This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs B from Avon

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

19

Excursions taken

0

A fantastic holiday - many thanks

Zambia and 1 other country between 9 Sep 2018 and 23 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great holiday and it fully met our expectations."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Latitude 15

Latitude 15

"A very comfortable place to stop over in Lusa"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Excellent room and good dinner, just what required after an overnight flight"
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika is our favourite safari camp..."

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"Ours second visit to Tafika and it was just as good as the first time.

We considered going to another camp but felt that Tafika offered us everything we were looking for and we were not disappointed.

Just the right level of comfort, excellent guides and fine food."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mwaleshi Camp

Mwaleshi Camp

"A lovely camp by the peaceful Mwaleshi River"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"We loved the serenity of Mwaleshi Camp and it's appropriate yet very comfortable facilities.

The cook Brightwell created magnificent food from his bush kitchen.

The walking was good but we felt the heat was a bit oppressive after about 9.30."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"As noted earlier... [Ed: see below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Victoria Falls Hotel

Victoria Falls Hotel

"A bit of luxury ..."

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed our stay and were upgraded to a fine suite...

The only shortcoming was the restaurants... one has a dress code and the other one a buffet (which we do not like) and the only other option was the terrace which served a rather limited menu.

We ate there once and chose to eat at the Ilala the other night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

A fantastic holiday - many thanks

Tanzania between 17 Aug 2015 and 31 Aug 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Many thanks for organising yet another great holiday for us. The camp recommendations were spot on.

In general we preferred the Asilia camps to those of Nomad because they had Tanzanian managers rather than expats - this gave a more comfortable atmosphere."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Kimondo Camp

Kimondo Camp

"A great camp for the the migration"

5 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2015
"We really enjoyed out 5 night stay at Kimondo - it was a perfect camp in just the right place to monitor the progress of the migration crossings.

The camp was very well run by Tanzanian managers and the whole team were friendly and efficient."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Olakira

Olakira

"A lovely tented camp in the right place"

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2015
"We only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed our short stay"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Chada Camp

Chada Camp

"A fine camp in a wonderful setting"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2015
"We stayed three nights at Chada Camp and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it.

Katavi is a fine park and we saw some spectacular game, especially the larger herd of buffalo, stacks of elephant and a wonderful leopard. Tsetse flies were nothing like as bad as expected.

Great guides and a real bush atmosphere with elephants roaming through the camp ..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Greystoke Mahale

Greystoke Mahale

"A special place to stay"

4 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2015
"A very relaxing stay in a fantastic setting - the rooms were magnificent. Chimp trekking was exciting and we have hundreds of photos to prove it. Guides were excellent and hugely knowledgable on all the chimp families.

The lunches were great but less so the evening meals"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

A great holiday in Zambia's best parks

Zambia between 19 Sep 2014 and 2 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and hope to return sometime. Our stay at Tafika was the highlight"

Arranged By Megan Green


Kaingo Camp

Kaingo Camp

"A short but exciting stay at Kaingo Camp"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"We really enjoyed our short stay at Kaingo Camp. The locations is great and general atmosphere around the camp is excellent.

The only slight downside was the hut which was hot and did not catch much breeze, however the verandah overlooking the river was great. Our night int he elephant hide was well worth it, no elephants but lots of noises in the night!

We also enjoyed the hippo and carmine hides."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Tafika

Tafika

"A wonderful safari experience at Tafika"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2014
"A perfect stay at a camp that seemed to capture the spirit of a safari.

Huts were superb, we loved the rustic feel of them. Guiding was first class and we saw everything we had hoped for and a lot more - 19 wild dogs.

We would recommend Tafika without hesitation and hope to return sometime."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Crocodile Bushcamp

Crocodile Bushcamp

"A great little camp in the bush"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2014
"Huts were excellent, rustic but comfortable and the small team looked after us very well.

The walking safari was great and gave us close views of buffalo, elephant and lots more."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2014
"see previous comments [Ed: see belew]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chiawa Camp

Chiawa Camp

"Lovely camp by the Zambezi"

3 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"We enjoyed our stat at Chiawa, particularly the water activities. Sundowner on the Zambezi was lovely and the canoeing was really good.

Guides were helpful and gave us a lovely experience of a leopard. We stayed at the honeymoon tent which was really comfortable, if a bit hot and airless.

A rather smart camp did not quite have the "bush" atmosphere of others - maybe we should have stayed at Old Mondoro?"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pioneer Camp

Pioneer Camp

"A good place for a stopover"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2014
"Very well organised, a comfortable room, very helpful staff and good food.

What more do you need for a night's stopover?"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

A truly memorable safari in Southern Tanzania

Tanzania and 1 other country between 25 Sep 2013 and 9 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic time and are already planning our next game viewing holiday with Expert Africa. Many thanks"

Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

"A quiet retreat from the hustle of Dar"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2013
"A lovely hotel with immaculate decor, food and especially service."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"An exciting safari at Impala Camp"

5 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2013
"We had a great time at Impala Camp with good sightings of game. The boat safaris were particularly enjoyable and the walking safari was very interesting thanks to Omari our excellent guide.

The camp was good, the only slight qualification being that our hut (and most others) have very limited views of the river due to vegetation growth. Great food and service but perhaps the seating on individual tables meant that the camp had a slightly less friendly atmosphere. Heavy rain fell on our last day and this would have made game viewing more difficult had we been staying longer."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Mwagusi Safari Camp

Mwagusi Safari Camp

"Mwagusi is the perfect safari camp"

4 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2013
"We had a perfect stay at Mwagusi and cannot recommend it too highly. The banda was fantastic and we felt sorry that we did not have more time to spend on our veranda looking at the elephant, giraffe and baboon which drank from the waterhole right in front of us. Game drives were exciting and we were lucky enough to get a perfect sighting of 3 leopard, to say nothing of the vast number of elephant and lion. Justin was our guide and he was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable.

The staff at the camp were all very friendly and efficient and the whole atmosphere was just what one hopes for in a safari camp. Food was great, particularly the cinnamon bread on the bush breakfasts and dinner under the stars."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

"Heritage at the expense of comfort ??"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2013
"Jafferji House is a beautifully restored house in a great location in Stone Town and in many ways is a perfect place to stay. However we left with feeling that "heritage" had for us gone a bit over the top and the result was that it was not a very comfortable place to stay. The Princess Salme suite we had looked beautiful but the very low doorway meant that even somebody less than 5ft 6in risked head damage and the lovely mosquito netting round the bed did not close properly. We had nice looking authentic chairs but they were actually not very comfortable to sit in.

The breakfasts were adequate and the staff friendly we did have some language difficulties.

On reflection, it was our fault that Jafferji House was not quite right for us. We asked Expert Africa for a heritage property and this is what we got. Next time we may think a bit about the comfort angle"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team