This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Reviews of Muchenje Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

161 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Muchenje Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Muchenje Safari Lodge.
Lion

84% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

35% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

96% success

Hippo

92% success

Sable antelope

59% success

Wildebeest

50% success

Spotted Hyena

43% success

Roan antelope

35% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Eland

24% success

Pangolin

4% success

Aardvark

4% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 161
Duration
Arrival date
Mike&Helen
Scotland

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jul 2022
"Would highly recommend Muchenje Lodge.

The service is excellent, a perfect combination of luxury and friendliness. The views over the plains towards Namibia is outstanding.

Highly recommend the whole day safari, including a boat trip on the Chobe River. Also the night drive near the lodge is a good addition to your stay. The volume of wildlife next to the river is very high.

Enjoyed the expertise of a knowledge, experienced guide." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Lincs

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2022
"Muchenje is a beautiful lodge set high on an escarpment with stunning views over the Chobe riverfront below.

It is very well run by Kiddy who is friendly and welcoming, always present and running a very efficient lodge. The staff were delightful and seemed genuinely pleased to welcome one back each time we went out on a drive. Our guide, KB was incredibly knowledgable as well as an amusing companion and a good driver. It was freezing on the early morning and evening drives and the lodge provided ponchos, although not hot water bottles.

The rooms were beautifully clean, well decorated and very attractive with every facility one could want, with large bathrooms. There was good electric power and we were able to charge batteries and phones as well as using hairdryers. A full clothes washing facility was available. There was a small but pretty pool and viewing decks at various levels overlooking the river, set in the attractive gardens.

During the hours of darkness we were guided to and from our lodge from the dining room. The food was excellent and the large dining tables where everyone ate together, with the guides and Kiddy sitting with us, led to an informal, fun and very friendly atmosphere. The Muchenje Choir (made up of the staff) singing for us before dinner one night was a particular highlight and illustrated how well the staff get on together and how happy they appear to be, working in this lovely lodge." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs & Mr K
Florida

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2022
"The view at Muchenje is stunning!!!

Our bungalow was also right next to a baobab tree which was beautiful!!! Kiddy and Toff were incredible hosts!!!! Our guides were so helpful and gave us so much information.

We not only saw lions, elephants, Cape buffalo and giraffes and we saw them in huge numbers, such a treat!!!!

Thankfully they provided 2 dinner entree options each evening. I can't do curry so I always chose the other option. The first night we had to kill 2 spiders in our room, not fun! The also provided warm lined ponchos for the morning and night game drives, awesome!!!

There was heat available in our room as well which really helped as all 3 nights were very cold." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in South Africa; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

John
Braintree

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2022
"Very nice friendly place to stay.

Owners/Managers very much present and involved.

Fantastic guide and excellent game viewing." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms B
Arizona

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 15 May 2022
"Beautiful location.

Staff were very helpful and went out of their way to take care of us. Great guide. He adapted his tours to our goals." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr M & Mr D
Yorkshire

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2022
"Lovely rooms at this lodge and a very warm welcome.

Very informative and friendly owners/managers. Food was of a high standard with meals taken at a shared table which enabled conversations with fellow travellers.

We had the pleasure of having Ali as our game drive guide throughout our stay- what a lovely, knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and determined guide he was - and he ensured that we had amazing sightings and explained things that were going on with the animals that we would otherwise have been oblivious to." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs H
Caterham

" Fantastic Muchenje Safari Lodge "

3 nights Arrived 30 Apr 2022
"A revisit after 15 years and it was even was better and more than expected.

We were lucky to be upgraded to the family room which was huge with a bathroom each! Our guide was Ali who had an amazing amount of knowledge and we got on really well. The food was lovely and the staff were so friendly. On our last of 3 nights there the staff did a dance and singing entertainment which they seemed to enjoy as much as we and other guests did.

One day we saw hundreds of buffalo, more than we have ever seen in 15 years of doing safaris in Africa, we would love to return." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs SA
Norfolk

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2022
"We finished our holiday here instead of "traditionally" going to the Victoria Falls, having been there before. Definitely the right decision.

Great location with lodge being on the edge of the escarpment just outside the National Park and over looking the Chobe river with amazing views. The lodge was well established though updated and was excellent quality. We had a driver and Landrover to ourselves and were spoilt rotten since the escarpment and valley at this time of year was packed with wildlife from Lion/Elephant/Hippos/Fish Eagles/Giraffe/dozens more and crocs of course.

It was easy to fly to from Vumbura and even easier to fly from to SA. A low stress way to finish the holiday." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Gibblewhites
Newark

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2021
"The most outstanding view greets you on arrival at Muchenje, followed by a lovely welcome from Kittie (?) and Toff. Again hand sanitiser followed by drinks, lunch and a tour of the lodge. This lodge is like home from home.

Two French guests were unable to join us as their COVID results were an hour out of time at the Botswana border - so they had to isolate until the new results came through. Kittie and Toff made them as welcome as possible giving them total room service. The results came through very quickly and all was back to normal.

The game drives were excellent and we saw plenty of game." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Giraffe

6 sightings

Mr & Ms B
Florida, US

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Oct 2021
"Overall, this lodge excels most with its magnificent location high on an escarpment on the south side of the Chobe River, providing fantastic views over the flood plains.

The game drives were great fun, and so was the cruise on the Chobe River. Due to the pandemic and the concomitant lack of guests we often enjoyed the luxury of being alone in the car or boat with our guide Ali.

One particular sighting really stood out from the rest: A group of five youngish lions showed some interest in a bunch of buffaloes, and they even launched a half-hearted attempt to attack them, but then the tables turned, and the hunters became the hunted. In a few moments, all the lions went into hiding in the bush. No-one got hurt, thankfully.

Another thing I would like to mention is that the guides are prohibited to do off-road driving, which is the rule in National Parks all over Southern Africa. However, our guide more than once disregarded this rule and thus afforded us some sightings that would not have been possible otherwise.

Also, due to the fact that this is a National Park, a small but noticeable number self-drivers were also seen. For instance, the one and only leopard sighting we had was sort of spoiled by the fact that in no time the poor animal was surrounded by 8 jeeps, and some of them actually pushed themselves in front of the queue. Of course, this was not the lodge’s or our guide’s fault.

The rooms were really pleasant, and one thing that we enjoyed very much was the fact that they had air condition, and unlike in even better hotels in the US, it made no noise.

To summarize, our stay was really enjoyable, and I would like to recommend this lodge to anyone coming to Botswana for the first time. I say this also because this lodge is much less expensive than some of the camps in the Okavango Delta." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 161
96%
161 reviews of Muchenje Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
130
26
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (61 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (56 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (35 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (22 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


95% (20 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


95% (15 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (11 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (7 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


100% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa