This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost

Reviews of Mushara Outpost

Wildlife sightings and reviews

68 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Outpost and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Outpost.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

38% success

Cheetah

43% success

Oryx

94% success

Wildebeest

82% success

Giraffe

76% success

Zebra

76% success

Elephant

67% success

Eland

60% success

Spotted Hyena

43% success

White Rhino

31% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

17% success

Roan antelope

15% success

Brown Hyena

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 68
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs Paul
Surrey

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2023
"Another lovely lodge with views over the watering hole.

Limited wildlife that seemed quite easily spooked - we later learned there were lions on the estate escaped from Etosha which kept us up in the night with roars.

The staff were polite and quite formal in contrast to other locations we had stayed. As the drinks and lunch were not included we were asked to confirm our bill after each meal or drinks which felt a lot more transactional.

We spent the most at this location even though we didn't have long enough to organise any activities once we arrived and it really wasn't pushed as an option by staff - we would have loved to do the trip to the craft village they setup but there was no information on it obviously available and the literature in the room was outdated. This resulted in us choosing to stay and relax on the compound for the day which was a welcome break from driving on corrugated dust roads. By far the best curios shop we saw on the trip to this point and inspiring decor.

An ok stay but much more a night at a hotel than safari in Namibia.

Birdlife was pretty active compared to all other locations though." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Mr. & Mrs. E
UK

"Mushara Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 30 Oct 2023
"A lovely tented lodge and another excellent location for self-driving to and from Etosha National Park.

We preferred it to its sister property, where we had spent our first night, as we found the atmosphere was more relaxed and the welcome warmer. The manageress was very considerate in making an immediate change to the evening menu when we told her that we had had an identical meal the previous evening at the neighbouring lodge!

Our only criticism of the accommodation was the air conditioning, which was inadequate for the room. A high-powered, moveable, fan would have been more useful and probably more energy efficient.

We were fortunate to be situated close to the watering hole and during the afternoon of our arrival a herd of Kudu visited and foraged within touching distance of our room balcony, which was a very special experience." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Kent

"Mushara Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2023
"We had one night in Mushara. It is on the Eastern side of Etosha and we stayed there after our trip through Etosha from the Anderson Gate. Mushara was perfectly located for this and a very comfortable place for us to stay. They had a boma for all guests on the evening we were there, which was a nice experience." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs K
Andover

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2023
"Really lovely lodge. So peaceful and restful.

Fabulous rooms and the lodge is beautifullly appointed. One of my favourites on the trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr D & Ms G
London

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 24 May 2023
"Friendly camp, run almost exclusively by women!

Pleasant accommodation, food also pleasant but could hear all tables around us complaining about having to pay for bottled water. Would be better to charge extra and make table water included

The hide at the water hole was lovely to sit and quietly watch a good assortment of antelope. Very underused it seemed" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Alex
Algarve

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2023
"We were very touched that Mushara Outpost had given us some flowers and a welcome gift for Davids 70th birthday.

Our room was comfortable and the situation amongst the trees is lovely.

The main lodge with the restaurant and bar area is beautiful and has a freindly ambience." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs S
Bedfordshire

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Feb 2023
"Beautiful communal areas but rooms were a little tired.

Great staff and good food." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Dec 2022
"We arrived at Mushara Outpost at around 16.00 to check in, after leaving Okaukuejo at 10am via a pit stop at Halali. It was a delight to walk into the main 'house' area to be greeted with a warm welcome from the staff, and we were soon shown to our room. As we were self driving, we did not organise any activities with the lodge, and in fact hurried back into Etosha to carry on with our game viewing, as we had left a pride of lions sleeping under a tree coming to check in.

The food here was excellent, and the lodge was very accommodating in its meal times to allow us to maximise our time in Etosha, as we stayed in until closing at 19.10 both evenings. The breakfast options were laid out for us to help ourselves to when we came back from the park at 09.30, with the usual large array of choice, and hot options cooked up for us too. The second evenings meal was a braai, where there was an extremely large selection of cooked meats, salads and accompaniments. The homemade coleslaw was delicious.

We made use of the laundry service on offer here. This service was very good, but we noted subsequently when comparing with other lodges, it was slightly more expensive for us to have done it here than elsewhere. The swimming pool area is not overly large, but was a very nice, relaxing environment. We also checked out the on site waterhole, and saw several different types of antelopes. They also have a resident 'mob' of meerkats. We also saw a genet on the path back to the room after dinner.

It was a quiet time to visit the lodge, on the first evening, there was one other party of Americans, who had also driven across the park from Okaukuejo like us. On the second night another couple from the UK had arrived. There was ample opportunity to talk to fellow guests, especially around an outdoor firepit at dusk with drinks, but we all dined at separate tables." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Cheetah

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs L
Birmingham

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2022
"Nice to have air-con in the tent and the jar with lavender shortcake to go with your tea & coffee. Whilst they don’t do afternoon tea, you can ask for a piece of cake and we sat on the terrace eating tasty carrot cake watching some warthogs eating the grass of the lawn.

A drum summons you to the evening meal if you are not already sat around the fire pit." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Kartik
Patel

"Mushara Outpost - my first safari"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2022
"This was our first lodge stay in Namibia. On arrival, we saw impalas drinking from a waterhole on the premises as well as a warthog scurry away as we were shown to our room. My first thought was “wow I’m in Africa!”

Service at Mushara was so warm, welcoming and friendly. Helena always made sure we were happy with our meals. The staff really listened to our dietary requirements (diabetic and vegetarians in the group) and did all they could to meet our needs. On the second night of our stay there was a traditional ‘bomba’ or outdoor bbq/buffet meal which was really sociable and fun.

We had an amazing first morning game drive in Etosha, where we got to see almost all of the big five (we saw a leopard on our self drive the next day), in large part due to our superb guide Ute who responded quickly to all of the live information of sightings in the park, as well as an eagle eyed German family on the drive with us." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 1-10 of 68
94%
68 reviews of Mushara Outpost by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
52
12
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (702 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

The smallest of Etosha's erstwhile restcamps, overlooking its own floodlit waterhole, Halali has a superb location near the centre of Etosha Pan.


79% (330 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (261 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

With fantastic views over a private reserve bordering Etosha, the smart Ongava Lodge offers driving and walking safaris on the reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (158 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (154 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (103 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (97 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (97 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (89 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (84 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (74 reviews)
Onguma Camp Kala

Onguma Camp Kala

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Camp Kala are truly special.


97% (43 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


96% (41 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (37 reviews)
Onguma Forest Camp

Onguma Forest Camp

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Forest Camp is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


88% (36 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


85% (26 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (25 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


86% (22 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


94% (18 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (14 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


93% (11 reviews)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge is a very comfortable base from which to explore the park, with excellent food.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


90% (6 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful private reserve close to Etosha, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


100% (2 reviews)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa