This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Oyster Bay
Oyster Bay
Oyster Bay

Reviews of Oyster Bay

Wildlife sightings and reviews

51 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oyster Bay and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 51
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs JP
London

"Immaculate stay at Oyster Bay"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2019
"Our stay at Oyster Bay was the perfect end to our safari holiday. It is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and re-charge. We appreciated being back in the world of wifi, mobile coverage and aircon !
Our room (no 8, apparently the best) was vast, very comfortable and cool. The double aspect provided a view of the garden and pool to one side, and the Indian ocean to the other side. We used the 15m pool to swim laps.
Food was really delicious and plentiful. There is no menu and they will cook anything you want. We had the most amazing sea food platter for dinner on the patio, preceded by a tasty avocado and mango starter.
Service was attentive yet not intrusive (Saidi and Upendo cared for us beautifully). We were the only guests during our stay and it feels like being in a private home.
Everything is included in the price (airport transfers, all food and drinks) and overall we felt this to be good value." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Chobham

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2015
"Really personalised attention especially after the flights.

Lovely atmosphere for dinner on the terrace." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs H
Leyburn

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2015
"see earlier comments [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs H
Leyburn

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2015
"beautiful accommodation and so welcoming. All the staff worked hard to make you feel at home, great food.

only regret we did not book 2 nights before heading off on safari!" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A
Vienna

"Oyster Bay review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2014
"Very hospitable and friendly, maybe a bit too friendly (manager joined us for drinks in the evening without having been asked ...),
excellent food; water in the pool dirty" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Ms L
North Adams

"Oyster Bay return trip"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2014
"We stayed at Oyster Bay for a short night on our trip home. Our plane was at 3AM, but the hotel was just as accommodating as could be, and drove us to the airport at 1AM.

The food was excellent, as usual, and the hotel was just as beautiful." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms L
North Adams

"Oyster Bay hotel"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2014
"What a delightful place! Everyone was very helpful, welcoming, and friendly. The hotel itself is beautiful. For our first two nights, we were the only ones there.

We asked Demetria to recommend a place to shop for local wares. She not only recommended a great little shopping area, but arranged for a taxi to take us there and wait for us. The food was outstanding. The hotel took us to and from both airports, which was such a load off our minds, not having to worry about getting a taxi.

We would recommend Oyster Bay to anyone!" See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Safari fans
Dorset

"Wonderful Service"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"The hotel is located quite a way from the airport so it takes about an hour in bad traffic at rich hour but our driver was great and knew all the short cuts.
Our room on the first floor was wonderful, with a great bathroom, just right to relax in after a long flight.

The welcome and service were second to none. We were the only guests for dinner when we arrived and were asked what we would like to eat. The result was lobster, perfectly cooked and served. The staff provided a birthday cake and all sang Happy Birthday for my wife's birthday. A perfect start to our holiday." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Oyster Bay homecoming"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"My family had lived in Oyster Bay from 1949 until 1980. I was now returning to Tanzania after 44 years in celebration of my 65th birthday. We chose to stay here because of memories of many happy hours spent on the beach now called Coco beach.

The hotel was a wonderful oasis of peace and calm after the noise and traffic congestion on the drive from the airport. But it was still wonderful to be back in Dar.
One of the staff, Lucas, very kindly walked with us all along Msasani Road behind the hotel for 2 hours to help me to try and find my family's house. The area had changed so much that we never found it.

When the staff learned that I was returning after such a long time, they went to great lengths to find some of the foods and treats which I had enjoyed as a child: vitumbua, samosas, madafu, mkate mimina. The chef also baked me a delicious birthday carrot cake and I was served lobster and kingfish for dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. They were delighted at my attempts to practise my swahili and helped with some words I had forgotten.

Rhys and I enjoyed an early evening walk along the beach and felt perfectly safe. We did not carry any cameras or valuables. All the staff were kind, helpful and welcoming and could not have done more to make our first night in Tanzania so wonderful." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
Dalston

"Very relaxing"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2014
"A great place to rest up and relax after an overnight flight - highly recommended." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 51
98%
51 reviews of Oyster Bay by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
46
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


83% (181 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


78% (46 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


79% (21 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


84% (11 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Das, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


78% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa