This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost

Reviews of Mushara Outpost

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Outpost and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Outpost.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

40% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Giraffe

83% success

Zebra

83% success

Elephant

69% success

Eland

55% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Sable antelope

22% success

Roan antelope

20% success

White Rhino

18% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2022
"We arrived at Mushara Outpost at around 16.00 to check in, after leaving Okaukuejo at 10am via a pit stop at Halali. It was a delight to walk into the main 'house' area to be greeted with a warm welcome from the staff, and we were soon shown to our room. As we were self driving, we did not organise any activities with the lodge, and in fact hurried back into Etosha to carry on with our game viewing, as we had left a pride of lions sleeping under a tree coming to check in.

The food here was excellent, and the lodge was very accommodating in its meal times to allow us to maximise our time in Etosha, as we stayed in until closing at 19.10 both evenings. The breakfast options were laid out for us to help ourselves to when we came back from the park at 09.30, with the usual large array of choice, and hot options cooked up for us too. The second evenings meal was a braai, where there was an extremely large selection of cooked meats, salads and accompaniments. The homemade coleslaw was delicious.

We made use of the laundry service on offer here. This service was very good, but we noted subsequently when comparing with other lodges, it was slightly more expensive for us to have done it here than elsewhere. The swimming pool area is not overly large, but was a very nice, relaxing environment. We also checked out the on site waterhole, and saw several different types of antelopes. They also have a resident 'mob' of meerkats. We also saw a genet on the path back to the room after dinner.

It was a quiet time to visit the lodge, on the first evening, there was one other party of Americans, who had also driven across the park from Okaukuejo like us. On the second night another couple from the UK had arrived. There was ample opportunity to talk to fellow guests, especially around an outdoor firepit at dusk with drinks, but we all dined at separate tables." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Cheetah

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2022
"Nice to have air-con in the tent and the jar with lavender shortcake to go with your tea & coffee. Whilst they don’t do afternoon tea, you can ask for a piece of cake and we sat on the terrace eating tasty carrot cake watching some warthogs eating the grass of the lawn.

A drum summons you to the evening meal if you are not already sat around the fire pit." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Kartik
Patel

"Mushara Outpost - my first safari"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2022
"This was our first lodge stay in Namibia. On arrival, we saw impalas drinking from a waterhole on the premises as well as a warthog scurry away as we were shown to our room. My first thought was “wow I’m in Africa!”

Service at Mushara was so warm, welcoming and friendly. Helena always made sure we were happy with our meals. The staff really listened to our dietary requirements (diabetic and vegetarians in the group) and did all they could to meet our needs. On the second night of our stay there was a traditional ‘bomba’ or outdoor bbq/buffet meal which was really sociable and fun.

We had an amazing first morning game drive in Etosha, where we got to see almost all of the big five (we saw a leopard on our self drive the next day), in large part due to our superb guide Ute who responded quickly to all of the live information of sightings in the park, as well as an eagle eyed German family on the drive with us." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

D & P
Lavenham

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2022
"Another first class hotel! Lots of animals in the garden

Disappointing that although bird watching in the gardens here is mentioned, the person who acted as guide for bird watching was away. And nobody else knew anything." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs B
North Yorkshire

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2022
"Staff very accommodating and excellent service here" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs K
Southamptn

"Spoilt rotten at Mushara"

2 nights Arrived 6 Aug 2022
"Warm welcome on arrival.

Room spacious and well equipped with inside and outside shower.

Food was varied and tasty.

The staff made a fuss of my wife on her birthday decorating our breakfast and evening meal table, which was a lovely gesture. They made a cake and serenaded her with songs of celebration, which was a lovely touch. They all had incredible voices and they seemed to enjoy doing it!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr M & Mr D
Yorkshire

"A lovely return to Mushara Outpost"

2 nights Arrived 16 May 2022
"We first stayed in Mushara Outpost on our first trip to Namibia in May 2016 and had very fond memories of it. It did not disappoint. Covid measures were in place (as they had been everywhere we stayed) and we were warmly welcomed.

Our room was gorgeous with extra warm bedding and a hot water bottle put into our beds while we had dinner each evening - much needed on the cold winter nights. On our first afternoon, we decided to relax and enjoy our beautiful surroundings rather than go on a drive, so we sat with lunch and a drink while watching warthog, impala, mongeese and numerous birds wandering around apparently feeling safe and comfortable; they were completely unbothered by our presence. Later that evening we saw a pair of dik-dik eating happily at the side of our room. Far from the most active of our times on holiday but one that we both recall with great fondness.

The food and service was uniformly of a very high standard as were the game drives we went on. There seemed to be far less wildlife in Etosha than there had been on our previous visits though our guide, Patreus (not sure of spelling) went to great efforts to show us what there was to see, including a sighting of three lion though I will never understand how he first spotted them! We managed to sit with them for quite a while before other vehicles joined us - a very special few minutes. Patreus was a very warm, engaging guide who was particularly concerned about our comfort.

Would highly recommend a stay at Mushara Outpost to anyone and would choose to stay there again over many of the other options in the area." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Louise & David
UK

"Ideal one night stop on leaving Etosha"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Pleasant one-night stop after we’d spend the day in Etosha. Quick and easy to find near the Von Linquist Gate, had a feel of an old American ranch-style hotel, with lots of trees and surrounded by green well-watered lawns, very different from Etosha!

A delicious evening buffet-style bbq was served outdoors in a pretty clearing at the end of a lantern-lit walkway, very unusual and fun.

Staff were attentive and very friendly and we saw lots of different and colourful birds as well as squirrels and mongoose when enjoying our outdoor breakfast.

Could have stayed longer and would be a good base for Etosha for anyone not wanting to stay in the park itself. A recent addition here is a new waterhole a short flat walk from the main area." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"A breather"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"A great opportunity for a breather on a busy trip. We had a really good guided safari back into Etosha and a relaxing afternoon by the pool." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr K
Channel Islands

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"If you had a sixth paw, our experience here would have got it.

Agita was blown away after 5 days in a car with me, a real bit of luxury. Amazing location with great staff and possibly the best breakfast cinnamon pancakes in Africa if not the world, reason enough to go back on its own.

Really nice pool and the room was excellent." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 61
93%
61 reviews of Mushara Outpost by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
47
10
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (669 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (325 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (250 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (153 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (150 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (97 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (96 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (91 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (85 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (71 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (39 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (34 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (34 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (25 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


92% (12 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


96% (9 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


92% (5 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa