This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Family H & L from Berks

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Namibia Adventure

Namibia between 22 Jul 2017 and 6 Aug 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Unbelievable! Great trip - and good to go way we did - ie start with Bagatelle heading south and then west. In this way we appreciated what each place had to offer - in terms of location, animals, etc. If we had started at Okonjima - well - all others would not compare well.

The animals at Etosha would also overshadow the animals at the other lodges - eg tracking desert elephants at Doro Nawas was great - but if we had already seen the herd of 20 at the waterhole each night in Etosha - it would have lost some of the attraction and adventure. Each place was unique - so thank you - it was not like we were comparing one 5* place to another one...
Animals were sort of unque at each to a point eg loads of deer types at Bagatelle, Ostriches at Hoodia & the desert, desert elephants and Doro, all various things at Etendeka, everything at Etosha, chill out - dik diks, warhogs and snakes( !!) at Mushara and the cats at Okonjima.

Suggestions:
*Car - ours was not happy on the gravel roads and did not cope with the D road - better to have a larger, more suitable car. warn all re the dust - you could not see what colour the car was when we returned it.......or our clothes!!!
*Laundry : good to have every 5 days included in package. So dusty there - we collected loads and ended up hand washing through some things by day 11. But we were also in Jo'berg for 4 days before Namibia and cape Town 4 days after Namibia.
*If in one place for the night - maybe let us know their activity list so we can get to the place in time and not miss activities?

But - cannot fault you - truly brilliant holiday which we all loved!!

Marusha - hope you have a healthy baby girl now and many thanks for pulling this together for us,

thanks,

Lynne, Rob, Sam & Matt"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"great!"

1 night Arrived 22 Jul 2017
"Your rep at Windhoek - very nice - told us Bagatelle was a 2 hr drive away.

Maruska's paperwork - suggested 3.5 hrs. Maruska was correct! But we slowed down so we could see he animals on the way - to the point that we missed the cheetah feeding at Bagatelle - and were only there one night - and also had to drive in dusk / dark. Might be useful for guests staying anywhere for just 1 night to have some idea of the itinerary at their destination so they can plan accordingly?

Place good - wine expensive - but OK. Freezing on the early morning drive!!!

did not see the rooms much as we arrived so late and had the early start - but the rooms were very cold first thing in the morning. great safari drive in the morning - loads of deer things -"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"great!!"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2017
"Hoodia - nice, slow WiFi - but managed this. Very friendly service, rooms nice. Staff tried to "sell" us their own tour to Sossusvlei....but it was over £100pp. we did it much cheaper - maybe missed some key points, but was not concerned!

Nice to see the baboons and ostriches.

Great view of the milky way from this place!

could sit in main lodge with a couple of beers and enjoy the silence......enjoyed it."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"nice - a good place for a quick break"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2017
"Nice place - good to have a day of rest! Boys went sand boarding and quad biking, Rob and I went walking round the town.......and ended up buying a black diamond ring!

Dinner at the Tug was good - but glad we had pre-booked or would not have got in. Second night was a pub - also very good.

Stocked up on wine and beer for rest of trip. Hosts very nice and friendly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"fantastic - loved it!!"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2017
"Doro Nawas was one of our favourites - the bushmans dinner, (Mon, Wed and Fridays) elephant search (and finding them) and singing staff made it.

staff tried to teach us the clicks of the language....failed, but we had fun. Their guide - Marcus - was brilliant and very helpful! he helped us with petrol - the ride there took 7 hrs from Swapo - due to the awful road - and then took all our fuel. Marcus helped by getting us 25L and helping us get it into the car.

Bushmans dinner was great - really nice idea - and well executed. Liked the staff dancing and joined in.

Great to have all inclusive including laundry as we had been in RSA and Namibia a while by then and everything was dusty!! Would always suggest this on future trips - wash every 7 days or so!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"windy!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2017
"Shana was there - not the owner and sent her best wishes to Marusha and congrats on your new addition. She rates Expert Africa very highly - said "you run a tight ship".

It was fun - and an experience.

The walk was boring - and early - but all entertained by the guide spitting oryx poo.

The drive in the evening was great and the sundowners.......made it great. Saw lots of animals, guide was engaged and informative.

Place was extremely windy - which made the bucket shower horrendous! Food nice, people very friendly..."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"the worst place re service and staff attitude"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2017
"OK - you had warned us.... But location great

Dire service, shabby rooms - premium waterhole chalet - with broken loo seat, bare wires sticking out of plugs, remote control for AC not working etc etc.......as you warned us. staff not bothered eg brought drinks - but forget glasses, no plates / bowls at buffet, toaster stopped working. We went to breakfast on day 1 at 9am...very little left and what was left - was curling and dried up.

But made up for by location and number of animals! Fantastic location of chalet - could sit in bed and watch animals come to waterhole. best place for zillions of animals.....saw loads and this made it good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Great - very relaxing!"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2017
"We just chilled out for the day here. Got there late as went thro Etosha for the day - and arrived late afternoon. Very nice place - enjoyed seeing the warthogs! Relaxing - just sat out the next day enjoying the solitude and the few animals around. Staff were very nice and friendly - and looked after us.

Food was very good - and they were willing to be flexible if we did not like something. Liked the evening singing & dancing - joined in.

beautiful setting........and OK wifi!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"BRILLIANT!!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2017
"Great place!

Arrived round 3.30pm - and did not realise lunch was included in our package - as well as an afternoon leopard tracking session. However, staff were great and quickly packed us up on our own for a private guided tour with Michael - before we even checked in! great trip - saw 4 leopards incl 2 cubs.

accommodation fantastic - the separate viewing chalet for each room - with bird seed to chuck out the window, blankets, comfy chairs, t/ coffee and homemade biscuits - was great. We had warthogs and deer things come right up and could even tickle the warthogs back!

Evening night ride was also excellent - saw nothing in the hide, but guide went off looking and we found 4 porcupine including 2 baby ones, plus a whole host of other beasties. Checked in late - in the dark...

next day - early walk for cheetahs - and found 4, easy time through lunch and went hyena hunting in the pm - saw none - so switched to leopards again - and saw a couple more. Sundowners with the baboons. Great room, great guide, great staff - a highlight!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team