This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Reviews: Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Below are independent comments from 10 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 10
Date
Mrs K & 5
Maryland

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

12 Aug 2019
"We were so happy to be there for the 5:00 pm visit. Watching the elephants run back for their dinner and then spending time with our adopted orphans was the best way to start our trip. Highly recommend reading Love, Life and Elephants before you go. You will appreciated the facility and hard work even more. We had more than enough time to interact and ask questions and it wasn't as crowded as we heard the 11 am visit time was.

(We also happened to meet a man waiting for our Safarilink flight from Lewa who has a mentee of Daphne Sheldricks and knew her daughter. He was an anthropologist and now works for one of the conservation trusts. It was so interesting to talk to him and have him confirm how special she was.)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Matt
Warrington

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Nairobi Tented Camp on 17 Feb 2019
"Great place to see the work that DSWT are doing with elephants and how they work with the young elephants and care for them, very informative.

Great facility and a worthwhile excursion.

Gets very busy if you go at weekends so be prepared for a lot of pushing by both adults and children to get closer to the tiny elephants." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms M.
London

"Great visit to the elephant orphanage"

10 Feb 2019
"We went twice, once in the morning with the general public at the beginning of our holiday and once in the afternoon for a foster parent visit on our last day, and we’re glad we did so as it gave us a more rounded picture of the elephants. In some ways, the morning visit was more entertaining, despite being very much more crowded.

We loved seeing all the elephants, including the one we have fostered, and the tiny rhino, and the afternoon visit gave us the opportunity to talk to some of the keepers." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
E & D
New Mexico

"Maarifa"

Based at Macushla House on 18 Jan 2019
"Go at five o'clock and adopt a baby for as little as $50 and then you can watch the babies return from the forest to their stables for the night" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"sheldrake elephant orphanage"

Based at Macushla House on 31 Dec 2018
"Excellent, well worth a visit" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr P.
Tavira

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport on 29 Sep 2018
"Lovely to be able to meet our adopted Elephant" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J
Milton Keynes

"First visit: Inspiring"

Based at Giraffe Manor on 30 Aug 2018
"[Ed: This traveller visited the orphanage three times in the space of two days.
This was their first visit, a private experience in the afternoon.]

This orphanage does wonderful work with the babies and they are so well looked after.

Admiration to all staff who do a fantastic job getting these orphans back to the wild." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J
Milton Keynes

"Second visit: Nairobi Elephant Orphanage"

Based at Giraffe Manor on 31 Aug 2018
"[Ed: This traveller visited the orphanage three times in the space of two days.
This was their second visit - the morning after their first.]

Very interesting going to the public opening and getting to know all about the orphans and why they were there." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J
Milton Keynes

"Third visit: Private visit to the Orphanage"

Based at Giraffe Manor on 31 Aug 2018
"[Ed: This traveller visited the orphanage three times in the space of two days.
This was their third visit - another private visit in the afternoon.]

I was so in awe of going to the private viewing to see our two foster orphans, didn't want to leave them and I would love to work there with these wonderful people." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs M
Carluke

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 27 Aug 2018
"Really enjoyed visit. Well run and we fostered an orphaned elephant. Great to be interacting so closely with elephants." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
100%
10 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
10
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team