This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Botswana Private Mobile Safari


19°9’55.9"S 23°45’48.5"E

Reviews of Private Mobile

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Private Mobile and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 42 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Private Mobile.
Lion

98% success

Leopard

70% success

Cheetah

29% success

Wild dog

59% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Giraffe

98% success

Elephant

93% success

Zebra

90% success

Buffalo

87% success

Hippo

85% success

Spotted Hyena

76% success

Roan antelope

45% success

Sable antelope

33% success

White Rhino

7% success

Pangolin

7% success

Black Rhino

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
LM
Hawaii

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

5 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2024
"The private mobile safari was the most interesting and enjoyable part of our trip. Andrew and his crew did an outstanding job of making us feel welcome and comfortable. His explanations of the animals and their habits and habitat were by far the best of any guide we rode with. The food in the mobile camp was also wonderfully delicious and nourishing, far beyond what we would have expected with the limitations of a mobile camp. Saw two hyenas drink from water bowl outside tent one morning." See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

7 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr D.
United Kingdom

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

7 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2024
"This was our second mobile tented safari with Andrew, this time to the Central Kalahari Game reserve, for a very different experience.

The CKGR is probably not somewhere to go on your first Africa trip as the game density is lower than some other areas. But it makes up for this in so many other ways - Incredible isolation (you see very few other vehicles), different game ( oryx, springbok, red hartebeest, bat eared foxes, honey badgers, ground squirrels, different birds) ; great scenery; night skies as good as you will see anywhere; no mobile phone or internet :-)

We did see lots of game but it is definitely more dispersed so you travel much bigger distances when out driving.

Guiding from Andrew was first rate. All his staff were fantastic and produced great meals from a very rudimentary "kitchen"" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Mrs W
UK

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

7 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2024
"Our 2nd trip with Andrew and his team but new to the Kalahari. Fantastic, loved the wild scenery and how remote it was.

A very dry year so worrying for the wildlife so maybe less sighting than usual but still what we saw was great.

Very well looked after, excellent food, Andrew is a very knowledgeable guide and an excellent host .

Cannot recommend highly enough as long as you are up for long drives. You will not be disappointed." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

LB
Toronto

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

5 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2023
"Very different, not sure we were fully aware of what we were in store for but a wonderful experience! Andrew was an amazing guide and host, he really knew the area and provided lots of background details on the animal sightings. His passion was incredible and infectious . . . on our last day due to his diligence and tracking skills we were able to see 3 wild dogs with their kill.
Very hot in the tents during the day when we were there and no opportunity for cooling off apart from a brief shower prior to the late afternoon drive. Any kind of a fan would have been appreciated.
But the one thing I think that definitely needs to be improved are the beds, very uncomfortable, not sure if replacing the mattresses would do it but definitely a good starting point.
Don't like to end on a negative note like this as it was an amazing experience." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 6n in Mozambique
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

U & K
Munich

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jul 2023
"Amazing experience in the middle of the bush. Super nice and personal service (we as the only guests), very close to nature (breakfast and dinner in the open, food prepared on open fire and delicious, tents basic but comfortable, well taken care of cold temperatures).

Andrew is a genius in the wild, understanding and spotting animals. Sighted animals we would not have spotted otherwise (baby hyenas next to their den, lion cubs with their mom, giant african owl, wild dogs, wild cats, and all other animals).

Absolutely recommendable unique experience." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs H
Lisvane

"Central Kalahari Private Mobile Safari review"

6 nights Arrived 4 May 2023
"This was our second mobile safari with Andrew and his support team. The central Kalahari is vast and is a true wilderness with diverse topography and stunning landscapes. We spent six nights exploring Deception Valley and the surrounding area in two mobile camps. The remoteness and wilderness presents a real challenge for finding game but on every drive you always come across the unexpected or something of interest.
Andrew is a very experienced guide and runs a very professional mobile safari experience. The attention to detail ensures you enjoy a great experience both in the bush and back at camp." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2023
"We were prepared for an adventure and we were not disappointed. Having tasted a variety of ways to experience the African bush the mobile safari option was both tantalising and slightly edgy.

The advance information was perfectly clear but some our party didn't know exactly what we'd get!

In the end we were not disappointed or shocked, even when at the start of our trip the region experienced rainfall not experienced in many years. We drove for four hours in torrential rain to our camp and arrived to find a swamp. But the local team had done everything they could to ameliorate the worst.There was no panic and when the rain did eventually stop within a few hours 'normal service' was restored.

Our time with the guide [Andrew] was really first class. His knowledge and experience was excellent and he responded to our interests, needs and wishes throughout.

Andrew was great. He was knowledgable and enthusiastic and his experience was obvious. We had a great rapport with Andrew. We felt able to make our interests and preferences clear to him and he responded accordingly. His knowledge of Nxai Pan is obvious and he was able to provide us with a useful perspective of the geography and history of the wider Okavango region. He has built an excellent support team around him and can't compliment them enough.

Their service we received from the support team at the camp was truly outstanding. We cannot compliment the quality - especially the food - enough.

In the end the challenging start [due to the rain] only contributed to the feeling that we were treated to the adventure that we'd hoped for, albeit that at the time" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Crooks
Bristol

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2023
"We thoroughly enjoyed what was our first experience of this kind of camp. The tents were warm, dry and comfortable; the camp was well run and the staff were outstanding.

This sort of safari gives you a clear feeling of really being in the wild: listening to the roar of the lions at night and hearing the pounding hooves of zebra as they stampede. At the same time the knowledge and care taken by all the staff gave us confidence in our safety.

We found it really impressive that the chef was able to produce such a range of high quality food on little more than a campfire. The menu was imaginative, the food delicious and well-presented.

At Nxai Pan the range of wildlife we saw was not large. Loads of zebra, wildebeest and springbok but only one sighting of any big cats. A variety of birds aplenty, though.

Travelling around the pans was interesting and we all enjoyed our visit to Baines Baobabs - a must.

Our journey from Maun was made in a torrential downpour of several hours and we arrived at the camp cold and wet. The camp - which had been set up in the dry the day before - was partly underwater and all very muddy. It is of particular credit to the staff team that they were able to manage this difficult situation and to provide us with such an enjoyable stay.

The campsite dried out over the next few days but we are now fully aware that Botswana in the rainy season can be very wet!

Andrew [The guide & host] was calm, patient and confident in the challenging circumstances of our journey to Nxai Pan in torrential rain. He coped well with the very difficult driving conditions where rutted roads and become tick with mud. He managed the team at the camp well.

He was a good host and an excellent guide. He provided interesting and informative context to what we were experiencing on the game drives. He listened to what we said and was able to use his great knowledge to answer our questions. At sundown he made a mean gin and tonic.

Even though he could have done some revision on the way to the airstrip when taking us to our onward flight, we would have no hesitation in travelling with him again!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs C.
Milton Keynes

"Traditional safari"

4 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2022
"Andrew is an excellent host, driver & guide. He is very knowlegeable & works hard to give you a varied experience by taking you into different environments.

We thoroughly enjoyed the food offered in his camp. We were amazed by it's variety & high quality when only a fire is available for cooking.

This is a mobile safari so clearly can't offer the luxury of many of the lodges. That said the tent & beds were perfectly comfortable & we had a daily bucket shower in lovely warm water. If you feel that a traditional safari is something you would like to try then this would be for you." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Glos

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

8 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2022
"We had an amazing experience with Andrew and his team.

Brilliantly organised and led by a man whose personal experience of the country and its wildlife is fantastic.

We have been on quite a few safaris and this is as good as it gets for us." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 61
100%
61 reviews of Private Mobile by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

For comparison, here are some alternatives in this same area.


Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


92% (36 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (36 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


90% (32 reviews)
Khwai Lediba

Khwai Lediba

Khwai Lediba offers a traditional African safari experience, with very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (33 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


94% (29 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

With an innovative design and good service, Okuti Camp offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (21 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (12 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


85% (8 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


86% (7 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


91% (7 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

In one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana, Camp Moremi sits at the tip of the Mopane Tongue, overlooking Xakanaxa Lagoon.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Sable

Little Sable

Little Sable camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


93% (3 reviews)
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


100% (3 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp

Khwai Bush Camp

Kwhai Bush Camp offers great guiding, excellent wildlife watching and simple but comfortable accommodations the productive Khwai community area.


100% (1 review)
Mokete

Mokete Camp

New for July 2023, Mokete has 9 luxurious tents, raised on platforms above the surrounding bush and offers an experience of the Kalahari Wilderness.


80% (1 review)
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Khwai Leadwood

Khwai Leadwood

Khwai Leadwood is a luxurious lodge located in the heart of the Khwai Community Concession, offering guests exceptional service, stunning scenery, and unforgettable wildlife experiences.


No reviews yet
Tawana

Tawana

An exclusive new lodge on the banks of the Gomoti River, Tawana has just eight very spacious suites.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa