This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp
Onguma Tented Camp

Reviews of Onguma Tented Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

89 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma Tented Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 16 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma Tented Camp.
Lion

57% success

Leopard

23% success

Cheetah

33% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

94% success

Oryx

93% success

Wildebeest

87% success

Elephant

73% success

Spotted Hyena

46% success

Eland

42% success

Sable antelope

38% success

Roan antelope

36% success

Black Rhino

27% success

White Rhino

15% success

Brown Hyena

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 89
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
London

"Onguma Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2022
"Fabulous thatched chalet overlooking the waterhole which we saw zebra, wildebeest, springbok & kudu visit. Lovely friendly staff especially Stanley our waiter for most of the time. We didn't participate in any game drives on their reserve but drove ourselves in Etosha National Park where we had lots of nice experiences with the animals especially the elephants. In hindsight we wish we had booked a couple of nights at the Anderson's gate area of the park to have allowed us more time to explore and visit the waterholes in this area too.

The 2nd night we were booked on the Dream Cruiser sleep out which was a great experience. We were driven about half an hour from the camp by Samuel to the Cruiser which overlooks a waterhole. He showed us around and explained everything including the walkie talkie should we need assistance! Champange, drinks and canapés all provided for us. He left and about 40 mins later the chef arrived with our picnic dinner in a hamper which he set up for us. We were then left to enjoy dinner and sleep under the stars.

Next morning Samuel arrived with coffee and biscuits which we enjoyed watching some Zebra at the waterhole. He then came back for us at 7.40am to take us back to the lodge for breakfast. It was a one-off experience which we are so pleased we booked.

The only thing we would have liked better is to have the chance to arrive at the Cruiser earlier. We left the lodge at 5pm so arriving at 5.30pm by the time Samuel had gone through everything the sun was already going down rapidly and before we knew it it was dark. An hour earlier would have allowed us to take our time over a sundowner or 2 before the chef arriving without being so rushed!" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Alex
Seattle

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2022
"Nice camp, but it felt a little off. Didn't seem to have the charm and authenticity of other camps.

Food and rooms were nice, wildlife on the reserve was very hit or miss (barely saw anything in the reserve itself, especially compared to other private areas around Etosha like Ongava, which has a lot of wildlife)." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Herne Bay

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2022
"This was our favourite place to stay in Namibia.

The setting of seven tents and the main building overlooking a busy waterhole was great and the attention to detail in the rooms was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The staff also pointed out any game that came to the waterhole at night. We saw hyenas, honey badgers and an eagle owl visiting the waterhole while we were eating dinner.

We also spent a morning at the hide which was great for getting close up photos of birds and the animals visiting the waterhole." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

John
Braintree

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 May 2022
"More formal and less friendly than Ongava.

Guides less good." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms M
Switzerland

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Apr 2022
"A perfect quiet safari place. Very good food with a choice of dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Nice swimming pool. Very good after visiting Etosha." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

HM
New Hampshire

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Apr 2022
"Fabulous lodge. We loved the tents. The location is great, and the staff were incredibly nice. Excellent food." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs C.
Dubai

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

1 night Arrived 28 Mar 2022
"While the actual camp was lovely, and our stay was great, the personal were just not as friendly as some of the other lodges.

Our game drive to Etosha was a little lackluster, perhaps it was the wet weather and we got the impression the driver didn't want to travel very far.

However our Sun-downer drive within the grounds was very pleasant. We had some beautiful sightings of giraffe." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs V.
Leiden

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2021
"We stayed 4 nights at Onguma tented camp with very high expectations which were not entirely met.

The location is undisputed with a productive waterhole, a small but attractive pool and luxurious tents. Staff is a little reserved and perhaps formal, though Cacious managed to give us the best of both worlds. Food was excellent and overall service fine.

It's the activities we expected a little more from. Twice we were told that a prebooked activity couldn't take place because of (for us) unclear reasons. The walking safari was a lot shorter than mentioned and of limited interest. The Onguma private reserve itself didn't provide more value than Etosha (e.g. no night drives or tracking safaris) with exception of the dream cruiser. Nothing short of spectacular and highly recommended, though perhaps a little expensive.

The Etosha drives were nice, but even in this covid-period pretty busy. No less than 14 cars around two lions is a bit much for our taste. On the other hand, we did see leopard (hunting!) and a leopard tortoise among lots of other game.

Onguma is a nice place to stay and it's no punishment spending a day hanging around camp. However, if you're looking for a more intense safari experience, Etosha Heights seems the better option. It was for us." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

AK
USA

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2021
"One of the best lodges that we stayed in. Very comfortable rooms, excellent food.

Game drive to Etosha was wonderful and so was sundowner." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

8 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr A & Ms M
USA

"Onguma Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2020
"The camp is beautiful and in a great location. The waterhole is excellent. It's a private reserve, but there are no real game drives on the reserve - that didn't make any sense to us. Disappointing.
The service from the manger in charge was shockingly poor even though there were only three rooms occupied. Examples:
Breakfast is from 6-9am. We asked if we could have breakfast at 9:30am (to go to Etosha early morning). No. We asked if we could have breakfast at 8:55am - yes, but you have to finish by 9am.
We were totally alone on the activities. When asked if we could go to the hide a half hour later - no.
Night drives: we used to do it but got bad reviews. I said we promise not to give a bad review - please do it. No from the manager. The guide would have loved to do it with us but wasn't allowed.
Under current management I would not send guests to this camp." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 89
92%
89 reviews of Onguma Tented Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
20
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (662 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (322 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (249 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (150 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (148 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (90 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (78 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Intimate and luxurious, Mushara Outpost is well-placed on a private reserve to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or on a guided drive.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (39 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (33 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


95% (8 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa