This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara

Reviews of Offbeat Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

28 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Offbeat Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Dec-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Offbeat Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

80% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

20% success

Striped Hyena

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 28
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Offbeat Mara Review Feb '20"

4 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2020
"As a tented and ecologically friendly camp, Offbeat Mara has some interesting quirks, like the bucket showers, pitchers of warm water provided for washing and solar powered lighting. However, we found the overall level of comfort to still be excellent – glamping in grand style! The food was also of exceptional quality, accommodating our dietary requirements. On our first night we were taken out to enjoy a bush dinner, complete with camp fire.

We did not have any breakfasts in the camp as the opportunity was offered to take a picnic as part of the morning activity. This meant that we were out from 6:30am until lunch time, with no pressure to rush back. On one morning we broke our drive to meet a ranger and then continue on foot to the breakfast stop; on two other mornings we drove further afield and were thus able to have sightings of a leopard, and some lions which had killed a warthog. Not being constrained to a strict schedule was a definite bonus.

This included extending the evening game drive beyond sunset, which gave us the opportunity to observe the nocturnal behaviour of some of the more familiar daytime species and also to see a spring hare, nightjars and white tailed mongooses.

Our Masai guide, Joseph, was experienced and knowledgable, not only about the wildlife and birds but also about the workings of the Mara North Conservancy. As community-owned land, cattle are allowed to graze but under a managed system of zones, and this seems to be working well. There was an abundance of herbivores enjoying the shorter fresh grass, courtesy of the cows, and we had good sightings of carnivores, too.

My wife celebrated a birthday during our safari holiday and we very much appreciated the surprise that Jennifer arranged – thank you!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

9 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

7 sightings

Spotted Hyena

9 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Two Travellers
UK

"Offbeat Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Feb 2020
"We had a great stay at Offbeat, and really enjoyed the rustic yet comfortable and relaxed, friendly style of the camp.

Much of this was down to the wonderful manager Jennifer, who was always cheerful and unflustered, notwithstanding what must have been some tricky behind the scenes juggling caused by the difficulty for jeeps and supply vehicles getting about in the extremely wet and muddy conditions. The food was delicious and hot and cold water for showering and washing was always on hand (although the shower itself was perhaps slightly on the feeble side, even allowing for the idiosyncrasies of bucket showers).

Most importantly, we managed good cat and other sightings (including birds) with our excellent guide Stanley, and very much enjoyed seeing large numbers of topi and other grazers tucking in to the lush grass in the open landscape of Mara North - which we found quite a contrast to the other, more densely thicketed, conservancies we have visited. It was also very nice to have a vehicle to ourselves during the course of our stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr &Mrs W
Bamford

"Offbeat Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Dec 2019
"Jennifer the wonderfully friendly camp manager created a Christmas feast with transitional Masai singing and dancing, gifts and crackers. Incredible staff food and organisation." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Striped Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Hampton

"A truly wonderful safari"

4 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2019
"We had a wonderful stay at Offbeat.

The in house staff were so friendly and helpful and the guides knowledgeable. We saw much more wildlife than we expected including cheetah, lions and leopard!

We had delicious food and ended our stay with sundowners out under a tree watching the sun go down and then dinner under the stars and a Masai celebratory dance.

A huge thank you to everyone there." See all these reviews: 5n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Pandc
Evesham

"Wonderful welcome!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2019
"Landing at Mara north was a bit disconcerting as there were a lot of vehicles picking up guests. We were relieved when 2 Maasai stepped forward for us- Joseph ,our guide and Kimani, our spotter. We had our own Safari vehicle for our stay, which was great. The Mara didn’t disappoint and almost immediately we were away from any other vehicles looking at all the amazing game including 2 sleeping cheetahs.

We were met at the camp by Jennifer the camp manager and a group of staff. The tent was very comfortable and the bush shower was great. The loo was a bit smelly and difficult to flush.

The comfort and design of the communal areas was lovely and the atmosphere on the camp was very friendly. The food at dinner was disappointing, although lunchtime salads were good and bush breakfasts were fine.

Great game watching, although the design of the vehicles meant it was a little difficult to communicate with the guide. Joseph was very interesting and knowledgable regarding the problems with the local community and farming/game viewing." See all these reviews: 7n in Mozambique; 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Offbeat Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jan 2019
"Great camp with good service, guiding, food, and excellent game viewing!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr T.
Bangkok

"Fabulous Mara"

3 nights Arrived 21 Dec 2018
"We had a great stay at Offbeat Mara. We were lucky to see a lion kill - a baby giraffe - just outside the camp. Lots of game and amazing guides. A lovely camp with great food!" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr D
Cobham

"Offbeat Mara review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2016
"Really enjoyed the stay. Lots of game, great staff and an excellent guide. Good to do the two nights under canvas." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Berkshire

"Fantastic stay at Offbeat Mara"

4 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2016
"We had a wonderful time at Offbeat - staying in this tented camp was a great contrast to the lodge accommodation we'd enjoyed at Borana. It's a fabulous little camp and very well run by Jesse (who, for 19-years-old, has a ridiculously old head on his shoulders and obviously commands the respect of the staff). We thought it was very cool to have two Maasai for guides - Josphat and Komani - and liked it that they sported Maasai dress rather than 'corporate'/lodge-branded attire. Josphat was a mine of information (going for his gold soon, I think) and we had a thoroughly brilliant time with the pair of them.

Activity-wise it was all about the drives (although we loved our visit to a local Maasai village one afternoon/evening) - I believe Jesse is waiting on his rifle licence, which will mean he can offer walking safaris which I think would be a good addition. But the drives were amazing and we loved it that one day we got back to camp after a whole day out - and Jesse said 'jump in the jeep, a leopard's been spotted close to camp'. And we found her! So lucky and so glorious to have a local resident leopard - we saw her a couple of times after that, including one incident when she dispatched an infant warthog (cue lots of noise!). We really appreciated that genuine want on the part of the management to ensure we had the best possible experience.

Seeing a crossing was epic (our all-day excursion into the National Reserve was just brilliant) and the guides seemed to know place after wonderful place for breakfast stops. Having bacon and eggs - and a coffee - by a watering hole for zebra in the sunshine and by a hippo and croc-infested river was really special.

We also did an AMAZING night drive with our fellow seriously good fun guests... tearing around the plains on the roof of a Landcruiser with a couple of bottles of wine in tow was absolutely brilliant (though I don't want to get anyone into trouble!).

I feel a bit unfair marking the food and activities 'good' rather than 'excellent' - but that's just because I'm comparing them with Borana (which had a full-service kitchen whereas of course Offbeat doesn't!)... I thought it was all seriously good.

Overall - the Mara is in a league of its own in terms of the sheer abundance of game. Offbeat Mara was a fabulous base and we'd love to go back some day. Special mention to Jesse, Sam, Josphat and Komani for the laughs, attention to detail and general marvellousness!" See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Hants

"Offbeat Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2016
"Like its sister camp, Offbeat Meru, this is again a small rustic safari camp, slightly better appointed than the Meru (is that because there are so many other camps in the Masai to choose from), but without loosing that rustic individual charm.

The contrast in the landscape with Meru could not be greater, open plains compared to deeper bush, which is why the 2 camps makes an excellent combination. Lucky enough to see 2 separate prides of lions eating their kill, large herds of Zebra and Gazelles as well as Topi, water buck and different birds to that seen at Meru. Both camps offer morning game drives taking picnic breakfast with you, which makes game drives longer then normal, but does give you the opportunity to stay out and see more wildlife.

An opportunity that I took up on every occasion, and very worthwhile." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 28
97%
28 reviews of Offbeat Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


99% (38 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa