This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr C & Mr P from BC

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Magical Zambia and Zimbabwe

Zambia and 1 other country between 4 May 2018 and 22 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa does it again! Claire is fantastic about listening to what you want and delivering. Our trip went smoothly.

The only complaint is that I never feel it is long enough--I could happily spent a month in the bush. I loved 4 nights at each camp. Shorter stays means that you are constantly packing and moving. The next trip I will look at hiring private air charters rather than using commercial flights between safari camps -- for the extra cost, I think it would be worthwhile.

Freddie Sutton took over during Claire's absence and did a fine job getting all the information to us.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

keep doing what you are doing!"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"Latitude 15 review"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2018
"Lovely property only stayed one night.

A bit of a mixup at checkin as they only had reserved one room for the two couples, but it was handled well and the other couple were given a beautiful apartment at the rear of the property for the night ."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Good game viewing"

4 nights Arrived 5 May 2018
"great game viewing.

Our guide Brantson used a jeep without a cover -- we got drenched one night when caught out on the evening game drive. I felt ponchos should have been in the jeep and offered to us to use if we wished.

Game viewing was good lots of leopard sightings. Brantson was very knowledgable.

The camp manager , Kiki, was excellent--very informative and made everyone feel very welcome."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kapamba Bushcamp

Kapamba Bushcamp

"fabulous magical camp "

4 nights Arrived 9 May 2018
"I was astonished at how lovely this Bushcamp is--magical at night with the solar lighting. Loved the rooms.

Loved how meals were eaten at different locations and the quality of the food. My favourite was having sundowners IN the river complete with a brazier which produced delicious kabobs to go with our sundowners. (And, the piece de resistance, a herd of elephants who walked across the river in the distance appearing as black silhouettes against the orange and purple and red sunset.)

Our guide, Steve , was excellent--we did lots of walking each day. Had several good leopard sightings and saw my first porcupine!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Safe and clean"

1 night Arrived 13 May 2018
"large property located on the falls. Sadly, we arrived after 6pm when the gate to the falls was closed and had to leave at 0700 am the next morning.

The gate to the Falls was supposed to open at 6am but we waited until 630am with no-one in sight to unlock the gate. We had previously been to Victoria Falls in the dry season so we weren't devastated but we were disappointed.

Room was clean but nothing special. We ate at the restaurant where the service was spotty at best."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Tented camp"

4 nights Arrived 14 May 2018
"tented rooms were clean and had a nice outlook onto a water hole. Main lodge had a campfire around which we gathered each evening prior to dinner and which was lit in the morning if you wished to warm up. The mornings were quite chilly so definitely needed my down vest for game drives. Loved the hot water bottles which were put in our beds each night.

Try to go when the French investors are not in camp--they tend to take over while there and it flavours the whole experience. Two of them smoked while we were there and I saw one of them simply drop his cigarette and grind it out in the sand in front of the lodge.

We had a very bad experience with a trainee guide which Julian dealt with and which I won't go into details here. Julian is a superb Zimbabwean trained guide with a wealth of knowledge. His story telling is magical as he talks about the lions Lots of good walking here, but is always preceded by a drive to get to a walking location."
Average
Location
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Bush camp on the Zambezi river"

4 nights Arrived 18 May 2018
"Nice location on the banks of the Zambezi river. Camp is a bit worn, bed linen was very worn. My bed sheets were badly stained and I had to ask for it to be replaced (which it was ).

Breakfast was minimal. No protein just carbohydrates. Toast and granola etc. There seemed to be a shortage of guides while we were in camp. Steve was hired by one camper as his private guide leaving Henry to deal with six of us. Two of these people did not want to walk due to health issues so we were quite limited for the first day despite our wish for lots of bush walks.

The next day, the couple who did not want to walk requested Henry to themselves and so we were in a bit of a pickle. Daryl (the manager) had to go to the airport to pickup more campers. Fortunately Steve was freed up for the day as the fellow who had hired him as a private guide decided to stay in the camp , so our day was rescued and we had a wonderful morning walk in the bush. Definitely will be back to Mana Pools. Uncertain if we will be back to Vundu Camp.

Dinners were excellent kudos to the chef loved eating en famille. Daryl and Melanie were wonderful hosts and there was lots of lovely dinner conversations."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average

We can hardly wait to go back

Tanzania between 12 Oct 2009 and 25 Oct 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"I always think that the theory of relativity applies to holidays in that time seems to be SO much shorter in Africa than back in the reality of work and the cold of Canada.

It helps to use the expert services of the staff at Expert AFrica who know their business inside and out. We will definitely be back to Africa and will be using Expert Africa again.

Suggestions for improvements:

None off the top of my head."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"repeat trip better than the first"

10 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2009
"Beho Beho is like our African family. The guides and staff are simply exceptional . We were in Banda 5, the "honeymoon suite" with a spectacular new outdoor bathtub."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"beautiful hotel"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2009
"beautiful minimalist design rooms spectacular ocean front views Marita is an excellent hostess"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team