This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley

Reviews of Sable Alley

Wildlife sightings and reviews

21 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sable Alley and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sable Alley.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

90% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

82% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Wildebeest

82% success

Buffalo

67% success

Spotted Hyena

60% success

Sable antelope

40% success

Eland

33% success

Roan antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 21
Duration
Arrival date
Miss K.
Solihull

"Extremely Comfortable Camp"

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2019
"The camp was a very high standard and so were the staff. They looked after us extremely well - for example our flight was late so we arrived late at camp and our jeep had already set off for the evening game drive and so another drive rushed us out to join them.

I loved the tented ‘rooms’ - they were very comfortable and had everything we needed (inc. sherry!). The communal areas were also lovely. The food was good given that we were in the middle of the bush and it was c40C and there was lots of choice. The highlight for me was when we were woken up by elephants crashing through the camp and bumping into our tent.

I also enjoyed sitting out watching/listening to the hippos which live in the waterhole at the camp. We were there at the very end of the dry season but there was still enough water for the hippos.

The game drives were very good and in very new jeeps. On the drives there was no tracker just the driver/guide. Obviously, i don’t know if we would have seen more if we had had a tracker but at our second lodge we did see lots more game and we did have a tracker." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Wild dog

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mssrs RMN/AT
London

"Wonderful wild dogs"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2019
"After Gomoti Plains, where our game total was 18 species, we were keen to see four in particular: Hyena, sable, roan and wild dogs.

We had a good guide, though not as good as Carl at Gomoti, and we failed to see either of the antelope. But we did have several viewings of three different packs of dogs including one family of 18 at very close range, so tat was a real treat.

The accommodation was excellent and the ambience very good. We had one day of rain when the temperature dropped from 40 to 20, but that'd to the bonus of the Termite Emergence, which was very exciting, so long as you are prepared for clouds of large flying beasties while eating dinner!!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 7n in Botswana; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs F
Hants

"Luxury on the bush."

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2019
"A very welcoming team. The staff were extremely attentive and our rooms were stunning. What luxury.

The game drives were amazing and the wildlife was in abundence. The photographic opportunities were made better by our guide Ocean's keen interest in photography.

An overall very enjoyable experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr T
Salt Lake City

"Two Nights in June at Sable Alley"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"Saw large groups of elephants, hippos, and zebras. One cantakerous elephant blocked our return to our tent one afternoon for about five minutes until a very tall staff member "explained" to him that he needed to go back into the bush.

Saw a leopard mother and daughter working on a "stashed" impala for two days. Saw a lone sable whilst having lunch in the camp and a sable family of three arrived concurrent with us at the airstrip as we were leaving Sable Alley." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
NZ

"Spectacular Sable Alley"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2019
"Sable Alley is by far our favourite lodge - ever! We received a very warm welcome from Hector, the manager, who runs a very tight ship. He can always be seen in the background, keeping an eye on the little details that make this lodge so special, be it the food that is served, tidying up after guests, and taking the time to chat to all the guests. The communal area has a very luxurious, yet comfortable look and the rooms/tents continue this. We enjoyed that dining was not the communal affair that most lodges offer, but individual tables. There was still time to mingle with other guests after dinner, sitting around the campfire while sipping a glass of Amarula.

We very much enjoyed our excellent guide, Zambu. He was a mine of knowledge about the African bush, and managed to make every game drive interesting with his snippets of information. The game viewing lived up to expectations. We had beautiful sightings of leopard, hyena and elephant." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

T&B
Birmingham

"superb safari and accommodation"

3 nights Arrived 12 May 2019
"Excellent service and accommodation in camp.

Safari was high quality seeing animals we didn't expect to.

Atmosphere very good." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

6 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

ian
UK

"Wonderful Camp"

2 nights Arrived 1 May 2019
"We travelled as a party of 8 and had a great time at Sable Alley. The camp and rooms were above our expectations after just having spent 2 days / nights at Hyena Pan. We thoroughly enjoyed the camp, food, game drives and friendly staff. We would definitely recommend this camp to other travellers. The games drives, Mokoro boats and abundance of game and bird life made for a really enjoyable experience.

We struggled with food at Hyena Pan in terms of availability and quality and by comparison, Sable Alley was substantially improved. The food was table services rather than buffet and the food was of a really good standard. Well prepared, well presented and a joy to eat. We would honestly recommend that Hyena Pan follows a similar approach to serving food to their quests.

As a pure safety note, we would say that our last day was more exciting but could have ended in tragedy. Our truck followed 2 lionesses with 3 cubs and in trying to get as close as possible became stuck in the boggy mud. Luckily a second safari truck was close by to assist but when it arrived neither safari truck had any tow ropes???

Our tourist group was then asked to transfer to the second safari ruck to lighten the load to see whether this would help but unfortunately the safari truck was stuck deep in the mud.

A third safari truck after some 30 minutes arrived with a tow rope and proceed to hand the tow rope over to their colleagues and then drive off??? All of the safari tourists were then asked to stand in the open field unattended in pretty close proximity (circa 30 metres) to the 2 lionesses and their cubs. The safari truck was eventually towed out (circa 20 minutes later) and we then managed to all get back into the trucks and proceed with the safari tours.

In hindsight, we should never had agreed to leave the safari truck and stand in the open fields. This is incredibly dangerous especially with 2 lionesses that could have attacked us at any stage.

We would honestly recommend that all safari trucks carry tow ropes, the staff are trained in how to tow vehicles our of deep mud or perhaps avoid the mud in the first place and that tourists are never allowed to leave the safari trucks and stand in open fields unattended within such close proximity to wild dangerous animals. We would also recommend that the third safari truck should have stayed around to help and not leave tourists vulnerable.

Despite the above adventure – we really did enjoy the camp and our experiences and would recommend this camp." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Sheffield

"Lovely surroundings & safari at 1st rate camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2019
"We (mother and I) enjoyed everything about our stay and safari at Sable Alley.

We found the camp itself luxurious, staff attentive, the meals superb and our guide 'Shakes' excellent. We did not want for anything.

We especially loved the outdoor shower!" See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr G
Canada

"Sable Alley"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"Lovely accommodations. Great walking safaris with Russell" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
New York

"Sable Alley"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"A spectacular experience and beautiful location with top class rooms and service. Has recently been renovated and everything in the camp from the entrance to the general areas and the rooms themselves were wonderfully done. The staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. They often would good 'above and beyond', such as laying on a special celebration for our anniversary.
The scout we were assigned was very knowledgeable and experienced. He made sure we saw a variety of wildlife as well as educating and informing us of specific details related to it. The concession around this camp had a large quantity of wildlife and there was very little we did not see. The 'stand-out' feature for this camp is the water hole right in front of the camp that hosts a large (and noisy) hippo pod as well as attracting many other mammals, birds and a reptile. One day a herd of elephant wandered through the camp passing us just feet away." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 21
95%
21 reviews of Sable Alley by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
17
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa