This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Oyster Bay
Oyster Bay
Oyster Bay

Reviews of Oyster Bay

Wildlife sightings and reviews

52 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oyster Bay and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 21-30 of 52
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs R
W Yorks

"Luxurious"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2012
"Maretha & her small team couldn't do enough, it's a place of beauty & tranquility in Dar'.

We had 2 nights at the end of our fantastic holiday & this was the perfect place on the Peninsula to relax & unwind including the sundowner at the waterfront following an opportunity to purchase any memories / presses prior to our return." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"The hotel is beautifully decorated and comfortable. We loved the view from our room and I enjoyed the lap pool.

The food was delicious and ample. We will certainly recommend this as a place to stay in Dar.

The transfer to and from the airport was well organised." See all these reviews: 16n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The W family
Thatcham

"Stylish Oyster Bay"

1 night Arrived 21 Jul 2012
"Unfortunately only had a quick 1 night stopover here before flight home but was most impressed. Great attention to detail and extremely friendly atmosphere. Made the last night in Tanzania very special!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
NL

"Relaxing in Oyster Bay"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2012
"We started our trip in Oyster Bay and made the mistake not to come back at the end to relax. Dimitre pamperd us!
We met very interesting people at the dinnertable.
A very special place." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"A wonderful end to our holiday"

1 night Arrived 28 Jan 2012
"Oyster Bay is a great place to relax before boarding the plane back home and again this was our second visit. The rooms are beautifully decorated and food wonderful - we were the only guests and were able to chose just what we wanted.

Demitra, Khadija and Basil made us so welcome. Beho Beho and Oyster Bay have now spoilt us forever - they will be our yardstick for friendly staff, delicious food, great locations and fabulous rooms!" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The F family
London

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jan 2012
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Dr & Mrs F
Newport

"Oasis in dar es salaam"

1 night Arrived 22 Oct 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Norfolk

"R & R at Oyster Bay before the flight home."

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2011
"Apart from a booklet of Rules for the Swimming Pool in the bedroom, and a sign by the communal downstairs cloakroom, there is absolutely no indication anywhere that this is an hotel. It has all the feel of a beautifully appointed private house to which one has been invited to spend a day or two. Other guests come and go - most seem to stay for quite a short time - and meals are taken together, often with the owner as host.

The service is outstanding - from the iced water and cold flannels produced by the driver at the airport, to Marita (?) who met us at the door, to the delightful and ever-smiling waiters. The food was plentiful and utterly delicious. Decor throughout was perfect: restful, interesting and entirely in keeping with the place." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs E
East Sussex

"Oyster Bay review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Wonderful Room opposite the tropical palm fringed beach.

Amazing food and communal meals with great company.

Very hospitable and helpful. I wanted to swim on the beach opposite the hotel and they arranged for a Masai to accompany me. I treated him to a drink (non alcoholic) at the local Bar on the beach, so was able to visit the local environs! Followed by a swim in the pleasant hotel pool.!

That evening we went down to The Waterfront and had a sundowner with Sean and his family and visited some local market stalls where I made some purchases which pleased me . The next day i was told how to set about visiting Bongoya Island and Sean lent me snorkelling gear so i was able to enjoy a boat trip, swim and snorkel ,relax, read and paint on a delightful island followed by an exciting boat trip back through big waves!.

Marika and her team, provided wonderful, wonderful food at elegant tables with great conversation. Cannot be faulted." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
C London

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2011
"See earlier comments

[Ed note: See earlier feedback comments by this traveller Ms F from London]" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Showing 21-30 of 52
98%
52 reviews of Oyster Bay by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
47
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


83% (181 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


78% (50 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


80% (23 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


84% (14 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Dar, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


78% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa