there, many of the guests had been there previously, many on more than one occasion.

As with the Mara camp, the accommodation was excellent, very comfortable tents and now with solar powered showers. The bucket showers have gone!! The camp also now has wifi access in all the tents as well as the reception/dining area. Minor point but perhaps the tents could benefit from additional power points. There were only two and both of these were in use. There were USB sockets but no additional 3-pin sockets. Both Mara and Valley have 4 way adaptors provided, something Bush might want to consider.

Unfortunately the rather unseasonable weather which we experienced at Mara followed us to Bush and while the mornings were warm and dry, although cloudy, the afternoons were punctuated by thunder and some rather heavy rain. Sundowners in the jeep in the pouring rain were not what we expected!

This made for some interesting and challenging driving for our guide Nelson although we never got stuck despite the conditions. Nelson was a terrific guide, very knowledgeable and expert at positioning the jeep for the best way to view the animals.

Thorbun and Coco as camp hosts were very pleasant, approachable and happy to help in any way. The food as always was excellent and varied. Nice to see that the Pizza oven has been retained.

Game viewing was terrific, lots of cheetah complete with young, and some excellent sightings of lions and leopards, including the famous Fig who regrettably is no longer with us.

It's hard to find fault with any aspect of the camp, it has to rank as one of our favourite in the Mara." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

4 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
London

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Feb 2022
"Please see previous review. [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
London

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2022
"We had been wanting to stay at Kicheche Bush Camp for a long time. The camp has been managed for many years by Darren and Emma and dog Frankie however they are moving on to a new venture and, at least for a few months, the camp is being managed by Thorban and his partner Coco and dog Inca. Thorban has previously worked as the relief manager so there is a high degree of continuity from the old management to new. We were there during the hand over week before Darren and Emma departed. Thorban and Coco were very friendly, professional, and had everything running very smoothly. I am sure that if they choose to stay for the long term they will make a great success of the camp.

It should also be noted that the camp now has wifi in all tents and running hot water to replace bucket showers has been installed. We weren't aware of this before staying. I suppose wifi is inevitable these days and perhaps a more disciplined traveller than us can turn their phones off. It's good to be able to contact family and friends but the ability to really switch off and enjoy being on safari is harder and harder to achieve.

The camp consists of the mess tent with comfortable sofas and chairs, pictures, tables and a desk for photographers to edit their photos at. The rooms are very large tents. There is a porch area with comfy chairs and guide books for reference. In the main area of the tent is a huge bed. During the day the walls of the tent are opened to just mesh so the tent is very well lit and airy with good views of the surrounding bush. There is a plumbed shower with hot water 24/7 and plenty of storage space for clothing. The rooms are cleaned every day while guests are out and also turned down in the evenings when insect spray is also used. During the hours of darkness guests must be accompanied by an askari who we found to be very friendly and helpful. The 6 tents are positioned 3 on each side of the mess tent with an askari for each 3. From the path between our tent and the main area we spotted a hyena one evening in the askari's torch light and a bushbaby. One evening, shortly after returning from our afternoon game drive during darkness, a spider moved suddenly in a corner of the tent causing Liz to exclaim a startled 'ooh' at only moderate volume. Within a few seconds the askari was outside our tent calling through to us asking if everything was ok. His hearing and quick response was impressive and reassuring. We found all the staff to be very friendly and very professional.

Thorban and our guide Charles went above and beyond to secure us a PCR test when heavy rains meant we were struggling to get to the nurse who would test us. We eventually found a crossable bridge but we were aware that Charles was driving long distances to try every route for us and back at camp Thorban was calling other camps to try and find a back up option for us if we couldn't get across the river.

Food at the camp was excellent. Tea/coffee and cookies was brought to the tent at 5.15 each morning before we went on our morning drive at 6am. Breakfast was a cold picnic by the side of the vehicle at around 9am every day with cereal, scotch eggs, pancakes, fruit etc. Lunch was buffet style outside back at camp. Dinner was 3 courses served in the mess tent around a large table so all guests could chat to each other. All accompanied by good wine.

We were guided by Charles who has been a guide at the camp for over a decade. He was excellent at spotting the tiniest movement or shape under a distant bush which turned out to be a fantastic sighting. He was very knowledgable and relaxed. Over 5 nights we saw the following on multiple occasions (some almost daily): lion, cheetah with cubs, leopard, elephant, buffalo, plains game, hyena etc.

My only issue, which I raised with Thorban, is a complicated one and not a simple issue for a camp manager to rectify. Kicheche Bush Camp, as well as attracting regular tourists such as ourselves (including guests that return many times), also attracts professional photographers or at the very least 'hardcore' photographers who spend a considerable amount of time each year in the bush. This results in different expectations and attitudes to game sightings. As a result a leopard, laying in plain view in a shady spot, is a magical sighting to the likes of us but simply down time to the professional who is waiting for 'action' to happen. There may be several vehicles in close proximity at the sighting from different camps. I was disappointed and frustrated to find that at these sighting the 'professionals' would hold conversations between themselves, across the vehicles, at a volume that meant everyone present had to listen to them. These were the bored conversations of professionals waiting for what they were really there for to take place e.g. the leopard going hunting, while us tourists were trying to enjoy the magical sight of a leopard laying in plain view. These conversations would be as mundane as what camera kit they were carrying/thinking of getting. It was the clash between tourists and professionals who had different expectations/experiences of the sighting and the professionals who had seen this a thousand times before, in my opinion, lacked respect for the tourist who was perhaps experiencing this for the first time. Every safari goer should know a game sighting should be enjoyed in silence. Communication, where it has to take place, should be in a lowered voice. There is no excuse for bored conversations at a raised volume between vehicles and the 'hard-core' of all people should know this. The safari guides clearly felt unable to intervene and I sympathise with them. These photographers are staying at the camps for weeks every year and are no doubt the major source of income for the camps. These people have built up long-standing relationships with the camps/guides and so at this stage can not be 'instructed' in safari etiquette in the way a first time tourist can be which is disappointing and not a simple issue to resolve. Thorban listened to my concern very attentively and agreed that it was an issue. It is however an industry wide issue and not something Kicheche will be able to resolve on their own and would have to handled very sensitively.

We had rain most evenings in the conservancy which only had a minimal impact on us. Wellington boots and umbrellas are available in the tents to be used and were very welcome.

I would thoroughly recommend Kicheche Bush Camp. The camp is well run with every amenity you could want. The staff are excellent. The guides are fantastic and the game is plentiful and diverse. We loved it." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Feb 2022
"Kicheche Bush Camp is a photographer’s paradise because of the landscape and the abundance of wild animals - cheetahs and leopards in particular. Lions were abundant and we spent time at a hyena den watching several generations of a family play with each other. The other draw for photographers are the Maasai guides who know the animals’ behavior so well and are skilled at positioning their safari vehicle for the best photographs. We had the good fortune to have Nelson as our guide and he is the best. This was our first visit to Kicheche Bush Camp, though the camp gets many repeat guests.

Bush Camp is surrounded by an acacia forest, so don’t be surprised to see one or more giraffes nibbling on the trees outside your tent. And we regularly heard lions and hyena calling throughout the night. The central dining area, and what amounts to a large living room with comfy chairs and sofas, is located in a large central tent built on an elevated foundation. Several low tables and chairs are set on the covered front porch. A small curio shop is located in an adjacent part of the tent and has additional seating. The camp has only six tents, which are located in a line with the dining area in the middle of them.

Our tent was situated on the ground, not a platform, and was very spacious with a large sitting area and large bedroom area. The double vanity, flush toilet and shower were spacious. Large tent flaps let the breeze blow through during the day and were rolled down at night. The beauty of these tents is that we were perfectly comfortable and cozy but we were still able to hear the sounds of the night. Because the camp is not fenced, one of the Maasai askari accompanied us to/from your tent in the evening and early morning.

Our days began with the delivery of coffee and biscuits to our tent. We left camp by 6 am to see the sunrise from our safari vehicle. By 9:30 Nelson had found a picturesque spot for our picnic breakfast. By mid-day we were back in camp and ready for a delicious lunch under an acacia tree. We especially enjoyed our unhurried lunchtime meals and the chance to visit with Abraham, one of the the Maasai staff. By 4 pm we were ready for the evening game drive and sundowner before returning to camp to a delicious three-course dinner.

Several evenings we enjoyed time around the camp fire with a glass of wine before dinner. Other evenings we experienced torrential rains that precluded all but a mad dash for the dining room. Heavy rains caused the cancellation of our plans for a hike to the fly camp with an overnight stay. Our stay in the middle of February (the short dry season) was preceded by very unpredictable and wetter than normal weather. A silver lining of the very heavy rains one night was watching a large herd of zebra crossing a swollen river the next morning. The river was raging and the crossing was very dramatic. As usual, Nelson had us in the right place at the right time. We can’t thank him enough for the high-quality game viewing experiences. In addition to the big game mentioned above, we saw countless small game including birds and even a dung beetle in action." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 10n in Rwanda; 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

7 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Steve H
Leeds

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Feb 2022
"Another great stay at Kicheche Bush Camp, meeting many old friends from previous stays.

My final stay with long term camp hosts Darren and Emma before their departure on a new venture and I wish them all the best for the future. Charles is a great driver/guide who found fantastic wildlife and photographic opportunities.

Catering and camp staff generally superb as always." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Annabel
Somerset

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jan 2022
"This is a really good camp with top class management, house staff and guides. It's not in the prettiest area but it is right out on its own in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, so its six guest tents and two mess tents really make you feel you're in the middle of nowhere although in very safe hands. Animals regularly wander into camp, especially at night, (lion, hippo and elephant whilst I was there), and there are almost always giraffe and zebra browsing the surrounding woodland.

The food was good, homely fare with some choice at lunch and more of a set (and posher) menu at dinner. Meals were usually eaten at one big table - outside at lunch, inside at dinner although you can opt to eat separately if you prefer.

The room was very comfortable with great wi-fi and lots of sockets to charge camera batteries, iPads etc. There are also newly installed 'proper' showers, rather than the bucket shower I was expecting (and secretly looking forward to).

I saw amazing wildlife - including cheetah, lion and leopard - far more often and in greater quantities than I'd imagined possible.

My only criticism would be that things sometimes felt a bit too organised. Safaris are tiring and a bombardment on the senses. I had one day when four things happened all at once - a drive to the other side of the conservancy for my PCR test, a sighting of two adolescent cheetah cubs being taught how to hunt, i.e: teasing a week-old impala fawn that was bleating for its mother, elephants outside my tent so I couldn't go to bed and then very heavy overnight rain. All good safari experiences. No complaints there, but when my tea arrived at 5 am next day, I decided I wouldn't go on that morning's drive but would try to catch up on sleep. At 7 I felt much better. It was light by then but still raining, so I used the thoughtful wellies and umbrella from my tent, ignored the distant lion roars and squelched my way to the mess tent to find some tea.

I didn't know there was never anyone there until 8 am. The place was deserted and I felt a bit abandoned and frankly, scared. I returned to my tent and blew the 'emergency' whistle. Nothing. I waited fifteen minutes and squelched back to the mess tent, then wandered down the path that I thought led to the staff tents. Blew the whistle again and the manager screeched to a halt beside me in his Jeep, clearly concerned that something dreadful had happened.

I did get breakfast but was told 'no one has ever missed a drive' (which I now know to be untrue), then left to my own devices until lunch at 1 pm. No suggestion that I might like to go for a walk with one of the staff (although I did do exactly that when a buffalo and her calf shot across the main pathway and William, who was serving breakfast, said it was being chased by a lion and he'd seen the start of the chase whilst having his tea. Lions won't come into camp in daylight, even for a buffalo calf, so William then took me fifty meters and still well within the camp boundary to point out where the lion had been).

I've written about this incident with the encouragement of Richard Trillo and because I hope Kicheche will put a contingency in place for any future guests who might decide to catch up on sleep. All that was needed was for someone to acknowledge me, stick a note through the door of my tent to say they hoped I was feeling better, and mention that the mess tent wouldn't be open until 8, after which I'd be welcomed for tea/breakfast.

Other than that one small incident, I loved my time at Kicheche Bush Camp and would definitely return were I not so intent on first visiting their Laikipia and Mara camps." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr V
Texas

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2022
"As with Kicheche Mara, this was our third stay at Kicheche Bush. Although it’s the least picturesque of all the Kicheche camps, the Olare-Motorogi Conservancy in which it is situated typically produces memorable sightings.

In our experience, this camp has drawn a high percentage of experienced safari enthusiasts, due, in no small part, to the efforts of its well-regarded longtime managers, Darren and Emma, who, sadly, are leaving to pursue another opportunity. We were grateful to see them once more before they embark on their new adventure. The fact that we ran into other repeat visitors (now friends) that we knew from our previous stays here should illustrate the loyal following that this camp has engendered over the years.

The guides here have all been with this property for multiple years, as well, and they are experts in their field. Our guide, Nelson, was very dedicated and extremely personable." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 54
100%
54 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
53
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (53 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (37 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


97% (30 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (12 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (10 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (6 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (6 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


90% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


95% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa