This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

97 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

58% success

Leopard

24% success

Cheetah

35% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

95% success

Oryx

95% success

Wildebeest

90% success

Elephant

76% success

Eland

41% success

Spotted Hyena

39% success

Roan antelope

31% success

Sable antelope

31% success

Black Rhino

25% success

White Rhino

22% success

Brown Hyena

6% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 97
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Fortrose

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2022
"Lovely setting with all the tents well spaced around the waterhole. We spent a lot of the time watching a variety of game coming down to drink.

The food was great, good service from all the waiting staff.

The only comment we felt both of the managers/reception staff to be distant and uncommunicative." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

9 sightings

M&A
San Diego

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2022
"A well-situated lodge around a waterhole just outside the east entrance to Etosha NP.

Nicely appointed glamping tent/huts. Close enough to Etosha to allow day trips into the park.

The guide offered a walking safari one morning, which is not offered in most lodges.

A worthwhile experience to observe different aspects of the landscape and wildlife." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr D.
East Lulworth

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2022
"Lovely waterhole and great rooms. Design amazing.

Guide ( Francis)was excellent. Only thing let it down was manager very functional/ lacked warmth.

Actual reserve was disappointing although national park was close and great" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms TC
Florida

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2022
"What a delightful place! The staff was fantastic, the scenery, the waterhole, and the wonderful food made our stay absolutely special.

The bush dinner was amazing too. I wish we had more time to spend at the lodge to relax and enjoy the settings.

I was actually sad to have to leave, the waterhole was wonderful with lots of activities from the wildlife.

I also loved the way our room was decorated, definitely one of the best camps that we stayed on this trip." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Family A
Scarborough

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2022
"This was the other little nugget of our trip. Very close to the gate out of Etosha.

Very comfortable tent. Excellent food. Lovely view over the waterhole when you are having supper. We saw a leopard come down for a drink not 70 yards away.

Very good game drive into Etosha. We saw honey badger, two leopards (one eating a freshly killed springbok), two cheetahs, white rhino and lots of elephants. In Onguma itself we saw a nice pride of lions and the next evening saw them hunting impala.

Highly recommended. Nice little pool." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"Excellent camp where all the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was very well prepared and presented and we could thoroughly recommend this camp.

It is conveniently located just outside the east entrance to Etosha." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs N
Portsmouth

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"Very luxurious glamping with air con and a bath, indoor and outdoor shower. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Room has a small fridge. Food is very good. Strong winds and tents do not go together!

The camp is well located for Etosha and we enjoyed our stay.

Fantastic view from the tent, and the main building, over a water hole. Saw a family wart hogs bathing and playing" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Inyanga
Comberton

"A welcome back to Onguma Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2022
"We had stayed at Onguma a couple of years before and specifically chose to include this alongside the new camps on our trip. It is just south of Etosha and 'on the way' to the Caprivi Strip - well sort of.

We were not disappointed - met at the covered parking area with cold damp refreshment towels and cold teas and a familiar face or two - the same manager and assistant as on our previous visit. A welcome pot of tea over our re-introduction chat.

It must have been a co-incidence that we were given our previous chalet!

Our first supper was taken overlooking the waterhole - three courses of stunning food.

Early the next day was one of the best experiences of our trip - nearly three hours watching wildlife from elephant toenail height - yes, we did see those toe nails almost within touching distance!

Keeping to the right-hand side of the sunken hide meant we could see a lot of birdlife in the trees and bushes - something another guest advised the night before. The elephant antics as they tried to 'mudify' their rear ends were a sight to behold.

The next day was an early morning drive to Etosha. We did see a rare black rhino (well its rear), a honeymooning pair of lions before a clan hyenas and vultures were scavenging an elephant who had died overnight (not a kill per se). The smell was somewhat obnoxious.

Our only criticism was the guide was chasing sightings whilst we were in the park - at speed meant no chance of seeing other (two legged) creatures. He should have asked us what we wanted to see if at all possible. It needed a chill out session at the lounge to wind down and watch the waterhole - a trio of Oryx !

That evening we saw black-backed jackal and a troop of banded mongoose and other larger four legged animals at the waterhole. The meal again was superb.

We drove ourselves around the east of Etosha on the morning we left as we had the time. Our pace was more sedate than the game drive and we could try and see what we came to see. The waterhole just south of the park entrance provided interaction between giraffe, elephants and oryx.

Food and accompanying service at Onguma is excellent and the staff very friendly - well worth our coming up there again." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr & Mrs M
London

"Onguma Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2022
"Fabulous thatched chalet overlooking the waterhole which we saw zebra, wildebeest, springbok & kudu visit. Lovely friendly staff especially Stanley our waiter for most of the time. We didn't participate in any game drives on their reserve but drove ourselves in Etosha National Park where we had lots of nice experiences with the animals especially the elephants. In hindsight we wish we had booked a couple of nights at the Anderson's gate area of the park to have allowed us more time to explore and visit the waterholes in this area too.

The 2nd night we were booked on the Dream Cruiser sleep out which was a great experience. We were driven about half an hour from the camp by Samuel to the Cruiser which overlooks a waterhole. He showed us around and explained everything including the walkie talkie should we need assistance! Champange, drinks and canapés all provided for us. He left and about 40 mins later the chef arrived with our picnic dinner in a hamper which he set up for us. We were then left to enjoy dinner and sleep under the stars.

Next morning Samuel arrived with coffee and biscuits which we enjoyed watching some Zebra at the waterhole. He then came back for us at 7.40am to take us back to the lodge for breakfast. It was a one-off experience which we are so pleased we booked.

The only thing we would have liked better is to have the chance to arrive at the Cruiser earlier. We left the lodge at 5pm so arriving at 5.30pm by the time Samuel had gone through everything the sun was already going down rapidly and before we knew it it was dark. An hour earlier would have allowed us to take our time over a sundowner or 2 before the chef arriving without being so rushed!" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Alex
Seattle

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"Nice camp, but it felt a little off. Didn't seem to have the charm and authenticity of other camps.

Food and rooms were nice, wildlife on the reserve was very hit or miss (barely saw anything in the reserve itself, especially compared to other private areas around Etosha like Ongava, which has a lot of wildlife)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 97
93%
97 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
69
21
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (669 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (325 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (250 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (153 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (150 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (96 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (91 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (85 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


93% (61 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (39 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (34 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (34 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (25 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


92% (12 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


96% (9 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (1 review)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa