This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Okuti
Okuti
Okuti
Okuti

Reviews of Okuti

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okuti and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okuti.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

67% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs G.
St Albans

"Very personalised- every detail matters here "

3 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2019
"Okuti was the perfect choice for us. There are only seven chalets and staff make every effort to ensure that you have a special experience here. We were surprised by the attention to detail. On arrival, guests are allocated to a guide, who stays with you on all your game drives, escorts you back to your chalet at night etc Our guide was the highly skilled Solly. He was able to spot animals from noticing their slightest movement. This resulted in the high light of our wild life viewing when he saw a tail moving in a tree: it was a leopard's. Solly positioned our jeep so that we could very clearly watch the leopard. On our game drives, Solly shared a lot of fascinating information about all the animals we saw. Most of them we viewed at close quarters. There were four or five guests in each jeep. Guides worked together to share information and that resulted in our second sighting of wild dogs. Solly drove long distances to try to locate lions, but they were not spotted during our stay.

All meals at eaten at one large table with guides joining the guests. Food was very well-cooked and plentiful. A high light for us was a surprise lunch in the bush. Staff had thought of everything, even hot water and soap for you to wash your hands before the meal. Insects were not a problem.

We were allocated a family chalet with two bedrooms. It was very spacious with a comfortable sitting area. There were two sinks, as well as inside and outside showers. Okuit's setting is very peaceful. Rooms overlook the river and each room has a private viewing platform. The chalets are solidly built, but the walls, whilst high, do not reach the ceiling. The gap is filled with mesh to keep out insects, but it still gets very cold at night., We really appreciated the hot water bottles that were put in our bed at night and the hot drink brought to your chalet as a wake up call.

We stayed 3 nights here and think that is a minimum stay. In that time, we had 5 game drives in the jeep and one trip on the river.

." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms M & Ms SP
Canada

"Okuti Review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2018
"I left a piece of my heart in Okuti. The staff were amazing, friendly, helpful. They sang to us before every dinner and one evening invited me to dance with them. It made me forget about how cold the room was because of being open to the elements! Newly awakened love for hot water bottles. And the quantity of animals was amazing.

One odd thing happened which didn't fit with the rest of my experience there. On the third day when we got to the safari vehicle for the morning drive, we noticed the tops had been taken off all the vehicles. Given our experience at AfriCats we knew this would be a problem and asked for the top to be put back on. Our guide was clearly in a bind. He had not agreed with the decision but had been ignored. So Jeanne went to one of the managers and asked for the top to go on and he said of course and made it happen. This took time out of our drive and left us puzzled about why we weren't asked about something like that. It was the same day the manager returned from leave so I assumed it was his decision.

There was also an issue with elephants seeming stressed out with our presence. We asked to move on when the elephant was bellowing and being protective of their young. We asked to move on and get out of their space. The guide ignored us until we got really insistent. We heard later that this area had been a hunting lodge previously and maybe the elephants remembered." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Maidstone

"Wonderful start to our trip at Okuti"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2018
"Okuti is a beautiful camp and we had a wonderful visit there at the start of our Botswana trip. The staff are outstanding and the service excellent, with nothing too much trouble at all. It was Amanda's birthday trip (having had her birthday a few months before) and the staff sprung a lovely surprise on her (I won't reveal it as its a bit of a pattern through our holiday).

Our guide was really good (Solomon) and very knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time at each sighting. We did a boat trip on the afternoon of our first full day and this was the only reason for a slightly lower mark against the activities as we'd have skipped it if we'd been told that it was very likely to be very quiet (quite normal at this time of year). At this time of the season (going into winter) activity on the water was very quiet and felt more like a gentle river cruise that anything else....so we'd suggest checking this if you are visiting in early winter. However.... the following morning Africa did it's usual surprise trick and provided us with a wonderful leopard sighting on the move for 15-20 mins and an exhilarating encounter with Wild Dogs eating and a persistent Hyena trying to grab a snack from them, which resulted in a scrap between them all and a Hyena with a very sore backside (but it did get away with some meat). We had lesser elephant sightings but the one we did was of a massive herd of 60/70 plus some really good hippo sighting too.

Food was excellent and plentiful (and constant!) and the architecture of the camp was quite different to the usual safari style but really blended in well to the surrounding. We stayed two nights which felt about right. All in all a wonderful visit and a great camp to start the trip off!!

A small note, at the time of the year we went it was chilly in the morning and evening... so pack an extra jumper though hot water bottles are provided for the morning trip with blankets!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

9 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs & Mr G
Washington

"Okuti review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Mar 2018
"Okuti was an interesting experience. The staff was very nice and they were very attentive to their guests. We had the experience of having staff members sit on either side of us at lunch and dinner so we really didn't get to mingle with the other guests which was fine but odd. There was a Ker and Downey beverage manager in the 1st evening from Lusaka to see how things were going at the camp. Very nice person to chat with.

Service: was excellent especially our guide. The staff knew all guests by name which was nice.

Food: was excellent as well. There was a huge variety at all meals and eggs to order in the morning. Lunch was a buffet and dinner was wait staff walking around with a plate or bowl to serve the contents with each guest. There was 1 evening when we were told there was kudu fillets for dinner everyone at the table except us were served kudu (one of my husbands favorite fillets). Instead we were served beef. We can only assume that they did not have enough kudu fillets and assumed we wouldn't want kudu? When I asked our guide about it he was not able to respond. Sitting away from the other guests and not receiving what was advertised for dinner was rather off putting.

Activities: the game drives were excellent. Moremi had a large variety of animals as well as birds. Moremi was so diverse in its geographical layout where one minute you were in a woodland and then a huge meadow would open up on the next turn.. We got to see Pel's Fish Eagle and Verreaux's Giant Eagle Owl due to our guide's excellent spotting. Seeing those birds was one of the highlight's of our trip. We also appreciated that there were no night game drives which gave us time between game drive's and dinner. People did dress for dinner with some women wearing dresses.

Facilities: The main lodge and the dining area were very nice. We really appreciated the bar area as it was a serve yourself operation. There was chilled water available to fill our water bottles. There was a refrigerator with bottled water and other beverages which was also self serve. This was the best beverage operation we have ever seen in any lodge we have ever seen and enjoyed the self serve.

Rooms: were adequate. There were 2 wing chairs, which was nice, but they seemed to be covered with wool fabric. They were to hot to sit in very long. The issue we had with our room was that we kept finding animal/insect droppings in one area of our room. We kept cleaning them up and they would reappear. We do not know if they were Gecko, bats or rate droppings. There was something in the ceiling chirping at us when we were using the bathroom area. Also the screen above the door to our room had a large fist size hole in it would allowed things to come inside.

This camp was able to provide car batteries for us to hook up our CPAP machines. It disappeared during the day as they were using it and it returned in the evening. So we were not able to use our CPAPs when taking a nap. There was no distilled water offered.

Just an FYI - There was a guest in camp who was very obnoxious. She wanted the staff to sing and dance every night before dinner was served which also involved getting the rest of the guests to dance to the dinner table. We were embarrassed for the staff because this guest was trying to imitate the dancing and singing done by the staff. She looked ridiculous!

We would recommend this camp to others. However it is not the same quality as a Wilderness camp." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 6n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Stefan
Memphis

"Unusual architecture"

2 nights Arrived 18 Nov 2017
"Loved the rooms, very unusual architecture , the outdoor shower was great" See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr H
BloomfieldHills

"Okuti review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"Great experience.

Guiding was great, very flexible and great location.

Rooms were very nice and the staff was great.

They even obtained sun block for us when getting their supplies." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 6n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr W
Altrincham

"Nice camp - average service"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2017
"Nice camp, good location - service not as good as in other lodges.
Game viewing and location - very good. Organization, attention to detail, attitude of staff - average at best.
I had a feeling the management of this lodge is more preoccupied with the comfort of the staff then with the guests.
Wasted one day on a trip to a location high the guide did not know. Saw one dead giraffe and got one juvenile elephant pi....d off one the way back.
Next day's was very good - even excellent.
Guide then followed us evening/morning to ensure we tipped him( would have done so anyway)
Got half a breakfast on the second day- then staff took away the plates and disappeared" See all these reviews: 15n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Nick Foster
UK

"Okuti review"

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2016
"We had slight concerns about Okuti before our visit having been informed that it was in the Moremi National Park, with associated restrictions on activities, and also close to the entrance gate of the park and therefore might be busy. Whilst the range of activities offered was less than at Kanana, we enjoyed an excellent experience at Okuti and it certainly could not be described as a busy location with very few other jeeps sighted during our visit.

We had mentioned in advance that we were interested in birding as well as animals and Solly (a birding expert) was therefore our guide. This worked very well with over 100 different birds sighted as well as wide range of wildlife including leopards, lions, hyenas etc.

The highlight was spending 30 minutes adjacent to a leopard and it's kill." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Chris & Ammi
USA

"Number One in Our Safari Book - Moremi Camp"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2016
"We can't say enough accolades about the staff, the location, the experience, the "so called" tent with Mahogany flooring at Okuti Camp.

We were greeted upon our arrival with Botswana's greatest chorus, the Okuti staff member singing! It may sound cheesy, but the staff were incredible, heartful host who treated us to their traditional culture singing and dancing two of three nights.

One of our most memorable experiences occurred after spotting two leopard cubs later on our morning game drive. Our guide, Chachos, casually told us it was time to head back to lunch, to our surprise. Lunch turned out to be a white linen table set up out in the bush! Absolutely awesome!

Our last night at camp the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to surprise us with yet another incredible dinner feast, Botswana songs and dances. The game viewing was a special experience.

We were fortunate to see and hear lions and leopards, elephants, etc. If we ever return to Botswana, we would go back to Okuti!" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs A
Hawaii

"Okuti review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2014
"Again just a wonderful place. We loved it. The staff was warm and friendly and our experiences at this camp were excellent.

They prepared a special private dinner for us one night and it was beautifully appointed, decorated and very good. It was such a surprise we were both touched very much by the dinner. It was very romantic and beautifully done." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 17
94%
17 reviews of Okuti by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
1
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa