This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

79 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

57% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

86% success

Elephant

83% success

Oryx

83% success

Wildebeest

67% success

Eland

40% success

Sable antelope

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Black Rhino

17% success

White Rhino

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 79
Duration
Arrival date
Mr V
Birmingham

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2019
"I consider this reserve did not seem to have the variety of animals that Ongava had, and the guiding was not so professional generally. I consider it was inappropriate to have four vehicles in a crowded space next to a lioness. Although my guide was enthusiastic and could explain what was being seen around the drive, this was not to the standard i had experienced at the previous two camps. That said, the drive into Etosha itself, was a good one, and the demand for lions by other guests was met.

However the camp itself is very well designed and very relaxing, and indeed modern in design, with very good service from the staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Cheetah

5 sightings

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs OC
Sheffield

"Our favourite place"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"We loved all of the places we stayed, but we both agreed that Onguma just had that little extra wow factor which made it our favourite. A lot is to do with the small size, which made it feel very exclusive, and the setting, which was beautiful.

Our tent was amazing, and it just felt like the team continually went the extra mile by lighting tea lights in your tent at night and even providing a good night poem! The pool area was lovely (we even got to eat dinner there on our last night) and the fire area was great in the evenings too.

In terms of activities, we did a morning drive into Etosha which was really good. We probably didn't see anything more than if we'd driven ourselves (as we did on subsequent days) but it was just nice to have a break from driving!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"Beautiful location at a high class lodge.

Did not go on a game drive as only there for one night. Few animals at the waterhole as I suspect most were around the new advertised hide at the fort." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Zebra

4 sightings

Jane/Chris
crolles

"Superb setting around the waterhole"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"One of our most magical moments - seeing giraffes coming to the waterhole at 4 am from our bed. Here it really is a question of location, location, location. Once again we enjoyed every aspect of this camp.

Excellent guiding in Etosha with Niklaus. He did his utmost to get us to animal sightings in time." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ludocie
Sheen

"The perfect setting. "

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2019
"All "tented" rooms face the big waterhole, as does the restaurant, lounge and small pool.

Great experience throughout and an intimate setting that means that if people don't engage, they end up whispering to each other at the table......" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Only one night, but worth to stay longer!"

1 night Arrived 14 Apr 2019
"Only one night there. Seemed to be a very nice lodge too. The bed was very confortable and we even had a bathtub in the bathroom!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr D.
Egham

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Onguma Tented Camp consists of some nicely appointed tented rooms located around a waterhole. The room was very good and the view equally so.

Upon arrival we were asked what activities we would like to undertake, only to be told that the trip to the photographic hide was already fully booked. I only mention this because the trip we booked into Etosha didn't start well as the guide failed to show up and after some tracking down by reception it was established we had been forgotten.

The two points are linked because although the Tented Camp only has 7 rooms the overall Onguma Reserve includes many other locations, some of which are larger and the activities are shared between them. This influences what is available and also the efficiency. This aspect needs attention because we had been booked onto a trip with four people in the Aoba lodge located some 20 minutes away. Therefore there was no chance of us all leaving at the time advertised even if we had been remembered. We suggested our trip be cancelled, because bringing the vehicle back would impact the other guests but this didn't seem to be understood. We eventually joined the tour some 45 minutes late and it turned out to be excellent.

The guide was very professional but clearly annoyed at the lack of organisation within Onguma. Whilst the price of our tour was met by the Lodge I am not sure the other guests who were disrupted had the same experience. We also weren't given the true story by the Lodge management which is unprofessional. Blaming the problem on a broken down vehicle, which we knew not to be the case. Whilst this didn't really disrupt our enjoyment of the place I mention it because it clearly requires attention.

Otherwise the location is excellent and a very relaxing place to view animals at the waterhole. The service at meal times was very good and the tour we experienced on their own reserve was also good" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

6 sightings

Mrs F & Mrs G
Kent

"Modern Camp with excellent facilities"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2018
"This was our third camp. Onguma is very modern in design but comfortable and well run. Our room was comfortable - and the infestation of bugs in our room was dealt with very efficiently. Saw lots of animals coming down to their waterhole. The food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful, particular mention for Thomas our waiter.

We had arrived following a long drive through Etosha National Park, so were too tired to do that evening activities. So we decided to use this as a quieter activity camp - and were particularly pleased with our trip to their Hide - which gave us excellent concealed view to get a good understanding of how animals come up to a waterhole and then move on.

Abraham our guide at the waterhole was a pleasant and friendly person with whom to spend a quieter couple of hours Lots of warthogs and their young, which we had not seen yet." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M
Midlothian

"Luxurious stop at Onguma"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2018
"This is high end Etosha.

We probably didn't get as much out of it as we could because of bad weather, but it was a great place to hide." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr T & Ms K
NL

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2017
"Fantastic place. It was pity we choose to stay 2 nights at Etosha south gate, so we only had a short evening to enjoy this camp.

I would recommended anybody that visits Etosha to spend at least 2 nights here." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 79
93%
79 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
57
16
5
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (640 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa