This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost

Reviews of Mushara Outpost

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Outpost and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Outpost.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

40% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Elephant

71% success

Giraffe

71% success

Zebra

71% success

Eland

50% success

Spotted Hyena

40% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Roan antelope

17% success

White Rhino

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Louise & David
UK

"Ideal one night stop on leaving Etosha"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Pleasant one-night stop after we’d spend the day in Etosha. Quick and easy to find near the Von Linquist Gate, had a feel of an old American ranch-style hotel, with lots of trees and surrounded by green well-watered lawns, very different from Etosha!

A delicious evening buffet-style bbq was served outdoors in a pretty clearing at the end of a lantern-lit walkway, very unusual and fun.

Staff were attentive and very friendly and we saw lots of different and colourful birds as well as squirrels and mongoose when enjoying our outdoor breakfast.

Could have stayed longer and would be a good base for Etosha for anyone not wanting to stay in the park itself. A recent addition here is a new waterhole a short flat walk from the main area." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs L
Surrey

"A breather"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2019
"A great opportunity for a breather on a busy trip. We had a really good guided safari back into Etosha and a relaxing afternoon by the pool." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr K
Channel Islands

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2019
"If you had a sixth paw, our experience here would have got it.

Agita was blown away after 5 days in a car with me, a real bit of luxury. Amazing location with great staff and possibly the best breakfast cinnamon pancakes in Africa if not the world, reason enough to go back on its own.

Really nice pool and the room was excellent." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J.
Sussex

"Mushara Outpost"

2 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2018
"Drove through Etosha on our way to Mushara and were very disappointed in the lack of animals. Enjoyed a warm welcome at beautiful Mushara. The architecture and decor are stunning. Our room was well-appointed and very comfortable. The pool was cold and refreshing. Enjoyed a short time at the hide. Excellent dinner the first night. Better luck in Etosha the next day and a good lunch back at Mushara. BBQ for dinner all beautifully laid out in the BBQ area but the meat was dry and tough. A very enjoyable stay." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Nice quite place"

2 nights Arrived 10 Oct 2018
"We stayed at Mushara Outpost for two nights. The accommodation was very spacious, with your own veranda next to the woods. You often see animals going through if you sit quietly outside. It was nice and clean and quiet and you often felt there was nobody else staying there. We could get wifi in our tent, which was the first one to the right from the main building, but I believe others travellers couldn’t. The pool area was very nice to relax in between game drives, although the pool is unheated so you need to brave to go in. There is a small hide overlooking a water hole just past tent 10. We almost missed this as we asked a couple of the staff and they didn’t seem to know there was a waterhole on site! We found it on our last morning and saw a small heard of impala. It would have been nice to spend more time here, so make sure you visit it. We would say we found the staff efficient but not particularly friendly, except for Piet our guide who was very nice and a great guide with lots of amusing stories..

We had dinner in the main building one night and a boma (bbq) the second night, which had a massive buffet, which catered for everyone. We also ate lunch there and found all the food very good with good portions

We went on two morning drives and two afternoon drives. We thought it was well worth doing as our guide (Piet) was in contact with other people so they could share where the best wildlife was. By going on an organised game drive it also means both of you can relax and have a good view because you were high up. Also everyone had an edge seat so you weren't restricted in a middle seat. You also have the guides expertise of reading situations. For instance we were watching some sleepy lions under a tree and Piet had noticed a lame kudu at the other side of the water hole.

People in self drives came into the waterhole and watched the lions but then drove out again, missing the lame kudu. We had our sundowners while we watched the kudu cautiously go towards the waterhole, with the lions now alert and hunched low in the grasses out of sight of the kudu but ready to pounce. It was all very tense and we thought we would see a kill but the kudu thought better of it and turned into the forest, pursued by the lions. After about five minutes the lions returned, yes you’ve guest it, without their prey!

We saw cheetah, lions and leopards while we were with Piet too. Often they were very near but we would not have picked them out ourselves as they were well camouflaged. I would definitely stay here two nights and do the organised game drives, you will not be disappointed." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Cheetah

3 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr S.
Northampton

"Overall good"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"Not quite so personal as some but generally good" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Crooks
Bristol

"Mushara Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"Our stay at Mushara was short, arriving soon before dark and leaving for a long drive quite early the next morning. We did not do any activities in the grounds of Mushara apart from a brief stroll to the viewing hide (where we saw an oryx).

Staff were friendly and efficient. The room was very comfortable.

Our evening meal - in the Boma area - could have been better. Breakfast was good." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Oryx

1 sighting

Dr & Mrs C
W Sussex

"A very peaceful lodge "

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"We welcomed the comfort here to take a day's break from game drives and bumpy roads. There was so much activity at the small waterhole, and a comfortable hide, that we could have spent many more hours!

The tent was very spacious and comfortable with a choice of showers. One evening was a outdoor dinner in the boma, a delicious barbeque under amazing starry skies.

Our table had been littered with petals and ribbons as we were celebrating our golden wedding, a lovely touch, much appreciated." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Wendy
Melbourne

"Mushara Outpost"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"This place had a lovely feel.

The table decoration, the card and the singing for 'my birthday' was lovely.

Such a contrast in terms of luxury from our previous camp - in fact, it seemed a bit excessive" See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Winchester

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2018
"Good lodge facilities, pleasant to eat and sit in
Nice spacious chalet accommodation
Game drive a bit disappointing – following crowds of vehicles in Etosha, although good to see a Caracal, but disappointed not to see any elephants, either here or on the whole trip (NB earlier heavy rains had caused animals to move North and no need to visit waterholes)
Final meal was a BBQ, which was not the best! Chewy chicken and bony Kudu – probably the worst meal of our trip
We felt Mushara was ‘penny pinching’, everything was an extra, even a small bottle of water. This affected our decision not to go on the final afternoon game drive and missed seeing a herd of 22 elephants!
Mean breakfasts, they split a rasher of bacon in half – reinforced the ‘penny pinching’
Our least favourite place." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Showing 1-10 of 54
93%
54 reviews of Mushara Outpost by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
8
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (35 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa