This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Reviews of Muchenje Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

168 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Muchenje Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 34 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Muchenje Safari Lodge.
Lion

88% success

Leopard

52% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

28% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

97% success

Hippo

94% success

Sable antelope

54% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

Wildebeest

47% success

Roan antelope

38% success

Eland

25% success

Brown Hyena

17% success

Sitatunga

10% success

Aardvark

3% success

Pangolin

3% success

Showing 1-10 of 168
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs G
Cottenham

"Great lodge just over the Ngoma Bridge"

2 nights Arrived 9 Dec 2022
"This was a lovely lodge close to the Namibia boarder (Ngoma Bridge). We were welcomed by Kiddy on arrival who showed us around the main facilities and our room. A huge thunderstorm started shortly after arrival which was quite the scene over the Chobe River flood plains. The lodge is perched on the top edge of the ridge and as a result commands amazing views across the Chobe towards Namibia.

The staff were all welcoming and friendly. Breakfasts and lunches were informal with group seating allowing to meet and interact with other guests. At dinner, the starter and dessert was brought out to you at the tables, with the main being self service. The food was tasty, with a variety of options to choose from at each mealtime.

We arranged to be out on game drives first thing in the mornings and in the afternoons, and also opted for the after breakfast boat trip on the waters near Sedudu Island (an hour away at Kasane). This included lunch on the boat. The afternoon game drive started from there, slowly wending our way back to the lodge by sunset. For all activities we were with a group of other guests (5 of us in the vehicle). Philly was our guide, who was very knowledgeable and good company. He and other members of staff invited us to watch the England vs France world cup match with them, which was god fun.

We enjoyed our stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr and Mrs W
GLOS

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2022
"Completely different type of game viewing from previous 2 camps. Game seen more in herds and large numbers.
More game vehicles here than in Okavango Delta but we were expecting that and it wasn't a problem.
Beautiful view from Safari lodge.
Particularly nice swimming pool.
Lovely staff.
Communal dining and good food.
The owners were very present at the lodge and talked to the guests at mealtimes.
Again excellent guiding.
We watched lionesses stalking 2 warthogs though they didn't make a kill.
The vast herds of buffalo were particularly spectacular and elephants playing in the mud was also a memorable sight.
We went on a boat trip along the Chobe river which made for excellent wildlife viewing and was very relaxing.
Lodge owners arranged for Covid tests for children which were seamlessly added to the days programme and only took approx 20 mins and they took us back later in the day again without any major deviation so we could physically pick up the results.
The driver who took us to the crossing into Zimbabwe was very helpful and made sure we got in the correct queues etc." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Dr and Ms R
Bristol

"A beautiful lodge with excellent guiding"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2022
"Pictures of Muchenje Lodge can't do justice to the fantastic views over the Chobe river to Namibia. From the wooden terrace of our very comfortable room we could see zebras and hippos below, and several times elephants came into the camp at night.

There were only a few people staying when we were there, so we had a safari vehicle to ourselves for the morning and evening game drives. Our guide Rambo was brilliant; we saw lions, a leopard and a huge number of other animals and birds. A highlight of the trip was the boat ride from Kasane followed by a game drive; we were out from 10 am until 19.30 and ate our lunch on the boat with hundreds of elephants on the bank nearby. The walk from the lodge was also very enjoyable.

We were made very welcome by all the staff who could not have been more helpful and friendly. Vegetarian food was readily available and delicious. A private candle lit dinner was organised for us as it was a special wedding anniversary celebration. Overall, an excellent place to stay." See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs J.
Chester

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2022
"The lodge is in a lovely position overlooking the Chobe River. Fabulous views. The lodge was very comfortable and the staff very welcoming and helpful.
Great guide.

Be prepared for the fact that a visit here is fairly full on if you want to do all of the activities, mainly because it is about 1hours drive to the place where you can go on the boat trips.

This in no way impacted on our enjoyment of the visit, but some might find it a lot to fit in." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sitatunga

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs S
Teddington

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2022
"Very welcoming and friendly on arrival. Muchenje is in a fabulous situation on a bluff above the Chobe river and one morning we watched a large herd (+400) of buffalo from our room walk down to the river. The highlight at Muchenje was the day spent on the Chobe river watching the game and birdlife from the water. Although, note that with the low water level at the time of our visit we firstly had to drive to Kasane to pick up the launch; however, this meant we also had a game drive through the more eastern part of the park on the return journey - during which we saw a lioness on a fresh young buffalo kill.

Experienced some excellent game viewing (lions attempting a kill; jackals scavenging on a recent lion kill; elephant, hippo and buffalo in abundance), although our guides were not as knowledgeable as at other camps visited. Food was good and buffet style so one could self-manage portions. Rooms were very comfortable and the showers were brilliant - an absolute delight on return from dusty game drives!

However, we felt the management focused too much on the 'hospitality' and not on the overall management at the lodge. Little effort seemed to be made to sort out the absence of wi-fi at the lodge until it returned on our last morning (thankfully to make our onward fight confirmations).

Also, the night drive was poorly organised; delayed until after dinner meaning it was curtailed, and unfair to expert the guide to drive, use the radio and operate the light at the same time - there should be a separate 'spotter' in the vehicle operating the spotlight." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs E.
Chichester

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2022
"The main lodge was delightful. Plenty of space to relax and mingle with the other guests and staff.

You have your own individual little lodge with lovely views and seating area to enjoy. Inside was spacious with a well appointed bathroom. Bed very comfortable with a mosquito net. Tea & coffee available. There was both a ceiling fan & air conditioning depending on what you prefer. A safe to keep your valuables. The staff were absolutely friendly and professional and always on hand to help. The swimming pool area was very inviting although quite cold.

The food was amazing, the evening meal was announced by the chef each night. Some of the lodge staff and guides joined us at each meal, it was a group event which meant you got to meet and enjoy the rest of the guests. The guide tours were well organised & our guide Philly was great, we had a lot of fun with him & he had a wealth of knowledge.

During dark you are unable to walk to your own lodge as potentially unsafe as wild animals are around the area. There were security guards who escorted you. They would also collect you in the morning at 05.30 for the morning safari tour. The only downside side we found was, if you were in your own lodge and decided you wanted to go back to the main lodge, you couldn't as there was no way of getting in touch with the main lodge or the security guards.

The water safari was excellent, watching the elephants swimming across the river was magical as we eat our lunch. The whole experience of the safari was excellent and we saw many animals and birds in their natural surrounding at close quarters. The one outstanding moment of our trip was seeing a leopard on two consecutive days which was rare, according to one of the guides who has been there for 16 years had never seen one before. We would definitely recommend." See all these reviews: 4n in South Africa; 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Sitatunga

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

J & J
York

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2022
"Good service and food. Great animal sightings. Guide Rambo was excellent" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mike&Helen
Scotland

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"Would highly recommend Muchenje Lodge.

The service is excellent, a perfect combination of luxury and friendliness. The views over the plains towards Namibia is outstanding.

Highly recommend the whole day safari, including a boat trip on the Chobe River. Also the night drive near the lodge is a good addition to your stay. The volume of wildlife next to the river is very high.

Enjoyed the expertise of a knowledge, experienced guide." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Lincs

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2022
"Muchenje is a beautiful lodge set high on an escarpment with stunning views over the Chobe riverfront below.

It is very well run by Kiddy who is friendly and welcoming, always present and running a very efficient lodge. The staff were delightful and seemed genuinely pleased to welcome one back each time we went out on a drive. Our guide, KB was incredibly knowledgable as well as an amusing companion and a good driver. It was freezing on the early morning and evening drives and the lodge provided ponchos, although not hot water bottles.

The rooms were beautifully clean, well decorated and very attractive with every facility one could want, with large bathrooms. There was good electric power and we were able to charge batteries and phones as well as using hairdryers. A full clothes washing facility was available. There was a small but pretty pool and viewing decks at various levels overlooking the river, set in the attractive gardens.

During the hours of darkness we were guided to and from our lodge from the dining room. The food was excellent and the large dining tables where everyone ate together, with the guides and Kiddy sitting with us, led to an informal, fun and very friendly atmosphere. The Muchenje Choir (made up of the staff) singing for us before dinner one night was a particular highlight and illustrated how well the staff get on together and how happy they appear to be, working in this lovely lodge." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs & Mr K
Florida

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2022
"The view at Muchenje is stunning!!!

Our bungalow was also right next to a baobab tree which was beautiful!!! Kiddy and Toff were incredible hosts!!!! Our guides were so helpful and gave us so much information.

We not only saw lions, elephants, Cape buffalo and giraffes and we saw them in huge numbers, such a treat!!!!

Thankfully they provided 2 dinner entree options each evening. I can't do curry so I always chose the other option. The first night we had to kill 2 spiders in our room, not fun! The also provided warm lined ponchos for the morning and night game drives, awesome!!!

There was heat available in our room as well which really helped as all 3 nights were very cold." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 168
96%
168 reviews of Muchenje Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
136
27
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (61 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (56 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (35 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (22 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


95% (21 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


95% (16 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


87% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (3 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa