This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Oyster Bay
Oyster Bay
Oyster Bay

Reviews of Oyster Bay

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oyster Bay and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Safari fans
Dorset

"Wonderful Service"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2014
"The hotel is located quite a way from the airport so it takes about an hour in bad traffic at rich hour but our driver was great and knew all the short cuts.
Our room on the first floor was wonderful, with a great bathroom, just right to relax in after a long flight.

The welcome and service were second to none. We were the only guests for dinner when we arrived and were asked what we would like to eat. The result was lobster, perfectly cooked and served. The staff provided a birthday cake and all sang Happy Birthday for my wife's birthday. A perfect start to our holiday." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Oyster Bay homecoming"

1 night Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"My family had lived in Oyster Bay from 1949 until 1980. I was now returning to Tanzania after 44 years in celebration of my 65th birthday. We chose to stay here because of memories of many happy hours spent on the beach now called Coco beach.

The hotel was a wonderful oasis of peace and calm after the noise and traffic congestion on the drive from the airport. But it was still wonderful to be back in Dar.
One of the staff, Lucas, very kindly walked with us all along Msasani Road behind the hotel for 2 hours to help me to try and find my family's house. The area had changed so much that we never found it.

When the staff learned that I was returning after such a long time, they went to great lengths to find some of the foods and treats which I had enjoyed as a child: vitumbua, samosas, madafu, mkate mimina. The chef also baked me a delicious birthday carrot cake and I was served lobster and kingfish for dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. They were delighted at my attempts to practise my swahili and helped with some words I had forgotten.

Rhys and I enjoyed an early evening walk along the beach and felt perfectly safe. We did not carry any cameras or valuables. All the staff were kind, helpful and welcoming and could not have done more to make our first night in Tanzania so wonderful." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
Dalston

"Very relaxing"

1 night Arrived 13 Jul 2014
"A great place to rest up and relax after an overnight flight - highly recommended." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Bath

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2014
"Ideal base for over night stay in Dar. Stylish, quiet location. Friendly staff. Good food." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Avon

"A quiet retreat from the hustle of Dar"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2013
"A lovely hotel with immaculate decor, food and especially service." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bristol

"Oyster Bay review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2013
"This was our second visit to this wonderful hotel and we were spoilt by having the place to ourselves.

Sebastian and Jurgen were excellent attentive hosts and the staff were as good as ever. The food is excellent, and we had an idyllic day by the pool appreciating the well kept garden. Our room was beautiful with lovely views both out to sea and inland.

It was especially nice to have Chauhan? expertly driving us again to and from the airport through the horrendous Dar rush hour. We certainly would revisit Oyster Bay if we were travelling through Dar again." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania; 3n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Z
UK

"A calm and tranquil hotel"

1 night Arrived 15 Jul 2013
"We arrived at Oyster Bay after a 12 hour journey from the UK and were bowled over by this beautiful hotel, the welcome from all the staff (who greeted outside the building with freshly made lemonade) and the tranquil surroundings. We spent the afternoon relaxing by the pool, then had a lovely dinner outside. A wonderful start to our holiday.

We went to Oyster Bay at the beginning of our holiday before going on safari but it would equally be a lovely place to finish your holiday with. Location-wise, it was perfect us as we didn't visit the city itself as we were passing through. It's beautifully positioned overlooking the ocean away from the hustle and bustle of Dar." See all these reviews: 9n in Zanzibar; 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bristol

"Oyster Bay Review"

1 night Arrived 7 Feb 2013
"This is a hotel with a difference, as it is very much intended for travellers in transit. In fact, some of our fellow guests were only there for a few hours. We arrived at lunch time and left early the next morning, but managed to enjoy some excellent dining and a very relaxing afternoon by the pool. The room was comfortable and we slept well.

The location is immediately across the road from the beach, giving some fine views of the ocean, but is also unfortunately the other side of Dar es Salam from the airport. The traffic is dire (although our driver assured us that we had seen nothing like its worst) so transfers can take some time." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S & Miss G
London

"Suprisingly good!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2012
"A very trendy hotel, that appears from the outside like a private bank or lawyers practice.

This part of Dar is perfectly safe, and ended our trip in style." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs D
Caymans

"Oyster Bay review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2012
"I have written about Oyster Bay Hotel previously. [Ed: see below]" See all these reviews: 34n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 54
98%
54 reviews of Oyster Bay by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


82% (179 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


79% (59 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


82% (26 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


79% (16 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Dar, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


80% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa