This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort

Reviews of Onguma The Fort

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma The Fort and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma The Fort.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

29% success

Cheetah

43% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

86% success

Eland

80% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Brown Hyena

50% success

White Rhino

43% success

Roan antelope

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs T
Sawbo

"The desert fort"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"Great accomodation in our mini fort. Plenty of, all inclusive, drinks in the mini bar plus a much appreciated welcoming carafe of port. Food was wonderful.

Thoroughly enjoyable drive from Ongave to the fort. Pandu, our excellent driver, took us through Etoshi and stopped whenever we saw something interesting.

David our guide was extremely knowledgeable and he, along with the staff at the fort, could not have treated us any better." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr L & Family
Denmark

"Onguma The Fort, 24 hours paradise"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2019
"When we arrive at the Moroccan fort, the servants are ready with heated white cotton cloths so we can wipe the dust off our faces and hands. As we enter through the gate, our arrival is announced on a large gong gong with two strokes.

Everything is tastefully decorated with several water elements and walkways passing water. Everywhere delicious materials are used and everything is tastefully decorated.

We are welcomed with ice tea in the restaurant. From here there is a direct view of the pool. And to the watering hole where animals come and go.

We are informed when the dinner will be served, after which we will be driven to our room. It is an unfenced lodge, ie. all animals have free access to the area. It is therefore too dangerous to travel outside alone, especially at night.

As we arrive at our room it turns out to be a small mini fort! Impressive Moroccan wooden doors with beautiful carvings everywhere and very high ceilings!

The bathroom is almost a tower room. Outside our own large secluded wooden terrace with lovely sun loungers. We have free views of the bush (room 6). To the right we can see the water hole. Everything is completely secluded including an extra outdoor shower.

Our waiter points out that there is sherry ready on the glass carafe! In addition, there are other carafe and wines from all over the world. Everything is included in the price, which I dare not think about at all.

We enjoy the afternoon completely secluded on the terrace. In the evening, it's the 1001 night adventure on the fort. We sit at a beautifully decked table with a free view of the waterhole. We have our own personal servant all evening. There is "Rust en Vrede" (rest and peace) on the wine list. Our personal favorite from South Africa.

We sleep like a rock all night after a day of wonderland. Here we would like to stay more than one night, but it probably requires an agreement with the bank ...

(We did not do any activities." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Onguma The Fort review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"Onguma reserve has a photographic hide which can be visited by guests and for those interested in quality photography the hide can provide some excellent opportunities very close, well worth a visit or two. Many good sightings at the hide of species not listed below.

No visits were made into Etosha from here." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Onguma The Fort review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Dr A & Mrs E
Berks

"A true luxury lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"Wonderful facilities with a great view of the waterhole. Excellent table service from Josiah, and the food was also excellent.

We were bombarded by flying bugs on our second evening!
A pity one has to call for a buggy in order to move to and from ones room.

Another excellent guide.
In addition to the sightings listed, we also saw: 4 groups of kudu, 3 groups of impala and another ostrich pair with chicks.
Numerous birds including: tawny & martial eagles, pale chanting goshawks, a purple roller and vultures." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
St Albans

"Sensational"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2018
"This lodge was the stuff dreams are made of.

Top notch service and food.

The most amazing outlook and so close to Etosha.

We saw two lions in the private reserve." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

7 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs F
St Albans

"Onguma The Fort review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2018
"Different to our usual tented camps, which made it a great place to stay. Huge room with best outdoor shower of the trip.

Meals eaten on a large deck overlooking a waterhole and we were lucky to see three cheetah coming for a drink. There were patio heaters when it was cold.

More young families here than in our other camps." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr S
UK

"Stunning stay at The Fort"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2018
"Beautiful place to stay - the highlight of our trip.

Staff, food and accommodation are all fantastic." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Amazing accommodations"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2018
"The accommodations here were uber-luxe. And the food was so so delicious - probably the best of our entire Namibia trip!

The game viewing was good, perhaps not as good as at Ongava, but one can't predict where the animals will be on any given day & our guide & jeep-mates were so fun that it didn't even matter!

We did see a lot of lions, which was amazing!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
namibia
UK

"Onguma The Fort review"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2017
"The Fort was excellent.

Unfortunately we were only there for one night." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 35
95%
35 reviews of Onguma The Fort by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
9
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa