This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Reviews of Muchenje Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

154 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Muchenje Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Muchenje Safari Lodge.
Lion

78% success

Leopard

56% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

41% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

94% success

Hippo

94% success

Sable antelope

69% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Spotted Hyena

47% success

Roan antelope

39% success

Eland

24% success

Brown Hyena

22% success

Aardvark

6% success

Pangolin

6% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 154
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2022
"We finished our holiday here instead of "traditionally" going to the Victoria Falls, having been there before. Definitely the right decision.

Great location with lodge being on the edge of the escarpment just outside the National Park and over looking the Chobe river with amazing views. The lodge was well established though updated and was excellent quality. We had a driver and Landrover to ourselves and were spoilt rotten since the escarpment and valley at this time of year was packed with wildlife from Lion/Elephant/Hippos/Fish Eagles/Giraffe/dozens more and crocs of course.

It was easy to fly to from Vumbura and even easier to fly from to SA. A low stress way to finish the holiday." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Gibblewhites
Newark

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2021
"The most outstanding view greets you on arrival at Muchenje, followed by a lovely welcome from Kittie (?) and Toff. Again hand sanitiser followed by drinks, lunch and a tour of the lodge. This lodge is like home from home.

Two French guests were unable to join us as their COVID results were an hour out of time at the Botswana border - so they had to isolate until the new results came through. Kittie and Toff made them as welcome as possible giving them total room service. The results came through very quickly and all was back to normal.

The game drives were excellent and we saw plenty of game." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

6 sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2021
"Overall, this lodge excels most with its magnificent location high on an escarpment on the south side of the Chobe River, providing fantastic views over the flood plains.

The game drives were great fun, and so was the cruise on the Chobe River. Due to the pandemic and the concomitant lack of guests we often enjoyed the luxury of being alone in the car or boat with our guide Ali.

One particular sighting really stood out from the rest: A group of five youngish lions showed some interest in a bunch of buffaloes, and they even launched a half-hearted attempt to attack them, but then the tables turned, and the hunters became the hunted. In a few moments, all the lions went into hiding in the bush. No-one got hurt, thankfully.

Another thing I would like to mention is that the guides are prohibited to do off-road driving, which is the rule in National Parks all over Southern Africa. However, our guide more than once disregarded this rule and thus afforded us some sightings that would not have been possible otherwise.

Also, due to the fact that this is a National Park, a small but noticeable number self-drivers were also seen. For instance, the one and only leopard sighting we had was sort of spoiled by the fact that in no time the poor animal was surrounded by 8 jeeps, and some of them actually pushed themselves in front of the queue. Of course, this was not the lodge’s or our guide’s fault.

The rooms were really pleasant, and one thing that we enjoyed very much was the fact that they had air condition, and unlike in even better hotels in the US, it made no noise.

To summarize, our stay was really enjoyable, and I would like to recommend this lodge to anyone coming to Botswana for the first time. I say this also because this lodge is much less expensive than some of the camps in the Okavango Delta." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr R.
Malmesbury

"Lovely positioned lodge"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2019
"We only stayed one night with an evening game drive (when we saw wild dog and some great birds) and night drive (when we saw nothing), but overall we really liked the lodge.

It is in a great position with sweeping views, friendly staff and nice pool/rooms. The main lodge itself is beautiful with lovely lounging areas which we didn't really have time to explore. The bathrooms are due to be upgraded which will make the rating 5/5 for the rooms.

We will have to go back as we would love to do the river cruise which other guests raved about. Thank you." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Coventry

"Muchenje Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2019
"This was our second visit to Muchenje and well worth the return. The communal dining was a great experience, being able to talk to the other guests, the guides and Kathy. Both Ali and KB were well informed and helpful guides. The number of guests per vehicle was restricted to a maximum of 6 people, although we were often only with 2 other guests. The highlight of our visit was the boat trip on the Chobe River - with multiple animal sightings and a delicious lunch. My only wish was that Muchenje could use their own pier for boarding rather than travelling all the way to Kasane - presumably the water levels were too low for this to happen. Sadly we could only stay for 2 nights this time - 3 would have been better!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Wiljo
Norfolk

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2019
"Friendly and efficient staff with hands on input from the owners. A spectacular and peaceful setting on an escarpment overlooking the Chobe river and across into Namibia. The river itself was dry at this location during our stay which is almost unprecedented although a few miles "downstream" in the Park itself, there was flowing water which obviously attracted the game. The game was possibly more concentrated than normal along the river because of the drought.

We opted for vehicle and boat safari full day combos for our 2 full days at the Lodge which gave us the opportunity for early morning game drive or walking safari, returning for breakfast before setting off for Kasane to pick up the boat for game viewing on the river and lunch on board and then, a game drive back to the Lodge through the afternoon and early evening. Additional optional night drives were also on offer after dinner each day in the vicinity of the Lodge.

The accommodation, catering, guiding and ambience were all excellent." See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

6 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

FunOnly
Calgary

"Comfortable with an excellent view"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2019
"This was our introduction to safari style accommodation. The rooms were solidly constructed and offered wonderful views from the patio attached. The lighting in the rooms could be improved, as it is difficult to read and built in charging outlets with USB would be a great addition.

The internet is only available at the main lodge and is slow WiFi repeaters in the rooms would be an excellent addition as you are not allowed to walk on the property after dark without the security staff escort. Guests have the feeling of being in a minimal security detention center after dinner locked the chalet. The family style dining provided the evening entertainment and opportunity to meet the other sophisticated and well-travelled guests.

We had an excellent knowledgeable guide, Ali, and the drives made up for any quibbles about the rooms. The night safari drive was our only disappointment as we had limited views of only a couple animals and could easily be skipped. The pontoon boat ride on the river was the highlight of our trip with an exceptional picnic lunch aboard while observing large herds of animals especially elephants that we estimated at about 300 animals.

This was our introduction to "The African Massage" on the deeply rutted poorly maintained trails of Chobe National Park. One of the ruts was so bad that my mobile phone flipped out of my pant pocket. I was extremely grateful and impressed that the guides found my phone after we departed. The Lodge had it air - shipped to me at the airport in Maun. The main delay in retrieval was that they found two identical phones the same day that could only be identified by the SIMM card inside! Carry all small items in a zipped pocket or bag when out on your safari drives!

We could easily have spent an extra two days at the lodge to decompress and and just laze around the pool." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Donna & Steve
USA

"Fabulous camp and activities"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2019
"This was my favorite safari camp/lodge of my 3.5 week trip to Africa. There were such an abundance of activities to choose from each day and all were excellent.

Lodge staff and guides were great. There was really nothing I didn't like about it. Each day, we were awakened at 5:30 for either an early morning game drive or early morning bush walk. Then we'd return for breakfast at 8:30 and then went on a full day safari until about 6:45 in the evening. Dinner at 8:30.

The full day safari was so wonderful that we did it for 2 days in a row. It starts with a boat ride and ends with a game drive back to the lodge.

Dining was communal and the food was very good. I require a gluten-free diet and this was no problem at all. I also appreciated the lodge's commitment to reducing waste and avoiding plastic water bottles.

If I went back to this area of Chobe, I would absolutely stay here again." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr Lee
Chicago

"Chobe safaris"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2019
"Very nice lodge. Great location at top of river valley.

Very friendly and accommodating staff including managers and owner. Excellent food.

Activities great. Walking safari, boat ride and game drives excellent. Guides very special especially Ali." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr D.
Libertyville

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2019
"Our first safari experience, so we did not have any preconceived expectations. Wonderful location with expansive views.

Arrived in time for a late lunch which was an unexpected surprise for just the 2 of us. We were kept busy nearly all the time, with little downtime which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Tea at 3pm, followed by afternoon game drive to western side of NP from 3:30 to 6:30pm. As we were the only arrivals today, we had the jeep to ourselves. It does take driving 15-20 mins to get to the park and back by road, but wildlife sightings were frequent even on this stretch. After dinner, we elected the evening game drive in an area close to the lodge (again just us), but sightings were few, just some giraffes and impalas. Our first full day was also just the 2 of us. We started with an early morning game drive 6am-8am, followed by breakfast back at camp. Then we elected to do the boat cruise/game drive back thru the park. This is one of the severest droughts Botswana has experienced, so the floodplain close to the camp was dry. We had to drive 50 mins to Kasane in a van to meet our guide at the dock. The 2 ½ hour boat trip was probably the highlight of our entire trip. The sheer density of animals close to the river was astonishing. With only the 2 of us on the boat, it was easy to move around for the best photo vantage spot. We stopped for lunch on the bank of the river, surrounded by several herds of elephants almost within touching distance. Back at the dock, we had a 4-hour game drive driving back thru the park. We stopped close to the river for sundowners, watching a herd of 300 plus buffalo making their way down to the water. We elected to skip the evening game drive this evening.

For our second full day, we elected to repeat the previous day’s activities. With the new arrivals, we were 8 on our boat, and six on a second boat. We did have memorable new wildlife sightings, including following a leopard.

On our last morning we chose the early morning walking safari which provided a new perspective. Then after breakfast there was time to visit the local village nearby. Although it was Saturday and no school, there were children and teachers on hand as a university student group was visiting. We got to attend a local basket making presentation. We were provided with a full lunch just for the two of us at the camp before driving back to Kasane airport for our next leg.

Overall the accommodations and food were excellent. There were power outlets in the room, but I failed to bring the correct Type M (South Africa) adapter. The manager (Kathy) was amazingly helpful providing the needed adapter, additional wi-fi connection options and other advice." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 154
95%
154 reviews of Muchenje Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
123
26
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (7 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa