This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr A.B from Rotherwick

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

1

My Dec 2021 trip

Kenya between 27 Dec 2021 and 7 Jan 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"A truly magical family trip providing memories that will last a lifetime.

It was such a privilege to enjoy an up close experience with the animals of the Mara. Thank you to Richard at Expert Africa whose excellent knowledge and guidance helped create a dream holiday.

Thank you to our wonderful Masai guide David who made every game drive unforgettable, fascinating and so much fun for us all. And thank you Kenya for your warm welcome!"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

"Four Points by Sheraton review"

1 night Arrived 27 Dec 2021
"A perfect place to stay after a late night arrival.

Good suggestion to stay close to the airport. It took a while to check in, but the interconnecting rooms were ideal for a family."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2021
"We absolutely loved the Emakoko. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Anton, and were delighted with our upgrade to the private house with pool!

The children loved the remote controlled funicular to go up and down the hill to the house, and the pool was a big success despite being on the refreshing side. Food and drinks were absolutely excellent, we particularly liked the house special "Dawa" cocktail. The occasional monkey stealing bread off the breakfast table provided much amusement, as did the snake that Anton had captured and kept to show the children.

Our guide Peter was knowledgeable and the game drives in the National Park provided a perfect introduction to safari. We saw lionesses, rhino, giraffe, ostriches, a leopard tortoise, monkeys, mating hippos - and that was just on the drive to get to the lodge!

Highly recommend, a great first stop."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

28 Dec 2021 • All-day excursion

A great outing especially with the children.
Excellent
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

"Offbeat Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2021
"Offbeat Mara is in an excellent location within Mara North Conservancy. With its own pride of lions on the doorstep (the "Offbeat Pride") plus a resident leopard mother and her two cubs, we saw fabulous game within minutes of every drive.

The team were welcoming, helpful and smiley, and the food delicious. The camp has a relaxed rustic atmosphere, it is unpretentious, small and informal, but also provided fabulous Masai entertainment on New Year's day and an exceptional private candlelit dinner in the bush for my birthday.

Best of all was our Masai guide David who was extremely experienced and knowledgeable. Within 10 minutes of collecting us from the air strip he had found a cheetah and her cub, who we then watched stalk and hunt an impala. He was incredible with the children - making them Masai spears and bows and arrows - and also found the best spots for bush breakfasts and sundowners, always surrounded by wonderful game and spectacular views.

We didn't undertake the trip to the Mara National Park as there was so much to see within Mara North - we weren't missing anything!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

"The Sands At Nomad review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2022
"Lovely hotel with great rooms and a good beach bar/restaurant.

The pool was perfect for the kids with the extra deep end, plus being partially shaded. We went for the B&B option in order to enjoy dinner in some different locations, but unfortunately everywhere else we wanted to go was fully booked every night of our stay - so I advise booking additional restaurants in advance of your trip.

The service was slow at times and information about boat trips and tide times not always accurate, but staff were helpful with organising on-site covid testing prior to our journey home."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team