This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Reviews: Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Below are independent comments from 44 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 21-30 of 44
Date
Mr & Mrs B.
Canada

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Tamarind Tree Hotel on 31 Oct 2022
"Sheldrick Wildlife Trust is a wonderful organization and a visit to the elephant orphanage is an experience that everyone will enjoy. The only complaint here is that the one-hour public viewing at noon is packed with visitors, which does tarnish the experience..

In comparison, we were fortunate enough to have a private tour of the orphanage a couple of years ago, and understandably the more intimate setting and opportunity for interaction is well worth the extra cost. As such, we would not return to Sheldrick for another public viewing...

In summary, if you have the opportunity to choose between Public and Private, I would encourage Private... If you have never been and are unable to do Private, then certainly the Public is worth a visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Ms B.
Canada

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 31 Oct 2022
Overall
Excellent
Ms G.
Canada

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 31 Oct 2022
"Really enjoyed watching the elephants being fed and hearing their stories. Such an important organization." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr and Mrs H
Hereford

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Karen Gables on 25 Oct 2022
"Interesting, glad we went but definitely a tourist trap and some very rude and pushy people." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms R.
Mons

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 29 Oct 2022
"Wonderful introduction to maintaining a balance between the human and other animal species.

And how important it is for elephants to survive in that world." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs R
Bath

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Macushla House on 17 Aug 2022
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs BP
Surrey

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at The Emakoko on 16 Aug 2022
"As I have fostered several elephants, 2 of which are still in the nursery, I was keen to visit.
There were a lot of visitors but the whole event was managed very well.
The elephants were brought out in groups with the youngest first. They are naturally curious so came close and we were able to touch them.

One of the keepers pointed out each elephant giving us name, age and a bit about his/her story.
He then explained the whole process of rescue, care and eventual rehabilitation.
It was clearly presented and extremely informative.

The elephants themselves are mischievous, entertaining the visitors with their antics.

I am in awe of what the Sheldrick Trust achieves with these beautiful, intelligent creatures and so pleased to have been able to visit." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Charlotte

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Eka Hotel on 14 Aug 2022
"We enjoyed the experience." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs J
North Vancouve

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Ole-Sereni on 22 Jun 2022
"It was so much fun watching Elephants run to get there bottles of milk.

The staff at the centre were informative and welcoming." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms U.
Toronto

"Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit review"

Based at Macushla House on 5 Mar 2022
"A fantastic facility, and it was amazing to see the elephants and keepers. Highly recommend." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 44
95%
44 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
36
5
2
1
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team