This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Mrs B from Snettisham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Great trip

Zambia between 22 Oct 2014 and 5 Nov 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall we had a great trip, with lots of wonderful experiences. We saw pretty well everything we wanted. The accommodation and food was excellent. Guides were very good.

Although we knew it was going to be hot, it was still a shock at mid 40's rather than mid 30's. Really we have no complaints and would recommend it to others without reservation"

Arranged By Megan Green


Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

"Very good camp, friendly, comfortable,"

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2014
"Our first camp on trip. Good transfer and pickup. Excellent wildlife viewing on drive to camp. Very comfortable accommodation and friendly staff. We were in room 3 which did become very hot in afternoons as no cross ventilation and the wind went past not through the tent. Would have preferred room 4,5 or 6 which also had better views of resident fauna. We had two excellent guides (Idos and Richard), good vehicles with canopy but bumpy roads ( unavoidable).

Particularly enjoyed the surprise sundowner on last evening. Enjoyed the balloon trip with Eric including the super bumpy landing but breakfast not as good as balloon breakfast in Namibia.

Have suggested that bowls of water be put out to attract the several resident small birds for closer viewing. As the breeze seemed to blow mostly through the main area. hammocks or loungers in the shade would have been welcome."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Excellent camp with huge wildlife viewing"

4 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2014
"Had to fly back into Lusaka in order to take flight out to Mfuwe. Lusaka airport is, as we were warned a dismal place, particularly on the domestic side with a poor communications system, poor toilets on first floor and casual security.

Interesting drive to camp over dry river beds and through villages etc. with Chris who was very informative. Beautiful riverside setting, attractive though not luxurious rondavels which could have had a few more shelves but really appreciated the cooling through the net system. Adjacent lagoon attracted lots of wildlife, very useful hide, very good food, excellent hostess (Hannah) and lovely food.

Lots of wildlife, several leopards etc. My birding interest catered for."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tafika

Tafika

"Tafika review"

4 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2014
"Traditionally built accommodation of wooden pillars and reed roof and walls. Some cross ventilation but no an or AC. Well separated and spacious with excellent showers. Very hot in the afternoons, relieved by many showers. Too hot to sit out on loungers under a tree to view the river.

Camp visited by its of birds and animals. Drive areas overlap significantly with Nsefu. We were unaware of just how close they are, so it was rather like having eight days in the same area. Despite this, all the drives were different. Tafika is outside the National Park, and so you must be out by 8pm. Not usually a problem but on one occasion we had to leave stalking lions to ensure that we were out in time.

We did one walk which was limited by elephants but still enjoyable. Guides or a couple of trips were not as good as we had come to expect, but for the rest of the time there were very good - especially Amon and Alex. Virtually all our drives were shared with other guests, not always sharing our interests. As in Nsefu, the vehicles are uncovered, so hat and suncream vital.

Family run camp with shared host/hostess duties. We sometimes felt a little excluded, maybe because all the other guests were returnees. Heather, Jenny and Brian all very good. Food excellent, especially the fresh bread and muffins. Only camp to offer vegetarian option as standard."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

africatrip

Botswana and 2 other countries between 16 May 2009 and 4 Jun 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our first trip to Africa and we had only a vague idea of what to expect. The whole trip was fabulous. All the arrangements worked. All the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. All the accomodation was lovely. Even the basic camp on Mboma island was a hoot.

Although we are not birdwatchers, the array of birds pointed out by the guides and spotted by us has made us keen twitchers. Binocculrs are a must. Enjoyed all the food, even the more exotic. The night skies were a treat.

We were a bit surprised to find how cool it was in the early mornings and after sunset and found the ponchos and hot water bottles very useful. Loved the daily sundowner routine. Our highlight was coming upon a cheetah in the early morning and following it for 45mts. There was nobdy else around.

The ballon flight was great fun. skillfully managed by pilot and support staff.

Suggestions for improvements:

I think the way we did ie(Livingstone-Chobe-Linyanti-Khwai) was good. Took too many evening clothes and not enough warm clothes. Picking up the luggage at Jo'burg everytime was a bore and it would be nice to be able trust the security enough to not have to do it. The singing and dancing from the staff at the lodges was hugely enjoyable.

We did spend a lot of time travelling after we left Maun and the drive to and from Kulala was tedious and stressful in parts. Would have preferred a day each in Maun and Windhoek and possibly flown to Kulala as other guests did. The river was ok but could have given it a miss. Overall, it was a fantastic experience which we will recommend to friends"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Zambezi Sun review"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2009
"generally not enough information about trips and other arrangements eg nothing in the room re prices at the restaurant, pool towel availability and yellow waterproofs for use by the falls. The activity centre was not very useful.

Food good and rooms very nice.

River trip rather expensive for what it offered - just a gentle cruise up river to watch the sunset for $60 pp"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 19 May 2009
"very welcoming and caring hosts. Comfortable and good food and atmosphere

excellent guides (BG and JJ)

lots of game easy to see - a very good start to the trip to get us into the spirit"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Linyanti Bush Camp

Linyanti Bush Camp

"Linyanti Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2009
"local airstrip unavailable so transfer much longer on uncovered truck. good accomodation and food and guiding. Lovely dinner in the boma on the first evening, all staff very helpful.

Ponchos a very useful idea for the chilly start and finish of the day

closer to nature than muchenje with game close to the camp at night. Less game here than elsewhere
after day 1 we were the only guests - good for staff attention but less opportunity to chat around the fire in the evning"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 May 2009
"Good transfer to Mbona island with lots of info from guide (Shakaa), but no lunch. It would have been useful to know an overnight bag was all that was required. We were slightly unsure of what was to happen on this leg.

Guide knowledgeable but although not offensive he was a little too familiar. Meal adequate (chicken stew with pasta, tinned fruit and tinned cream) but not elegant. Bedding a bit grubby - a basic camp OK for one night; might have stayed at three bridges?

Good time at Khwai with excellent game drives. Again we were the only 2 guests so evening conversation limited. As the tents are plumbed for water for the toilet, piped water for the basin might have been preferable to the large, heavy jug. Otherwise very comfortable and very good staff"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2009
"very nice hotel - interesting use of cement! but we enjoyed the decor and atmosphere here

Good food and nice open plan kitchen/sitting area. Enjoyed the hot tub"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 31 May 2009
"Getting to Kulala in a clas D car was stressful, especially as C19 was very rutted and the final 14km from road to camp over sand tracks caused some problems, and worries about the return journey. Strongly advise a 4x4 for this.

It also take a very long time (6-7hrs) even without punctures or other probs. Lodge was very good but couldn't seem to arrange a bedroll for the roof area.

Very friendly and enthusiastic staff, but seperate tables kept guests very seperate from each other so little interaction. Not sure why we were on half board as this caused some confusion as to what was included."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team