This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Reviews: Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Below are independent comments from 18 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 18
Date
Mr & Mrs BP
Surrey

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 16 Aug 2022
"As I have fostered several elephants, 2 of which are still in the nursery, I was keen to visit.
There were a lot of visitors but the whole event was managed very well.
The elephants were brought out in groups with the youngest first. They are naturally curious so came close and we were able to touch them.

One of the keepers pointed out each elephant giving us name, age and a bit about his/her story.
He then explained the whole process of rescue, care and eventual rehabilitation.
It was clearly presented and extremely informative.

The elephants themselves are mischievous, entertaining the visitors with their antics.

I am in awe of what the Sheldrick Trust achieves with these beautiful, intelligent creatures and so pleased to have been able to visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Charlotte

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Eka Hotel on 14 Aug 2022
"We enjoyed the experience." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J
North Vancouve

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Ole-Sereni on 22 Jun 2022
"It was so much fun watching Elephants run to get there bottles of milk.

The staff at the centre were informative and welcoming." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms U.
Toronto

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Macushla House on 5 Mar 2022
"A fantastic facility, and it was amazing to see the elephants and keepers. Highly recommend." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"Baby elephants - what more is there to say?"

Based at The Emakoko on 12 Feb 2022
"There's very little bad you can say about watching baby elephants interact with each other.

The elephants come out to be fed in two groups, and one of the managers tells you a little about each elephant and how they came to be there. There's also an opportunity to ask questions.

There's a reasonably large number of visitors, but it is controlled so everyone gets a good view & a chance to interact with the elephants." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Annabel
Somerset

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage"

Based at The Emakoko on 27 Jan 2022
"The work the Sheldrick Trust does is phenomenal and I appreciate their need for funds but I would rather have given the donation and stayed away. I got the feeling they felt the same.

It took an hour and a half to drive there and back from The Emakoko, and I spent half an hour there (I left early) with a hundred other people listening to a very pat speech about the rescued orphan elephants in the enclosure in front of us. Some of the stories were fascinating and I would have liked to know more, e.g. several of the calves had been rescued 'because of drought' but no further explanation was given.

I found the staff unfriendly, mechanical and slightly resentful. Not for me, but don't let that put you off, especially if you're with children and, if it does put you off, please donate." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Dr A.B
Rotherwick

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 28 Dec 2021
"A great outing especially with the children." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Jayce
NJ, USA

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Giraffe Manor on 4 Oct 2021
"Very educational." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs K & 5
Maryland

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

12 Aug 2019
"We were so happy to be there for the 5:00 pm visit. Watching the elephants run back for their dinner and then spending time with our adopted orphans was the best way to start our trip. Highly recommend reading Love, Life and Elephants before you go. You will appreciated the facility and hard work even more. We had more than enough time to interact and ask questions and it wasn't as crowded as we heard the 11 am visit time was.

(We also happened to meet a man waiting for our Safarilink flight from Lewa who has a mentee of Daphne Sheldricks and knew her daughter. He was an anthropologist and now works for one of the conservation trusts. It was so interesting to talk to him and have him confirm how special she was.)" Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Matt
Warrington

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Nairobi Tented Camp on 17 Feb 2019
"Great place to see the work that DSWT are doing with elephants and how they work with the young elephants and care for them, very informative.

Great facility and a worthwhile excursion.

Gets very busy if you go at weekends so be prepared for a lot of pushing by both adults and children to get closer to the tiny elephants." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 18
97%
18 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
16
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team