This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Reviews: Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Below are independent comments from 48 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 48
Date
JM & MHF
Lymington

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Ololo Safari Lodge on 31 Mar 2024
"Another wonderful visit to the orphanage to see our foster elephant in the flesh!

Wonderful charity we are very happy to support." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Dr C & Mr P
BC

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Karen Gables on 18 Mar 2024
"i loved the interaction with the elephants. I have to say I preferred the giraffe sanctuary to the sheldrake. There is something quite monetary about the elephant sanctuary--I am sure their expenses are high, but there was a constant push for more donations, more gift purchases etc that was a bit off putting." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms D.
Canada

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 8 Feb 2024
"Informative visit with good speaker.

The number of visitors was well managed leaving plenty of opportunity to have an unobstructed view of the elephants and baby rhino." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
HLG
Manitoba

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 27 Jan 2024
"Love the private tour and interaction with the animals" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms M.
USA

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 27 Jan 2024
"This was a great visit.

Tremendous work is being accomplished for these majestic animals. It was fantastic to be in a private audience and move among the babies. It was a highlight of the day.

Fascinating to learn how the elephants are returned to the wild." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms M.
London

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Karen Gables on 24 Jan 2024
"This was a repeat visit for us; we went twice in 2019, on our first visit to Nairobi, once in the morning for the general public and once the following afternoon for those who have adopted elephants and/ rhinos. This time, only the morning visit was offered and it was quite crowded but we had expected that and it didn’t spoil the experience.

We were first introduced to little Raha, the orphan rhino whom we sponsor, and she was delightful, very happy to parade around the area for us and not at all worried by us. Then came the elephants, in two groups, rushing for their milk and for a roll in the dust and a splash in the pond. Again, they were delightful and, as before, it’s amazing to be able to get that close to an animal.

We think the centre does a remarkable job in raising these elephants and then in reintegrating them into the wild." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Tom & Lisa
Plymouth

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport on 16 Jan 2024
"I was not a fan of the Elephant center. The whole atmosphere was more like a circus than anything else. I'm glad to know that the orphans were saved and I guess one way they pay for maintaining the operation is to encourage visitors. But it was crowded, unruly and the presentation was labored.

More broadly, we think both the Giraffe center and the Elephant visit would have been better arranged as part of our arrival day, ideally visiting them first and then driving through the national park later in the afternoon, after a late lunch near one of the centers." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Poor
Ms Susan
USA

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport on 16 Jan 2024
"Again, I'm not a fan of more touristed animal experiences like this though I very much admire the work being done and the baby elephants are adorable.

I just didn't like having to leave the park and Emakoko at this point in the trip." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Gar
USA

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Tamarind Tree Hotel on 23 Oct 2023
"I HIGHLY recommend this visit as a private group. it was well worth the money.
(Disclaimer - I haven't done it otherwise, but can imagine that the interactions may be less with a larger, open group.)

I follow Sheldrick's on social media so I had an idea of what to expect. There is something magical about seeing a line of elephants, of all sizes, coming running in for milk time, at your feet! The keepers are so kind, loving and knowledgeable of each one of them. They encourage interaction with the elephants and are more than willing to take pictures of you doing so. Just be prepared for the heart strings to be pulled a little bit - it is truly a magical and majestic experience.

You'll meet Maxwell the blind rhino. He can have a little bit of an attitude, but is majestic in his own right.

THEN - there is Raja! The baby rhino that was rescued after the hyenas injured her so badly as a newborn. Another magical experience I highly recommend. Don't hesitate to get down on the ground and interact with her - you will be forever changed." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms D.
Canada

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Tamarind Tree Hotel on 23 Oct 2023
"Without hesitation, this was my #1 place to visit while in Kenya.

I follow Sheldrick on social media and I had adopted the baby Rhino, Raha, before my trip to Kenya.

I was so very lucky and fortunate to meet the little girl." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 48
95%
48 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
39
6
2
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team