This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara

Reviews of Offbeat Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

37 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Offbeat Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Dec-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Offbeat Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

77% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

25% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

92% success

Striped Hyena

27% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 37
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S
London

"Offbeat Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2022
"Offbeat was lovely. Amazing food and community feel, a lot of folks ate dinner together alongside camp management (Jennifer and Carol, who were amazing), and the Mara North reserve itself was great. The tents were very comfortable, although missing a few luxuries (no outlets for phone charging or running hot water) but nothing that wasn't fine for a few days. The staff and other guests were definitely the highlight though, it was wonderful getting to know everyone!" See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs P
Banbury

"Offbeat Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2022
"Everything at Offbeat Mara was amazing, Jennifer runs a very happy ship and all the staff are very friendly and attentive.

The quality of the tent was above expectation, very roomy and clean and well serviced each day in our absence. The mess tent was a great communal area.

Food was excellent ( I especially liked Jennifer's Vegetable Lasagne but forgot to get the recipe from her!) and drinks service was great too. We totally loved our last night supper around a camp fire and under the stars.

The game drives were simply amazing and our guide, Mooli, was so friendly and knowledgeable. The conservancy was brilliant, as well as all the wild life being in a relatively small area, it was a real advantage to be able to go off the beaten track for special sitings." See all these reviews: 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Dr A.B
Rotherwick

"Offbeat Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2021
"Offbeat Mara is in an excellent location within Mara North Conservancy. With its own pride of lions on the doorstep (the "Offbeat Pride") plus a resident leopard mother and her two cubs, we saw fabulous game within minutes of every drive.

The team were welcoming, helpful and smiley, and the food delicious. The camp has a relaxed rustic atmosphere, it is unpretentious, small and informal, but also provided fabulous Masai entertainment on New Year's day and an exceptional private candlelit dinner in the bush for my birthday.

Best of all was our Masai guide David who was extremely experienced and knowledgeable. Within 10 minutes of collecting us from the air strip he had found a cheetah and her cub, who we then watched stalk and hunt an impala. He was incredible with the children - making them Masai spears and bows and arrows - and also found the best spots for bush breakfasts and sundowners, always surrounded by wonderful game and spectacular views.

We didn't undertake the trip to the Mara National Park as there was so much to see within Mara North - we weren't missing anything!" See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Offbeat Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2021
"Very welcoming and friendly team, especially Bob, Nicolas and Eliz. Everything works smoothly, The bucket showers are ready in minutes!

The variety of wildlife in North Mara is really good: Plenty of lions sightings with the Offbeat pride on the camp doorstep.

I witnessed my first kill (on my 17th safari!), a cheetah taking a male Thomson gazelle to feed her 3 young cubs. It was spectacular!

We were also very lucky to see a pair of wild dogs and followed them for quite a while until darkness." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The Lins
California

"Offbeat Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Dec 2021
"Incredible game drives that kept getting better with every drive! Our guides Simon and Kush were phenomenal and got us closer to spectacular animals than other drivers could. We had the most up close and incredible viewings of lions, cheetahs, leopards, hyenas and all the animals we wanted to see. The entire staff was friendly. Tent accommodations and food were excellent! Hearing lions and hyenas while sleeping in our tent was a once in a lifetime thrill!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Striped Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Offbeat Mara review"

7 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2021
"Pauline the Masai camp manager was away for Christmas however Bob was excellent as her stand in.

The staff and the camp were excellent I would recommend this camp to anyone.

Very helpful and friendly staff" See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

5 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Jayce
NJ, USA

"Offbeat Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2021
"It was my first time staying at rustic bush camp and I was initially worried that we would not have running water and wifi in the tents. Turns out, I don't really need them. The tent was spacious and comfy and this was one vacation that I really had more than enough comfortable sleep. The bucket shower was quite interesting and by the second day, ive been an expert already with its use.

The friendly, courteous, professional and thoughtful staff members are the stars of this property. They call their guests by name. And with them being so accomodating, i think I've memorized all their names as well. Did i mention the food? It was like dining in a Michelin restaurant every time.

The wake up call (with coffee and cookies) really added a warm personal touch to their service and accomodation.

Kudos to Bob, Carol, Elizabeth, Nicholas, Kevin anfd Wilson. Shout out to the chef who really was very talented.

I would love to stay at this property again." See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

8 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Striped Hyena

4 sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms E.
New York

"Spectacular"

4 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2020
"Offbeat Mara was the highlight of the trip.

I was blown away by the game viewing, 4 kills, lions every day, lion cubs and a cheetah baby, a hippo fight, everything you could possibly want to see. Lots of drama and excitement.

My wonderful Maasai guide was by far the best-dressed of anyone all trip, and I even did yoga with the (only again!) other guest and a staffer. The other guest had an app we used.

I found out the results of the U.S. election while there and Jen, the camp manager was a joy to share that with and celebrate with. She was nearly as invested in the results as I was." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M
Cambridge

"Offbeat Mara totally on the ball"

4 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2020
"We stayed 4 nights at Offbeat and had a thoroughly wonderful experience.

The staff are all enormously welcoming and helpful, relaxed but excellent service. Jennifer the manager is a force of nature and personality: a brilliant hostess and organiser.
Geoffrey kept glasses topped up and plates brimming. The food was simple but varied in style, and excellent in taste and quantity.

Offbeat is a place for safari enthusiasts - everything is laid on for game drives, walks and even Mara-thon jogging. Nothing was too much trouble for our excellent Maasai guide and spotter, Muli and Simo, who were outstanding as both hosts and companions.

Make sure to spend some time at the Mara river - not for migration but just for the magic of the location and to see what appears." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

4 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Offbeat Mara Review Feb '20"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2020
"As a tented and ecologically friendly camp, Offbeat Mara has some interesting quirks, like the bucket showers, pitchers of warm water provided for washing and solar powered lighting. However, we found the overall level of comfort to still be excellent – glamping in grand style! The food was also of exceptional quality, accommodating our dietary requirements. On our first night we were taken out to enjoy a bush dinner, complete with camp fire.

We did not have any breakfasts in the camp as the opportunity was offered to take a picnic as part of the morning activity. This meant that we were out from 6:30am until lunch time, with no pressure to rush back. On one morning we broke our drive to meet a ranger and then continue on foot to the breakfast stop; on two other mornings we drove further afield and were thus able to have sightings of a leopard, and some lions which had killed a warthog. Not being constrained to a strict schedule was a definite bonus.

This included extending the evening game drive beyond sunset, which gave us the opportunity to observe the nocturnal behaviour of some of the more familiar daytime species and also to see a spring hare, nightjars and white tailed mongooses.

Our Masai guide, Joseph, was experienced and knowledgable, not only about the wildlife and birds but also about the workings of the Mara North Conservancy. As community-owned land, cattle are allowed to graze but under a managed system of zones, and this seems to be working well. There was an abundance of herbivores enjoying the shorter fresh grass, courtesy of the cows, and we had good sightings of carnivores, too.

My wife celebrated a birthday during our safari holiday and we very much appreciated the surprise that Jennifer arranged – thank you!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

9 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 37
98%
37 reviews of Offbeat Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
34
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (54 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (53 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


97% (30 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (12 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (10 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (6 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (6 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


90% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


95% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (2 reviews)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa